March 28, 2024, 10:39:58 PM

how much of a part should they play?

start
half time subs
last 30 min
last 15 min
not even on d bench

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs England Game (01-Jun-2008).  (Read 284958 times)

Re: TnT vs England Game on TV?
« Reply #630 on: May 08, 2008, 03:33:45 PM »
Has anyone heard what plans are in place for broadcasting the June 1st game on TV in the US and UK?

Are you one of the british holligans?

:devil: u like thing eh

Re: hmm...some covered seats available?
« Reply #631 on: May 08, 2008, 07:27:39 PM »
It start and editorial bout Jack scorin early look spare me ok express

Re: Thread for the T&T vs England Game (01-Jun-2008).
« Reply #632 on: May 08, 2008, 07:41:41 PM »
Mystery of the FA's World Cup bid consultants
By: Matt Scott, guardian.co.uk

May 09 2008.

The Football Association's unexplained treatment of European Consultancy Networks, its contracted "World Cup bid consultants", will have been a fascinating aside to high-level talks at Fifa yesterday.

The FA's chairman, David Triesman, and the sports minister, Gerry Sutcliffe, made a first visit to Fifa's Zurich headquarters to meet Sepp Blatter. Under discussion were Fifa's 6+5 rule, Europe's sports white paper and how to increase cooperation between Fifa and the FA.

But the most intriguing element of the agenda was the World Cup bid. A statement in November on the FA's website stated that the ECN executives Peter Hargitay and Markus Siegler had "worked together for nearly six years at football's world governing body", where they were close aides of the Fifa president. ECN prepared a strategy paper which, according to senior football sources, has been adopted in full by the FA. But it has not been asked to carry through the work after the FA announced that external consultants would have to tender for further work.

That is likely to have come as a shock to Hargitay, whose previous influence at the FA was such that he was the architect of sending England to Trinidad & Tobago for next month's friendly. The FA clearly agreed that in assisting the island nation's federation with its centennial celebrations it would be able to curry favour with Jack Warner, the T&T federation's special adviser who is one of Fifa's 24 executive-committee members. When asked to comment on the issue yesterday Hargitay refused, saying only: "I ask you to speak to the FA."

Six UK-based World Cup players to face England.
« Reply #633 on: May 08, 2008, 07:53:08 PM »
Six UK-based World Cup players to face England.
T&T Guardian Reports.

Six England-based players who played at the Fifa 2006 World Cup in Germany are likely to be in the Soca Warriors squad for the anxiously awaited June 1 International friendly against England. The clash between T&T and England which will be played before a sold-out Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo Road crowd from 5.30 will be only the second meeting between the two countries, following their meeting at Germany.

Heading the list of expected call-ups by new T&T Colombian-born coach Francisco Maturana are Sunderland duo, Kenwyne Jones and Carlos Edwards, Stern John of Southampton and defender Dennis Lawrence of Swansea. The other two players expected to get the call for the England encounter and were on the Leo Beenhakker-coached T&T squad in Germany are goalkeeper Clayton Ince of League Two club, Walsall and striker Jason Scotland of Swansea.

In fact, Jones, Edwards, Lawrence and John, the all-time leading goalscorer for T&T with 64 goals in 93 appearance all played a part in the match against England in Nuremburg which T&T lost 2-0 via two late goals from Peter Crouch (85th) and Stevan Gerrard (88th) minutes.

The match which is dubbed “A Score To Settle” is all part of the T&T Football Federation centennial year celebrations and comes two weeks before T&T kicks off its Road to South Africa World Cup 2010 Concacaf Second Round Qualifying campaign at home to Bermuda.

It’s also being seen as a gesture by England as they seek to win the favour of Fifa vice-president and Concacaf boss Austin Jack Warner ahead of the Federation’s voting for the nation of choice for the 2014 World Cup.

Today’s training session will see a reduced quota of players present as the players from VIBE CT 105 W Connection, United Petrotrin and Joe Public have all been excused due to their club’s involvement in the T&T Pro League Courts Pro Bowl quarterfinal matches tonight at the Mannie Ramjohn Stadium, Marabella.

These players include; Marvin Phillips, Akeem Adams, Autis Whitley, Kern Cupid (W Connection), Kareem Smith, Makan Hislop, Keon Daniel, Jerol Forbes (United Petrotrin) and Keyeno Thomas of b-Mobile Joe Public.
« Last Edit: May 09, 2008, 05:22:13 AM by Flex »

Re: Six UK-based World Cup players to face England
« Reply #634 on: May 08, 2008, 08:15:57 PM »
So Lawerence unretire let d tutor sessions begin

Offline kentsoulman

« Reply #635 on: May 08, 2008, 10:25:06 PM »
I wasn't going to bother correcting the mistake, but then I saw a second, and I hate sloppy journalism.

England are after the 2018 world cup, I seem to recall that 2014 will be in Brazil????

Also missing are the Jabloteh players who I believe are playing in Puerto Rica?????

Offline Padams

• Great are the Warriors///We shall Prevail!!!!
Re: Uncovered tickets available at 800-Fans - going fast
« Reply #636 on: May 08, 2008, 10:39:17 PM »
This place is the best oui....someone got 3 (last 3?) from calling just now.

I wonder if is because some people who use CC option change their mind and the tickets become available...or worse yet if they doh answer the phone.

When I spoke to the girl today, she told me that people who originally requested a particular amount on monday, took less when they called to confirm the cc pymt (man prob jus play greedy nah)...  so they may even have more as they continue to call people tommorow.... So ah wud suggest that men inside here who eh get call fuss ting in d morning...

Wen she tell me dat, ah say lemme post one time to give alyuh the heads up fuss...

Bless
Iz not Pre-Marital Sex, if yuh have no intention 2 geh Married..........

Offline triniwings

« Reply #637 on: May 09, 2008, 12:07:33 AM »
All we missin is Dwight and Latas.

Wam to Theo, Birchall and Avery?

Re: Game vs England: We wearing Black!
« Reply #638 on: May 09, 2008, 08:30:04 AM »
fellas, i just had a thought..

alot of people wondering about the impact of wearing black if everyone is scattered in the crowd.

the suggestion has been made that those in black organize and sit together.

i was thinking for those who sitting together, does anyone still have this banner:

i think this would be a good symbol of a peaceful supporters' initiative.

« Reply #639 on: May 11, 2008, 02:06:53 PM »
England Squad announced:

Manchester City keeper Joe Hart and Everton defender Phil Jagielka are in England's squad for friendlies with the United States and Trinidad and Tobago.

England coach Fabio Capello has also called up Spurs midfielder Tom Huddlestone and Blackburn defender Stephen Warnock into his 31-man squad.

The squad face the USA at Wembley on 28 May before the away fixture with Trinidad and Tobago on 1 June.

Hart, 21, was on the bench as City lost 8-1 away to Middlesbrough on Sunday.

And his call-up completes a remarkable elevation after only spending one season as a first-team regular following his move to Eastlands from Shrewsbury in 2006.

Jagielka has had an outstanding first season at Everton following a £4m move from Sheffield United last summer, helping David Moyes' side to fifth place in the Premier League and a slot in next season's Uefa Cup.

Three confirmed absentees through injury are Everton defender Joleon Lescott, Manchester City's Micah Richards and West Ham's Matthew Upson.

Arsenal's Theo Walcott, named in Stuart Pearce's Under-21 squad for next Thursday's friendly with Wales in Wrexham, will then link up with the senior party.

West Ham's Dean Ashton will be among the other attacking players Capello will have at his disposal, with all but the nine men on Champions League duty due to report on 22 May.

England squad: David James (Portsmouth), Joe Hart (Man City), Chris Kirkland (Wigan), Wayne Bridge (Chelsea), Wes Brown (Man Utd), Ashley Cole (Chelsea), Rio Ferdinand (Man Utd), Phil Jagielka (Everton), Glen Johnson (Chelsea), John Terry (Chelsea), Stephen Warnock (Blackburn), David Wheater (Middlesbrough), Jonathan Woodgate (Middlesbrough), Gareth Barry (Aston Villa), David Beckham (LA Galaxy), David Bentley (Blackburn), Joe Cole (Chelsea), Stewart Downing (Middlesbrough), Owen Hargreaves (Man Utd), Tom Huddlestone (Tottenham), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Jermaine Jenas (Tottenham), Frank Lampard (Chelsea), Theo Walcott (Arsenal), Ashley Young (Aston Villa), Gabriel Agbonlahor (Aston Villa), Dean Ashton (West Ham), Peter Crouch (Liverpool), Jermain Defoe (Portsmouth), Michael Owen (Newcastle), Wayne Rooney (Man Utd).

« Reply #640 on: May 11, 2008, 02:22:16 PM »
England Squad announced:

Manchester City keeper Joe Hart and Everton defender Phil Jagielka are in England's squad for friendlies with the United States and Trinidad and Tobago.

England coach Fabio Capello has also called up Spurs midfielder Tom Huddlestone and Blackburn defender Stephen Warnock into his 31-man squad.

The squad face the USA at Wembley on 28 May before the away fixture with Trinidad and Tobago on 1 June.

And his call-up completes a remarkable elevation after only spending one season as a first-team regular following his move to Eastlands from Shrewsbury in 2006.

Jagielka has had an outstanding first season at Everton following a £4m move from Sheffield United last summer, helping David Moyes' side to fifth place in the Premier League and a slot in next season's Uefa Cup.

Three confirmed absentees through injury are Everton defender Joleon Lescott, Manchester City's Micah Richards and West Ham's Matthew Upson.

Arsenal's Theo Walcott, named in Stuart Pearce's Under-21 squad for next Thursday's friendly with Wales in Wrexham, will then link up with the senior party.

West Ham's Dean Ashton will be among the other attacking players Capello will have at his disposal, with all but the nine men on Champions League duty due to report on 22 May.

England squad: David James (Portsmouth), Joe Hart (Man City), Chris Kirkland (Wigan), Wayne Bridge (Chelsea), Wes Brown (Man Utd), Ashley Cole (Chelsea), Rio Ferdinand (Man Utd), Phil Jagielka (Everton), Glen Johnson (Chelsea), John Terry (Chelsea), Stephen Warnock (Blackburn), David Wheater (Middlesbrough), Jonathan Woodgate (Middlesbrough), Gareth Barry (Aston Villa), David Beckham (LA Galaxy), David Bentley (Blackburn), Joe Cole (Chelsea), Stewart Downing (Middlesbrough), Owen Hargreaves (Man Utd), Tom Huddlestone (Tottenham), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Jermaine Jenas (Tottenham), Frank Lampard (Chelsea), Theo Walcott (Arsenal), Ashley Young (Aston Villa), Gabriel Agbonlahor (Aston Villa), Dean Ashton (West Ham), Peter Crouch (Liverpool), Jermain Defoe (Portsmouth), Michael Owen (Newcastle), Wayne Rooney (Man Utd).

How is Lescott, who played and scored today, ruled out through injury while John Terry who dislocated his arm today included in the squad??

« Reply #641 on: May 11, 2008, 02:30:24 PM »
England Squad announced:

How is Lescott, who played and scored today, ruled out through injury while John Terry who dislocated his arm today included in the squad??

Chelsea are hopeful John Terry and Didier Drogba will be fit for the Champions League final after both were injured in the 1-1 draw with Bolton.

Terry, 27, suffered a dislocated elbow in a collision with keeper Petr Cech and Bolton striker Kevin Davies but is optimistic of being fit.

"I should be fit for Moscow, fingers crossed," said Terry.

Drogba suffered a knee injury and boss Avram Grant said: "It doesn't look so good, we have to wait."

The injury to Terry happened after just 11 minutes and led to the skipper being stretchered from the pitch.

Terry said his elbow was "popped back in" while in the ambulance and he added: "I need three of four days rest but I should be fit for Moscow."

Chelsea boss Grant added: "He's strong enough to recover, but you never know.

"We need to wait and see how bad it is. We will know better in a couple of days.

"If it was down to his character he would be sure to play, but it's up to the medical team."

Chelsea face Manchester United in the Champions League final in Moscow on 21 May.

« Reply #642 on: May 11, 2008, 02:59:26 PM »
England Squad announced:

Chelsea are hopeful John Terry and Didier Drogba will be fit for the Champions League final after both were injured in the 1-1 draw with Bolton.

Terry, 27, suffered a dislocated elbow in a collision with keeper Petr Cech and Bolton striker Kevin Davies but is optimistic of being fit.

Drogba suffered a knee injury and boss Avram Grant said: "It doesn't look so good, we have to wait."

The injury to Terry happened after just 11 minutes and led to the skipper being stretchered from the pitch.

Terry said his elbow was "popped back in" while in the ambulance and he added: "I need three of four days rest but I should be fit for Moscow."

"We need to wait and see how bad it is. We will know better in a couple of days.

"If it was down to his character he would be sure to play, but it's up to the medical team."

Chelsea face Manchester United in the Champions League final in Moscow on 21 May.

3-4 days for ah dislocated elbow ???

is either medical science gone much further than my imagination or john terry is ah lion in human skin.

i dislocate my elbow a few years back and only play about 3 months later. That was cast and the works, and it was the most painful thing i ever experience in my life..

if i stretch it out all now i could still feel it..

nah dread..

« Reply #643 on: May 11, 2008, 03:22:54 PM »
England Squad announced:

is either medical science gone much further than my imagination or john terry is ah lion in human skin.

i dislocate my elbow a few years back and only play about 3 months later. That was cast and the works, and it was the most painful thing i ever experience in my life..

nah dread..

could be how serious it is, because if he doh watch himself it could slip back out again, i dislocate my shoulder once ,take a few weeks for the ligaments to support the joint.

Offline Tha G.

• Anytime is trini time, cyah wait to buss ah lime
« Reply #644 on: May 11, 2008, 09:40:13 PM »
England Squad announced:

nah dread..

could be how serious it is, because if he doh watch himself it could slip back out again, i dislocate my shoulder once ,take a few weeks for the ligaments to support the joint.

you guys need to stop the bathroom sports man. :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #645 on: May 12, 2008, 01:30:44 AM »
Omar, i was watching FSC earlier when they interviewed JohnTerry on his injury . he said his elbow came out of socket and they set in back in place .

he also said that the doctors gave him meds and in four to five days he should be ok to play, hopfully.                                   positive.
« Last Edit: May 12, 2008, 01:33:56 AM by just cool »

Offline kentsoulman

English squad for USA and T&T
« Reply #646 on: May 12, 2008, 06:33:30 AM »
Manchester City goalkeeper Joe Hart has been included in Fabio Capello's England squad for the friendlies with USA and Trinidad and Tobago

The 21-year-old, who was on the bench this afternoon as City conceded eight goals at Middlesbrough, completes a remarkable elevation after only spending one season as a first-team regular following his move to Eastlands from Shrewsbury in 2006.

Tottenham midfielder Tom Huddlestone has also been picked for the first time, while defenders Phil Jagielka and David Wheater are both selected in the 31-man squad.

Three confirmed absentees through injury are Joleon Lescott, Micah Richards and Matthew Upson, with Capello no doubt keen to look at most of the remainder as he builds towards the start of England's World Cup qualifying campaign in September.

After choosing Steven Gerrard and Rio Ferdinand as his first two captains, Capello is yet to name his skipper for the USA game, although John Terry is available, as is Wayne Rooney, who has been touted as a future captain by the Italian.

A further interesting choice is former Liverpool defender Stephen Warnock, who has been in outstanding form for Blackburn this term.

Theo Walcott, named in Stuart Pearce's Under-21 squad for next Thursday's friendly with Wales in Wrexham, will then link up with the senior party.

West Ham's Dean Ashton will be among the other attacking players Capello will have at his disposal, with all but the nine men on Champions League duty due to report on May 22.

Full squad: David James (Portsmouth), Joe Hart (Man City), Chris Kirkland (Wigan), Wayne Bridge (Chelsea), Wes Brown (Man Utd), Ashley Cole (Chelsea), Rio Ferdinand (Man Utd), Phil Jagielka (Everton), Glen Johnson (Chelsea), John Terry (Chelsea), Stephen Warnock (Blackburn), David Wheater (Middlesbrough), Jonathan Woodgate (Tottenham), Gareth Barry (Aston Villa), David Beckham (LA Galaxy), David Bentley (Blackburn), Joe Cole (Chelsea), Stewart Downing (Middlesbrough), Owen Hargreaves (Man Utd), Tom Huddlestone (Tottenham), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Jermaine Jenas (Tottenham), Frank Lampard (Chelsea), Theo Walcott (Arsenal), Ashley Young (Aston Villa), Gabriel Agbonlahor (Aston Villa), Dean Ashton (West Ham), Peter Crouch (Liverpool), Jermain Defoe (Portsmouth), Michael Owen (Newcastle),

« Reply #647 on: May 12, 2008, 07:23:28 AM »
Omar, i was watching FSC earlier when they interviewed JohnTerry on his injury . he said his elbow came out of socket and they set in back in place .

he also said that the doctors gave him meds and in four to five days he should be ok to play, hopfully.                                   positive.

What kinda injury he really get, shoulder dislocate or elbow ?
The elbow is not a ball and socket joint, the shoulder and hips are ball and socket joints.

BTW...I feel that CC line to collect tickets will still be slow.  When yuh think about it, is almost the same info they will want from yuh to collect the tickets as with the other lines, it should just be less people.  But knowing Trinis, they will have some corruption in the line and people go jump in any line that shorter or moving faster.

Starting Eleven For England
« Reply #648 on: May 12, 2008, 07:24:26 AM »
+Friends now that we know who has been called - What is your starting eleven. Remember Latapy and Yorke are supposed to be in the mix.
 The two up front looks like Scotland and Stern, now that Jones is injured.
 Carlos Whitley Yorke and Latapy in the Middle. Lawrence in the Back and Ince in Goal. Cant say the other three.

« Reply #649 on: May 12, 2008, 07:28:07 AM »

i aint no doctor, but from what everybody told me when i did mine, elbow is not like yuh shoulder or hip or other joints..

they said it was a rigid joint and you are lucky if you dislocate it without breaking it.

that said, his probably slipped out slightly (partial dislocation) whereas mine shifted all the way out of socket.

i actually lost 15 mins of my life through that pain as i have no memory of when they were putting back in even though i was told after the fact i was fully conscious and screaming.

What Score to Settle ?
« Reply #650 on: May 12, 2008, 07:34:49 AM »
I don't like this "Score to Settle" thing they trying to market for the England game.  When last we ever settle any score with any side ?

TTFF pushing this shit since USA beat we home in 1989.   For years we trying to avenge that defeat and it just get played out.  The Strike Squad does try they version of the thing now and even that get waterdown.  What were the results over the years ?  We never beat the US after that.

I can't even remember we settling any score with Jamaica after they knock we out of the qualifiers in the post Stike Squad days.

Now England beat we in the World Cup...world cup eh...and they think this friendly is a "Score to Settle". steupsss

Now when we meet up in SA2010, then that would be a score to settle...if England make it  ::)

Re: What Score to Settle ?
« Reply #651 on: May 12, 2008, 08:06:45 AM »
all bout the $$ star...thas all
dem eh biz
create hype to bring in mo $$ and media coverage

Offline kandi_tt

« Reply #652 on: May 12, 2008, 09:32:14 AM »
ticket update....all gone but they have a waiting list...

've added my name for an extra 5 so for those who didn't get...keep ur fingers crossed...
iNnOcEnT aNd UnInFoRmEd...

« Reply #653 on: May 12, 2008, 01:17:35 PM »
ticket update....all gone but they have a waiting list...

've added my name for an extra 5 so for those who didn't get...keep ur fingers crossed...

I tell alyuh JW is some kind of savior "all gone but hold on we will find some" Wine to water, can we say seven loaves.

JW for humanitarian of the year. His role in not letting anyone willing to pay. to see the England vs T&T game remain outside goes above and beyond true humanitarian efforts. :applause:

Offline Saywha

Re: Uncovered tickets available at 800-Fans - going fast
« Reply #654 on: May 12, 2008, 01:28:54 PM »
i just call and get ah extra 5 for meh peeps. Dey say that they still have about 100 more tickets but finishing like rapid fire.

Hey did any one have to pay an extra service charge when they purchased their tickets and gave their credit card info?  I bought 4 tickets and dey tell me it coming up to $1260. ???

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
Should Latas and Yorke play any part in the TnT vs England Game?
« Reply #655 on: May 12, 2008, 06:32:34 PM »
seriously other than nostalgia, what other purpose will those two have towards preparations for 2010?

« Reply #656 on: May 12, 2008, 07:38:43 PM »
what time the england team coming in the airport  :devil:

« Reply #658 on: May 13, 2008, 10:28:21 AM »
Nine-day prep for England
Ian Prescott, Express

Tuesday, May 13th 2008

Trinidad and Tobago will have a longer than average preparation of nine days-from May 23-for the friendly international against England on June 1 at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Port of Spain.

England have named a strong squad, including the likes of Wayne Rooney, Frank Lampard, Michael Owen and David Beckham, for the match and later this week T&T will also announce a 25-man training squad, made up of locally-based players and overseas-based professionals.

Many of the likely foreign-based invitees, including Kenwyne Jones, Carlos Edwards, Jason Scotland and Stern John, are expected home soon after completing the season in England last weekend.

The England game, and a June 7 return clash with Jamaica in T&T, are being used as preparation for Trinidad and Tobago's opening match of the 2010 World Cup qualifying campaign on June 15 against Bermuda at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

And assistant coach Anton Corneal said the build-up for the England encounter will be thorough.

"England is a top team in the world and the plan will have to be specific," Corneal stated. "I'm sure coach (Francisco Maturana) is going to put something practical in place so that we wouldn't just have to survive the game, but be able to compete. And that will help us in our preparation for the upcoming qualifying games."

Corneal added that the team may include some of the locally-based players who have appeared in recent internationals. He said those players are being weaned, first by playing against Caribbean teams and also the likes of El Salvador. And the ones with potential now need to be stepped up in class against better teams such as England and Jamaica.

"We will name the team in the next four days...at least the squad that is going to be training. Out of all the games we have been playing, we got a clear picture now of what players we think will mesh properly and which players are grasping what coach will like to do...coach Maturana. And we are now able to name a 24- or 25-member squad and they will start training on May 23 until the England game."

scorer: Trinidad and Tobago schoolboy striker Jamaal Gay, left, puts Barbados goalkeeper Adrian Chase under pressure during Sunday's friendly international at the Marvin Lee Stadium, Macoya. Gay scored his first international goal as T&T won 3-0. -Photo: DEXTER PHILIP

« Reply #659 on: May 13, 2008, 10:43:12 AM »
I really waiting for tis 24-25 man squad to be named :-X