March 28, 2024, 05:14:13 PM

Author Topic: Jack really brilliant yes...How we go play Cuba in the US?  (Read 3974 times)

Re: Jack really brilliant yes...How we go play Cuba in the US?
« Reply #30 on: June 17, 2008, 08:44:29 PM »
All this talk is a bunch a bull!  Until we escape on Sunday ah doh want to hear anything 'bout home games and away games.  As far as I am concerned, we have no more home games and one away game that we have to win by two clear goals.  Go Warriors!  Give us one more chance to straighten out this mess!

« Reply #31 on: June 17, 2008, 10:40:32 PM »
Yep 1 day at a time and dat day is sunday in Bermuda

Offline Michael-j

« Reply #32 on: June 18, 2008, 07:10:32 AM »
Don't give up home games
Williams, Sancho urge T&TFF...

Kern De Freitas kdefreitas@trinidadexpress.com

Wednesday, June 18th 2008

"The whole interest of Trinidad football is in jeopardy. We're going nowhere with it. Every (World Cup qualifying) campaign we're starting over, and this decision is the worst."

The decision former national defender Brian Williams was referring to in an interview with the Express yesterday was the T&T Football Federation's announcement on Monday that the "Soca Warriors" will be playing subsequent 2010 World Cup matches at a neutral venue...if they get past Bermuda by at least two clear goals in Sunday's return leg of their opening qualifier.

That event is the latest development in the ongoing feud between the Ministry of Sport and Youth Affairs and the Federation, epitomised by the war of words between Sports Minister Gary Hunt and T&TFF special adviser Jack Warner.

Williams is just the latest of many stakeholders expressing the view that this spat is badly hurting T&T football.

A very concerned Williams, who was clearly upset at the recent turn of events in the feud over national stadiums, related that he could not see the logic in that decision.

"Coming to a decision like that, it totally makes no sense to me," Williams said. "I still don't know the reason why, but whatever reason the authorities or the Federation chooses to do that...it is a decision that is trying to show power."

The feud between Warner and Hunt broke out after the Ministry issued a release to the media outlining terms and conditions for the use of the Hasely Crawford Stadium two weeks ahead of the June 1 friendly international between T&T and England.

Those terms included a $150,000 rental fee, plus a refundable deposit and other associated costs.

The T&TFF brought the matter to court, arguing that the Ministry had already made a binding verbal agreement to charge the usual fees. Since then the Ministry have outlined their three-grade system for allocating the stadium facilities for international events.

The T&TFF attempted to have last Sunday's home leg against Bermuda played at the Dwight Yorke Stadium in Tobago, coinciding with the Junior Track and Field Championships, but met the same cost requirements as in Trinidad.

The T&TFF then decided to play matches at the Marvin Lee Stadium, adjacent to the Centre of Excellence in Macoya. That venue is the home ground of Joe Public Football Club, of which Warner is chairman.

Williams also added that such decisions should not be made because of personal disputes.

"As mature men, sit and come to some kind of good decision," he advised. "...You can't just ups and say you not playing none of Trinidad home games at home. We hardly making decisions in the interest of Trinidad and Tobago football."

T&T central defender Brent Sancho, who represented T&T at their maiden World Cup tournament, Germany 2006, was disappointed at the decision as well.

"I think that is extremely disappointing if that is the case. That's something that needs to be sorted out sooner rather than later," he said yesterday. "It's embarrassing from an international perspective in this predicament...at the highest level, I think it's a massive embarrassment of the country to see this going on."

Sancho also felt that because of disputes involving national football, T&T had failed to get any momentum from their Germany 2006 World Cup experience.

"The dispute between the players and the Federation played a huge part in what has transpired today in terms of the football," he explained. "You can clearly see that the boys they have now are talented, but it will take a little time for them to mature on the international stage."

Sancho also preferred the natural grass of the Hasely Crawford Stadium to the artificial turf of the Marvin Lee Stadium, where T&T fell 2-1 to minnows Bermuda on Sunday.

"At the end of the day, it's not a surface suited for football really. If it was, I think you'd see more countries having that type of surface. Any footballer will tell you that they prefer to play on a natural grass pitch."

« Reply #33 on: June 18, 2008, 07:41:10 AM »
BW yuh along long time and u should know sense and d TTFF is like Castro and Bush cyah happen