April 26, 2024, 04:11:38 AM

Author Topic: UEFA Euro Thread.  (Read 243101 times)

Re: UEFA Euro 2012 Thread.
« Reply #330 on: May 24, 2012, 08:07:27 PM »
Has a major football tournament EVER had a more underwhelming and unappetizing opening match than Poland vs Greece?  :puking:

« Reply #331 on: May 24, 2012, 11:02:10 PM »
His real name is Narsingh Van Deonarine

« Reply #332 on: May 26, 2012, 12:09:23 PM »
holland playing bulgaria on espn3.com now. they name their finals side.

they have some interesting names yes...jetro...luciano...rafael. that could be a band.

Goalkeepers: Tim Krul (Newcastle United/ENG), Maarten Stekelenburg (AS Roma/ITA), Michel Vorm (Swansea City/ENG)

Defenders: Khalid Boulahrouz (VfB Stuttgart/GER), Wilfred Bouma (PSV Eindhoven), John Heitinga (Everton/ENG), Joris Mathijsen (Malaga/ESP), Ron Vlaar (Feyenoord), Gregory van der Wiel (Ajax), Jetro Willems (PSV)

Midfielders: Mark van Bommel (AC Milan/ITA), Nigel de Jong (Manchester City/ENG), Stijn Schaars (Sporting Lisbon/POR), Wesley Sneijder (Inter Milan/ITA), Kevin Strootman (PSV Eindhoven), Rafael van der Vaart (Tottenham Hotspur/ENG)

Forwards: Ibrahim Afellay (Barcelona/ESP), Klaas-Jan Huntelaar (Schalke 04/GER), Luuk de Jong (FC Twente), Dirk Kuyt (Liverpool/ENG), Luciano Narsingh (SC Heerenveen), Robin van Persie (Arsenal/ENG), Arjen Robben (Bayern Munich/GER)

« Reply #333 on: May 26, 2012, 01:24:05 PM »
Brazil embarassing Denmark on GOL HD.  Hulk just undress Sorensen from about 30 yards out, followed by an own goal 10 mins later for a 2-0 lead in the 13'.

« Reply #334 on: May 26, 2012, 01:52:53 PM »
Bulgarian poison right at the end, well done.

« Reply #335 on: May 27, 2012, 07:02:56 AM »
Bulgarian poison right at the end, well done.

Caught a replay......steups!!   I eh worried de ojanje goh be back in two weeks....rearing to go!!

:bringiton: :challenge: :duel: :flamethrower: :whip: :flamethrower: :flamethrower:  ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #336 on: May 27, 2012, 09:04:50 AM »
Spain squad for Euro 2012:

Goalkeepers: Iker Casillas (Real Madrid), Pepe Reina, (Liverpool), Victor Valdes (Barcelona)
Defenders: Alvaro Arbeloa (Real Madrid), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Juanfran (Atletico Madrid), Jordi Alba (Valencia), Raul Albiol (Real Madrid), Gerard Pique (Barcelona), Javi Martinez (Athletic Bilbao)

Midfielders: Xavi (Barcelona), Sergio Busquets (Barcelona), Andres Iniesta (Barcelona), Xabi Alonso (Real Madrid), David Silva (Manchester City), Santi Cazorla (Malaga), Cesc Fabregas (Barcelona), Juan Mata (Chelsea)

Forwards: Jesus Navas (Sevilla), Pedro (Barcelona), Fernando Llorente (Athletic Bilbao), Fernando Torres (Chelsea), Alvaro Negredo (Sevilla)

« Reply #337 on: May 27, 2012, 09:08:12 AM »

Goalkeepers: Iker Casillas (Real Madrid), Pepe Reina, (Liverpool), Victor Valdes (Barcelona)
Defenders: Alvaro Arbeloa (Real Madrid), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Juanfran (Atletico Madrid), Jordi Alba (Valencia), Raul Albiol (Real Madrid), Gerard Pique (Barcelona), Javi Martinez (Athletic Bilbao)

Midfielders: Xavi (Barcelona), Sergio Busquets (Barcelona), Andres Iniesta (Barcelona), Xabi Alonso (Real Madrid), David Silva (Manchester City), Santi Cazorla (Malaga), Cesc Fabregas (Barcelona), Juan Mata (Chelsea)

Forwards: Jesus Navas (Sevilla), Pedro (Barcelona), Fernando Llorente (Athletic Bilbao), Fernando Torres (Chelsea), Alvaro Negredo (Sevilla)

ah could be wrong but ah tink ah did see somewhere earlier in the week on FSC that Victor Valdes had get dropped for De Gea....

« Reply #338 on: May 27, 2012, 07:35:40 PM »

ah could be wrong but ah tink ah did see somewhere earlier in the week on FSC that Victor Valdes had get dropped for De Gea....

only the friendly because valdes was on the barca squad for the copa del rey.

« Reply #339 on: May 27, 2012, 10:09:26 PM »

Did Puyol retire from international football?

« Reply #340 on: May 28, 2012, 04:20:33 AM »

only the friendly because valdes was on the barca squad for the copa del rey.

OK, tanx.  :beermug:

« Reply #341 on: May 28, 2012, 09:23:54 AM »
Disgusting , if u don't feel like getting vex this morning don't watch the videos, this making the rounds on BBC today , people making Nazi salute and monkey chants, also abusing Asian students. 

Sol Campbell warns fans to stay away from Euro 2012

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-18192375

Asian fans racially abused in Euro 2012 stadium

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-18233736

Sol Campbell warning on Euro 2012 racism

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-18237932

Euro 2012: Stadiums of Hate - Panorama program
http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b01jk4vr
« Last Edit: May 28, 2012, 09:25:54 AM by D.H.W »

« Reply #342 on: May 29, 2012, 06:32:43 AM »
france side named today. they might get racially abuse though.

Goalkeepers:   
Hugo Lloris
Lyon
Steve Mandanda
Marseille
Cedric Carrasso
Bordeaux

Defenders:   
Gael Clichy   Manchester City
Mathieu Debuchy
Lille
Patrice Evra   Manchester United
Laurent Koscielny   Arsenal
Philippe Mexes   AC Milan
Adil Rami   Valencia
Anthony Reveillere
Lyon

Midfielders:   
Hatem Ben Arfa   Newcastle
Yohan Cabaye   Newcastle
Alou Diarra
Marseille
Yann M'Vila
Rennes
Marvin Martin
Sochaux
Florent Malouda   Chelsea
Blaise Matuidi   PSG
Samir Nasri   Manchester City
Franck Ribery   Bayern Munich

Attackers:   
Karim Benzema   Real Madrid
Olivier Giroud   Montpellier
Jeremy Menez   PSG
Mathieu Valbuena   Marseille

Offline jahkingdom

• Strictly The Best
« Reply #343 on: May 29, 2012, 10:40:38 AM »
Russia should not have gotten the world cup either.
Hard work is the key to success

« Reply #344 on: May 29, 2012, 11:31:21 AM »
the poles and uks vex now bout the bbc program.

http://sports.yahoo.com/news/euro-2012-co-hosts-protest-140032196--sow.html

Ukrainian Foreign Ministry spokesman Oleh Voloshyn said the program was unjust and smacked of arrogance and xenophobia, portraying ''Eastern Europe as mentally not equal to the rest of Europe.''

''We believe this report is outrageous, done in the best traditions of Soviet journalism,'' Voloshyn said. ''Ukraine is one the leaders in Europe in terms of religious and racial tolerance.

''Nazi symbols can be seen at ... any match in England, but does it mean that fans should not come to London for the Olympics?''

« Reply #345 on: May 29, 2012, 04:28:11 PM »
Italy squad:
Goalkeepers:

Buffon (Juventus), De Sanctis (Napoli), Sirigu (Paris St Germain).

Defenders:

Abate (AC Milan), Balzaretti (Palermo), Barzagli (Juventus), Bonucci (Juventus),
Chiellini (Juventus), Maggio (Napoli), Ogbonna (Torino).

Midfielders:

De Rossi (Roma), Diamanti (Bologna), Giaccherini (Juventus), Marchisio (Juventus),
Montolivo (Fiorentina), Motta (Paris St Germain), Nocerino (AC Milan), Pirlo (Juventus).

Forwards:

Balotelli (Manchester City), Borini (Roma), Cassano (Milan),
Di Natale (Udinese), Giovinco (Parma).

« Reply #346 on: May 29, 2012, 04:44:16 PM »
hahah!

Throw bananas and I’ll kill you, warns Man City striker Balotelli ahead of Euros

Mario Balotelli has threatened to walk off the pitch if he is racially abused at Euro 2012 and said he would 'kill' anyone who dares to throw a banana at him.
Manchester City's volatile Italian striker spoke out amid increasing concerns that black players will be targeted by racists when the tournament kicks off in Poland and Ukraine next week.
The families of England players Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain and Theo Walcott will not travel to Ukraine because of fears for their safety but Balotelli, of Ghanaian descent, said: 'I will not accept racism at all. It's unacceptable. If someone throws a banana at me in the street, I will go to jail, because I will kill them.'
Balotelli has been the victim of racist abuse on several occasions - most recently in February when Porto were fined over the behaviour of their supporters in a Europa League tie against City.
'Let's see what happens at the Euros,' added Balotelli. 'I hope it will pass without a problem. I really couldn't deal with that.'
Balotelli, 21, was targeted by Juventus and Roma fans while playing for Inter Milan in 2009, which resulted in Juve having to play a match behind closed doors.
In June of that year, he was racially abused and pelted with bananas in a Rome bar while out with Italy teammates in the build-up to the European Under-21 Championships.
He added: 'It was lucky that the police arrived quickly because, I swear, I would have beaten them. I would have really destroyed them. I hope it never happens again.'

In an interview with France Football, the striker insists he is a misunderstood 'genius' and said he hopes to stay at City despite a series of controversies.
'It's not easy when ''call girls'' talk in the newspapers or when people say they have seen me here or there during the evening,' he said.

'But I would like to stay at City, because here I have affection. Will I stay? I don't know. I think so. You have to ask Mino (Raiola, his agent).
'It's good luck that Roberto Mancini appreciates and understands me. Mancini always gives me confidence. Those who know me, love me. Those who don't know me, love me, too, or they hate me.
'It's said that geniuses are misunderstood. But maybe it is because the genius is so different that people are not capable of understanding them. Yes, I think I'm a genius. But I don't think I'm a rebel. I have my life, my world, I act how I want, without bugging anyone.'
Ukraine said a BBC Panorama documentary was 'xenophobic' after it showed their fans giving Nazi salutes and taunting black players with monkey noises. Euro 2012: Stadiums of Hate, broadcast on Monday, also showed Asian students being attacked in Kharkiv, a Euro 2012 venue.
Government spokesman Oleh Voloshyn said: 'It portrayed eastern Europe as mentally not equal to the rest of Europe. We believe this report is outrageous, done in the best traditions of Soviet journalism. Ukraine is one the leaders in Europe in terms of religious and racial tolerance.'

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/euro2012/article-2151865/Mario-Balotelli-warns-racists-Throw-bananas-Ill-kill--EURO-2012.html#ixzz1wId1C0K6

« Reply #347 on: May 30, 2012, 03:32:13 AM »
Balo could play fuh me any friggin' DAY!

Re: Re: UEFA Euro 2012 Thread.
« Reply #348 on: May 30, 2012, 06:16:01 AM »
the poles and uks vex now bout the bbc program.

http://sports.yahoo.com/news/euro-2012-co-hosts-protest-140032196--sow.html

Ukrainian Foreign Ministry spokesman Oleh Voloshyn said the program was unjust and smacked of arrogance and xenophobia, portraying ''Eastern Europe as mentally not equal to the rest of Europe.''

''We believe this report is outrageous, done in the best traditions of Soviet journalism,'' Voloshyn said. ''Ukraine is one the leaders in Europe in terms of religious and racial tolerance.

''Nazi symbols can be seen at ... any match in England, but does it mean that fans should not come to London for the Olympics?''

What Nazi symbols? They know something I don't? Leaders in racial tolerance? Lol I hate to see the rest of eastern Europe.

« Reply #349 on: May 30, 2012, 06:46:06 AM »
Balo could play fuh me any friggin' DAY!

Di ... @#!@#$ ... tto.

« Reply #350 on: May 30, 2012, 07:26:07 AM »
balotelli is a brilliant footballer but he real need some media training...and probably some more education.

i hear in europe when u good in football that is what you doing in school so who knows how much he ever learn.

« Reply #351 on: May 30, 2012, 07:48:29 AM »
Let me post a real squad...... ;D

Netherlands Squad
Goalkeepers: Tim Krul (Newcastle United FC), Maarten Stekelenburg (AS Roma), Michel Vorm (Swansea City AFC).

Defenders: Khalid Boulahrouz (VfB Stuttgart), Wilfred Bouma (PSV Eindhoven), John Heitinga (Everton FC), Joris Mathijsen (Málaga CF), Ron Vlaar (Feyenoord), Gregory van der Wiel (AFC Ajax), Jetro Willems (PSV Eindhoven).

Midfielders: Mark van Bommel (AC Milan), Nigel de Jong (Manchester City FC), Stijn Schaars (Sporting Clube de Portugal), Wesley Sneijder (FC Internazionale Milano), Kevin Strootman (PSV Eindhoven), Rafael van der Vaart (Tottenham Hotspur FC).

Forwards: Ibrahim Afellay (FC Barcelona), Klaas-Jan Huntelaar (FC Schalke 04), Luuk de Jong (FC Twente), Dirk Kuyt (Liverpool FC), Luciano Narsingh (sc Heerenveen), Robin van Persie (Arsenal FC), Arjen Robben (FC Bayern München).

GO ORANJE!!!

:bringiton: :bringiton: :challenge: :duel: :flamethrower: :flamethrower: :whip: :whip: :bringiton: :bringiton:  ;D ;D  ;D

« Reply #352 on: May 30, 2012, 08:11:25 AM »
Is Quaglierra injured? Was Italy's best player in an atrocious WC 2010

Earlier post, Puyol injured, so no Euros this year for him

« Reply #353 on: May 30, 2012, 08:17:38 AM »
i bounce up a bulgarian in work yesterday who i is talk football with. man celebrating like they win the world cup b/c of the 2-1 win  over holland saturday. that + the loss the bayern have mih wondering bout the dutch side. but then is just friendlies eh.

« Reply #354 on: May 30, 2012, 10:30:31 AM »
Is Quaglierra injured? Was Italy's best player in an atrocious WC 2010

Earlier post, Puyol injured, so no Euros this year for him

qtube in the eyes of prandelli did not do enough this season to warrant a place but i still feel he would have offered somethig solid...i cant really blame prando but at  the same time i dont rate the inclusion of borini..matri popped down near the end of the season as well as osvaldo..would have liked to seen destro as he has immense potential...di natale altho an old timer is very lethal in front of goal..

« Reply #355 on: May 30, 2012, 05:23:33 PM »
This program turn my stomach. It shows me that FIFA and UEFA don't really give a dam about Racism. Everybody knew the situation in both these countries & yet they get the Euro. In my view if FIFA want to make a strong statement these countries should be banned from football.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z93iQgI3_Iw

« Reply #356 on: May 30, 2012, 06:06:20 PM »
This program turn my stomach. It shows me that FIFA and UEFA don't really give a dam about Racism. Everybody knew the situation in both these countries & yet they get the Euro. In my view if FIFA want to make a strong statement these countries should be banned from football.

Yeah, but in all fairness you can't punish the entire population for the actions of some.

I mean, if the structures in the country actively promotes racism and it's blatant...but I haven't watch the documentary...so maybe I should hush until I watch it. :)

« Reply #357 on: May 31, 2012, 02:09:40 PM »
Let me post a real squad...... ;D

Netherlands Squad
Goalkeepers: Tim Krul (Newcastle United FC), Maarten Stekelenburg (AS Roma), Michel Vorm (Swansea City AFC).

Defenders: Khalid Boulahrouz (VfB Stuttgart), Wilfred Bouma (PSV Eindhoven), John Heitinga (Everton FC), Joris Mathijsen (Málaga CF), Ron Vlaar (Feyenoord), Gregory van der Wiel (AFC Ajax), Jetro Willems (PSV Eindhoven).

Midfielders: Mark van Bommel (AC Milan), Nigel de Jong (Manchester City FC), Stijn Schaars (Sporting Clube de Portugal), Wesley Sneijder (FC Internazionale Milano), Kevin Strootman (PSV Eindhoven), Rafael van der Vaart (Tottenham Hotspur FC).

Forwards: Ibrahim Afellay (FC Barcelona), Klaas-Jan Huntelaar (FC Schalke 04), Luuk de Jong (FC Twente), Dirk Kuyt (Liverpool FC), Luciano Narsingh (sc Heerenveen), Robin van Persie (Arsenal FC), Arjen Robben (FC Bayern München).

GO ORANJE!!!

:bringiton: :bringiton: :challenge: :duel: :flamethrower: :flamethrower: :whip: :whip: :bringiton: :bringiton:  ;D ;D  ;D

Nah, Catenaccio all the way...

Go Azurri.

« Reply #358 on: June 02, 2012, 08:44:22 PM »
Be very wary of the dutch, you were all warned

« Reply #359 on: June 02, 2012, 10:03:00 PM »

They will say that they are taking the Euros to Poland in a bid to combat racism. But, of course, we know FIFA only does things that suit them financially and politically. This was their chance to make a stand to governments: clean up your nations attitude or we'll go elsewhere.

The IOC is just as bad. I can't believe they haven't banned Saudi Arabia for not allowing women to compete despite recording qualifying performances. Every nation has a right to create their own laws, but if those laws go against the principles of international sport, then they should change their laws or not compete.