April 16, 2024, 10:22:48 AM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T v Jamaica Game (07-Jun-2008).  (Read 69898 times)

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
Re: andy williams is back for jamaica
« Reply #240 on: June 04, 2008, 05:29:16 PM »
jamaica hasn't played any big country as yet. i think it will be a balance coming this saturday. its going to be a tough one.
And which big country (not a fete match) has t&t played?
jjbrown

Offline Michael-j

Re: Thread for the T&T v Jamaica Game (07-Jun-2008).
« Reply #241 on: June 04, 2008, 05:56:25 PM »
Just heard on the news that Stern John is ruled out of saturday's game  with a hamstring injury   :o

« Reply #242 on: June 04, 2008, 06:30:08 PM »
Just heard on the news that Stern John is ruled out of saturday's game  with a hamstring injury   :o

expected it...  Hope Bravo is fit for the Bermuda Clash

« Reply #243 on: June 04, 2008, 09:19:38 PM »

« Reply #244 on: June 04, 2008, 11:43:42 PM »
Why the coaching staff don't give that info?

« Reply #245 on: June 05, 2008, 04:06:07 AM »
A 30-member delegation, including 23 players, will leave the island today for Trinidad for their return friendly international on Saturday. The Boyz will also travel to Grenada for another encounter there next Tuesday.

The players are;

Donovan Ricketts (Bradford City), Shawn Sawyers (Portmore United), Jermaine Taylor (Harbour View), Rudolph Austin (Portmore United), Demar Phillips (Stoke City), Omar Daley (Bradford City), Ricardo Fuller (Stoke City), Luton Shelton (Sheffield United), Evan Taylor (Reno), Oneil Thompson (Nottoden), Demar Stewart (Royal White Star), O'Brian Woodbine (Reno), Tyrone Marshall (Toronto FC), Adrian Reid (Portmore United), Ian Goodison (Tranmere Rovers), Ricardo Gardner (Bolton Wanderers), Jermaine Johnson (Sheffield Wednesday), Deon Burton (Sheffield Wednesday), Marlon King (Wigan Athletic), Richard Langley (Luton Town), Simon Ford (Kilmarnock), Lee Williamson (Watford), Jamal Campbell-Ryce (Barnsley).

The delegation is completed;

Bruce Gaynor, head of delegation; Rene Simoes, technical director; Alfredo Montesso, assistant coach; Theodore Whitmore, assistant coach; Francisco Oliveira, goalkeeper coach; Vin Blaine, team manager; Juan Pablo Camargo, masseur; Sean Samuels; trainer and Norman Stone, equipment manager.

The Reggae Boyz, who open their CONCACAF World Cup-qualifying campaign against the Bahamas at the venue on June 15, romped to a 5-1 victory with Marlon King (26th and 42nd), Demar Phillips (17th), Deon Burton (74th) and captain Ricardo Gardner (87th) scoring.

DANIA BOGLE, Observer staff.

« Last Edit: June 05, 2008, 05:59:14 AM by Flex »

Offline SuperTrini

« Reply #246 on: June 05, 2008, 04:27:06 AM »
I hear Jamal Gay not playing. He gone to Sweden to finalize a contract wit ah  side. Ah believe is one who in Champions League qualifying.  Glad for him. Maybe people go stop making Cape jokes :rotfl:.Although it funny.

« Reply #247 on: June 05, 2008, 07:37:50 AM »
Brudder I was not makin no Cape jokes. It have enough uneducated footballers around so I just want d man 2 secure he academic future dats all

Offline SuperTrini

« Reply #248 on: June 05, 2008, 08:16:42 AM »
 :rotfl: :rotfl: he was in Upper 6 anyway

« Reply #249 on: June 05, 2008, 08:22:58 AM »
A 30-member delegation, including 23 players, will leave the island today for Trinidad for their return friendly international on Saturday. The Boyz will also travel to Grenada for another encounter there next Tuesday.

The players are;

Donovan Ricketts (Bradford City), Shawn Sawyers (Portmore United), Jermaine Taylor (Harbour View), Rudolph Austin (Portmore United), Demar Phillips (Stoke City), Omar Daley (Bradford City), Ricardo Fuller (Stoke City), Luton Shelton (Sheffield United), Evan Taylor (Reno), Oneil Thompson (Nottoden), Demar Stewart (Royal White Star), O'Brian Woodbine (Reno), Tyrone Marshall (Toronto FC), Adrian Reid (Portmore United), Ian Goodison (Tranmere Rovers), Ricardo Gardner (Bolton Wanderers), Jermaine Johnson (Sheffield Wednesday), Deon Burton (Sheffield Wednesday), Marlon King (Wigan Athletic), Richard Langley (Luton Town), Simon Ford
(Kilmarnock), Lee Williamson (Watford), Jamal Campbell-Ryce (Barnsley).

At least the TTFF consistent....

We playing England twice in one week....  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

The B team which we lost 3-0 and now a Z team on Saturday....

« Reply #250 on: June 05, 2008, 08:27:46 AM »
Yep but dey want 2 charge Ateam price ie 300 4 B and Z team dey talk bout Reganomics dis is TTT economics

Offline TRINIMITCH

• Photobucket
« Reply #251 on: June 05, 2008, 01:16:13 PM »
Who have de ticket info for de game saturday or is it that they have gone back to the rush for a ticket, skip man bounce down somebody child,pay at the gates scene. Cause you know it will be one ticket counter selling and the other four closed  :-\ :thinking: :waiting: :waiting: :waiting: :waiting: :bs:
PROUD TO BE MALICK

leroy

« Reply #252 on: June 05, 2008, 02:11:13 PM »
Triniposse, ReggaeBoyz in TnT is a showdown.
My prediction  is a 3-2 game. Yes, five goals
man & man must attack ... another High scoring
game .

« Reply #253 on: June 05, 2008, 02:25:53 PM »
QPCC REMAINS COMMITTED... JAMAICA BRINGING FANS ON CHARTER FLIGHT
TTFF Media

The Jamaican National Team, fresh from a 5-1 win over St Vincent and the Grenadines on Tuesday in Kingston, will arrive here on Friday for Saturday's friendly international against the hosts.

And arriving at 3pm on Saturday on a chartered flight will be JFF President Captain Horace Burrell along with other dignitaries and 130 Jamaican fans out of Montego Bay.

"We see this as an extremely important game to help both countries prepare for the start of our qualifying campaign. This is arguably the region's biggest rivalry and we Jamaica will be coming all out to put yet another defeat on Trinidad and Tobago following it's loss to England on Sunday," Burrell stated.

Meantime, Queens Park Cricket Club official Bruce Aanensen, in a note to TTFF Special Advisor Jack Warner, stated that the QPCC would still be committed towards making its venue available to the TTFF following the decision to shift the match to the Marvin Lee Stadium for Saturday’s friendly against Jamaica. This came about due to the extreme hardness at the centre of the playing area, near the cricket turfs. Mobile stands which will accommodate up to 4,000 fans will be added to the Macoya venue for Saturday’s encounter.

“Thanks Jack. We do understand the position of the technical staff, and have noted the venue change. The QPCC as you know is first of all an International cricket ground and we are still in the cricket season, which is the reason for the dry and hard nature of the square. Given the technical staff's position, we would suggest that a re-evaluation of the facility be done in August as we do believe that by this time the grass will have grown very well on the square and the rains will have softened it up sufficiently to make it a good surface for football. We at QPCC remain committed to hosting International football and providing our facility to the TTFF at a reasonable cost. We look forward to working with you in the future in the interest of T&T football,” Aanensen stated. (June 4,2008)

« Reply #254 on: June 05, 2008, 02:36:45 PM »
QPCC REMAINS COMMITTED... JAMAICA BRINGING FANS ON CHARTER FLIGHT
TTFF Media

"We see this as an extremely important game to help both countries prepare for the start of our qualifying campaign. This is arguably the region's biggest rivalry and we Jamaica will be coming all out to put yet another defeat on Trinidad and Tobago following it's loss to England on Sunday," Burrell stated.

lol.. wham to reggaefan boy?

« Reply #255 on: June 05, 2008, 03:16:23 PM »
Back 2 1st come 1st serve

« Reply #256 on: June 05, 2008, 04:59:17 PM »
Jamdown, in total nationalistic purposeful unity coming to T&T with ALL!!!! firepower and guns blazin' (As Big MAG would say full of expensive-to-bring-down "BRITS") ,commited to emasculate dese bloodcleet Trinis and with one unifying cause in mind, never mind the seemingly low stakes for CONCACAF qualification that the match has

.. And what is T&T doing? .... Fighting over whether we should blackilst our OWN players and shoot we we self in de foot with the defense wide open like a sieve ... fighting over whether to play a Cornmeal boy (who eh even know which goalpost he kickin' towards) so Papa and baby-doc Cormeal go get ah Alcons transfer fee windfall in de future or fighting over whether Hunt should appear to geh spite by blankin' de Hasely Crawford stadium. Dis is what I call jackassness, I mean jackulassness of de higest order.

Potential is there to be good in T&T, but evil, level kakaholes bringin' us dong...... fuh spite! Dey doh even care about the work it took to geh respect from the disrespectful England or dem wotless ruffian hignorant Jakans who were on de verge of geyyin' a permanent inferiority complex that would silence Reggaefan fuh good.

Setta Damn traitors  >:(   Look Li'l Marley and all dey music and culture, big up, but when it come to football .... iz War!  And I eh like how dis war being fought. Psychological maneuvers to psych out de opposition is 3/4 of de strategy and we lorsing dat before de whistle blow. Bragging rights people. Protect yuh legacy or what little yuh have left of it.

« Reply #257 on: June 05, 2008, 05:04:20 PM »
Dreamer tell me what is their fire power?.. and what are their blazing guns?...and am sure all the players on the T&T team is taking this game very seriously..all of dem grew up in T&T and know the importance of the rivalry..yuh think they dont know how important it is to beat JA at home?
« Last Edit: June 05, 2008, 05:06:51 PM by Sando prince »

« Reply #258 on: June 05, 2008, 05:10:03 PM »
Dreamer tell me what is their fire power?.. and what are their blazing guns?...and am sure all the players on the T&T team is taking this game very seriously..all of dem grew up in T&T and know the importance of the rivalry..yuh think they dont know how important it is to beat JA at home?

The players (our loyal soldiers) know.... sometin' else missing breddrin. The set up fuh maximum troop morale eh right and de war dance eh right.

« Reply #259 on: June 05, 2008, 05:23:27 PM »

The players (our loyal soldiers) know.... sometin' else missing breddrin. The set up fuh maximum troop morale eh right.
Hope you dont think the morale is low because of the defeat against England..possibly thats why a match against Guyana was made possible to re-furnish the confidence in the squad..but regardless if that's the case or not.. based on how team selection going every player who gets a chance to play for de warriors  know their spot on the team is not 100% and will therefore give their 100% to impress the coach..competetion for places on the team right now is competitive..Scotland and Roberts know they have to play well to get selected in front players like Jones and John in the future..Hyland have to take advantage of his opportunity because players like Birchall, Theoblad have the potential to comeback, the young defenders have to prove that they are learning from their wins against the small opposition like El salvador, grenada nad Barbados and the defeat against England...believe it or not player not just going to play hard cause its a rivalry but they trying to become regular players on de squad for the WC campaign...You think Scotland and  Roberts dont have something to prove not just to the coach but to the public?...Aye and every player under Maturana  seeing how he selects his team will be playing like if its a do or die WC qualifier every game cause they aint sure to get selected next game if they give a half-ass performance ..regardless if they playing club football for Swansea, Coventry or Joe Public
« Last Edit: June 05, 2008, 05:32:40 PM by Sando prince »

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #260 on: June 05, 2008, 05:38:41 PM »

The players are;

Donovan Ricketts (Bradford City), Shawn Sawyers (Portmore United), Jermaine Taylor (Harbour View), Rudolph Austin (Portmore United), Demar Phillips (Stoke City), Omar Daley (Bradford City), Ricardo Fuller (Stoke City), Luton Shelton (Sheffield United), Evan Taylor (Reno), Oneil Thompson (Nottoden), Demar Stewart (Royal White Star), O'Brian Woodbine (Reno), Tyrone Marshall (Toronto FC), Adrian Reid (Portmore United), Ian Goodison (Tranmere Rovers), Ricardo Gardner (Bolton Wanderers), Jermaine Johnson (Sheffield Wednesday), Deon Burton (Sheffield Wednesday), Marlon King (Wigan Athletic), Richard Langley (Luton Town), Simon Ford

So I'm wondering if you will say it was your A or B Soca Warriors team when you lose against the Jamaican-English Z team?  ;D
And don't talk about John and Jones being injured because a substitution system is in place.
jjbrown

« Reply #261 on: June 05, 2008, 05:43:55 PM »
Watch meh.

The strikers and most of the attackin' mid generally I eh have a problem wit'.
Roberts, Scottie, Hyland ... dem is great. Roberts attitude is CLASSIC Warrior and he will ALWAYS be a favourite wit me as class is class. Whitley... borse. Telesford ... (a Young Sancho)

The conspiratorial removal of Guerra "seconds " before de game & no explanation.. I have  a problem wit' dat.  >:(  Telling Birchall to literally go f*^% yuhself , I have a problem wit dat.  >:( >:( . Telling Sancho you are barred from even appearin' at de trainin' sessions or using de blasted toilet there, I have a problem wit' dat  >:( >:(  >:( .  Tellin' Avery John you are of no value to inspire de youths during training sessions so doh show up, I have a problenm wit' dat  >:( >:( >:( >:( . Preventing my country from mounting a maximal several-thousand man army to intimidate the Jakans, I have a problem also wit' dat. Overpushing dis Cupid ting like there is some other agenda, I have a problem wit' dat. Wha's de rush for him to make mistakes hurry huury now so. Leh him play Guyana first and gradually learn some basics nah  :o

Bring dong Julius James nah if we really serious about new blood wit' de MOST talent. If poor-ass Jamdown could pay fuh Burton, Fuller, Gardner and de Toronto boy ticket, why we cyah bring dong Julius.  Makan really eh impressing me right now nah. Call a spade a spade man.

Look dis ting raisin' meh blood presshah. No offense to de posters before me, but dis ting huttin' people man ... unnecessarily. Do it right nah man  >:(  Where Baptiste!? Essential player. Tell Cornell to pass tru and geh a sweat and mingle and feel de socawarrior vibes again nah. Whappum ...  is a fleckin' exclusive club?  >:(
Too much PLAYER HATING  is going on !!!! And doh feel dey eh know as players eh. Where is tis poisonous atmospere coming from ? .... Tell meh.

Anyway, best of luck Warriors. Do the best you can under trying circunstances. Ah still proud of all allyuh. Please finish orf dem wotless invading hignorant Jakans. Iz warrrrrrrrr!!!
« Last Edit: June 05, 2008, 06:53:39 PM by dreamer »

« Reply #262 on: June 05, 2008, 05:47:03 PM »

The players are;

So I'm wondering if you will say it was your A or B Soca Warriors team when you lose against the Jamaican-English Z team?  ;D
And don't talk about John and Jones being injured because a substitution system is in place.
So Jamaica2099 looking at JA foreign based line up of mostly players who warm de bench most of the season tell me why is Ricketts listed with Bradford City?..Old man Goodison still playing football? : :'(....and look the over hype and over rated Shelton who still cant get a 90 mins sweat at this club...I go be glad after this game so you and RF could disappear
« Last Edit: June 05, 2008, 05:59:32 PM by Sando prince »

« Reply #263 on: June 05, 2008, 06:12:38 PM »

The players are;

So Jamaica2099 looking at JA foreign based line up of mostly players who warm de bench most of the season tell me why is Ricketts listed with Bradford City?..Old man Goodison still playing football? : :'(....and look the over hype and over rated Shelton who still cant get a 90 mins sweat at this club...I go be glad after this game so you and RF could disappear

Goodison still playing football....I believe he is younger than Dwight Yorke who just played for T&T the other day. True, many of teh RBZ riding pine at their club sides....but I hear you all calling for the return of players, many of which play in the lower divions of varios leagues. Where Cyd Gray playing these days? Corbnell Glen? Avery John? Brent Sancho? how many of these guys are starters for their club side? point I'mmaking here is that you very much in teh same boat!

« Reply #264 on: June 05, 2008, 06:56:22 PM »

« Reply #265 on: June 05, 2008, 07:06:50 PM »
Watch meh.

The strikers and most of the attackin' mid generally I eh have a problem wit'.
Roberts, Scottie, Hyland ... dem is great. Roberts attitude is CLASSIC Warrior and he will ALWAYS be a favourite wit me as class is class. Whitley... borse. Telesford ... (a Young Sancho)

The conspiratorial removal of Guerra "seconds " before de game & no explanation.. I have  a problem wit' dat.  >:(  Telling Birchall to literally go f*^% yuhself , I have a problem wit dat.  >:( >:( . Telling Sancho you are barred from even appearin' at de trainin' sessions or using de blasted toilet there, I have a problem wit' dat  >:( >:(  >:( .  Tellin' Avery John you are of no value to inspire de youths during training sessions so doh show up, I have a problenm wit' dat  >:( >:( >:( >:( . Preventing my country from mounting a maximal several-thousand man army to intimidate the Jakans, I have a problem also wit' dat. Overpushing dis Cupid ting like there is some other agenda, I have a problem wit' dat. Wha's de rush for him to make mistakes hurry huury now so. Leh him play Guyana first and gradually learn some basics nah  :o

Bring dong Julius James nah if we really serious about new blood wit' de MOST talent. If poor-ass Jamdown could pay fuh Burton, Fuller, Gardner and de Toronto boy ticket, why we cyah bring dong Julius.  Makan really eh impressing me right now nah. Call a spade a spade man.

Look dis ting raisin' meh blood presshah. No offense to de posters before me, but dis ting huttin' people man ... unnecessarily. Do it right nah man  >:(  Where Baptiste!? Essential player. Tell Cornell to pass tru and geh a sweat and mingle and feel de socawarrior vibes again nah. Whappum ...  is a fleckin' exclusive club?  >:(
Too much PLAYER HATING  is going on !!!! And doh feel dey eh know as players eh. Where is tis poisonous atmospere coming from ? .... Tell meh.

Anyway, best of luck Warriors. Do the best you can under trying circunstances. Ah still proud of all allyuh. Please finish orf dem wotless invading hignorant Jakans. Iz warrrrrrrrr!!!

Good job Jah Gol. Iz nice to see Aurtis saying how hungry de team is.

Leh we hope the defense does better than this...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w8SlJ4qFeGM&feature=related
Iz really de defense and de defensive mid giving me presshah right now

« Reply #266 on: June 05, 2008, 07:16:18 PM »
I hope the talk materialize. I want to see more fight and a result. Friendly or no Friendly we have to beat Jamaica.

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #267 on: June 05, 2008, 07:30:47 PM »

The players are;

Like Simoes said:

Simoes praises Reggae Boyz
published: Thursday | June 5, 2008

Kwesi Mugisa, Staff Reporter

NATIONAL TECHNICAL director René Simoes commended the Reggae Boyz for a creditable performance against St Vincent and the Grenadines at the National Stadium on Tuesday night despite some of the players being new to the team and also having just completed long seasons of football abroad.

"They are really tired at this time of the year. They are supposed to be at rest and not thinking about football, but everywhere around the world is the same problem," Simoes said at the post-game press conference after Jamaica's 5-1 victory.

"I have to be very careful about quantity, volume and intensity of training sessions and games until we face The Bahamas, but the guys went out and played well, it has been a tough week," he said.

Week-long training

The majority of the team, including 15 overseas-based players, had been involved in a week-long training session. According to Simoes, the team is still in the process of feeling its way around and working on chemistry was another important aspect of the game.

"In the week we have, we have tried to reshape the team ... they did not get it exactly right (tonight), but they played well," he said.

"Statistically, we were supposed to win but football is amazing, we played a well-organised team and I thought they played well." In Tuesday night's encounter, Demar Phillips charged into the area before cracking the ball into the back of the net to open the scoring in the 17th minute. Marlon King, who netted a double, tucked away his first with a 27th-minute penalty and then volleyed a picture-perfect Rudolph Austin cross in the 42nd minute.

After missing a glorious opportunity from point-blank range minutes after taking the field, striker Deon Burton saw an attempt deflected into the net in the 74th minute. Burton then played the ball into the path of captain Ricardo Gardner, who netted in the 88th minute.

St Vincent and the Grenadines' coach, Stewart Hall, who saw his team enjoy a positive spell of football in the second half which culminated with Marlon James heading the ball into the back of the net in the 57th minute, believed a slow start was his team's undoing.

"We just never started well. We started very badly, I think it was fear," Hall said.

"You always say to your team 'respect your opponents'. Respect makes you work harder, but what you don't do is turn that respect into fear. We were very apprehensive for the first 10 or 15 minutes and we let them get on top of us," he said.
jjbrown

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #268 on: June 05, 2008, 07:41:55 PM »

You sounding like a typical "waggonist" there. You are not neccesarily paying to see the opposition, you are paying to see your national team play.
Jamaica had back to back crowds in excess of 20K for recent games agaianst Guatemala and El Salvador (played 3 days apart)...average attendance fee was US$45, which is close to what you paid to see England recently. The recent T&T Jamaica game pulled in 25K fans to the office.

Whey sar...so is excess of 20K pay US$ 45 to see two shit side. Alyuh real hard up across there. Burrell Robbing alyuh blind......... For nearly the same price we see Beckham and Gerrard.

$US45 to see Carlos Ruiz RF.

Simoes pleased with fan turnout, despite the odds

Kwesi Mugisa, Staff Reporter

National Technical Director Rene Simoes - Ricardo Makyn

With many Jamaicans facing a burgeoning cost of living, National Technical Director Rene Simoes was pleasantly surprised at the turnout of patrons at the National Stadium on Wednesday night.

An estimated 10,000 fans, clad in mostly gold and green garments, braved the threat of heavy showers and filed into the National Stadium to watch Jamaica's Reggae Boyz tackle a St Vincent and the Grenadines team ranked 145th in the world standings, ignoring all the factors, which are generally a recipe for low fan turnout.

"We prepared the team to not expect that many spectators here today, not only because of the Reggae Boyz, but also because of the situation around the world, with rising oil and food prices," Simoes said at the game's post-match press conference after an easy 5-1 victory.

"When you see people buying less bread, you know things are tough," remarked the heavily moustached Brazilian. The comment brought peels of laughter from media personnel and other officials on hand, particularly Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) boss, Captain Horace Burrell, who also doubles as CEO of the Captain's Bakery franchise.

Positively surprised
"We see the situation in Jamaica. I didn't expect more than 5,000 people, I was surprised and positively surprised. Thank you very much for your help and support," Simoes said.

"It was good because I think the players knew it and put a game together that everyone could have enjoyed," he added.

The supporters got much to cheer about, as many flashed out of their seats screaming 'goal' all of five times as Demar Phillips (17th), Marlon King (27th, 42nd) golden boy Deon Burton (74th) and captain Ricardo Gardner (88th) all hit the back of the net. With the exception of missed chances, the lone disappointing moment for the fans came in the 57th minute, when Marlon James headed into the back of Jamaica's net for St Vincent.

The outing was certainly a happier one for the Jamaican spectators, as the last time they queued to watch the Reggae Boyz tackle little-regarded St Vincent, it was the eastern Caribbean team that emerged 2-1 winners at the National Stadium two years ago. The result eliminated Jamaica from the Digicel Caribbean Cup.

The Reggae Boyz's next two assignments will be away against Trinidad on June 7 and Grenada three days later. The team will then return to Jamaica to begin the World Cup qualifiers against the Bahamas on June 15 and 18.
jjbrown

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #269 on: June 05, 2008, 07:47:02 PM »
 ;D More.
Number 12 jersey reserved for Reggae Boyz fans

Nodley Wright, Freelance Writer

Technical director Rene Simoes has always valued the importance of the supporters in the journey towards success of the national football team, but for the current campaign, he is moving to make that recognition official.

According to the Brazilian, in his second stint in charge of the country's national football programme, if he has his way, no player will again wear the number 12 jersey. That, he said, would be reserved for the '12th man' - the fans.

"One of the things that I want to revive is the vibes of the Jamaican people. I took a decision to ask Captain Horace Burrell and Horace Reid to never allow our players to wear the number 12 jersey. We are going take away the number 12 from our players and give it to the fans," Simoes told STAR Sports recently.

"The number 12 will be only for the fans and I want them to understand that we did it together once and we can do it together again, and for that, they will officially be the 12th man and they will have to play with the team," added Simoes.

BOO OPPONENTS
The supporters, Simoes continued, will have to play a major role in making the visitors uncomfortable, within the laws of the game, while they are on the field of play.

"Sometimes, people don't like when I say this but they will have to boo the opponents, make them uncomfortable during the game," he explained.

"When the game is finished, let them enjoy the spirit of Jamaica and the hospitality."

Showing an appreciation for other sports and their meaning to the country, Simoes said the crowd involvement in football is much different to cricket and tennis.

"In cricket and tennis, you cheer after certain plays, but in football, you can participate in the game throughout as fans. Of course, we do not want anything impolite, we will do what the other teams do, like in Mexico," he added.

Teams playing against Mexico in the famed Azteca Stadium in the capital city have no doubt that they are the visiting team when they go up against the Central American giants at that venue, Simoes reminded.

"It is impossible to talk to the players during the game. You have to draw something for them to understand because you cannot talk to them as they cannot hear you.

"Every time that the fans observe that the coach is going to talk to his team, they boo you, they make noise, so in Jamaica, I want visiting teams to see our 12th man wave the sea of yellow, green and black at the National Stadium. We have to bring that back," he argued passionately in his improving English.

RECIPROCAL RELATIONSHIP
But while the fans are being asked to support the players on the field, Simoes made it clear that he has impressed upon his players the importance of reciprocity in a relationship.

"We do not have as much time as the last time (1998) to take the players all over the country to get people to see and meet them personally because when people see you and get to know you, it is easier for them to identify with you," he noted. "We still have to do our best to make that link stronger and I hope the players understand that.

"I encourage them every time when they talk to fans and give autographs to ask the name of the fans, give a smile, look them in the eye and not just sign. This is not a one guy come to bother you, I tell them. You are ambassadors of your country, so I think it can happen again," he added.
jjbrown