April 29, 2024, 05:57:48 AM

Author Topic: You are the Ref  (Read 20199 times)

Re: You are the Ref
« Reply #60 on: June 17, 2008, 12:05:28 PM »
really enjoying this thread...some of the scenarios pple put up really interesting to say the least

« Reply #61 on: June 18, 2008, 08:06:47 AM »

Question number 7

It's Portugal and Germany in the quarter-final of Euro 2008. Ronaldo waltzes past five German defenders, rounds the goalkeeper and is just about to sidefoot the ball into the empty net for the goal of the tournament. But, from the crowd, someone throws a different ball onto the pitch which knocks the matchball way off to the side. Ronaldo puts the second ball in the back of the net.

Is it the goal of the tournament? What do you do?

« Reply #62 on: June 18, 2008, 09:14:10 AM »
I ent go lie...

People does make up some real unbelievable chupidness yes....Ronaldo waltzing past 5 German defenders... :rotfl:

But anyways. Honestly the ref does stop play when more than one ball on the field. However in this instance Ronaldo ent kick the MATCH BALL OVER THE LINE.

NO GOAL

Stop play and award a drop ball....let them hack one another shins for it right there in the penalty spot.

« Reply #63 on: June 18, 2008, 09:18:12 AM »
This one is too much now...

Well i would say stop play and award an indirect to the Portuguese at the point where the ball was intercepted.

I revert to the incident that happen right in our pro league when a man rounds the keeper and hit a shot goalward only for a pothound to run across the field and take the bang.

how did they deal with that one?

« Reply #64 on: June 18, 2008, 09:28:40 AM »
Who was dat player  ???

Man have real skill....you know how hard it is to hit a moving dustbin terrier...especially with they sleek, aerodynamic frame.

That fella need to get call up for the Bermuda match forthwith.

« Reply #65 on: June 18, 2008, 09:29:02 AM »
Touches correct that is a drop ball... cyah be a free kick to anybody...

Germany might want to let portugal score out of fair play but that is up to them...

This one was easy... Omar dat really happen in Trinidad ? ....  :rotfl: I ent go doubt it nah...

We should start to make up we own situations...

« Reply #66 on: June 18, 2008, 09:32:06 AM »
Who was dat player  ???

Man have real skill....you know how hard it is to hit a moving dustbin terrier...especially with they sleek, aerodynamic frame.

you a damn fool yes...

« Reply #67 on: June 18, 2008, 09:38:02 AM »
Who was dat player  ???

Yeah, i distinctly remember seeing that on TTT sports report many years ago and if I am not mistaken it happen at PSA grounds..

funniest thing I ever see..

Also, I could swear i saw some discussion about that on this forum at some point in time.

where tallman?

« Reply #68 on: June 18, 2008, 09:40:05 AM »
YOU IS DE REF - Trinbago styling

You reffing ah game in de velodrome... Kerwyn "Hardest" Jemmot consecutively caps, spanners and sexes three opposing players in midfield and sets up to send clear Denzil "Doubles Paper" Theobald with ah best through ball. At de same time Jumbo now pelt ah salt nuts to ah patron who requested a fresh.... in vexation de patron pelt back the pack of nuts at Jumbo who see it coming and duck.... the nuts hit de groundsman who is actually running a lines with ah jersey and he is knocked out cold.
Theobald collects de through ball, mis-kick and the ball bobble past de goalkeeper and scores... the opposing defence is appealing for offside...
While it appears to be offside you are unsure and the groundsman/linesman is out cold....

What is de call?

« Reply #69 on: June 18, 2008, 09:41:26 AM »

You reffing ah game in de velodrome... Kerwyn "Hardest" Jemmot consecutively caps, spanners and sexes three opposing players in midfield and sets up to send clear Denzil "Doubles Paper" Theobald with ah best through ball. At de same time Jumbo now pelt ah salt nuts to ah patron who requested a fresh.... in vexation de patron pelt back the pack of nuts at Jumbo who see it coming and duck.... the nuts hit de groundsman who is actually running a lines with ah jersey and he is knocked out cold.
Theobald collects de through ball, mis-kick and the ball bobble past de goalkeeper and scores... the opposing defence is appealing for offside...
While it appears to be offside you are unsure and the groundsman/linesman is out cold....

What is de call?

but the goal stands....

« Reply #70 on: June 18, 2008, 09:43:18 AM »

What is de call?
Run quick and pick up the pack of nuts that hit the lino before anyone else does so ;D ;D

I say the Goal stand...too bad
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #71 on: June 18, 2008, 09:49:58 AM »
goal stands refereee decision is final and check the nuts bag becuase yuh know yuh does only get about 10 nuts in a bag these days, I figure it was some press weed from Vincy  ;D

« Reply #72 on: June 18, 2008, 11:06:51 AM »

What is de call?

LMAO! The call is you have to much time on yuh hand and yuh is ah kicks man/woman!  LOL!

« Reply #73 on: June 20, 2008, 08:32:06 AM »

Question number 8

It's the quarter-final of Euro 2008. The Netherlands are a goal down with just seconds remaining of added-on time. The referee awards a corner kick to the Dutch.

The Netherlands keeper leaves his goal and races into the opposition penalty area, but the corner is hit too high and is likely to swing past the far post out of play, well out of everyone's reach.

Two Dutch players hoist the keeper high in the air, rugby-style. They do not block, impede or interfere with any opponents as they hold the keeper steady in the air like a towering statue.

The ball flies towards him and he meets it perfectly to head it into the back of the net.

What would you do in this situation?

« Reply #74 on: June 20, 2008, 08:33:25 AM »

Question number 9

Spain are playing in a quarter-final at Euro 2008 when one of the opposition players is substituted. The player is not pleased. He walks to the touchline and swaps places with a teammate, who is substituting him. Then, out of frustration, he throws his shirt to the ground, walks over and punches the fourth official.

He is presumably sent to the stands, or to the dressing room. But the question is, will his team be reduced to 10 players or have they got away with it, because the substitution had been completed by that point? And what would be his punishment?

« Reply #75 on: June 20, 2008, 04:38:56 PM »
Number 8...No Goal...bringing the game into desrepute, ungentlemanly conduct and circumventing the laws of the game.

Free Kick going the other way.

Number 9....The player gets a red card and is banned from the touchline/bench and sent to take a fresh early. To receive an additional 3 match ban and fine. As the substitution already happened no penalty for the team and 11 men remain intact.

P.S. If I was d 4th official I woulda follow him into the dressing room and hit him a fackin bellers. If i cyar do it I would tell security to escort him to the dressin room and give him a ultimate sorfenin.

Also he could be charged for assault by the police.

« Last Edit: June 20, 2008, 04:43:39 PM by Touches »

« Reply #76 on: June 20, 2008, 08:03:05 PM »
Number 8...No Goal...bringing the game into desrepute, ungentlemanly conduct and circumventing the laws of the game.

Free Kick going the other way.

Number 9....The player gets a red card and is banned from the touchline/bench and sent to take a fresh early. To receive an additional 3 match ban and fine. As the substitution already happened no penalty for the team and 11 men remain intact.

P.S. If I was d 4th official I woulda follow him into the dressing room and hit him a fackin bellers. If i cyar do it I would tell security to escort him to the dressin room and give him a ultimate sorfenin.

Also he could be charged for assault by the police.

i fully concur

« Reply #77 on: June 23, 2008, 07:55:32 AM »

Here is a special bonus question from You Are The Ref creator Paul Trevillion:

Question

A goalkeeper is having a nightmare game. He has let in two very soft goals, but his team are hanging on to a 3-2 lead with five minutes remaining.

They concede a penalty. If the spot-kick is scored it is likely to mean extra-time.

It's a poor penalty, fired straight at the goalkeeper. But the keeper then spills it and the penalty taker runs on to it in an attempt to put the rebound in the net. The goalkeeper also goes for the ball and dives, but makes contact with the opponent before touching the ball.

Here is the situation:

A: The penalty taker claims another penalty
B: The penalty taker's captain insists the goalkeeper has denied an obvious goalscoring opportunity so it should be another penalty and the goalkeeper must be sent off
C: The goalkeeper's manager runs on to the field and says it is not a sending off as the goalscoring opportunity is still valid as it is another penalty
D: The manager then insists he will substitute his goalkeeper before the second penalty is taken
E: The penalty taker's captain insists the manager should be sent to the stands the moment he ran onto the pitch, therefore you must disregard all of his comments

You are the ref - what do you do?

« Reply #78 on: June 23, 2008, 08:33:09 AM »

Question

A goalkeeper is having a nightmare game. He has let in two very soft goals, but his team are hanging on to a 3-2 lead with five minutes remaining.

They concede a penalty. If the spot-kick is scored it is likely to mean extra-time.

It's a poor penalty, fired straight at the goalkeeper. But the keeper then spills it and the penalty taker runs on to it in an attempt to put the rebound in the net. The goalkeeper also goes for the ball and dives, but makes contact with the opponent before touching the ball.

Here is the situation:

B: The penalty taker's captain insists the goalkeeper has denied an obvious goalscoring opportunity so it should be another penalty and the goalkeeper must be sent off
C: The goalkeeper's manager runs on to the field and says it is not a sending off as the goalscoring opportunity is still valid as it is another penalty
D: The manager then insists he will substitute his goalkeeper before the second penalty is taken
E: The penalty taker's captain insists the manager should be sent to the stands the moment he ran onto the pitch, therefore you must disregard all of his comments

Another penalty and red card for the goalkeeper. Then allow the team to sub in the reserve keeper for an outfield player b4 the next penalty is taken.

« Reply #79 on: June 23, 2008, 08:36:35 AM »

Question

Here is the situation:

Another penalty awarded and a red card to the goalkeeper for denying a goalscoring opportunity as the last defender.

Then I will also issue a red card to the manager for entering the field of play and alert the authorities.

The team may sub an outfield player for a goalkeeper or if all subs are used, a player may assume goalkeeping duties.

« Reply #80 on: June 26, 2008, 09:24:42 AM »

Here's a double-headed You Are The Ref question:

Question number 11

Part A: A player sees a goalscoring opportunity, but you - the referee - are unfortunately in the way. He deliberately pushes you out of the way to get to the ball and knocks you to the ground in the process.

He puts the ball in the net but the defence claim they stopped when they saw you on the floor. You didn't see the goal as you were on your backside and your linesman is unsighted and not in a position to rule.

What would you do in this siuation?

This question was inspired by a suggestion from fearlessJon_Taylor. Here is his original submission:

Hi Mr Hackett

Thanks for answering all of the questions asked, the answers have been very helpful. Here's my conundrum:

Part B:

It's 1-0 to Spain against Russia in the last few minutes, with the game swinging end-to-end. Russia have a corner which is cleared but passed back to Arshavin who looks certain to score, unfortunately the referee accidentally elbows him in the face knocking him off balance. The Russia players surround you, complaining that you have denied them a goal.

What do you do?

« Reply #81 on: June 26, 2008, 09:30:06 AM »

Here's a double-headed You Are The Ref question:

Question number 11

Part A: A player sees a goalscoring opportunity, but you - the referee - are unfortunately in the way. He deliberately pushes you out of the way to get to the ball and knocks you to the ground in the process.

He puts the ball in the net but the defence claim they stopped when they saw you on the floor. You didn't see the goal as you were on your backside and your linesman is unsighted and not in a position to rule.

What would you do in this siuation?

This question was inspired by a suggestion from fearlessJon_Taylor. Here is his original submission:

Hi Mr Hackett

Thanks for answering all of the questions asked, the answers have been very helpful. Here's my conundrum:

Part B:

It's 1-0 to Spain against Russia in the last few minutes, with the game swinging end-to-end. Russia have a corner which is cleared but passed back to Arshavin who looks certain to score, unfortunately the referee accidentally elbows him in the face knocking him off balance. The Russia players surround you, complaining that you have denied them a goal.

What do you do?

Part A:  Play to the whistle. GOAL!

Part B: Unfortunate and incidental contact with the referee is part of the game. It wasn't intentional and these things happen. I would issue a couple of yellow cards if players confront me too excessively, but the game must go on. Hard luck mates!

« Reply #82 on: June 26, 2008, 09:38:03 AM »
He SHOVE the ref out the way?!?! Nah!! De ref hadda call dat one back! the second one is a hard luck.
« Last Edit: June 26, 2008, 09:40:25 AM by Mango Chow! »

« Reply #83 on: June 26, 2008, 10:36:47 AM »
He SHOVE the ref out the way?!?! Nah!! De ref hadda call dat one back! the second one is a hard luck.

Both of dem is hard luck.... but de first one is no goal too...

The referee is a part of de field so you cyah shove de ref outta de way.. dat is violent conduct to de ref... you coulda hurt him and you would get a red card in your ass too...

The second one is de same deal... the referee is part of de field... so dais like ah man run into de post and knock heself out... hard luck... no goal

« Reply #84 on: June 26, 2008, 10:44:04 AM »

Both of dem is hard luck.... but de first one is no goal too...

The referee is a part of de field so you cyah shove de ref outta de way.. dat is violent conduct to de ref... you coulda hurt him and you would get a red card in your ass too...

The second one is de same deal... the referee is part of de field... so dais like ah man run into de post and knock heself out... hard luck... no goal

but in the first play after the ref get shove and on de ground, the goal done score already and no whistle eh blow..

how can the ref then call back the play and disallow the goal after the fact?

« Reply #85 on: June 26, 2008, 10:50:04 AM »
but in the first play after the ref get shove and on de ground, the goal done score already and no whistle eh blow..

hmm dais good talk...

but then ah man could snatch out de whistle out de referee hand and do all what he want...

I think I remember ah case where ah referee false teeth fall out... right when he was going and blow off ah game... and ah goal score...
However mister man went back and disallow de goal because he say he was going and blow it off anyway...

So I say no goal...

EDIT: Look it here Omar
http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2008/apr/30/1

"A friend of mine was telling me the other day about an Icelandic referee who disallowed a goal because his teeth had fallen out," says Jon Bennett. "Am I right to assume he was talking bobbins?"

Technically you would be right to assume that, Jon, but only because the referee in question was actually Danish. Henning Erikstrup had been preparing to whistle for full-time on Noerager's 4-3 win over Ebeltoft when his false teeth fell out of his mouth and on to the pitch. Ebeltoft equalised moments later, only for Erikstrup, who had not even seen the goal, to immediately rule it out on the grounds that he would have whistled before it went in. "I had to get my teeth back before some player put his big foot on them," parped the official afterwards when asked why he didn't just whistle without his teeth in.
« Last Edit: June 26, 2008, 11:11:58 AM by FF »

« Reply #86 on: June 26, 2008, 11:16:18 AM »

hmm dais good talk...

but then ah man could snatch out de whistle out de referee hand and do all what he want...

I think I remember ah case where ah referee false teeth fall out... right when he was going and blow off ah game... and ah goal score...
However mister man went back and disallow de goal because he say he was going and blow it off anyway...

So I say no goal...

:rotfl: FF is a geriatric league yuh was sweating in or wha...fete match ting?

For a man to have a full plate fall out he mouth and cyar suck the whistle...he either like fight and was on the receiving end of many a cutarse or he past 60 and a sever case of pyorrhea festering in he gums.... Ent proper ref in league hadda be less than 40 yrs old.

But arghm, I say Goal in the first instance....no goal in the second...hard luck and any of the players who opposin me go get a card in they arse. Step away and relax alyuh self.

Ent if ball hit the referee and go in goal does stand. Same way he does bawl play on when it hit him and he make a one-two with a player. He obstructing play...good goal in part A. No goal in part B the ball ent cross the line.

« Reply #87 on: June 26, 2008, 11:19:34 AM »
:rotfl: FF is a geriatric league yuh was sweating in or wha...fete match ting?

nah Touches  :rotfl:  check meh edit above... this happen in de danish league...

no goal in both counts

« Reply #88 on: June 26, 2008, 01:41:54 PM »
I think it's a goal in the first case. Yuh cud look at it as the ref being at fault for placing himself in harm's way. And like touches say, if the ball deflects off the ref and goes in, it's a goal, so i think this should count as well.

The second scenario is a hard luck. Suck it up and play ball.

« Reply #89 on: June 26, 2008, 02:23:52 PM »
Part A -  no goal, card for the player pushing the referee to the ground.

Part B - Play on

The referee is part of the game that players have to learn to navigate.