April 19, 2024, 06:35:34 PM

Author Topic: United States Vs Barbados - WCQ (Stream Req and Article)  (Read 4142 times)

United States Vs Barbados - WCQ (Stream Req and Article)
« on: June 15, 2008, 08:25:32 AM »
If anyone can get find a stream for ESPN 2 I would be greatful   :)

by WADE GIBBONS

BARBADOS ENTER their World Cup 2010 qualifier against the United States at The Home Depot Centre in California today as the clear underdogs.

But despite the odds ostensibly stacked against them, there is still a degree of optimism since this football squad is bolstered with nine professionals.

Barbados enter the important encounter confident in their ability of putting in a strong performance despite the daunting fact that their rivals held the No. 1
rated team in the world, Argentina, to a 0-0 draw at Giants Stadium on June 8.

The United States and Barbados have faced each other only twice before, with the former winning both matches in the semi-final round of World Cup qualifying in 2000. In the first game, a brace from Joe-Max Moore was the precursor to a resounding 7–0 victory in Foxborough, Massachusetts.

The Americans were also victorious when they travelled to Barbados, beating the home side 4–0 in the return leg. That game was much closer than the lopsided scoreline would suggest. Eddie Lewis and Landon Donovan are the only players on the current roster who were involved in those matches.

Barbados have welcomed back quality strikers in Doncaster Rovers' Mark McCammon and Crystal Palace's Paul Ifill. Former Tottenham Hotspurs' and England Under-20 left-back Marcel McKie is a newcomer to the squad and is expected to add much needed solidity in defence.

Despite the presence of several overseas-based players in the Bajan line-up, United States' head coach Bob Bradley has his eyes firmly fixed on the home-based captain of the team, Norman Forde. He has indicated his intentions of shutting down Forde in the midfield.

"I think that we concentrate on what we need to do, yet at the same time we always prepare our team with some sense as to how the other team plays and key players. Norman Forde, certainly a lot of their attacking play goes through him and we still would want to do the best we can to close him down and not give him the opportunity to make the game for Barbados," he said.

Bradley described the Barbados team as one having players with individual flair and overall athleticism.

For all of the United States' anticipated superiority, eight players in their line-up have not appeared in a World Cup qualifier before. Of the 13 with World Cup qualifying experience, Barbados will have to pay particular attention to the inspirational striker Landon Donovan of the Los Angeles Galaxy.

Donovan is the United States' leading cap-winner in World Cup qualifying with 20 appearances from both the 2002 and 2006 campaigns, and has scored seven goals. Overall he has 100 caps and 35 goals. Fulham's Eddie Johnson with seven goals in as many qualifiers, is also expected to be at the forefront of the United States' offensive moves.

Barbados have not had the most encouraging results in their recent warm-ups, losing to Trinidad and Tobago, and embarrassingly, two back-to-back games
to football minions, Bermuda, last week.

The match kicks off at 5 p.m. and will be broadcast live on ESPN2.

Squads

Barbados: Norman Forde, Daryl Ferguson, Marcel McKie, Paul Ifill, Mark McCammon, Johnathan Forte, Rommell Burgess, Johnathan Nurse, Alvin Rouse, Miles Jones, Rommel Brathwaite, John Parris, Brian Neblett, Gregg Belle, Riverre Williams, Barry Skeete, Adrian Chase, Malcolm Marshall, Dyson James, coach Eyre Sealy.

United States: Freddy Adu, DaMarcus Beasley, Carlos Bocanegra, Michael Bradley, Dan Califf, Dominic Cervi, Steve Cherundolo, Brian Ching, Jay DeMerit, Clint Dempsey, Landon Donovan, Maurice Edu, Brad Guzan, Frankie Hejduk, Tim Howard, Eddie Johnson, Sacha Kljestan, Eddie Lewis, Pablo Mastroeni, Oguchi Onyewu, Heath Pearce, coach Bob Bradley.

Re: United States Vs Barbados - WCQ (Stream Req and Article)
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2008, 08:31:37 AM »
Marcel McKie i always wonder what happen to him!!!  would check for streams over the net... if not you could use match tracker

Offline R45

« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2008, 08:43:32 AM »
I'm sure this will be an easy to get stream... keep an eye on http://www.myp2p.eu/index.php?part=sports

« Reply #3 on: June 15, 2008, 08:50:03 AM »
Marcel McKie i always wonder what happen to him!!!  would check for streams over the net... if not you could use match tracker

MATCH TRACKER? ARE YOU CRAZY LOL I want to see as much games as possible. I was suppose to be in Grenada yesterday and Antigua tuesday. I'm missing/ed two live games now and your askling me to use match tracker lol

BTW Marcel McKie is my cousin's god brother's former team mate at tottenham.

Thanks R45. I was seeing if you could see TVU player but I heard it only gets ESPN not ESPN 2
« Last Edit: June 15, 2008, 08:51:39 AM by Carib-Briton »

Offline jimmel14

« Reply #4 on: June 15, 2008, 09:06:43 AM »
what time does the game start?

« Reply #5 on: June 15, 2008, 09:22:16 AM »
what time does the game start?

5pm EST

« Reply #6 on: June 15, 2008, 09:41:29 AM »
ESPN360 advertising the USA v B'dos game for 5pm.

« Reply #7 on: June 15, 2008, 11:44:11 AM »
How Bimshire ent pick the Nigerian to run with them...he was a good player...ask Stephan David.

« Reply #8 on: June 15, 2008, 12:21:33 PM »
How Bimshire ent pick the Nigerian to run with them...he was a good player...ask Stephan David.

I feel you taking the piss but he wasn't Nigerian. He was born in England to a Malawian father and Bajan mother.

Offline jimmel14

« Reply #9 on: June 15, 2008, 01:35:08 PM »
well at least ah go get to see this game and see an upset too.. ah do hope they air the T&T game though..

Offline ckhan

• Pay Forward
« Reply #10 on: June 15, 2008, 02:59:20 PM »
Football here (ESPN), football there (TnT via audio)..football everywhere...... :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
If a free society cannot help the many who are poor it cannot save the few who are rich.

- John F. Kennedy

« Reply #11 on: June 15, 2008, 03:01:49 PM »
I want Barbados to beat USA today. Let the games begin.... :) In my dreams.
« Last Edit: June 15, 2008, 03:06:26 PM by Wehitis »

« Reply #12 on: June 15, 2008, 03:06:37 PM »
I can get it on my computer I think but I do not know how to stream it

Offline ckhan

• Pay Forward
« Reply #13 on: June 15, 2008, 03:10:01 PM »
USA 1 Bajans 0
If a free society cannot help the many who are poor it cannot save the few who are rich.

- John F. Kennedy

« Reply #14 on: June 15, 2008, 03:11:00 PM »
it has begun...

« Reply #15 on: June 15, 2008, 03:11:40 PM »
Well is licks start passing ah ready 1 nil USA...soon as the game start. Replay...guess? USA 2 Barbados 0 13:29 gone in the frist half.  Barbados looks like they have no idea of what going on...this is not a fete match alyuh. ???
« Last Edit: June 15, 2008, 03:26:11 PM by Wehitis »

Offline ckhan

• Pay Forward
« Reply #16 on: June 15, 2008, 03:21:07 PM »
USA 2 Bajans 0

- John F. Kennedy

« Reply #17 on: June 15, 2008, 03:21:20 PM »
Barbados in a mess.

« Reply #18 on: June 15, 2008, 03:22:40 PM »
dey look like they go get 7-0 today

« Reply #19 on: June 15, 2008, 03:23:48 PM »
Bajanscout better get on his job.

« Reply #20 on: June 15, 2008, 03:24:06 PM »
If US stay on the gas, this could be a horrible blow out

Offline ttcom

• us/trini/jamaican
« Reply #21 on: June 15, 2008, 03:25:40 PM »
I might see a cricket score
Stupidity is an elemental force for which no earthquake is a match."
-Karl Kraus

« Reply #22 on: June 15, 2008, 03:27:32 PM »
I might see a cricket score :rotfl:

Yuh mean Basketball. ;D USA 3 pointer from the arc.
« Last Edit: June 15, 2008, 03:29:24 PM by Wehitis »

Offline ckhan

• Pay Forward
« Reply #23 on: June 15, 2008, 03:29:18 PM »
Geeeze..its' 3 nil

- John F. Kennedy

« Reply #24 on: June 15, 2008, 03:30:00 PM »
Ah think Barbados about to be embarrassed BADLY today...is 3-0 and 20 mins gone. Their defending worse than ours.

Offline ckhan

• Pay Forward
« Reply #25 on: June 15, 2008, 03:55:50 PM »
Usa 3 Bajans 0 at half time....Bajans had a chance at the end but was called offside.

- John F. Kennedy

« Reply #26 on: June 15, 2008, 04:30:36 PM »
its is 5-0 now...

4th goal, keeper leaning on de post setting up the wall and donavon just chip it in the goal.

5th goal a thru ball and bullet, keeper save and somebody slap in the rebound..

could be a cutass of biblical proportions.

Offline ckhan

• Pay Forward
« Reply #27 on: June 15, 2008, 04:30:51 PM »
Now its 5 nil

- John F. Kennedy

Offline R45

« Reply #28 on: June 15, 2008, 05:06:19 PM »
Game done 8-0

U.S. routs Barbados 8-0 in record-setting win
« Reply #29 on: June 16, 2008, 03:01:11 AM »
U.S. overwhelms Barbados in qualifying opener

The United States scored early and it scored late. The Americans got five goals with their feet, one with a header, one with a chest and another when an opponent put the ball into his own net.

A record-setting rout began when Clint Dempsey scored 53 seconds in, and when it was over, the United States had opened qualifying for the 2010 World Cup with an 8-0 victory over Barbados on Sunday.

Next weekend's second leg of the home-and-home, total-goals series is a mere formality.

(continue)