March 28, 2024, 04:12:21 AM

Author Topic: Has Yorke played in the mid field before?  (Read 3381 times)

Offline nobody_s angel

Has Yorke played in the mid field before?
« on: September 05, 2005, 06:32:47 PM »
Some friends of mine were having a debate about the 1989 strike squad, a few said that Yorke was a midfielder back then can anyone tell me if it is true. I was really surprised to see that he was able to handle the midfield position because I am young and i only know Yorke as being a striker.

Re: Has Yorke played in the mid field before?
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2005, 06:35:53 PM »
 I see yorke play midfield for Man U already on more than one occasion...Go T&T

« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2005, 06:37:38 PM »
Played left midfield and right midfield with Aston Villa, as well...never see him play center tho.

Offline nobody_s angel

« Reply #3 on: September 05, 2005, 06:38:58 PM »

but what about 4 tnt and in 1989 squad do u remember?

« Reply #4 on: September 05, 2005, 06:42:09 PM »
yeah yorke was a midfielder for tnt  then converted to a centre foward  at aston villa

« Reply #5 on: September 05, 2005, 07:03:15 PM »

but what about 4 tnt and in 1989 squad do u remember?

Amigo yorke used to switch in and out from midfield to forward for the strikesquad...he was a little inconsistent he used to drift in and out of games so they brought him on initially then he started a few more games....but he never dominated midfield like in these times he was always more of an attackiong force back then his tackling left alot to be desired...not exactly his best point right now either....

« Reply #6 on: September 06, 2005, 06:19:03 AM »
I doh understand why men used to beat down gally for this all the time. the man say he cah play Yorke and latas on the same team...why? Because yorke played an attacking midfield role or right behind the striker, same as latas, for the strike squad. We played a 4-4-2 with 2 overlapping wing backs and hutson charles the workhorse behind latas. Yorke would only play when we wanted to play like Beenie on the road with the 4-4-1-1 or when latas was getting a rest. He became an out and out striker when Brian Llittle came to Villa before that he would play all over the park. He even play right back for Villa in the early days...

« Reply #7 on: September 06, 2005, 04:45:57 PM »
man used to play midfield in aston
he used to run it too
i dunno if he was striking but he looked like an attacking midfielder when they won the coca cola cup just before he joined man u. he was very aggressive running at defenders with the ball and creating plays. his style changed to a back to the goal striker at man u.

A few years ago they showed some strikesquad highlights on tv, a 16 year old yorke used to be in the midfield running at people then too.
So he has quite a bit of midfield experience

also i remember kerry jameson working in the midfield. hutson useed to sub i think.

the other super sub was allaby. guaranteed overbar anytime he had a chance. u thought stern used to throw away,  u shoulda see he
« Last Edit: September 06, 2005, 04:51:39 PM by Tallman »

Offline d00d

• ball kicker defender guy
« Reply #8 on: September 06, 2005, 04:57:52 PM »
i doh care if he play dey b4 meh frend....he play a boss game saturday and i think he fits in nicely.

« Reply #9 on: September 06, 2005, 05:13:27 PM »
Yorke does have midfield experience but I wouldn't call him a midfielder for the Strike squad...he just wasn't a post up striker. He played similar to how Rivaldo played in the last WC, just off Ronaldo but not quite as deep as Ronaldinho and Juninho (in the early rounds), who had the real playmaking responsibility....Sort of like Del Piero=Yorke, Nedved=Latas, Trezeguet = Philbert. Yorke was a link up man, not a playmaker. His principal job was still to score goals.

Yorke was always predominantly a link up man....he was brought in to ManU to replace Cantona. Even at ManU when he top score he didn't just lean on the last man like a Stern or Van Nistelroy. The reason why Yorke could hold it down in the midfield in ConCaCaf is because the man is an experienced, skilled baller with good technique and a good footballing brain. Even Mark Hughes used to conduct it in the middle in the Premiership (Southhampton) at the end of his career. Ruud Gullit used to sweep for Chelsea, and now goal machine Gudjohnsson is reinvented as a big central midfielder for Chelsea...Intelligent ballers with good technique could move around even when they not that experienced in the position.

Offline d00d

• ball kicker defender guy
« Reply #10 on: September 06, 2005, 05:24:20 PM »
yea yea...what he sed  ;D

« Reply #11 on: September 06, 2005, 05:59:12 PM »
i remember yorke leanin on the last stopper a few times with man u man. Not to contradict u filho, i agree with what u said.
Since we callin out strike squad men,
Big up to Philbert Jones, Elliot Allen, Marvin Faustin and Dexter Francis

« Reply #12 on: September 06, 2005, 06:49:39 PM »
He had a bullet of a shot too.
He well string up some Caribbean keepers in some youth tournaments.
And all I remember is his shots hitting post after post after post with the strike squad.

I really think the man enjoying his midfield position these days and dat good for we  :salute:

« Reply #13 on: September 06, 2005, 07:16:23 PM »
Yeah boy Marcos...he could definitely post up when it was called for....ya cyah big up Strike Squad without bigging up Leonson Lewis  ;D

« Reply #14 on: September 07, 2005, 08:59:09 AM »
for reallllllllllllllll
Leonson wuz my boy
i still have his autograph on a 10 dollar bill when i see him on d street

« Reply #15 on: September 07, 2005, 10:01:04 AM »
                    Leonson Lewis (Leo)
 Dat was meh boy...u callinn name fuh meh now lol.

Leo was entertainment fuh ur moneyy...wey sah!!!!

Offline Hyperhot J

« Reply #16 on: September 07, 2005, 10:44:56 AM »
 If only Leo had a left foot.  ::)

J.
"The abuse of greatness is when it disjoins remorse from power." 

Cassius told Brutus in Julius Caesar by Shakespeare

Offline fivers

« Reply #17 on: September 07, 2005, 11:04:53 AM »
My father was a big baller back in the day and we saw the last part of York's days in the prmiership. He said to me,"York should not be playing as a striker anymore, and he is not fast as he use to be, he has the strength, good ball control and passing ability don't forget endurance for a midfield position." I wasn't supprize when I saw Benee put him there. But, I was when he put Lats to strike.