April 27, 2024, 06:47:30 PM

Author Topic: Gang violence claims six more  (Read 3236 times)

Gang violence claims six more
« on: June 05, 2008, 08:20:42 PM »
BY GEISHA KOWLESSAR

SIX mothers were in grief last night, after their sons were killed in separate incidents in north Trinidad.

The six victims were identified as:

n Kion Phillips, 19, of Laventille.

n Richard Dedier, 22, of Raymond Street, Diego Martin.

n Juman Abu Bakr Battersby, of Upper Haig Street in Carenage.

n Anthony Ryan, 21, of San Rafael.

n Troy Agostini, 27, of Chaguanas.

n Kurt Coppin, 42.

Their killings took the murder toll to 220—98 for the same period last year.

One of the distraught mothers, during an interview, said she had failed her son.

Phillips’ mother Diana Nedd said so as she recalled her son’s colourful life.

Nedd said she always prayed to God asking him to protect her son.

Exhausted from doing a late night shift as a security guard on Wednesday, Nedd said she fell asleep and forgot to say her prayers.

When she awoke the next morning, she was told that Phillips—who turned 19 last Sunday—was shot dead as he slept.

Phillips was murdered in the same house in which he sought refuge after receiving several death threats earlier in the year.

His bullet-riddled body was found in a house at Picton Road in Laventille around 6 am yesterday.

“I failed him. I tried my best to protect him and look what happen.

“I went to bed and I forget to ask the Lord to protect him.

“The first thing I hear when I wake up was that he dead,” Nedd said, as she waited on her son’s autopsy results at the Forensic Science Centre in St James yesterday.

Nedd, of Eastern Quarry, Laventille, said her son had to flee from her home in February after threats were made on his life.

She said she believe her son was killed for keeping the company of a group of young men who were being blamed for setting fire to several houses in Picton, Laventille.

Recalling her last words to her son, Nedd said she begged him to be careful.

“He went to the house to stay with friends who he thought would protect him...He thought the killers would not come there,” she said.

Life on the run

A life on the run has become the norm for the average youth living in Laventille.

And Phillips was just one of many forced to leave the safety of his home in a bid to elude attackers, his mother said.

“No matter where my son went, they would have killed him...They have groups everywhere,” Nedd said.

She said after her son left home four months ago, he had to “sneak a chance” to visit his siblings.

“He used to take his chance to come home,” Nedd said.

“It was really hard for him to be running and looking over his shoulder all the time...But that is how most youths have to live in Laventille.”

Regular shoot-outs

Another Picton resident, who asked not to be identified, said almost every day shoot-outs between warring gangs occurred in Laventille.

“Sometimes when they point the gun, a light shine on you.

“That is to tell you the kind of firearm they have,” the resident said.

The crux of the shootings, the resident theorised, was an ongoing feud between gangs operating in Beverly Hills and Picton.

Re: Gang violence claims six more
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2008, 08:52:53 PM »
4give me but d gang related murders are not a part of my homicide statistics. Dem is bandit just shoot straight at yuh bandit pardner. D taxi driver, d poor lady who dey rape while waitin 4 she colleagues dem tings does pull at meh heart string not these bandits and dey mudders who know dey is bandit

« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2008, 10:20:16 PM »
Manning and them don't have a clue on what to do for Picton Laventille. Imagine that is a PNM constituency. laventille should vote UNC next election.

« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2008, 11:02:53 PM »
Manning and them don't have a clue on what to do for Picton Laventille. Imagine that is a PNM constituency. laventille should vote UNC next election.

When tha happens... Jesus will soon appear in a cloud....

« Reply #4 on: June 05, 2008, 11:14:21 PM »
And that's gonna save them from gang violence and crime right, only if it was that simple. what needs to be done is this.

the government and the oppossition need's to stop bickering and work together.

the opposition have to get on board and stop vito-ing every proposal that the ruling party put forth. ah does get it live from my breddren who ah grow up with, his kid works in parlaiment so i have a front row seat (ala grape vine).

stop the bipartisanism and work for the betterment of the country and it's citizens, lock up dem big bisiness men who encouraging bobol by financing the drug and gun trade.

lock up all them high and low ranking police officials who turning ah blind eye, and the biggest culprits , the coast guard, our first line of defence, who not trying hard enough to do what it takes to protect the shores.

it's unreasonable to think voting for UNC will solve the crime epidemic, it's not like crime was nonexistant when the UNC was there. vote UNC and KAZAM!!! puff problem solved right.  only if it was that simple.

PS: Trinidad and Tobago need's ah agency like the FBI and a special task force like internal affairs , they also need an intellegence agency as well and strict gun , police missconduct, and drug laws which entales heavy jail time with strokes. JMV.                                    positive.
« Last Edit: June 05, 2008, 11:22:00 PM by just cool »

« Reply #5 on: June 06, 2008, 09:28:17 AM »
FYI d gang violence began under UNC when Sadiq was Min of Works and URP began 2 b run by Anim Smith and d gangs got d run of tings.  So doh feel Bas and dem is part of d solution dem is d reason what goin on Lav and Morv. It always had criminals but dem fuel d war

« Reply #6 on: June 06, 2008, 09:30:58 AM »
Another Picton resident, who asked not to be identified, said almost every day shoot-outs between warring gangs occurred in Laventille.

:o :o :o

« Reply #7 on: June 06, 2008, 02:07:58 PM »

:o :o :o

that ent nutten new...since i was in Pres one of meh bredren we does call 'pablo' was offering me a teck to buy.  trinidad need to stop the flow of guns into the country or do like chris rock say and raise the price of bullets!

jus cool i agree with much of what you have to say bredda.    positive

« Reply #8 on: June 06, 2008, 03:23:16 PM »
The Police need to strengthen its presence in those communities. It is unacceptable that the police has no effective jurisdiction in some areas. We need to take drastic measures to reclaim our territory. 

The guns need to stop flowing in this place. It too easy for some of them yute to get a gun.I don't know what customs and the coast guard doing. I have heard nothing from the MNS about reforming Customs.

Some big boys hadda get hold, take out or something.

Government needs a specialised education policy for students in at-risk communities.   

« Reply #9 on: June 06, 2008, 03:48:31 PM »
I was recently talking to someone who works directly under Martin Joseph and their sentiments to crime seems to be if a youth man from one st. in Laventille decide to gun down ah youth man from an adjacent st. what dem could do about it!!!

When I heat that I leave it right dey, cause it eh have no argument I could ah come up with to counter that logic.

« Reply #10 on: June 07, 2008, 10:08:34 AM »
Allyuh have to undersatand that places like laventille and morvant are being neglected by the government, and it's not the ppl who are really bad, but due to the lack of community involvement and government aid, the ppl did not produce productive members of society.

my parents moved to laventille before i was born, and i spend my infant to post toddler yrs in laventille.

at the time it was a peaceful community BC there were ppl who cared, the likes of rudulph charles who lived just a stone throw from our house, anim smith, sherriff, and many more, but now, show me who is active as a community leader.

those guys had the government at their backs and they promoted sports and activities in the community. now today ppl like them are nonexistant.

i remember there was always something going on for the kids and grown ups and it was a nice peaceful place to live.

even when my parents moved away and migrated we would still come back and visit BC my aunt and causins still lived there and my parents had loads of friends whom they visited from time to time.

trust me allyuh laventille was not a lawless place as of 1987, i don't know what happened, all i could come up with is i heard through the grape vine that laventille was neglected on purpose BC of its prime realty, and they want the ppl out so they could sell to wealthy investors who intend to turn laventille into a billion dollar housing delopement plan, to sell to wealthy foriegners who wants to make trini there second home.

i don't really know if it's true , but i would not put anything pass those old slave mined greedy men.

i think the only old fellas from that generation who had power and the ablity to make things happen, and did not take all out advantage of their power, would be the late DR Eric eustach Williams, george weeks, and tubal uriah buttler.

« Reply #11 on: June 07, 2008, 04:30:59 PM »
Dem fellas in Lav 2 happy it have parts all over TNT dat neglected dey build d Lav Tech Centre but nuff peeps out ah Lav goin dem want 2 b bandit solef dem. 1 of d president medalist is a young lady from Morvant who went 2 Success Composite her family dirt poor and she mudder have she pappers 4 St. Ann's but she wanted a better life dem lil blacks want bling

Offline john_public

« Reply #12 on: June 08, 2008, 05:59:45 AM »
ppl cud say all dey want about de ppl in john john picton ect have it hard and all dat, but this all start from de ppl demself how many of them does tell de police what dey see, how many of dem when a fellar get take down start to talk about how de police dem was to harsh de police use to much force, dat he innocent ect. ( now i eh sayin dat they always wrong but not ever time, so is only de good fellars de ppl does always take?) i can say i eh trust police also and don`t tell em anything so i am to blame also, lots of my fam from dat area and i use to be there alot so i know what i`m talking about,

thru ppl afraid to talk becasue they are afraid to be a target, but it only got this far and they only got so much power becasse of time and because no one use to talk even when it was not this bad.

de ppl to blame, de government to blame not only pnm, unc cop njack nar al ah dem.

it is really getting to a point that will soon be too late to do anything

there are good ppl in that area also,

that is my taughts, ppl might not agree but thats my taughts based on my experience, so tim to stop talkin about this and that and take a stand.

i remember growing up most things i din`t do was not becasue i didn`t want to do it, but i was afraid what wud happen if i did and my mom found out.  she siad from early on if i break de law she callin de police personally and believe me she was serious. how many parents we have like dat still?

« Reply #13 on: June 08, 2008, 06:33:29 AM »
she siad from early on if i break de law she callin de police personally and believe me she was serious. how many parents we have like dat still?

Yes dat is the truth right there. That is put things in perspective for a young person from early.  If you even talk to teachers, parents don't side with teachers anymore...they argue with them with this kinda anti-establishment attitude not realising they are hurting their children in the long run.  U used to get double licks if parents found out u get in trouble in school, now parents don't care what their child do they acting just as immature as children trying to weasel out of taking responsibility.

« Reply #14 on: June 08, 2008, 08:44:05 AM »
just cool I can't agree with you on this issue. Government social programmes have been deliberately targeted at those communities. They have been passing in caravans literally begging the youths to sign up and they just don't want it. The Laventille Technology Centre which was built to attract especially those youths has an enrollment rate from Laventille at less than 20% and an even lower graduate rate.

If you look at some of the deplorable infrastructure, social and physical, in some historically none PNM areas it is shocking. Roads horrible, poor or non-existent drainage, no pavement , Schools subsisting on parental contributions and no community center. You might see a cricket pitch  but no extravagant. Somehow those people manage to live peacefully. Perhaps its because they too busy fixing somebody car, planting tomatoes or running a fruit stall. If you pass through Aranguez you'd see what I'm talking about. You cyar tell me them people across the highway benefit more from government support that Morvant and Laventille.

I not buying that shit about no government support. Culture is so real you can see it , you can almost touch it. As some say Trinidad is a place where you could spit and something will grow. This is a land of opportunity. Even in this environment we have people complaining still.

That said given the proliferation of anti-social behaviour there, it is evident that the state will have to take special measures to ensure the safety of the wider population and the reform of the said communities.

« Reply #15 on: June 08, 2008, 11:48:02 AM »
Murder toll 222 as 2 killed

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_news?id=161335554
Denyse Renne

Sunday, June 8th 2008

Two more killings which occurred in Sangre Grande and Couva (See other story) has now pushed the murder figure to 222 for the year thus far, 97 more than last year's toll around this same period.

Elvis Emile, 43, a painter, of Greenidge Street, Foster Road, Sangre Grande died on the spot after being stabbed repeatedly by a man yesterday morning.

Police say around 2.30 a.m., Emile was liming at the Rossi Bar, which is located on Ojoe Road, Sangre Grande, in the company of three other persons-two men and a woman-when the group decided to leave the bar. While walking along Ojoe Road an argument started and Emile was stabbed. The men and the woman ran off and an eyewitness called the police.

A team of detectives from the Sangre Grande Police Station led by Cpl Christopher Fuentes along with PCs Nicholas Fuentas and Christopher Joshua visited the scene and went in search of the suspects.

The officers received information and went to the Picton Road, Sangre Grande home of a man and detained three people who are currently in police custody.

« Reply #16 on: June 08, 2008, 03:22:21 PM »
As I said b4 dey does only c police brutality nutten else just shoot straight because dey like d bandit scene