September 15, 2024, 06:34:12 AM

Author Topic: D Touches Match Report TT vs JA  (Read 9817 times)

D Touches Match Report TT vs JA
« on: June 08, 2008, 09:09:00 AM »
Dear Forumites,

Yet again I bring to you my dear readers a tale of doom and gloom. I would say this performance was marginally better than the England game. But truth be told it was a contest between two mediocre teams, quality play was few and far between and plenty work has to be done by both Coaches. It is tough being a TT supporter and its becoming even more expensive to witness yet another poor performance by our beloved national team.

I was upset at my teams performance, the opposition, the scoreline, but most of all the dim witted clown posing as a referee and his trusty assistants.

My arrival to the COE was greeting by no parking signs and a few vendors trying to get rid of bandannas and other TT paraphernalia. I went in the uncovered section and after purchasing a ticket at the security booth, I passed through the chain link gate, received a Bmobile rag and noisemaker from a modelesque TSTT employee and took my seat on the makeshift stand that was erected.

Folks I liked the temporary stand, metal and slabs of plyboard, it was a bit wobbly but there was an intimate feeling, many a die hard was in attendance, all of whom were quite vocal in expressing their displeasure at the players or the officials on the field. Additionally there were a number of mini stands and it was easy for a group to commandeer a section for themselves. The stand was also right next to the fence providing an excellent view of the field and within earshot of the comments on the field. There was another stand filled with plastic chairs, on the covered section. But there were few patrons sitting in these. On the southern side of the ground behind the other goalpost the After Fete stage and Performance area was erected. For those who collected tickets for the England match it was this area that was used.

But I must say there were a large number of vendors selling everything from geera pork to chicken foot souse, shark and fries, hot dogs, burgers etc. There was a good police presence, plenty bins and a temporary bathroom was created behind the scoreboard with port-a-potties.

The Laventille rhythm section set up in the stand directly behind the goal and they provided the most entertainment for the afternoon, changing the tempo to match the action on the field. I would estimate the crowd to be around 2000 Max. The price, the quality of opposition, timing in relation to our next WCQ and location being factors attributed to the few spectators in attendance.

Both teams were warming up doing the usual small sided game, shuttles between cones and the prerequisite stretching exercises. Jamaica had a number of solid looking players while their TT counterparts were smaller in terms of stature and height. Additionally, there is a big difference in size between the overseas pros and the local based players. To put it in perspective; Carlos Edwards is by no means a big person. However, his arms were comparable in size to a few of the TT local based players, shin-pads and socks included.

TT came out in the old red adidas kit. JA in a yellow kit, not quite sure of their sponsor. I would like to know why are we still wearing our old uniforms? Having celebrated our centennial match, I would have thought we would be outfitted in the new strips currently being sold in Francis Fashions, but this was not to be. Both teams did not have names on their uniforms and the TT kits also had some cheap looking generic numbers rather than the official Adidas numbering.

The Management learned a few lessons from The England game Flag fiasco and no flags were brought out on the field. Instead players and officials faced the flags that were flown on the flag poles near the scoreboard. Jamaican fans added an intimidating “BOOM” during certain parts of their anthem and the 100 or so odd supporters were quite vocal  for the opening moments of the match and at the end. The TT voices that were present sang our anthem as loud if not louder than the crowd at the England game and pretty soon the match was under way with JA dominating the opening proceedings.

T&T Squad:
1.Clayton Ince; 13.Kareem Smith, 4.Makan Hislop, 6.Dennis Lawrence, 15.Akile Edwards (3.Ancil Farrier 77th); 5.Osei Telesford, 7.Carlos Edwards (11.Kevon Carter 72nd), 8.Khaleem Hyland, 19.Keon Daniel (17.Kevaughn Connell 72nd) (18.Stephan David 86th), 9.Aurtis Whitley (capt); 12.Jason Scotland.

Jamaica Squad:
30.Donovan Ricketts; 5.Ian Goodison, 14.Jermaine Taylor, 3.Simon Ford (18.Deon Burton 68th), 17.O'Neil Thompson (16.Omar Daley 46th); 7.Evan Taylor, 15.Ricardo Gardener (capt), Demar Phillips, 24.Rudolph Austin; 6.Marlon King (23.Jermaine Johnson 82nd), 10.Ricardo Fuller (21.Luton Shelton 61st).

TT lined up in a kinda 4-4-2/4-5-1 formation. To me it was as if Scotland was alone up top, with no support. The midfield consisted of Telesford ad the defensive mid, whitley and hyland the creative, Daniel and Edwards on the flanks and a back four of Smith, Hislop, Lawrence and Edwards.

Jamaica had a 4-3-3 formation. Allowing TT to knock the ball around in the back and putting pressure near the half line.

Both teams played a similar style playing patient football, slow build up and trying the flank or through pass down the middle.

Both teams were also suffering from an overseas pro vs local player disparity in quality sort of game. All the pros and their quality stood out for both teams, the supporting casts however were never on the same page. King and Fuller looked a notch above their JA teammates, while Lawrence, Carlos and Scotland proved why they ply their trade overseas.

However, Gardener for JA looked a shadow of himself playing on the flank and seemed uninterested. Goodison was steady at the back, Burton showed a glimpse of hustle and run with no end product and Shelton on his introduction showed speed but not too much upstairs. The rest of the JA team are a bunch of labourers, simply trying to get it right. Poor Rene Simoes must have been wondering what level of la la his team was running with their “Big Guns” on the field and Mr. Maturana’s honeymoon period is over with the obvious problems not being addressed, game after game.

Maturana my dear readers is simply “forming track for gouti to run” and with each passing game the tracks getting not only deeper, but resembling a carriageway, asphalt and shoulder included.

As mentioned before, it only takes so long before a player is found out. The bag of magic dust finishing if you will and Smith, Daniel, Telesford, A Edwards and to a lesser extent Hyland and Hislop all seem to be running on “E”

It is no fault of their own, they simply are not up to international World Cup standards as yet and our TT team is not a collection of the best XI in the nation but rather a training exercise, with the purpose of auditioning players for contracts overseas, providing comic relief for opponents and heart attack moments for nationals, whilst providing a hole in the pocket for the die hards of TT.

TT for the first 10-15 minutes could not come out of our half. Playing the ball around in the back..... as soon as the ball arrived in the middle the Jakan forwards closed down the space, put in the tackle and lack of support by the TT middle, errant passing or playing the ball back resulted in negative football. Ja to their credit attempted to hustle fwd but King was effectively dealt with by Lawrence and Fuller by Hislop or Whitley.

After 10 minutes the heavens opened up. Rain like fuss time and all of us in the uncovered stands ran for whatever shelter that we could find. Some sat and took the rain like champions. I with a few others climbed under the stands and looked at the match through the wood and metal. Funny enough you still had a good view of the field and none of the action was missed. After the rain subsided, there was a slight drizzle in the air but the pitch was still perfect. The surface was a bit slick so any advantage went to the outfield players.

The game was poorly officiated, TT not getting any calls, blatant fouls, corners, throw ins and advantage calls were not given. Additionally injuries to players were ignored. The ref allowing play to go on when serious fouls were committed, few yellow cards were shown and the TT players received them for silly things like Telesford kicking away the ball.

It was a real battle on the field, elbows, short jabs to midsections, late tackles etc were the norm and most challenges resulted in a player or two down for a couple seconds. I was also disappointed that we took so much abuse at home and only Whitley and Telesford stood up to the Jakans and dished it out. There were three moments in the game where fights threatened to break out, Whitley was involved in all, either standing up for his teammates or not being taken advantage off. From my vantage point there was a free kick incident and within the TT wall King decided to step on Whitleys foot and elbow him in his guts. The ref was being distracted moving the ball for the free kick and the linesman was talking to some players. Whitley and King squared off. King attempted to push/strike/hold whitley near his throat and whitley feinted and hit him POW in he eye. He then calmly turned and went back into his position in the wall.

The game was not free flowing and JA were not able to string more than 3-5 passes without the play being broken up or the pass being errant. TT allowed them way too much space and respect giving them the opportunity to reach the top of the box, but they were always short of ideas and wasted every corner, free kick or through ball opportunity.

Ince made a number of good saves, with Fuller or King hitting a few shots at goal. Ince also came off his line bravely a number of times to clean up.

Lawrence tried his best to talk to Smith, Edwards and Hislop who were all making last ditch tackles, losing the ball with no pressure, making the errant pass or not paying attention to the long cross field balls. We gave away a number of corners and throw ins and even at this level big men making foul throws giving the ball to the opposition in dangerous places.

I was disappointed in the wing-backs not using their room and going forward. With no players on them, time and space being afforded, they simply would hold up the play or knock it back. Giving a ball to a player in a pressure situation or losing the ball in the process.

We have no concept of a counter attack or long ball. Sometimes TT were faced with 1 v 1 or 2 v 3 going fwd on the break and instead of going to goal we would stop hold up the ball and negate any advantage or we would simply mess up the pass and give it back to the opposition.

In the first half we had one attempt = one shot = one goal.

An errant back pass was intercepted by Daniel. All he had to do was take on the Jakan last stopper 1 v1 at the top of the box. Instead he delayed, ran near the wing and passed it to Scotland with two men on his back. Scotland twisted and turned and to me it looked like the opportunity was gone as the Jakan defense came back. However he screened the ball well cut inside and set up the onrushing Hyland who with a neat bullet put the ball far post and out of the keepers reach.

The crowd went wild, The rhythm section start to get louder, men start to jump up and the Jakans were quiet.... not a peep from them both on and off the field. In fact that goal clearly disrupted all the plans by Simoes, TT gained a bit more confidence and we started to stroke the ball around more.But after a few passes we just played the ball laterally, lost it. Had nothing again going fwd and when not in possession, escorting players instead of tackling.

Keon Daniel has been found out. Another poor performance from him. He provided nothing defensively, limed whole evening on the wing, did not get past his marker once, only blade in he tail and just was ineffective. Everybody in my section was calling for him and Aklie Edwards to come off as the first sub.

Telesford is a poor mans Davids. He try to play the defensive mid role and I will give him some pips for the aggression. But the last ditch wild man tackles were due to mistakes he made and he trying to recover, poor positioning and his passes were poor.

Hyland and Whitley kept getting in each others way and it made no sense to play both of them in the same role. The understanding was not there, all of the mid-fielders were up under one another not giving each other the proper outlet or space to play. No off the ball runs. And they were not doing the simple play early enough. Additionally TT players did not want to shoot the ball. Passing the responsibility, falling down or just making a mess of things at the top of the box.

Hyland also learned today that to be effective you do the simple things first time. All the fancy beat and flick he try were dealt with by the Jakan midfield and he get some proper blade in he arse. At one point he got a two footed lunge and I swear the man foot break or he ankle mess up. The ref ent even watch him and said play on. For 3 minutes he on the ground rolling around and the medics cant come on the field.

Poor Carlos had another frustrating game, both he and Scotland. No support, nobody to pass to and just no cooperation from the other players. Carlos repeatedly was begging Smith to help him or Hyland in the middle. He beat one, he beat two and nuttin. Scotland beating his men nice whole evening screening three men at a time and nobdy inside to pass to or no midfield supporting him. A proper game of backs and forwards which we are yet to fix.

Half time came and went and the action pretty much the same as before. Ja having more possession and doing nothing with it. TT when in possession knocking the ball in the back and making mistakes in the midfield, no clue going fwd and bad passing in the final third or nobody inside becoming the order of the day.

Jamaica nearly scored a wonderful goal by King. Bad passing between Hislop and one of the wingbacks resulted in King picking up a loose ball, he beat somebody and in the 18 rifled a bullet that graze the V. A proper throwaway and TT held on for the rest of the game by a Hope and a Prayer. It is not that Jamaica were dangerous but simply our defenders made the simplest thing look hard and nerves started to kick in.

Maturana then made some subs which made a difference. Carter and Connell came on and immediately started to go forward, using the wings and taking on players. Carter then had a nice interchange of passes beat a few players and was through on goal scoring a nice side foot past the keeper. I was right there behind the linesman. It was a good genuine goal. Scotland did not touch the ball and was not interfering with the play. The lines man got some proper cuss from the crowd, and to an outsider one would think that the linesman would have a sibling in a few months time.

Hyland also got a good opportunity, passing neatly with Scotland and with a man on his back turned the defender in the 18 and slapped a bullet wide. It looked like sure goal and had it scored Ja would not have seen their way. With them already being on the back foot.

Connell then started to take on players and I was seeing a spark in this player. Then all of a sudden he make a bad trap. He make a bad flick under no pressure, he collect a jam and 5 minutes later that is the end of him. A shame really as he was looking good going fwd drawing players out of position and his pace had the jakan defence worried.

Carter had the wing back on my side hot with some nice footwork and push pull beat. However after getting past his man he simply had no one to cross to and the balls across the box went to no one. No supporting midfield as they were liming near the half line and the lack of support apparent.

Game then wound down, crowd start to get excited, it was the 90th min by my watch and people started to leave the game. All the Jakans quiet quiet knowing that all they Britz and big guns they had on the field couldn’t do nothing vs a poor TT outfit and they were shame with they tail between they legs. Even the players on the field seemed to concede defeat when a long speculative ball which should have been dealt with by the defence was left alone.

Shelton with his speed blow past the defence and Ince comes out to make the save. Shelton never had the ball under control, was never likely to get it and from my view Ince touches ball only and pushes it out of play and for some reason the ref blow and penalty is awarded. It was never a penalty. Men start to cuss..... Maturana off the bench quarrelling with the 4th official, the TT side drop they head and they dejected. Shelton score. The undeserved Jakan lifeline was celebrated and all there know how lucky they were to escape.

I never hear a stadium steups and cuss so in unison and with 2 minutes extra time to be played. TT instead of going for goal playing like they in their bedroom and knockin ball around at the top of the box instead of piping bullet.

At the final whistle I left the COE vex, with the TT performance, the JA performance and the scoreline. They get away, the killer instinct and passion just evaporated and the ref…..well he should not officiate a game ever again.

Folks the sheep have been separated from the goats long time. We know the problems and yet we still cant fix them. Both managers I am sure were disappointed by the performances and JA ent looking like they coming out they group. We probably right now only good to get past Bermuda and we will struggle. I cannot see where the goals are going to come from and our system of play is not creating any chances. Even with Stern and KJ there is no service, no bite in the middle and a shaky defence. Any organized team will exploit us.

However the positives are…1) Ince is a boss. 2) Carlos is a Boss, 3) Lawrence still have it, 4) a ¼ fit Scotland is still class and worries. 5) Whitley is a fighter and die hard, full commitment and we know what he could do. 6) Hyland have talent but have to mature real fast. 7) We could work with Hislop, Connell and Carter.

The rest of the team…..we up the creek without a paddle and sinking fast.

Till next time.
« Last Edit: June 09, 2008, 02:59:58 AM by Flex »

Re: D Touches Match Report TT vs JA
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2008, 09:50:58 AM »
I always find the COE does give you a good view of the game. Its a more genuine experience. I remember when they were building the stadia for the U17 initially they did no include running tracks. I could understand the logic eh but they coulda build one legitimate football stadium. 

« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2008, 09:51:56 AM »
Touches I saw Keon Daniel twice. Against JA in the first game and against England. Two words....not impressed. He is too weak..mentally and physically. Hyland goes in and out of agme to often for my liking. If Maturana insists on using Telesford out of position then use him a a wing back. I am sick of the jerky jerky football we are playing at present. It is either Maturana grow some balls and ask for his full list of players or ride out.
On another note I am depending on the american unbiased form of jurisprudence to one day investigate JW. Oh happy day to see this man in handcuffs.

« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2008, 09:53:34 AM »
Your best to date.....Impressive report...at certain times I actually thought I was reading an article by a professional journalist....well done breds keep it up.

« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2008, 09:55:49 AM »
Touches, i dere with you except for the Evaluation of Carlos, i thought he was poor with his positioning on the field. He drifts infield too much and when he does come out wide, it is from an infield position so he already has a defender tracking. He needs to stay on that line. It had two youth men sitting infront of us not older than 13 years each and they actually saw it too. Everytime Smith have d ball dey bawling for Carlos to come wide and show for the ball. Smith had to look for the alternative pass right through cause when Carlos come wide for the ball he have two defenders on him right tru.

As player who have significant experience playing the wings he should take up better positions for himself.

« Reply #5 on: June 08, 2008, 09:56:49 AM »
I had to switch off last night from the TT v Jamaica analysis.

Jamaican and TT fans alike giving some heavy deep, qualified analysis when they never even see the game. Jamaicans saying they outclass T&T.  T&T fans saying that Hyland and Edwards was excellent and they had the best chances. Imagine all this based solely on the screaming rum shop commentary of Anil Roberts.  Steeeeups   :notlistening:

What is for certain is that the Maturana honeymoon is over, and unless we start to see significant improvement and fast, 2010 is a pipe dream.

Thanks Touches.. This is without a doubt one of the best match reports I have ever read from you. Very well written and detailed.

ah tell yuh is time to put dem talents to good use.. Can I be your pimp?? I only charge 20% and I don't lash..

let me know and we could get this show on the road man.. lol

« Reply #6 on: June 08, 2008, 10:01:01 AM »
Touches, I appreciate this report. Good assesment.  It sounds like a very poor game by both teams.

I will give the Rbz the benefit of the doubt in this one. They did express their concern about playing on artificial surface before the game, and probably players like Gardener who just recently returned from injury was more concerned about getting through the game without picking up an injury on that surface.

Bad refereeing didnt help either.

« Reply #7 on: June 08, 2008, 10:10:29 AM »
Rf  for both you and Lionpaw

Both teams played poorly.

Both teams had periods of the game where they maintained possession but it usually was at the back and meaningless. Both teams are poor offensively and no real clear cut chances were made by either team.

You could see the gulf in class between foreign and local based players on both teams in terms of fitness, touch composure etc. King was the best for you on the night but he has no supporting cast. He on another level and the passes, plays he doing etc not being read by some of the other players.

The wildman brand exhibited by your team would be punished by a competent referee.

I find your team has a better willingness to shoot to goal. However all your corners and free kicks were easily dealt with, unimaginative or poorly executed.

Your team was fourtunate to get a penalty but I would say the draw is a fair result.

I expected more from JA and the performance in Kingston was better. You should be worried if this is your strongest team. Work plenty work to do by Simoes.

« Reply #8 on: June 08, 2008, 10:13:33 AM »
EXCELLENT report D!!! I share BOTH your opinion AND moreso your fears. I'm not sure Manturana is his own man and but he's going to pay the price. This team needs more leadership/experience at the back, specifically wing-backs..Keon Daniel is NOT a winger and Connell is a good prospect for the future, but isn't ready yet. Our defence is a DISASTER waiting to happen...after Bermuda and yesterday's experiment with the lone striker approach ( a continuation of the 2nd half agains England),just ain't cutin it, we have ZERO offence!

MY suggestions :-

1 Move Carlos to right wing-back ASAP - the role he played SO well against England in the World Cup and try either Carter or Tinto at right-wing
2 WHat happen to NIGEL Daniel who seemed a promising left-back? Why not Elton John who is now starting for Jabloteh?
3 Telesfod is a GREAT hustler, but I agree he is WAAY TOO WILD. The lunges and crazy tackles WILL be exposed AND punished against the silck pasing Central American countries. We need Birchall back here to either reduce his work-load or complement his defensive duties, that will free up Hyland/Otis for more offensive work.
4 Collin Samuel at left wing...we need his speed...Connell would be back up
5 Brent Sancho could AT LEAST make the bench, because if Lawrence or Hislop get injured, WHO is the back up???
6 If KJ, Stern and Roberts all injured out or not fuly fit, why not call back Sealy and Patterson to at least COMPETE for places on he squad?
7 Bring in the Under23 goal-keeper who to my mind showed much more promise than he was given credit for...right now we could only PRAY Ince remains in good form, otherwise WE DEAD!!!

Right now our "team" BARELY has a decent starting 11 and a look to the bench shows more green than a National Forest. It's NOT too late tho... if Leo leaves Poland after Euro 2008 ... RETURN OF THE DON... I could DREAM right? ;D

« Reply #9 on: June 08, 2008, 10:21:00 AM »
Good report Touches......  I believe Theobald will make a big difference in this team right now....Yes, he had a bad game the last time, but he is plenty more technical and clinical dan what we have in de middle right now.....As it stands right now, de midfield lacking vision and dont know how to create room for deyself.....At this rate, they going to continuously frustrate de forwards....And dat is de last ting dat we want...especially with man like Stern who like it on dey foot

« Reply #10 on: June 08, 2008, 10:28:06 AM »
RF......in fact...steups...ah eh have de time nor de patience..

Touches....well done....for real this was a good one....as for de offside, I glad you were in a good position to see it....dat referee is a real imps (ah being kind...is Sunday... ;D)
Well I doh know why we all up in arms....we really doh expect to be at WC 2010....only Jackula when he dreaming in he friggin coffin seem to think so....

As for Maturana....bring back Wim!!.... :devil:
No but seriously, we have had a chance to assess the man......in fact ah assessing de wrong man...ah should be assessing Cormeal... ::) ::).....so yeah Cornmeal, we take ah look at your picks eh and aaahhhhh.....for 2010...dey ent ready....

« Reply #11 on: June 08, 2008, 10:28:29 AM »
What about  guerra ? he get left in the cold ah wha

« Reply #12 on: June 08, 2008, 10:34:26 AM »
Wha allyuh think bout putting Carlos in de middle?

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #13 on: June 08, 2008, 10:35:50 AM »
I keep pointing out that this seems to be the official T&T teams. But Trinis don't want to believe it.
jjbrown

« Reply #14 on: June 08, 2008, 10:43:28 AM »
we despertae ah wha

« Reply #15 on: June 08, 2008, 10:44:03 AM »
Dear Forumites,

Yet again I bring to you my dear readers a tale of doom and gloom. I would say this performance was marginally better than the England game. But truth be told it was a contest between two mediocre teams, quality play was few and far between and plenty work has to be done by both Coaches. It is tough being a TT supporter and its becoming even more expensive to witness yet another poor performance by our beloved national team.

I was upset at my teams performance, the opposition, the scoreline, but most of all the dim witted clown posing as a referee and his trusty assistants.

My arrival to the COE was greeting by no parking signs and a few vendors trying to get rid of bandannas and other TT paraphernalia. I went in the uncovered section and after purchasing a ticket at the security booth, I passed through the chain link gate, received a Bmobile rag and noisemaker from a modelesque TSTT employee and took my seat on the makeshift stand that was erected.

Folks I liked the temporary stand, metal and slabs of plyboard, it was a bit wobbly but there was an intimate feeling, many a die hard was in attendance, all of whom were quite vocal in expressing their displeasure at the players or the officials on the field. Additionally there were a number of mini stands and it was easy for a group to commandeer a section for themselves. The stand was also right next to the fence providing an excellent view of the field and within earshot of the comments on the field. There was another stand filled with plastic chairs, on the covered section. But there were few patrons sitting in these. On the southern side of the ground behind the other goalpost the After Fete stage and Performance area was erected. For those who collected tickets for the England match it was this area that was used.

But I must say there were a large number of vendors selling everything from geera pork to chicken foot souse, shark and fries, hot dogs, burgers etc. There was a good police presence, plenty bins and a temporary bathroom was created behind the scoreboard with port-a-potties.

The Laventille rhythm section set up in the stand directly behind the goal and they provided the most entertainment for the afternoon, changing the tempo to match the action on the field. I would estimate the crowd to be around 2000 Max. The price, the quality of opposition, timing in relation to our next WCQ and location being factors attributed to the few spectators in attendance.

Both teams were warming up doing the usual small sided game, shuttles between cones and the prerequisite stretching exercises. Jamaica had a number of solid looking players while their TT counterparts were smaller in terms of stature and height. Additionally, there is a big difference in size between the overseas pros and the local based players. To put it in perspective; Carlos Edwards is by no means a big person. However, his arms were comparable in size to a few of the TT local based players, shin-pads and socks included.

TT came out in the old red adidas kit. JA in a yellow kit, not quite sure of their sponsor. I would like to know why are we still wearing our old uniforms? Having celebrated our centennial match, I would have thought we would be outfitted in the new strips currently being sold in Francis Fashions, but this was not to be. Both teams did not have names on their uniforms and the TT kits also had some cheap looking generic numbers rather than the official Adidas numbering.

The Management learned a few lessons from The England game Flag fiasco and no flags were brought out on the field. Instead players and officials faced the flags that were flown on the flag poles near the scoreboard. Jamaican fans added an intimidating “BOOM” during certain parts of their anthem and the 100 or so odd supporters were quite vocal for the opening moments of the match and at the end. The TT voices that were present sang our anthem as loud if not louder than the crowd at the England game and pretty soon the match was under way with JA dominating the opening proceedings.

T&T Squad:
1.Clayton Ince; 13.Kareem Smith, 4.Makan Hislop, 6.Dennis Lawrence, 15.Akile Edwards (3.Ancil Farrier 77th); 5.Osei Telesford, 7.Carlos Edwards (11.Kevon Carter 72nd), 8.Khaleem Hyland, 19.Keon Daniel (17.Kevaughn Connell 72nd) (18.Stephan David 86th), 9.Aurtis Whitley (capt); 12.Jason Scotland.

Jamaica Squad:
30.Donovan Ricketts; 5.Ian Goodison, 14.Jermaine Taylor, 3.Simon Ford (18.Deon Burton 68th), 17.O'Neil Thompson (16.Omar Daley 46th); 7.Evan Taylor, 15.Ricardo Gardener (capt), Demar Phillips, 24.Rudolph Austin; 6.Marlon King (23.Jermaine Johnson 82nd), 10.Ricardo Fuller (21.Luton Shelton 61st).

TT lined up in a kinda 4-4-2/4-5-1 formation. To me it was as if Scotland was alone up top, with no support. The midfield consisted of Telesford ad the defensive mid, whitley and hyland the creative, Daniel and Edwards on the flanks and a back four of Smith, Hislop, Lawrence and Edwards.

Jamaica had a 4-3-3 formation. Allowing TT to knock the ball around in the back and putting pressure near the half line.

Both teams played a similar style playing patient football, slow build up and trying the flank or through pass down the middle.

Both teams were also suffering from an overseas pro vs local player disparity in quality sort of game. All the pros and their quality stood out for both teams, the supporting casts however were never on the same page. King and Fuller looked a notch above their JA teammates, while Lawrence, Carlos and Scotland proved why they ply their trade overseas.

However, Gardener for JA looked a shadow of himself playing on the flank and seemed uninterested. Goodison was steady at the back, Burton showed a glimpse of hustle and run with no end product and Shelton on his introduction showed speed but not too much upstairs. The rest of the JA team are a bunch of labourers, simply trying to get it right. Poor Rene Simoes must have been wondering what level of la la his team was running with their “Big Guns” on the field and Mr. Maturana’s honeymoon period is over with the obvious problems not being addressed, game after game.

Maturana my dear readers is simply “forming track for gouti to run” and with each passing game the tracks getting not only deeper, but resembling a carriageway, asphalt and shoulder included.

As mentioned before, it only takes so long before a player is found out. The bag of magic dust finishing if you will and Smith, Daniel, Telesford, A Edwards and to a lesser extent Hyland and Hislop all seem to be running on “E”

It is no fault of their own, they simply are not up to international World Cup standards as yet and our TT team is not a collection of the best XI in the nation but rather a training exercise, with the purpose of auditioning players for contracts overseas, providing comic relief for opponents and heart attack moments for nationals, whilst providing a hole in the pocket for the die hards of TT.

TT for the first 10-15 minutes could not come out of our half. Playing the ball around in the back..... as soon as the ball arrived in the middle the Jakan forwards closed down the space, put in the tackle and lack of support by the TT middle, errant passing or playing the ball back resulted in negative football. Ja to their credit attempted to hustle fwd but King was effectively dealt with by Lawrence and Fuller by Hislop or Whitley.

After 10 minutes the heavens opened up. Rain like fuss time and all of us in the uncovered stands ran for whatever shelter that we could find. Some sat and took the rain like champions. I with a few others climbed under the stands and looked at the match through the wood and metal. Funny enough you still had a good view of the field and none of the action was missed. After the rain subsided, there was a slight drizzle in the air but the pitch was still perfect. The surface was a bit slick so any advantage went to the outfield players.

The game was poorly officiated, TT not getting any calls, blatant fouls, corners, throw ins and advantage calls were not given. Additionally injuries to players were ignored. The ref allowing play to go on when serious fouls were committed, few yellow cards were shown and the TT players received them for silly things like Telesford kicking away the ball.

It was a real battle on the field, elbows, short jabs to midsections, late tackles etc were the norm and most challenges resulted in a player or two down for a couple seconds. I was also disappointed that we took so much abuse at home and only Whitley and Telesford stood up to the Jakans and dished it out. There were three moments in the game where fights threatened to break out, Whitley was involved in all, either standing up for his teammates or not being taken advantage off. From my vantage point there was a free kick incident and within the TT wall King decided to step on Whitleys foot and elbow him in his guts. The ref was being distracted moving the ball for the free kick and the linesman was talking to some players. Whitley and King squared off. King attempted to push/strike/hold whitley near his throat and whitley feinted and hit him POW in he eye. He then calmly turned and went back into his position in the wall.

The game was not free flowing and JA were not able to string more than 3-5 passes without the play being broken up or the pass being errant. TT allowed them way too much space and respect giving them the opportunity to reach the top of the box, but they were always short of ideas and wasted every corner, free kick or through ball opportunity.

Ince made a number of good saves, with Fuller or King hitting a few shots at goal. Ince also came off his line bravely a number of times to clean up.

Lawrence tried his best to talk to Smith, Edwards and Hislop who were all making last ditch tackles, losing the ball with no pressure, making the errant pass or not paying attention to the long cross field balls. We gave away a number of corners and throw ins and even at this level big men making foul throws giving the ball to the opposition in dangerous places.

I was disappointed in the wing-backs not using their room and going forward. With no players on them, time and space being afforded, they simply would hold up the play or knock it back. Giving a ball to a player in a pressure situation or losing the ball in the process.

We have no concept of a counter attack or long ball. Sometimes TT were faced with 1 v 1 or 2 v 3 going fwd on the break and instead of going to goal we would stop hold up the ball and negate any advantage or we would simply mess up the pass and give it back to the opposition.

In the first half we had one attempt = one shot = one goal.

An errant back pass was intercepted by Daniel. All he had to do was take on the Jakan last stopper 1 v1 at the top of the box. Instead he delayed, ran near the wing and passed it to Scotland with two men on his back. Scotland twisted and turned and to me it looked like the opportunity was gone as the Jakan defense came back. However he screened the ball well cut inside and set up the onrushing Hyland who with a neat bullet put the ball far post and out of the keepers reach.

The crowd went wild, The rhythm section start to get louder, men start to jump up and the Jakans were quiet.... not a peep from them both on and off the field. In fact that goal clearly disrupted all the plans by Simoes, TT gained a bit more confidence and we started to stroke the ball around more.But after a few passes we just played the ball laterally, lost it. Had nothing again going fwd and when not in possession, escorting players instead of tackling.

Keon Daniel has been found out. Another poor performance from him. He provided nothing defensively, limed whole evening on the wing, did not get past his marker once, only blade in he tail and just was ineffective. Everybody in my section was calling for him and Aklie Edwards to come off as the first sub.

Telesford is a poor mans Davids. He try to play the defensive mid role and I will give him some pips for the aggression. But the last ditch wild man tackles were due to mistakes he made and he trying to recover, poor positioning and his passes were poor.

Hyland and Whitley kept getting in each others way and it made no sense to play both of them in the same role. The understanding was not there, all of the mid-fielders were up under one another not giving each other the proper outlet or space to play. No off the ball runs. And they were not doing the simple play early enough. Additionally TT players did not want to shoot the ball. Passing the responsibility, falling down or just making a mess of things at the top of the box.

Hyland also learned today that to be effective you do the simple things first time. All the fancy beat and flick he try were dealt with by the Jakan midfield and he get some proper blade in he arse. At one point he got a two footed lunge and I swear the man foot break or he ankle mess up. The ref ent even watch him and said play on. For 3 minutes he on the ground rolling around and the medics cant come on the field.

Poor Carlos had another frustrating game, both he and Scotland. No support, nobody to pass to and just no cooperation from the other players. Carlos repeatedly was begging Smith to help him or Hyland in the middle. He beat one, he beat two and nuttin. Scotland beating his men nice whole evening screening three men at a time and nobdy inside to pass to or no midfield supporting him. A proper game of backs and forwards which we are yet to fix.

Half time came and went and the action pretty much the same as before. Ja having more possession and doing nothing with it. TT when in possession knocking the ball in the back and making mistakes in the midfield, no clue going fwd and bad passing in the final third or nobody inside becoming the order of the day.

Jamaica nearly scored a wonderful goal by King. Bad passing between Hislop and one of the wingbacks resulted in King picking up a loose ball, he beat somebody and in the 18 rifled a bullet that graze the V. A proper throwaway and TT held on for the rest of the game by a Hope and a Prayer. It is not that Jamaica were dangerous but simply our defenders made the simplest thing look hard and nerves started to kick in.

Maturana then made some subs which made a difference. Carter and Connell came on and immediately started to go forward, using the wings and taking on players. Carter then had a nice interchange of passes beat a few players and was through on goal scoring a nice side foot past the keeper. I was right there behind the linesman. It was a good genuine goal. Scotland did not touch the ball and was not interfering with the play. The lines man got some proper cuss from the crowd, and to an outsider one would think that the linesman would have a sibling in a few months time.

Hyland also got a good opportunity, passing neatly with Scotland and with a man on his back turned the defender in the 18 and slapped a bullet wide. It looked like sure goal and had it scored Ja would not have seen their way. With them already being on the back foot.

Connell then started to take on players and I was seeing a spark in this player. Then all of a sudden he make a bad trap. He make a bad flick under no pressure, he collect a jam and 5 minutes later that is the end of him. A shame really as he was looking good going fwd drawing players out of position and his pace had the jakan defence worried.

Carter had the wing back on my side hot with some nice footwork and push pull beat. However after getting past his man he simply had no one to cross to and the balls across the box went to no one. No supporting midfield as they were liming near the half line and the lack of support apparent.

Game then wound down, crowd start to get excited, it was the 90th min by my watch and people started to leave the game. All the Jakans quiet quiet knowing that all they Britz and big guns they had on the field couldn’t do nothing vs a poor TT outfit and they were shame with they tail between they legs. Even the players on the field seemed to concede defeat when a long speculative ball which should have been dealt with by the defence was left alone.

Shelton with his speed blow past the defence and Ince comes out to make the save. Shelton never had the ball under control, was never likely to get it and from my view Ince touches ball only and pushes it out of play and for some reason the ref blow and penalty is awarded. It was never a penalty. Men start to cuss..... Maturana off the bench quarrelling with the 4th official, the TT side drop they head and they dejected. Shelton score. The undeserved Jakan lifeline was celebrated and all there know how lucky they were to escape.

I never hear a stadium steups and cuss so in unison and with 2 minutes extra time to be played. TT instead of going for goal playing like they in their bedroom and knockin ball around at the top of the box instead of piping bullet.

At the final whistle I left the COE vex, with the TT performance, the JA performance and the scoreline. They get away, the killer instinct and passion just evaporated and the ref…..well he should not officiate a game ever again.

Folks the sheep have been separated from the goats long time. We know the problems and yet we still cant fix them. Both managers I am sure were disappointed by the performances and JA ent looking like they coming out they group. We probably right now only good to get past Bermuda and we will struggle. I cannot see where the goals are going to come from and our system of play is not creating any chances. Even with Stern and KJ there is no service, no bite in the middle and a shaky defence. Any organized team will exploit us.

However the positives are…1) Ince is a boss. 2) Carlos is a Boss, 3) Lawrence still have it, 4) a ¼ fit Scotland is still class and worries. 5) Whitley is a fighter and die hard, full commitment and we know what he could do. 6) Hyland have talent but have to mature real fast. 7) We could work with Hislop, Connell and Carter.

The rest of the team…..we up the creek without a paddle and sinking fast.

Till next time.

once again no creativity in the mid, guerra should get a run, he will show alot more than hyland by far, i dont know the reason why they keeping back the youth, i fine dat is bullshit. our strikers working hard and getting no service, same ting was happening in the 06' campaign before latas entered the framework

God is de BOSS....

Offline TriniItalian

• Never Wait to Procrastinate!
« Reply #16 on: June 08, 2008, 10:57:11 AM »
It was a real battle on the field, elbows, short jabs to midsections, late tackles etc were the norm and most challenges resulted in a player or two down for a couple seconds. I was also disappointed that we took so much abuse at home and only Whitley and Telesford stood up to the Jakans and dished it out. There were three moments in the game where fights threatened to break out, Whitley was involved in all, either standing up for his teammates or not being taken advantage off. From my vantage point there was a free kick incident and within the TT wall King decided to step on Whitleys foot and elbow him in his guts. The ref was being distracted moving the ball for the free kick and the linesman was talking to some players. Whitley and King squared off. King attempted to push/strike/hold whitley near his throat and whitley feinted and hit him POW in he eye. He then calmly turned and went back into his position in the wall. :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
hear nah boss u ent easy ah love de reports!!!
A.W.A.T.T. INFORMANT

« Reply #17 on: June 08, 2008, 11:01:20 AM »
we despertae ah wha
Yuh eh realize?

« Reply #18 on: June 08, 2008, 11:36:04 AM »
Touches great job....I like how you keep it real, because as I posted before men start settling with mediocre players and performances and giving over the top rating.

Regarding the offside call, it was a good call. Scotland did not touch the ball, but made movement towards the play thus becoming involed in the play (Saw Small Mag clips). As a matter of fact he screened one of the 2 chasing defender right on the ball. He was involved in active play. Ask any ref and they will say the same thing.

Sorry the call is good.

« Reply #19 on: June 08, 2008, 11:55:42 AM »
It was a real battle on the field, elbows, short jabs to midsections, late tackles etc were the norm and most challenges resulted in a player or two down for a couple seconds. I was also disappointed that we took so much abuse at home and only Whitley and Telesford stood up to the Jakans and dished it out. There were three moments in the game where fights threatened to break out, Whitley was involved in all, either standing up for his teammates or not being taken advantage off. From my vantage point there was a free kick incident and within the TT wall King decided to step on Whitleys foot and elbow him in his guts. The ref was being distracted moving the ball for the free kick and the linesman was talking to some players. Whitley and King squared off. King attempted to push/strike/hold whitley near his throat and whitley feinted and hit him POW in he eye. He then calmly turned and went back into his position in the wall. :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
hear nah boss u ent easy ah love de reports!!!

My captain is de best. I remember in de baharian game....a man push otis...otis watch de man calm calm...hit him a cuff to face...and walk off like if he now done use a urinal. Rel gangsta.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #20 on: June 08, 2008, 12:02:20 PM »
Folks I liked the temporary stand, metal and slabs of plyboard, it was a bit wobbly but there was an intimate feeling, many a die hard was in attendance, all of whom were quite vocal in expressing their displeasure at the players or the officials on the field. Additionally there were a number of mini stands and it was easy for a group to commandeer a section for themselves.

You know, this is historic - it might be the first time the TTFF went out of their way to provide MORE seats than tickets, rather than the other way around!  ;D

« Reply #21 on: June 08, 2008, 12:03:02 PM »
Folks I liked the temporary stand, metal and slabs of plyboard, it was a bit wobbly but there was an intimate feeling, many a die hard was in attendance, all of whom were quite vocal in expressing their displeasure at the players or the officials on the field. Additionally there were a number of mini stands and it was easy for a group to commandeer a section for themselves.

You know, this is historic - it might be the first time the TTFF went out of their way to provide MORE seats than tickets, rather than the other way around!  ;D

Good one.

« Reply #22 on: June 08, 2008, 12:06:06 PM »
Nice job on the report. I really have to question TTFF strategy of using these games to showpiece Pro-League "talent" to procure overseas contracts. That might get one or two deals signed, but will be of great detriment to the team over the long haul. That job is best left to the Pro-League, but they lapsing SERIOUS. this season.

If they really want to showcase players then chook in players like Leston Paul, Aguillera, etc. who NOT affiliated with the Corneals.

« Reply #23 on: June 08, 2008, 12:11:08 PM »
Touches great job....I like how you keep it real, because as I posted before men start settling with mediocre players and performances and giving over the top rating.

Regarding the offside call, it was a good call. Scotland did not touch the ball, but made movement towards the play thus becoming involed in the play (Saw Small Mag clips). As a matter of fact he screened one of the 2 chasing defender right on the ball. He was involved in active play. Ask any ref and they will say the same thing.

Sorry the call is good.

i agree, proper call by the ref

« Reply #24 on: June 08, 2008, 12:18:35 PM »

Sorry the call is good.

i agree, proper call by the ref

agreed.. its not like Scotland was uninterested in the play..

He was running across to intercept and backed out at the last moment.

offside hands down.

Offline Gladman

« Reply #25 on: June 08, 2008, 12:26:57 PM »
Y allyuh fighting down Keon Daniel,how d man playin is his stylel,he isn't a aggressive player but he has talent.Since Maturana take over he try out nuff players,buh he feel he has the right combination,maybe it not workin out as we like.Success doesn't happen over nite it will happen with these young players all we have to do is be patient, dey could only get  better.

Life Is Like Sugar Cane,It Hard But Sweet

« Reply #26 on: June 08, 2008, 12:33:00 PM »
Y allyuh fighting down Keon Daniel,how d man playin is his stylel,he isn't a aggressive player but he has talent.Since Maturana take over he try out nuff players,buh he feel he has the right combination,maybe it not workin out as we like.Success doesn't happen over nite it will happen with these young players all we have to do is be patient, dey could only get  better.

Padnah yuh shouldn't settle for mediocrity ....especially not at the national level......

« Reply #27 on: June 08, 2008, 12:43:24 PM »
Was not there, but I could sense an unbiased, honest, good report by Touches with tremendous effort put in to explain what he saw. No need to apologize for gloom and doom especialy with the clearly unhealthy agenda behind some of the picks.

Useful to hear a few indivdual hopeful obeservations too such as Ince, Whitley etc. On the ball. Glad to hear somebody admit that Keon is just too frail and weak for the work rate needed for international midfield. Interesting to hear about the wildness of Telesford but it seems he has been asked to do a job that Birchall is always willing to do but not allowed to for some reason. He needs to be in defense in his proper zone. I understad the intent and I trust that comments on him are accurate

Good observations by Patriot with very useful recommendations. Ah tell yuh!...

« Reply #28 on: June 08, 2008, 12:49:30 PM »
Nice as usual Touches...

« Reply #29 on: June 08, 2008, 01:18:46 PM »
Question:

Were Hayden Tinto or Atullah Guerra on de bench?  If not, why not?