April 24, 2024, 01:21:06 AM

Author Topic: Match Report from Trini & Patriot.  (Read 7086 times)

Match Report from Trini & Patriot.
« on: June 15, 2008, 06:36:47 PM »
ok, i might have the record for the fatest game report as i live so near the stadium.

Got there 1hr before the game and again with a heavy hand paid the $300 to get in.

Nothing much in the atmosphere before the game, even the Ja game was more vibesy.

Warm ups - T&T looking kinda sluggish, i telling meh partners like we eat a big lunch.
The bermuda players doing their warm ups on the other end only watching our players, almost like they in awe a bit.

Teams come out, bermuda anthem play, like them dont even stand at attention for they own anthem, everybody arms behind back looking lackadasical.Our turmn, the announcer say the sing lustily with patriotism, i say he vibsing up the crowd, next thing he start singing with no music, almost bawling over the mike,. Well the whole stadium crack up. But we find we aint hearing the music, wha u think, they aint have no instrumentals, we have to sing the anthem acapella yes. Well that was a first, but the announcer on the mike playing pavarotti and trying to sing with some serious notes, but it sounding real bad. whole anthem people laughing at the man.

Jack come out and meeting the players - fellas, i real maco how he greet the T&T players, u could clearly see he was not the least bit amused to shake their hands.It have real thing going on that we dont know about.He wass more friendly toward the bermuda players. U could see the tension when he shaking the T&T players hands, almost like he just doing it cause he have to..

Game time - T&T start decent, u could see the difference in team cohesion. i get a sense that the T&T players feel they were a class above the bermudans. Boy were they in for a surprise.
We have decent possession, the only weak link is the right back who i think might have been telesford. Is he being playing out of position? Cause he is a better player than that. Bermuda get a counter-attack, and like the right back usher and escort the bermuda winger to the t7t penalty box. cross whip over, nobody in the centre, one - nil.

Crown gone quiet.
The 7 bermudans in the crowd screaming.

Well we say no probs, it will make t&T play with more attacking purpose instaed of just trying to play possession. But u could see everybody tense cause of the away goal.
T&T then start to attack in sustained pressure, the bermudans playing on the break. Now Bermuda is a team that shock me. They have some very fast, strong players, who are individually not that far from our players. They have a fat man who playing last stopper for them though, i remember the criicket player they had for the world cup, but was handling his stories.
Carlos is now a shadow of his old self. Maybe its just he have the injuries in the back of his mind, but i expected more from him. He got a couple clear chances on goal and muffed it. At times he was caught over dribbling, at times, he was passing off too quickly. But he will still our most effective player. After some sustained pressure, a ball was whipped in the center to stern who chest trap real nice and in a sublime move held off the tackles and sloted past the keeper. 1-1, crowd gone mad.
The announcer make some announcement that stern scored his 67-68 goal and now tied or passed gerd muller for some spot on the all time record.
T&T then start to dominate even more looking for the second, u could see bermuda starting to wilt under the running and stress. Here is where i start thinking we would run them off the pitch, it was a big different in class.
then out of nowhere, they got a counter, again advantaging the right back and whipped in the cross. Ince went for it and fell clumisly/collided with some players and was out cold. The ball went out to a brmuda player who sized uo for the shot and like the T&T team waiting for the ref to blow for treatment to the keeper. but the whistele never came and the attacker slotted it in - 2-1.
Well is now the cussing start, players surrounding the ref, very reminiscent of the game vs jamaica last week.
Ince was out for 5 mins clear, but he got up and got a cheer.Still 2-1 now though.
Everybody was like oh gosh, but u could see the class in T&T above them, so no worries. I was expecting to go in the half 2-1 up, now i hoping for the equaliser, but it never came.
half time - 2-1 bermuda.

second half, u could see bermuda camping out in defense and playing on the counter. They are a dangerous team on the break as they have some powerful, smart players. So although we were attacking all the second half, we always had to be keeping an eye on the counter-attack. They are that good, they kept us worried all times.
We got about 3 clear chances to equalise, including stern in injury time, but he now has a candidate for miss of the year.
We looked good in spurts, but at times very atrocious. Bermuda ran us evenly, even pressuring us for moments, u could see the T&T team was better, but just lacking the final last touch to break the stubborn, camped bermuda defense. Scottie hit  a man a nice spin cap from aball on the ground, that was the highlight. We missed hyland real bad in the second half, dont know why he was subbed, injury?
He and carlos were interchanging wings, reminiscent of the last WC campaign, which was nice to see.
But for all our team tactical superiority, we looked very dull right in front goal.
Still we should have won or at least drawn, based on our superiority.
Thoughts for the return - i am a bit worried. Bermuda will undoubtedly defend for their lives as we have to win by 2 clear goals...And we need to get that spark in front goal and work on finishing. It is possible, but bermuda have now shown that they can play football and defend very respectably.
I am extremely disappointed in the result, cause we should not be playing around with teams like this, and to be honest, anyone who saw the game will tell u a 2 goal win is not guaranteed in the return.
Bermuda celebrated as if they qualified for the WC, I really really hope we get our act together in front of goal.
The right back also must be dropped.
Lawrence and Hislop also have some kinks in cohesion and also with Ince.
Say allyuh prayers, its going to be a very very interesting return leg.
Waiting for Touches report.
« Last Edit: June 16, 2008, 03:15:31 AM by Flex »

Re: Match Report
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2008, 06:51:13 PM »
Thanks for the ireport Trini.  :beermug:

« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2008, 07:00:14 PM »
Thanks for de report in these trying times

« Reply #3 on: June 15, 2008, 07:00:50 PM »
To do justice to this report yuh must tell folks the starting formation. 3 - 5 - 2.
Then in the second half substituting an attacking midfielder in Hyland for a defender to then go 4-4-2.

Edwards was not really great in his final passes but made some serious runs in the second half but the final pass was most times dreadful or he lost the ball over dribbling.

Maturana has his head up his ass and carrying on a conversation with the Corneals.

Blessings

« Reply #4 on: June 15, 2008, 07:01:05 PM »

......Jack come out and meeting the players - fellas, i real maco how he greet the T&T players, u could clearly see he was not the least bit amused to shake their hands.It have real thing going on that we dont know about.He wass more friendly toward the bermuda players. U could see the tension when he shaking the T&T players hands, almost like he just doing it cause he have to....

:waiting: :thinking: :thinking:

« Reply #5 on: June 15, 2008, 07:07:09 PM »
To do justice to this report yuh must tell folks the starting formation. 3 - 5 - 2.
Then in the second half substituting an attacking midfielder in Hyland for a defender to then go 4-4-2.

Edwards was not really great in his final passes but made some serious runs in the second half but the final pass was most times dreadful or he lost the ball over dribbling.

Maturana has his head up his ass and carrying on a conversation with the Corneals.

Blessings

Senior Corneal is a imps, they feel they know everything

« Reply #6 on: June 15, 2008, 07:22:32 PM »
All i want to know is

How we go play with 5 men in midfield and have no width....

« Reply #7 on: June 15, 2008, 07:24:07 PM »
trini, andre baptiste and LP make it sound like edwards and stern throw way real chances. from what u saw, was dat true?

Bless!!

Some Match Observations From PATRIOT
« Reply #8 on: June 15, 2008, 07:25:09 PM »
Patriot Report

From the Get Go things were against us...would you believe that once AGAIN the T&T FLAG brought on to the field was SMALLER than the Bermuda flag??? Yes folks, but then it gets worse...we the fans HAD to sing the national anthem, as there was NO tape! Well needless to say that set the tone for what was to follow!!!

I was joined in the uncovered section by fellow forumites Andre Samuel, Cowen, Delano and Gary. When we heard the T&T startin line up I kept asking but WHO is de left back?? Someone suggested that it was Telesford...so I say NAH man he never play there! It was only when the team lined up we realised that we started the game with a 3-5-2 formation... Ah hold meh head, because we was looking shaky with 4 defenders and the coaches gone wid THREE???

Well from the get go Bermuda settled earlier and were knocking the ball arond with confidence. Their opening goal came from a simple 1-2 on our right-side where Smith's lack of speed was exposed...GOAL Bermuda. Our response, was to move Carlos to the left and put Hyland on the right wing. This did stabilize the right side a bit BUT we took TOO long to settle! Our goal from STERN came after a nice knock mid-way through the 1st half..but Bermuda's 2nd goal just before the end of the 1/2 was controversial. Ince went chasing after a cross ball into his box, collided with one of our defenders, fell, and did not move. Bermuda kept on playing, and shot int an empty net GOAL 2-1 Bermuda.
The 2nd half saw the introduction of Farrier for Hyland??? Why NOT Keon Daniel who was MIA is beyond me!But Farrier looked good going forward and has speed and showed aggression..he will defintely mature into a goodleft-back...I can't say the same for Kareeem Smith...he runs like a man on the moon wearing lead boots. His specialty is 25-35 yard balls played across the field...when they coe of they look brilliant, but wen they don't... to his credit, he did take a brilliant 40 yard shot that damaged the stanchion holdng up the goal-post, but looked good
Carlos TRIED his best on the wing, but his free-kicks (YES he again took all) were HORRIBLE,even the corners were over-hi by him Whitley hit  a Bermuda player a sex/rolly-polly and cap, but his penetrative passes were being read by the Bermudans; Stern worked hard but the 1 in 4 conversion rate hurt us. Keo Daniel was still MIA and Telesford was his usual wild busy self going to ground and leaping in until he hmself was a victim of a bad tackle and had to be subbed - his replacement Stephan David was terible, with most of his passes going astray, Scotland did NOT show he deserved the furore over his initial ommission, as he scoffed chance upon chance including one in the 91st min that cold have tied te scoreline at 2-2! He hustled, but simply did not turn defenders playing with his back to the goal most times. Dennis Lawrence actually came forward in the final 5 mins and used his height to lay on some decent balls for the 2 strikers, but they were either wasted or cleared by a now beleagured Bermudan defence.

All in all we looked POOR as a team and the result refelcted this. On a sad note, sittng in the same section to our left were Brent Sanch, Cyd Gray, Marvin Andrews, Collin Samuel,Anthony Wolfe all looking very dejected. After the game I thanked them for 2006 the memories of which Jack, Maturana and the Corneals cannot destroy as they have destroyed the Soca Warriors. 2 years ago I was in Germany on one of the happiest days of my life. Tonight I'm sad an despondent as I see a team that drew 0-0 with Sweden back then AWAY in Europe, get beaten at HOME by the 136th team in FIFA. Never in my wildest dreams did I think when I booked my ticket to Bermuda would I have imagined I'd be attending our 2nd and Final game in WC2010 qualifying!!! It's hard to take, it really is!!!
« Last Edit: June 16, 2008, 03:16:00 AM by Flex »

Re: Some Match Observations From PATRIOT
« Reply #9 on: June 15, 2008, 07:29:07 PM »

All in all we looked POOR as a team and the result refelcted this. On a sad note, sittng in the same section to our left were Brent Sanch, Cyd Gray, Marvin Andrews, Collin Samuel,Anthony Wolfe all looking very dejected.

:'(

« Reply #10 on: June 15, 2008, 07:29:17 PM »
Personally, the problem with the right back position is not the right back players. Allyuh doh want to see it, but Carlos Edwards is puling the right back stones right through, leaving too much space and not supporting the right back. Edwards playing he own kinda game fuh he alone on the right side.

Offline Gladman

« Reply #11 on: June 15, 2008, 07:30:16 PM »
Why d hell Carlos Edwards taking freekicks?
Life Is Like Sugar Cane,It Hard But Sweet

« Reply #12 on: June 15, 2008, 07:31:00 PM »
I think you spot on about the tension you see with JW and the team. I really feel this team is not really a team anymore. They simply cannot be a capable, cohesive unit with all the s*it plaguing them for years now.

You notice any vibes between the players and the future former coach?  :devil:

« Reply #13 on: June 15, 2008, 07:38:30 PM »

All in all we looked POOR as a team and the result refelcted this. On a sad note, sittng in the same section to our left were Brent Sanch, Cyd Gray, Marvin Andrews, Collin Samuel,Anthony Wolfe all looking very dejected. After the game I thanked them for 2006 the memories of which Jack, Maturana and the Corneals cannot destroy as they have destroyed the Soca Warriors. 2 years ago I was in Germany on one of the happiest days of my life. Tonight I'm sad an despondent as I see a team that drew 0-0 with Sweden back then AWAY in Europe, get beaten at HOME by the 136th team in FIFA. Never in my wildest dreams did I think when I booked my ticket to Bermuda would I have imagined I'd be attending our 2nd and Final game in WC2010 qualifying!!! It's hard to take, it really is!!!

that just sickening. respect to you for telling them that we eh forget them.

Offline ckhan

• Pay Forward
« Reply #14 on: June 15, 2008, 07:42:17 PM »
A great but sad report result wise.  Imagine we have players who should be in uniform but instead were sitting in the stands watching this unfolded.  I know there will be ALOT of finger pointing but the end result is that football fans for this team will be paying the price.  It is not fair to say the least!!!
If a free society cannot help the many who are poor it cannot save the few who are rich.

- John F. Kennedy

« Reply #15 on: June 15, 2008, 07:48:19 PM »
Patriot boy why yuh had to depress mih further, de madness on de field make mih forget de teeeny flag (AGAIN) and dat we had to sing de anthem.....de TTFF and CONCACAF head should be ashamed of themselves....oh yeah ah 4get....dem eh have no idea what shame is....well let me hear Jack spin dis for de waggonist and dem to lap up....

Is Hunt fault....no is Wim fault....no is FPATT and dat pesky Shaka Hislop's fault.....oh hell must be my fault too.....fack it man laaaawwwd ah depressed.... :'(

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #16 on: June 15, 2008, 07:54:40 PM »
Here is FIFA's report with some comments:

T&T stunned as US and Mexico win
(FIFA.com) Sunday 15 June 2008

Mexico and the USA both won out in their opening South Africa 2010 qualifiers on Sunday, but Trinidad were beaten at home by Bermuda.

Dale Mitchell's Canadians made no mistake in their first qualifier for South Africa 2010, beating St. Vincent and the Grenadines on the road in Kingstown.

Denmark-based winger Issey Nakajima-Farran opened the scoring for the Canucks on 32 minutes and Ali Gerba, who came on for the injured Rob Friend after only seven minutes, went on to grab a pair of goals for himself, the first two minutes from the break and the second two minuts from full time.

Defending Caribbean champions Haiti could only manage a goalless draw with the Netherlands Antilles on Sunday in their first match of the South Africa 2010 qualifying campaign. The Antilleans, with a raft of Holland-based professionals in the side, defended staunchly and now look in decent shape heading into the return leg in Willemstad on 22 June.

Belize, whose improvement has been nothing short of phenomenal in recent years, gave Mexico quite a scare in their 'home' leg in Houston, Texas. Heavily fancied, it took the Mexicans a full 65 minutes before they found a crack in the Central Americans' rearguard, with Arsenal-bound Carlos Vela poking into an open goal after a free kick came back off the bar.

Substitute Jared Borgetti then rounded off the scoring from the spot in stoppage time to give the Mexican's a flattering 2-0 win.

A goal from star striker Luis Tejada of America de Cali in Colombia was enough to see Panama past a determined El Salvador 1-0 in Panama City on Sunday, setting up a tricky return leg in San Salvador next weekend.

The USA had no problems in their first qualifier, hammering eight past outgunned Barbados in Los Angeles. Clint Dempsey set the tone in the 8-0 rout, scoring inside the first minute before striking again in the 63rd. Michael Bradley, Landon Donovan, Eddie Johnson and Brian Ching (3) also grabbed goals in what was a virtual walkover.

Trinidad and Tobago suffered the biggest shock of the round, losing to rank outsiders Bermuda in their own capital, Port of Spain. The team that qualified for Germany 2006 were one down after only eight minutes when journeyman striker John Berry Nusom hit home. Stern John drew level in the 22nd minute, but Nusom grabbed the winner, and his second on the night, five minutes before the break in a 2-1 win for Keith Tucker's Bermudans.

Jamaica rounded out Sunday's action with huge win, 7-0 over the Bahamas. Luton Shelton scored twice whil Ricardo Gardner, Demar Phillips, Marlon King, Andrew Williams and Omar Daley all grabbed a goal apiece.

Latest results
St. Vincent 0-3 Canada
Haiti 0-0 Netherlands Antilles
Belize 0-2 Mexico
Panama 1-0 El Salvador
USA 8-0 Barbados
Trinidad and Tobago 1-2 Bermuda
Jamaica 7-0 Bahamas

Add your comment
Rating: 4.3
User comments »
I want to say great job to Bermuda and to all the under estimate us watch out. It wasn't a fluke our boys are working hard. Well Done
Posted by VanceBrown, Bermuda on 16/06/2008 at 02:42
I was at the US vs. Barbados game (drove in from Denver). It was like watching men against boys, We controlled every aspect of the game. Perhaps now, the world will see why we scheduled friendlies against the teams we did. This world cup qualifying, the US will be the first top ranked team from CONCACFAF. The Mexicans should be embarrassed that it took them 65 minutes to break down the Belize team. And for all of the trash talk from the T&T fans, it looks like its back to the drawing board. Congrats to the Canucks for dispatching St. Vincent 3-0. Its quite clear who the class CONCACAF is. Go Yanks!!
Posted by DenverYankee, USA on 16/06/2008 at 01:57
go U.S. way to rout barbados
Posted by goUSMNT, USA on 16/06/2008 at 01:45
What a shocker it is! T&T defeated at home by Bermuda? Great work for the Bermudan team and a very disappointing performance by the Soca Warriors. Kudos to Belize for holding on as long as they did to Mexico and to the Netherlands Antilles for drawing with Haiti. The little teams of CONCACAF really are improving! However I expect the favorites to win the second leg so T&T and Haiti better shape up.
Posted by Nesstor, USA on 16/06/2008 at 01:40
Dont remind me I was about ready to swear down the whole damn place after that result
Posted by Reaper2010, Trinidad and Tobago on 16/06/2008 at 01:37
Absolutely embarrassing for Trinidad and Tobago.
Posted by etonrifles, USA on 16/06/2008 at 01:21

jjbrown

« Reply #17 on: June 15, 2008, 07:55:40 PM »
Thanks Patriot. Yuh name not Patriot fuh nutten.
Yuh bring tears to meh eyes dread.
Some day please release any off de record convo yuh had with the blacklisted Warriors who was sittin' nex' to you

:'(

Offline kandi_tt

« Reply #18 on: June 15, 2008, 08:00:10 PM »
Patriot boy why yuh had to depress mih further, de madness on de field make mih forget de teeeny flag (AGAIN) and dat we had to sing de anthem.....de TTFF and CONCACAF head should be ashamed of themselves....oh yeah ah 4get....dem eh have no idea what shame is....well let me hear Jack spin dis for de waggonist and dem to lap up....

Is Hunt fault....no is Wim fault....no is FPATT and dat pesky Shaka Hislop's fault.....oh hell must be my fault too.....fack it man laaaawwwd ah depressed.... :'(

real sorry ah couldn't make it though ah try...

but mubbe is a good ting i aint muster the energy from meh sick bed

but is only to come on here and read the shit that happen tonite...

patriot ah go call yuh tomm to hear what i aitn read here yet...

iNnOcEnT aNd UnInFoRmEd...

« Reply #19 on: June 15, 2008, 08:06:14 PM »
Listen.. I hae some beer bottles.. I cud pass by de gyas station for some diesel .. Kandi brng some split peas.. Let we fire bomb de ttff office.. Dis it real shit.. and I am very hurt.

Bermuda clearly Prepared.. What de fawk did we do, and the unkindest cut is that we dont even have out BEST team by any stretch of the magination..

WE CANNOT play 3 -5-2.  Simoes tied it, it failed..  and then we a goal down and this asshole take off an attacker and put on a defender.. mudda ass is this..  :'( >:( :'( :-\

« Reply #20 on: June 15, 2008, 08:08:14 PM »
as BM said before...it clear this ting runs deeper than we ever imagined and the football jus going down with it...
Ah sad and i only glad i stuck to the couch so i didnt have to witness de shit myself

Offline kandi_tt

« Reply #21 on: June 15, 2008, 08:09:27 PM »
Listen.. I hae some beer bottles.. I cud pass by de gyas station for some diesel .. Kandi brng some split peas.. Let we fire bomb de ttff office.. Dis it real shit.. and I am very hurt.

Bermuda clearly Prepared.. What de fawk did we do, and the unkindest cut is that we dont even have out BEST team by any stretch of the magination..

WE CANNOT play 3 -5-2.  Simoes tied it, it failed..  and then we a goal down and this asshole take off an attacker and put on a defender.. mudda ass is this..  :'( >:( :'( :-\

connor ah ready...i go drive ...u pelt

« Reply #22 on: June 15, 2008, 08:29:37 PM »
.....oh btw folks....we bounce up Sancho, Gray, Samuel, Andrews after de game.  Ah ask Cyd....so what goin on wid you...yuh still injured??....he say he have 2 more weeks before he's declared fully fit...ah say so we seeing yuh back in de side....(well we may not even have need for a side after Sunday next week), he say dat eh up to he...and gave mih ah shrug of resignation...

*sigh* thanks for the memories guys....

Offline kandi_tt

« Reply #23 on: June 15, 2008, 09:03:54 PM »
patriot - 1st thing yuh packing is d biggest flag yuh could manage...cause we mite not have one in bermuda...

« Reply #24 on: June 15, 2008, 09:07:30 PM »

Funny thing is Jamaica was slapped with a US$15K fine by FIFA last year for not providing a tape of the national anthem when we played a CFU game in Barbados. Lets see if they have the balls to slap a fine on Jack Warner this time around.

Trinidad will bounce back agaianst Bermuda.

« Reply #25 on: June 15, 2008, 09:09:08 PM »
.....oh btw folks....we bounce up Sancho, Gray, Samuel, Andrews after de game.  Ah ask Cyd....so what goin on wid you...yuh still injured??....he say he have 2 more weeks before he's declared fully fit...ah say so we seeing yuh back in de side....(well we may not even have need for a side after Sunday next week), he say dat eh up to he...and gave mih ah shrug of resignation...

*sigh* thanks for the memories guys....

meh heart real grievin for dese fellas. :'(

« Reply #26 on: June 15, 2008, 09:12:17 PM »
U know tings real baddddddddd 4 oui when Reggaefan backin oui. I didn't c Wolfe but dem fellas was dispondent. On d point about injuries Marv say dat he recovering nicely he goin 2 look 4 he pops so Firebrand organize d lil interview. He said he will seek God's guidance and c where he plays next.

« Reply #27 on: June 15, 2008, 09:15:51 PM »
patriot - 1st thing yuh packing is d biggest flag yuh could manage...cause we mite not have one in bermuda...
DONE! I takin my FIFA2006 WC T&TFlag, but it will be with ME in de stands...now if de TTFF want to RENT it.we start negotiating, but ah want ALL my money UPFRONT >:(

Offline kandi_tt

« Reply #28 on: June 15, 2008, 09:16:08 PM »
U know tings real baddddddddd 4 oui when Reggaefan backin oui. I didn't c Wolfe but dem fellas was dispondent. On d point about injuries Marv say dat he recovering nicely he goin 2 look 4 he pops so Firebrand organize d lil interview. He said he will seek God's guidance and c where he plays next.

fuh real eh...thanks for helpin to bring up d spirits...ting real bad over here...

i dunno how i facing this week

i dunno how i making it to sunday...

thas one game i cyah watch along - hoping they bring it on tv...

i feeling as if is bahrain all over again

Offline kandi_tt

« Reply #29 on: June 15, 2008, 09:16:55 PM »
DONE! I takin my FIFA2006 WC T&TFlag, but it will be with ME in de stands...now if de TTFF want to RENT it.we start negotiating, but ah want ALL my money UPFRONT >:(

i doh care what happening....

when u see what they walking out with...especially if it have none...

u better be making circles with the flag...