September 17, 2024, 03:57:16 AM

Author Topic: TTFF yet to confirm ground for opening W/Cup qualifier.  (Read 3829 times)

TTFF yet to confirm ground for opening W/Cup qualifier.
« on: June 10, 2008, 04:33:24 AM »
TTFF yet to confirm ground for opening World Cup qualifier.
By: Kern De Freitas (Express).

Five days before Trinidad and Tobago take the field against Bermuda on Sunday in their opening Caribbean Football Union (CFU) 2010 World Cup qualifier, the venue for this crucial encounter is yet to be confirmed.

The Marvin Lee Stadium in Macoya looks set for its debut on the World Cup qualifying stage, in preference to the perennial choice, the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Mucurapo, as well as the Dwight Yorke Stadium in Bacolet, Tobago, which was also considered for the fixture.

With the disagreement between the Ministry of Sport and Youth Affairs and the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) over stadium fees for T&T's international fixtures still ongoing, the Macoya venue--also the home of Joe Public Football Club, of which TTFF special adviser Jack Warner is chairman--seems the best bet in the near future.

Less than three weeks before the historic TTFF centennial celebration event on June 1, T&T's friendly international against England was put in jeopardy after the Ministry of Sport announced that the Federation would have to pay $150,000, plus other associated fees, for the use of the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

Although that game came off--following some legal intervention and dialogue between the parties--subsequent matches have seen Warner and the TTFF seeking alternative venues.

According to TTFF media officer Shaun Fuentes yesterday, talks between the parties were ongoing leading up to last Saturday's match between T&T and Jamaica, held at the Marvin Lee Stadium, but no decision has been reached that will satisfy both sides.

The grim position which Trinidad and Tobago football fans have been faced with regarding match venues for international fixtures was clearly outlined by Warner during the TTFF's end-of-season awards ceremony at the Trinidad Hilton and Conference Centre, St Ann's on Sunday.

"In the foreseeable future, things will have to get worse before they get better," said the outspoken FIFA vice-president as he addressed the pro-football gathering at the function.

"...When we went to Tobago to see the (THA) Chief Secretary (Orville London) to ask him for the ground (Dwight Yorke Stadium) to play Bermuda--because the Chief Secretary is very nice...he doesn't care what political background you have, he's concerned about what you can achieve--our own stadium, which we built with our football...the (Sports) Ministry tells him that it cannot give us the match."

Warner continued his tongue-lashing of the Ministry.

"It's (the Dwight Yorke Stadium) the only thing in Tobago that the Chief Secretary doesn't control. He said this on Friday: 'But a-a, I'm a lil boy in this country!' "

The downside to this new development is that for the World Cup qualifiers to come, the Marvin Lee Stadium will not be the ideal venue to host such matches, with inadequate seating for the public, as well as media facilities.

The T&T-Jamaica affair was hardly packed and even with the makeshift seating erected to facilitate the overflow in that game, it is still far from being able to approach the capacity of the Mucurapo venue, or the other four major football facilities across the country. But, like it or not, the World Cup qualifying campaign is upon us and the Bermudans are coming this weekend...at a venue still to be decided.
TT, Bermuda shifted to Marvin Lee.
By: Joel Bailey (Newday).

Trinidad and Tobago “Soca Warriors” will oppose Bermuda, in their FIFA World Cup CONCACAF Zone Round Two Series Three qualifier, at the Marvin Lee Stadium, Dr Joao Havelange Centre of Excellence, Macoya, Tunapuna, on Sunday June 15 instead of the Dwight Yorke Stadium, Bacolet, Tobago..

And the return leg will be staged at the National Sports Centre, Hamilton, Bermuda, on June 22.

Originally, Sunday’s game was scheduled to take place at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo, but due to the on-going controversy between Sports Minister Gary Hunt and the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF), the match was moved to Bacolet, but it has been shifted again.

In a news report on local television station TV6 yesterday, Jack Austin Warner, who holds the positions of TTFF special adviser, CONCACAF president and FIFA vice-president, noted that he found out, during a meeting with the Chief Secretary of the Tobago House of Assembly (THA) Orville London, that Hunt refused to grant permission for Sunday’s game to take place in Bacolet.

Warner said, “I went (to Tobago) to ask (London) for the Dwight Yorke Stadium, our stadium, which we built, by our footballer’s name.

Warner continued, “he was blocked from giving us because, for the first time, he realised the (Minister) tells him ‘that too comes under our control.’

“It’s the only thing in Tobago that the Chief Secretary doesn’t control,” Warner added.

“He said to us on Friday ‘but aye, aye, I’m a little boy in my country.’”

In another report on C News, the leading football administrator pointed out that, in the absence of the Queen’s Park Oval (Jamaica objected to playing at the Oval last Saturday due to the dry outfield and the cricket pitches), the TTFF had to agree to Hunt’s stipulations, regarding use of the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

“For example, the fee he was charging was $150,000 to go there,” Warner was quoted as saying.

“So, if we go to play England, Anguilla or Guyana, it’s the same fee. We’re paying $10,000 (apiece for the billboard signs, we’re paying $2,000 apiece for the media booth and a whole set of things which make this whole thing ridiculous.”

On May 20, the issue pertaining to the use of the Hasely Crawford Stadium arose when the Sports Ministry, 12 days before the friendly football international between Trinidad and Tobago and England, stated that, among the conditions contained in its rental agreement for use of any of the Ministry’s sporting facilities were a rental sum of $150,000 plus VAT or 10- percent of the gross gate receipts, which ever sum is greater; a refundable deposit of TT$45,000 towards damages, provision of advertising space, at a cost, within the television arc and prohibition of alcohol and tobacco advertising. After the TTFF took the matter against the Sports Ministry to court, it was agreed that the TT-England match will proceed after the TTFF paid the $150,000 rental fee.
« Last Edit: June 10, 2008, 04:39:04 AM by Flex »

Re: TTFF yet to confirm ground for opening W/Cup qualifier.
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2008, 05:36:26 AM »

The bacchanal continues.......

« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2008, 06:25:24 AM »
Why de govt doing this? They think they doing Jack Warner something but in reality they f**king up we football.

I have a question, what contribution is the Govt making to this qualifying campaign if the TTFF must pay to use ah f**king stadium!!

steups!!

« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2008, 06:32:06 AM »
Why de govt doing this? They think they doing Jack Warner something but in reality they f**king up we football.

I have a question, what contribution is the Govt making to this qualifying campaign if the TTFF must pay to use ah f**king stadium!!

steups!!

Since this whole comess started...i notice you blaming the govt. Why is this the gov't fault again?
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2008, 06:43:03 AM »
steups!!
I love it man, check this quote
So if your uncle take you in, feed, yuh, clothe yuh, send you to school..that mean he can bull yuh too ?
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #5 on: June 10, 2008, 06:49:17 AM »

steups!!

As far as I understand it, the Gov't is quite prepared to ante up funds to the TTFF as soon as the TTFF presents audited financials to show where de money going....Jack has stated that the financials are ready but somehow cyar find its way across the city to the Minister's office.

Jack just like to have things he own damn way too much...steups...

Look ah losing mih happy state again....ah gone....

« Reply #6 on: June 10, 2008, 07:41:55 AM »
the stadium book aready for another event, track and feild national championships.

« Reply #7 on: June 10, 2008, 08:18:13 AM »

steups!!

The TTFF has ALWAYS had to pay to use the stadium. The price is just increased now. Nutting else change. Doh fall for Jack tricks

« Reply #8 on: June 10, 2008, 08:28:17 AM »

steups!!

The TTFF has ALWAYS had to pay to use the stadium. The price is just increased now. Nutting else change. Doh fall for Jack tricks
AND in the past he had NOT paid the proper amount
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline Sentinel

• Adapt, Improvise and Overcome
« Reply #9 on: June 10, 2008, 10:08:38 AM »
In the last interview that hosted both Mr. Warner and Mr. Hunt, I distinctly heard Mr. Hunt say that for each situation would require a different set of arrangements.  Mr. Hunt cited the importance of the England game, and the amount charged to the public as criteria for charging the TTFF the $150,000 that they did.  He said also that for each situation would require a different set of arrangements, in lieu of the 10% rental fee.  In most cases, the 10% fee would cost the TTFF much more than any arranged fee.  The $3000 that the TTFF have been charged in the past, would no longer be practical or feasible considering the cost of maintenance and inflation.

Now I am not for the minister or against Jack Warner.  However,  I think the minister is trying his best to work with the TTFF, giving them every opportunity to work wiith the government of Trinbago.  Mr. Warner does not want to do this.  He feels that he is a power on to himself and does not want to pursue proper business protocol.  He wants to go to the Oval "for free".

On another issue, I also heard Mr. Warner say that they (TTFF) already have audits prepared which Mr. Hunt said he will gladly accept a copy of whatever Mr. Warner has.  In a more recent post, I read Mr. Warner say they are in the process of having an audit done.  Mr. Warner, do you have the audit or not?

Maybe it is all politics, but, I agree with the minister for standing up for accountability, especially if they (the TTFF) wants government to "pump" money into sport, and in this case, football in Trinidad and Tobago.

Luv U T&T

« Reply #10 on: June 10, 2008, 10:17:11 AM »
I have a venue d home of UNCA Aranjuez Savannah.

« Reply #11 on: June 10, 2008, 10:19:53 AM »
In the last interview that hosted both Mr. Warner and Mr. Hunt, I distinctly heard Mr. Hunt say that for each situation would require a different set of arrangements.  Mr. Hunt cited the importance of the England game, and the amount charged to the public as criteria for charging the TTFF the $150,000 that they did.  He said also that for each situation would require a different set of arrangements, in lieu of the 10% rental fee.  In most cases, the 10% fee would cost the TTFF much more than any arranged fee.  The $3000 that the TTFF have been charged in the past, would no longer be practical or feasible considering the cost of maintenance and inflation.

Now I am not for the minister or against Jack Warner.  However,  I think the minister is trying his best to work with the TTFF, giving them every opportunity to work wiith the government of Trinbago.  Mr. Warner does not want to do this.  He feels that he is a power on to himself and does not want to pursue proper business protocol.  He wants to go to the Oval "for free".

On another issue, I also heard Mr. Warner say that they (TTFF) already have audits prepared which Mr. Hunt said he will gladly accept a copy of whatever Mr. Warner has.  In a more recent post, I read Mr. Warner say they are in the process of having an audit done.  Mr. Warner, do you have the audit or not?

Maybe it is all politics, but, I agree with the minister for standing up for accountability, especially if they (the TTFF) wants government to "pump" money into sport, and in this case, football in Trinidad and Tobago.

Luv U T&T
POST of the YEAR so far ;)

« Reply #12 on: June 10, 2008, 10:29:37 AM »
among the conditions contained in its rental agreement for use of any of the Ministry’s sporting facilities were a rental sum of $150,000 plus VAT or 10- percent of the gross gate receipts

So now jack would have to say the exact amout of money the ttff  made from gate receipts oh yess

« Reply #13 on: June 10, 2008, 10:36:53 AM »
Kenneth, Prakash, Maxwell & Gopaul go just continue wit d creative accountin. Dis is d 1st time dat d TTFF will have 2 spend some of d gate receipts not on dey self. 750 peeps in uncovered at 200 go cover Hunt cost so what is d problem 

« Reply #14 on: June 10, 2008, 10:39:09 AM »

steups!!

As far as I understand it, the Gov't is quite prepared to ante up funds to the TTFF as soon as the TTFF presents audited financials to show where de money going....Jack has stated that the financials are ready but somehow cyar find its way across the city to the Minister's office.

who auditing the govt spending right now? :devil: I hope the govt doesnt wait until the team qualify to say they giving money to the campaign, price of oil going up to $150 USD so the govt have more than enough money to help the football.

God is de BOSS....

« Reply #15 on: June 10, 2008, 10:44:00 AM »
Which part of we want 2 c a propsal u doh understand. On 1 hand all yuh complainin bout gov't spendin but JW must get a blank cheque

« Reply #16 on: June 10, 2008, 10:51:37 AM »

steups!!

who auditing the govt spending right now? :devil: I hope the govt doesnt wait until the team qualify to say they giving money to the campaign, price of oil going up to $150 USD so the govt have more than enough money to help the football.

God is de BOSS....

To start with T&T doesn't prduce the quality oil to get the maximum price .....so doh let the price of oil fool yuh. We not getting anythng close to that.

And I like how the mnister moving .... granted he come today for toorrow to say the deal change with regardsto the Eng v T*T game ....bt stilll.... let JW be accountable for the gate receipts. Gone are the days when the 20,000 in the NS and he crying bout they run at a loss. With a 10% rental fee ..... we know how much the TTFF making on gate receipts.

And To end .............. bring the game in the mannie .... it sure to sell out

« Reply #17 on: June 10, 2008, 11:01:35 AM »
He eh hear Robert Riley speech we eh an oil based economy so long Kenneth, Prakash, Maxwell & Gopaul doin d a/c from d England game and cyah c it yet loud loud steups

« Reply #18 on: June 10, 2008, 02:53:14 PM »

steups!!

God is de BOSS....

To start with T&T doesn't prduce the quality oil to get the maximum price .....so doh let the price of oil fool yuh. We not getting anythng close to that.

And I like how the mnister moving .... granted he come today for toorrow to say the deal change with regardsto the Eng v T*T game ....bt stilll.... let JW be accountable for the gate receipts. Gone are the days when the 20,000 in the NS and he crying bout they run at a loss. With a 10% rental fee ..... we know how much the TTFF making on gate receipts.

i beg to differ, we do produce good quality oil, from extensive research you will see that, its the negotiation of the deals is what we will lose money and man will pocket the ress, doh let dem fellahs fool you... i ent care where the game playing really, it could play guaracara park, as long as tt win and the govt give dey money to the cause

God is de BOSS

« Reply #19 on: June 10, 2008, 03:43:03 PM »

steups!!

God is de BOSS....

i beg to differ, we do produce good quality oil, from extensive research you will see that, its the negotiation of the deals is what we will lose money and man will pocket the ress, doh let dem fellahs fool you... i ent care where the game playing really, it could play guaracara park, as long as tt win and the govt give dey money to the cause

God is de BOSS

No Ti, ah backing Cowen on this one, we dont produce the kind of fuel that they quoting prices on.  We import more oil than we produce.  Our fields supply 50/60,000 barrels of oil a day to our refinery which requires 150,000 barrels of oil for operation.

We import almost 100,000 barrels of oil a day.  And this is MOLO Crude, (medium or low octane) which is not what sells for the high price that u see quoted.

Burbon, this whole thing is political.  The PNM govt doing shit just to spite jack warner.........simple as that.

What about UDECOTT, or CEPEP, or the 148+30 million dollar mansion they building?  No audit on that, but for the sake of we naitonal team, yuh want tuh ban them from using then national stadium because of money and audits?

steups!!

I am not a fan of jack warner, but our warriors cant suffer because of politics.

ps: the whole blacklist is ah piece of shit too and i am totally against it since that also f**king up we football!

« Reply #20 on: June 10, 2008, 03:51:38 PM »
Andre,
          I know you is a true warrior but I beg to differ on this one. Jack playing politics on this one. This game could play at any one of those stadium.

« Reply #21 on: June 10, 2008, 04:00:02 PM »

yuh want tuh ban them from using then national stadium because of money and audits?

steups!!

Lawd fadder..u see how propaganda does spread  ::)

« Reply #22 on: June 10, 2008, 04:31:49 PM »
The TTFF can use any stadium they want. They just have to follow the new rules.

« Reply #23 on: June 10, 2008, 06:04:47 PM »
Therin lies d problem he feel he above d rules and Boynes and dem allowed him 2 get away wit murder.