March 29, 2024, 02:35:21 AM

Author Topic: To D Tacticians - What formation we really use in that game?  (Read 2047 times)

To D Tacticians - What formation we really use in that game?
« on: September 05, 2005, 08:50:57 AM »
It looked to me like Beenie started off with a 4-3-3, a la Chelsea with Latas cutting in from the left and Carlos on the right with Stern down the middle. Yorke, Birchall and Whitley were all in the middle but none seemed to be in any one particular role as a defensive minded midfielder or offensive.
When Scotland came on, he played left, but not really midfield or wing, while Latapy drifted in more but Silvio Spann was playing an authentic right mid, having swapped with Carlos Edwards by then. But I would assume it was a 4-4-1-1 at that point with Latas, behind Stern. When Sealy came on...well by then we were hunting for a goal so we had 4 fowards on the fiield, not counting Yorke, but they all seemed to be going down the middle mostly...
Whatever, as long as it work in the end, oui !

But you think that line up at the start was effective or was it the introduction of Scotland rather than the change in tactics that resulted in a better performance and more ball possession in the second half?
And how you think Beenie will line up for the away game...4-5-1, with Yorke deeper than Latas again? or a 4-5-1 based on the 4-3-3 he used with Latas out wide?

Re: To D Tacticians - What formation we really use in that game?
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2005, 09:13:26 AM »
In reading  match reports from Costa Rica games in the Gold Cup and in WCQ, it appaers that we would have to content with:

A. PACE

B. Shots form outside

Theis team has been hot and cold. They held USA to a goalless draw yet squandered  chances or the USA goalie came up big. We have to be on top of our game for this  CR team

« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2005, 09:52:55 AM »
We need to also fight pace with a lil pace. Bring back GLEN  ;D

« Reply #3 on: September 05, 2005, 10:10:37 AM »
I Like the way the team look especially the forwards. Stern come on into the end of the match by scoring equaliser and the nthe winner....however Scotland play REAL ball while he was on.

I like how that man play. Powerful shot and not afraid to use it anywhere he get a chance. The Guat keeper had to pull out to real good saves to deny that man.

« Reply #4 on: September 05, 2005, 10:17:14 AM »
In my opinion....first half, we played 4-4-2

Latas wide on de left side of midfield.....Yorke and Stern up front

2nd half....we played an interesting formation

still 4-4-2.....with Scotland and Stern up front...

But Latas moved more central/right just behind de SS Strike Force

Yorke drop back to playmaker role

Birchall was central and Edwards on de right with Spann

Interesting because we kinda left the wide left midfield alone in a sense although both Yorke & Birchall covered the space fairly well.

But if de Guate coach did see dat change...he decided not to attack through that right channel too much.  Either he eh too bright or he was occupied with other things.

Whatever...It paid off.

Besides....formation really doh matter at de end of de day because dis team play the most fluid I have seen a T&T team play for a long time.  Fluid in that players were exchanging roles frequently during the game e.g. Edwards and Spann.  Look sharp and yuh swear is de Duitch total football concept dat was being attempted.

« Reply #5 on: September 05, 2005, 10:26:09 AM »
The team looking fluid going foward whenever Carlos was playing, under Beenie. He and Yorke is link up good and now we have the Carlos/Spann understanding devloping and the Latas /Yorke so we will look even better. Allyuh ever notice something about Yorke, ever since the 90's, whenever he going forward he is only pass to certain players. Before Latas came back, he would only pass to Edwards or Stern..now that Latas back, everytime he get the ball tha's who he looiking for. Is like a small goal sweat where men only looking for the best players and trying to avoid the other men on the side...lol

Offline jaden

« Reply #6 on: September 05, 2005, 01:45:14 PM »
now that jason scotland has sorted out his contract issues he is looking alot more confident than in the gold cup when he had issues hanging over his head
mistakes are stepping stones to success

« Reply #7 on: September 05, 2005, 02:23:10 PM »
read de reports from mehself and touches!!

we started with 4-5-1 with stern alone up front.

we went to 4-4-2 when we took off whitley and brought on scotland

we went to 3-4-3 when we took of spann and brought on sealey

we then went back to 4-5-1 when we brought on cox for scotland!

« Reply #8 on: September 05, 2005, 02:27:48 PM »
ah think with Latas in the team Beenie just keeping them confused and guessing

Hey whatever works is fine with me

« Reply #9 on: September 06, 2005, 06:22:17 AM »
read de reports from mehself and touches!!

we went to 4-4-2 when we took off whitley and brought on scotland

we went to 3-4-3 when we took of spann and brought on sealey

In that 4-4-2..who was supposed to be the second striker in your opinion? Scotland or Latas. And you sure Carlos Edwards wasn't playing right back in the 3-4-3...he seem to be in the defence more than Sancho was(although sancho made his recovery runs well)

Offline KND

« Reply #10 on: September 06, 2005, 06:45:50 AM »
I think it is not the formation but rather the Roles of the Players.

First Half (Attacking)

Latapy Role was to Try to attack down the Inside left Chanel
Yorke and Stern Was to attack the box for the crosses
Carlos and Spann was to provide attack wide right

Birchald and Whitley was to hold the middle and spread the play.

Defensively

Yorke role was to get back in the middle to help out with Latapy just loafing and not provide any defensive support.
Stern role was to stay on the last man.

Second half

Scotland was given the go ahead to attack down the left Channel with Latapy moving forward a bit.

Yorke replace whitley in the Holding Midfield role in support of Birchald.

late in the game Yorke droped deep because it had more space in the back and he took the responsibily to play accurate long balls from the back.

latapy was given the freedom to go central and try to play just behind stern.

The one criticizm I have of Bennie man was that Both Scotland And Sealy and Stern was all clogging up the forward line. All of them are inside forwards and at times it looked as we was clogging the attacking third and not able to penetrate.

But that was all he had on the bench.

This game was calling out for a attacking wing player who have speed and crossing ability.

A man like Josh Johnson would have open up the game for us with speedy attacking play on the wing.

Carlos crossing is very poor of late and he not getting Byline.
We have no left winger.

A wing attacker like Leonson in his days would help this team immensly.

We might need to switch Carlos and Spann because Spann look more capable at getting past defenders and getting to the by line.

Atiba Charles look very good in terms of getting up the field as well making overlapping runs in the first CR game and the Panama match.