April 29, 2024, 01:36:29 AM

Author Topic: Greatest Latapy Moments  (Read 2706 times)

Greatest Latapy Moments
« on: September 05, 2005, 03:12:55 PM »
Was thinking and some came to mind.

1) Singlehandedly brought T&T back into the game when 2-0 down to El Salvador in a Gold Cup sometime in the 90's. Elcock then hands on the line and we went on to lose 3-2 (same tourney we lost 3-2 to the US as well).

2) Singlehandedly beat Norway by himself in the mid 90's in the Oval. Who could forget his first goal.

3) The goal he scored vs Mex U-23 in the Oval I think leading up to the 98 campaign, it was an exquisite chip from about 30 yards out. We won that game 3-2.

4) His setting up of jamerson for the 2 goals in 89 vs Guatemala

5) Bullet vs Mexico in the 86th when we won 1-0.

6) performace vs Guat on Sat.

I have left out all the heroics vs caribbean nations especially in Copa/Shell Cups, that is for mere mortals.

Anyone can add anymore?

Re: Greatest Latapy Moments
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2005, 04:00:43 PM »
Was thinking and some came to mind.

1) Singlehandedly brought T&T back into the game when 2-0 down to El Salvador in a Gold Cup sometime in the 90's. Elcock then hands on the line and we went on to lose 3-2 (same tourney we lost 3-2 to the US as well).

2) Singlehandedly beat Norway by himself in the mid 90's in the Oval. Who could forget his first goal.

3) The goal he scored vs Mex U-23 in the Oval I think leading up to the 98 campaign, it was an exquisite chip from about 30 yards out. We won that game 3-2.

4) His setting up of jamerson for the 2 goals in 89 vs Guatemala

5) Bullet vs Mexico in the 86th when we won 1-0.

6) performace vs Guat on Sat.

I have left out all the heroics vs caribbean nations especially in Copa/Shell Cups, that is for mere mortals.

Anyone can add anymore?

My best memories of Latas was during his Intercol days.. but as they say..save the best for last...so in Germany will be my fav moment.. when, with his help our warriors hit the field and the anthem plays.

Offline monty

« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2005, 04:19:11 PM »
For those who want to see Latapy goal while we wait for the full upload, check out this:

Latapy Goal vs Guatemala

I get this off Gol TV today, his goal was one of the goals of the qualifications this weekend.

It is an avi video of 21 seconds.

I eh have no ftp account/online sharing account and this thing was the next best thing. It only available for 14 days, so enjoy it while it last.

« Reply #3 on: September 05, 2005, 04:22:32 PM »
My last and fondest memory of Latas at home was the Intercol Final between Sando Tech and Arima Senior Comprehensive.  I remember the Stadium packed to capacity both concrete and covered stands. Although it was a star studded Sando Tech team, yuh could not help but notice the brilliance of the Little Magician in the middle.  With all that said Arima with only Jamerson, Lee and ah forget the forward at the time give them a fight until Marvin Faustin pull out a piece of brilliance to win the game for Sando Tech.  

But Latas was a general on de day.

« Reply #4 on: September 05, 2005, 04:23:25 PM »
Oh my God!

« Reply #5 on: September 05, 2005, 04:30:22 PM »
For those who want to see Latapy goal while we wait for the full upload, check out this:

Latapy Goal vs Guatemala

I get this off Gol TV today, his goal was one of the goals of the qualifications this weekend.

It is an avi video of 21 seconds.

I eh have no ftp account/online sharing account and this thing was the next best thing. It only available for 14 days, so enjoy it while it last.

Thanks ah million!.. ah craving to see that game

Offline Ruggy

« Reply #6 on: September 05, 2005, 04:33:37 PM »
What a goal! Go on the little magician!  ;D

Latapy's goal vs Guatemala
« Reply #7 on: September 05, 2005, 07:50:44 PM »

Latapy Goal vs Guatemala

It's now in our goal library, which does not have any time restrictions.

« Reply #8 on: September 05, 2005, 10:29:15 PM »
GREATEST LATAPY MOMENT ???......THE DAY HE WAS BORN.........THANKS JOAN....

LATAPY

EE OOHH EAY....CHECK DE DANGER..OOOHH ........ INNA DE AREA (fill in de blanks)

« Reply #9 on: September 06, 2005, 12:23:58 AM »
BM you like that song boy  :)   That song was a nice one remember....Strike Squad Target target..........

It start:
We have a good thing going
With Football in T&T

Blessings Man

« Reply #10 on: September 06, 2005, 07:00:42 AM »
Thanks fuh dat link tallman dat was nice ....dat was composure at it's best.

Alyuh see stern with he hand up beggin latapy fuh ah pass.....good ting he idn't give him dat ball.

Offline Hyperhot J

« Reply #11 on: September 06, 2005, 09:49:39 AM »
   I was in the stands and I knew that Stern was to Latas' left and I KNEW that Latas was not going to pass to him especially since Stern was doing his usual missings up to that point. Latas knew that he had to score on his own for that one.

Jason.
"The abuse of greatness is when it disjoins remorse from power." 

Cassius told Brutus in Julius Caesar by Shakespeare

Offline Hyperhot J

« Reply #12 on: September 06, 2005, 09:53:22 AM »
    Another great Latapy goal was in 2000 against Canada in our 4-0 win! The first goal a bullet he scored from the top right side of the box that swerved to the keeper's left.

J.
"The abuse of greatness is when it disjoins remorse from power." 

Cassius told Brutus in Julius Caesar by Shakespeare