March 28, 2024, 05:51:23 PM

Author Topic: Suggestion Box: Coach Latapy (Formally for Maturana and Corneal)  (Read 6494 times)

Please put all your ideas and suggestions here in one post:  The longer the post, the better  ;D
« Last Edit: April 08, 2009, 10:36:18 PM by Babalawo »

Re: Suggestion Box: For Maturana and Corneal
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2008, 12:39:33 AM »
1.  Stop experimenting with a 3-5-2 system, with Dennis Lawrence playing left back during a serious game.

2.  Don't sub in defensive players for offensive players when you need goals. (Kahleem Hyland for Ancil Ferrier) If you started with at 4-4-2, you would not need to do that.

3. Finally bring in our soca warrior heros who have not retired.  You already swallowed your pride when you notice leaving out Jason Scotland was a mistake.  Age over Talent is not a logical thing to do. Continue to by bringing Chris Birchall for Stephan David, Denzil Theobald for Hayden Tinto, Brent Sancho for Keyeno Thomas, Avery John for Ancil Farrier, Cyd Gray for Kern Cupid, and Kelvin Jack when he gets well.

« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2008, 04:47:35 AM »
1) Smith is not to play right back for the return game. The 2 goals came from attacks down that wing. Bermuda had a plan to attack him and it paid off. if he has to play, we need a change in tactics.

2) Lawrence should never be playing left back.

3) PLEASEEEEEE, get our set plays in order. We had a million corners and free kicks around the box and not once did we genuinely threaten the Bermuda goalie. For the return where we know Bermuda will defend for their lives, this is even more important. And on the topic of set plays, when we get corners and the 2 sweepers go up, just be careful as Whitely and Smith who sit back could be compromised by a team planning for this.

4) At times yesterday we looked like backs and forwards - 4 men up front in the opposition penalty box, and when we get break down, no T&T players till almost back on the half line - there was always a gap in our structure. Very apparant as the game wore on, fitness should not be an excuse.

5) I have said it a million times - T&T looks pathetic whenever we come up against a set, half field defensive unit. We have no idea how to play a condensed half field game. the key to that is patience, which we seem to lack, and also CONSTANT OFF THE BALL MOVEMENT. This was the most glaring thing yesterday other than wasted chances - we looked dull, no energy. Fitness should not be an issue now. There were so many times the back 4 were screaming for an open pass, but no off ball movement, we were so predictable it was a crime.

6) To beat Bermuda in the return, we need excessive flank play, its the only time we looked dangerous against them, plus it will open up their set defense.

7) F I N I S H I N G ! Work on that all week long. Despite the fact that we had a sub standard display yesterday, we should still have won the game 3-2 or 4-2. We also need Stern and Scottie to play more decoy roles, as they are consistently marked solidly. the Whitelys and Edwards and Hylands have to step up.

8) INTENSITY. We were flat yesterday. Not a totally pathetic display, but a definite sub-standard showing. We looked listless. We showed much more energy for the Ja game, man was scrapping for every ball and fighting. We didnt even get a yellow yesterday, noting even close. We need to come out and start from kick one as if our lives depend on it and take no prisoners.

Last time T&T was in a situation like this was in 1992 when ja surprised us 2-1 in POS. We all had optimism for the return but could only draw 1-1. That is a very real possibility again. We need to stamp out authority on this game from ball one and go into it with the intention of running Bermuda off the pitch in the first 5 minutes.
No excuses, we are now a WC team, we should be beating these teams 6-0.
last time we played Bermuda in Bermuda, we won 5-0 I think, which was a friendly during the 2002 qualifiers just after the USA beat us in the US. We need to take lessons from that and just plain and simple over power them.
We are a better team no doubt, but we lacked the energy, which for T&T usually brings all other positives into the mix.
Our mindset should be nothing less than SHOCK AND AWE in 6 days time.

I will be extremely relieved with a 2-0 result, but we need to send a signal as well and aim to rout them.
« Last Edit: June 16, 2008, 05:04:42 AM by Trini »

« Reply #3 on: June 16, 2008, 04:55:22 AM »
When will you realise Matruana is NOT the T&T coach. Its Anton Corneal as head coach and Alvin Corneal as technical director.

My advise to Maturana, quite before you get the axe even if we make it to the next rounds. He does not poses the tactical knowledge to help the T&T team. His sub and selections is confusing and most of all he is listing to Anton Corneal too much, he needs to be more in control.

If we get good results vs Jamaica, El Salvador, Barbados, Guyana, Grenada then why change your system now in an important game, why didn't you change it during friendly games then ?

Anton Corneal is a shit snake !!!!!
« Last Edit: June 16, 2008, 05:09:01 AM by Flex »

« Reply #4 on: June 16, 2008, 04:56:21 AM »
8) INTENSITY. We were flat yesterday. Not a totally pathetic display, but a definite sub-standard showing. We looked listless. We showed much more energy for the Ja game, man was scrapping for every ball and fighting. We didnt even get a yellow yesterday, noting even close. We need to come out and start from kick one as if our lives depend on it and take no prisoners.

So we under estimated the Bermuda team den??  Cuz we certainly didn't fight dem, we escort men into de box, we give dem acres of space to roam etc. etc.  steups....I still friggin depressed....thank God I eh have to go to work today....ah wouldn't be able to focus.... :'(

« Reply #5 on: June 16, 2008, 05:18:14 AM »
M advice.. RESIGN.

« Reply #6 on: June 16, 2008, 05:37:10 AM »
my advice: f**k off and take Jack warner with you

« Reply #7 on: June 16, 2008, 05:41:50 AM »

Offline Arazi

« Reply #8 on: June 16, 2008, 05:55:50 AM »
for maturana - if possible get rid of cornealm bcuz i believe his this dude as a coach...

and seriously consider this men

sancho, birchall, julius james, kevon neaves, collin samuel, nigel daniel, trent noel and if u really looking to blood youths...take a closer look at players from JABLOTEH!!

keon daniel needs to suck a bench, darryl roberts may be considered in a second striker/attacking mid role...hayden tinto needs to play...i have a feeling the bermudians will have no answer for a player like him..

« Reply #9 on: June 16, 2008, 06:26:13 AM »
Resign and do a short course in Event Management. Perhaps they may have better luck at organising dog shows.

« Reply #10 on: June 16, 2008, 06:33:58 AM »
it was obvious to us in the stands that we have NOT prepared for set plays...
who does that? what kind of coach cannot help set up corners and free kicks..is that crazy or what??? It was not the players fault yesterday- I was okay with their work rate but it was also obvious that they could have done better if better coached

this was more disappointing because after the last match I thought that a 'big time' coach and the 'best' coach in the latin americas would know that we MUST know how to convert a corner into a goal..
ONLY GOALS WIN MATCHES

another thing- please don't say "we can take a lot of positives from this match'
time for that is done

by the way- anyone here think the coach (whoever he is) will actually read any of this?

« Reply #11 on: June 16, 2008, 06:51:31 AM »
Resign.

When last we lose the opening game AT HOME in a World Cup qualifying campaign?

Offline nobody_s angel

« Reply #12 on: June 16, 2008, 07:04:28 AM »
M advice.. RESIGN.

my advice: f**k off and take Jack warner with you

I was waiting for when someone would say it. This post was loaded from the start.

But right now I trying to drown out some fool in the office that downplaying the world cup games and the world cup squad.

Reminding myself violence in work is not worthit.

Violence in work is not worth it!!!

But the dude still talking shit!!!

My Goodness.

« Reply #13 on: June 16, 2008, 07:15:42 AM »
resign

« Reply #14 on: June 16, 2008, 07:18:37 AM »
But right now I trying to drown out some fool in the office that downplaying the world cup games and the world cup squad.
tell Gil to keep quiet :devil: :devil:

Sorry Mr. G ;D
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #15 on: June 16, 2008, 07:48:10 AM »
tell Gil to keep quiet :devil: :devil:

Sorry Mr. G ;D
LOL.. ahboy..

You angel you not supposed to e working.. Wha you doing online  ;D

West coast yuh memory impecable boy. lol

« Reply #16 on: June 16, 2008, 08:16:55 AM »
For Corneal: Go f**k yourself

Offline FATZ

• I SELL FOOTBALL JERSEYS
« Reply #17 on: June 16, 2008, 08:29:37 AM »
Take a shoe lace and do T&T a favour :rotfl: :rotfl:
WELCOME TO DINSLEY OUT IN THE STREETZ THEY CALL ME FATZ

Without Him, I am nothing but with Him I can do all things. Phil 4:13

« Reply #18 on: June 16, 2008, 08:31:50 AM »
GGo directly 2 jail do not pass go do not collect your salary dat d gov't refuse 2 pay

« Reply #19 on: June 16, 2008, 08:32:51 AM »
Take a shoe lace and do T&T a favour :rotfl: :rotfl:

good one  :devil:

« Reply #20 on: June 16, 2008, 08:34:10 AM »
1) f**k off... Bring in a European English Speaking disciplinarian aka Don Leo

2) Select the Correct Players

3) Dont try a 3-5-2 for the first time in a WCQ... Bertille and all wouldnt do that

4) f**k off again...

Offline Jay10

« Reply #21 on: June 16, 2008, 10:28:35 AM »
Please DO NOT PLAY 3-5-2

We never played it before in the warmups, so it seemed like this match was not taken seriously, from the coaching staff, so why should we expect the players to take it seriously?

The coaching staff already said that this is the squad that they are going with, so I am not expecting any sweeping changes for the return leg....so to the players....WAKE THE FACK UPP!!!

« Reply #22 on: June 16, 2008, 10:40:17 AM »
1) f**k off... Bring in a European English Speaking disciplinarian aka Don Leo

2) Select the Correct Players

3) Dont try a 3-5-2 for the first time in a WCQ... Bertille and all wouldnt do that

4) f**k off again...

Hahaha Small Mag you sure Bertille wouldn't do dat?
Dat sound like a Bertille move self.

Offline 1-868

• Haters love me
« Reply #23 on: June 16, 2008, 10:43:30 AM »
FACK OFFFF
Phenomenal, lovely atmosphere.

« Reply #24 on: June 16, 2008, 10:44:02 AM »
1. We should play warm up games against teams that play a similar style to our WCQ opponents i.e. Central and South American teams.

2. Don't change the back 4 (or 3 lol) in every warm up game so there is no continuity along the back line. How many offsides you see opponents getting against us? Not many becasue our back line rarely operates together.

3. Bring back Wim. I honestly feel that pathetic Gold Cup squad could beat this current team.

« Reply #25 on: June 16, 2008, 10:45:27 AM »
Cornmeal is A facking Blite..
War

Offline RedDevils

« Reply #26 on: June 16, 2008, 11:37:39 AM »
Suggestion for Corneal....off jack then off youself, both Corneals this applies to

Maturna go back to where you come from.
Glory, Glory MANUTD.

« Reply #27 on: June 16, 2008, 11:48:48 AM »
1.  Stop experimenting with a 3-5-2 system, with Dennis Lawrence playing left back during a serious game.

2.  Don't sub in defensive players for offensive players when you need goals. (Kahleem Hyland for Ancil Ferrier) If you started with at 4-4-2, you would not need to do that.

3. Finally bring in our soca warrior heros who have not retired.  You already swallowed your pride when you notice leaving out Jason Scotland was a mistake.  Age over Talent is not a logical thing to do. Continue to by bringing Chris Birchall for Stephan David, Denzil Theobald for Hayden Tinto, Brent Sancho for Keyeno Thomas, Avery John for Ancil Farrier, Cyd Gray for Kern Cupid, and Kelvin Jack when he gets well.

Oops ah forget the man from Manzinilla. Bring back Collin Samuel.  I know he did a know show in Jamaica, but he's the best attacking left winger we have..

« Reply #28 on: June 16, 2008, 11:51:33 AM »
He was in d stand wit d other boys so he eh far 2 call up

« Reply #29 on: June 16, 2008, 11:59:39 AM »
I don't know where to start.......
 - We cannot give up the wing cause we cannot defend cross balls
 - We cannot force play to the middle cause we stand and look to much
 - We cannot play high pressure cause we are to slow in getting back

Playing a back 3 should not have even been an option for the coaching staff. Looking at the previous game would blatantlyshow this. More specifically, the 1st and 2nd goal in the game against England. These 2 goals showed that the defenders did not understand the concepts of the flat back four and their roles within that defensive formation. With this in mind, moving to a back three would have been the last formation in mind. Bolstering the midfield is a very good option but it should have been from front to back and not back to front.

For e.g we could have started like this:

Stern

Daniel                    Whitley                      Hyland                       C. Edwards

Telesford

Thomas?                                                         Farrier?

Hislop         Lawrence

Then  moved into:

John

Hyland

Daniel                                                                              C.Edwards

Whitley                   Telesford

Thomas                                                    Farrier

Hislop         Lawrence

Such placement of player would have provided a more balanced approach to the game and give the players a better chance to be successful. Apparently the coaching staff is thinking about the team and not the individual within the team.

One thing that can truly help is the coaching staff taking more detailed notes during the games. Going back and looking at the tape will allow you to clarify your ideas, but if you have no ideas coming from the game itself will make it very difficult to get an accurate evaluation of the players.

Training - from looking at some of the tapes it seems that we do a lot of functional and economical trainig sessions. This is also reflected in the games. we are not improving in any areas on the field. players are just accepting their role a little more, but the understanding is not getting any better.

Training should be more specific to players. Also, the intensity in training needs to go up. How do we know this? Players come out for a game and are still sluggish and lethargic. These things needs to be polished off in practice.  Encourage more hustle, more consequences for mistakes, hold players to task and make then accountable for inconsistent play, time exercises and if they are to slow punish the team, stuff like that.

Warm up - by now everyone who know T&T football know we start slow. Why? Touches match report will reveal why. We do the same thing all the time. The warm up tempo needs to go up to almost game speed. Body temperature need to go up a few degrees more. Change up the routine a bit. Come out about 5 minutes earlier after the half time break and get a quick warm up goin so that the players will be ready to play. We have to remember that the guys are not elite players yet so we have to prepare them.

Tempo we need to find a tempo in the game that suits us. Not this break neck college football speed and then we burn out and the game is only 25 minutes in. We don't have a tempo and this cause problem in us finding rhythm to the game with each other.

This is just what I think, and obviously it may not be right as there is no truly right way to do things. But there are things that can work for certain players and teams.