April 25, 2024, 05:13:32 AM

Author Topic: An upset in the Making : Bahamas in Jamaica WCQ for 2010.  (Read 10966 times)

Re: An upset in the Making : Bahamas in Jamaica WCQ for 2010.
« Reply #30 on: June 13, 2008, 01:22:28 PM »
RF, you said am old enough to be your GrandFather, what age did your mother have You?. ::)

oh snap !!   ;D

Offline Slade

« Reply #31 on: June 13, 2008, 01:33:11 PM »
Do Trinis know that throughout Caribbean World Cup qualifiers history. Only one Caribbean nation has ever beaten Jamaica in World Cup qualifying.

That nation is Cuba. They defeated Jamaica in 1965 and 1976. And I don't see that trend continuing with any other Caribbean nation in the near future. Even with Jamaica's football in a slump. ;D
Dream on Bro

« Reply #32 on: June 13, 2008, 01:33:53 PM »
RF, you said am old enough to be your GrandFather, what age did your mother have You?. ::)

oh snap !!   ;D

You got jokes uh Leroy.

« Reply #33 on: June 13, 2008, 01:34:24 PM »
WHAT THE ARSE ALLYUH BRING THIS HERE LEEEEEEEEROYYYYY.  GO TO REGGAE BOYZ  WEBSITE WITH THIS SHIT

« Reply #34 on: June 13, 2008, 01:35:47 PM »
Do Trinis know that throughout Caribbean World Cup qualifiers history. Only one Caribbean nation has ever beaten Jamaica in World Cup qualifying.

That nation is Cuba. They defeated Jamaica in 1965 and 1976. And I don't see that trend continuing with any other Caribbean nation in the near future. Even with Jamaica's football in a slump. ;D

Actually the closest Jamaica came to losing a WCQ game to a caribbean team was last qulaifiers when we faced off with haiti in a closely contested away game (in Miami), score ended 0-0. The return fixture was a walk in the park....Ja were up 3-0 after 30 minutes.

leroy

« Reply #35 on: June 13, 2008, 01:40:01 PM »
WHAT THE ARSE ALLYUH BRING THIS HERE LEEEEEEEEROYYYYY.  GO TO REGGAE BOYZ  WEBSITE WITH THIS SHIT

Mister I was ban from both RBZ website for nothin . I am not here to loiter your site
but my compatriots are hyper sensitive , I start a topic and reggefan is all over
me.

« Reply #36 on: June 13, 2008, 01:51:55 PM »
So because all yuh hyper sensitive we have 2 deal wit all yuh

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #37 on: June 13, 2008, 01:58:19 PM »

Actually the closest Jamaica came to losing a WCQ game to a caribbean team was last qulaifiers when we faced off with haiti in a closely contested away game (in Miami), score ended 0-0. The return fixture was a walk in the park....Ja were up 3-0 after 30 minutes.
Don't forget the matchup against T&T in The  Office in 2001 where the fresh memory of Shorty Malcolm's lingered. And some Reggae Boyz were injured , including our first and second goalkeepers.

Remember Marshall's sizzler against Hislop. ;D
jjbrown

Offline Toussaint

• ...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.
    • Haiti Spors
« Reply #38 on: June 13, 2008, 03:55:58 PM »

That's because Ja did not participate in all the wcq ;D ;D ;D

I do not think Bahamas will beat or even tie Jamaica. However, the Bahamian team have at least 3 good players of Haitian origin! One had already scored against Jamaica in the U-23 tournament.

« Last Edit: June 13, 2008, 04:02:57 PM by Toussaint »
...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.

« Reply #39 on: June 13, 2008, 05:58:51 PM »
When "Jamaica football" becomes Jamaican football it would start to progress,it cannot be built from the top but from grassroots like we are doing in TT with our yutes.We are not looking for "readymade players" to build from the top.Simoes got away with that in 98,it wont happen this time.All building processes must start from a strong foundation,you dont start building your house from the roof.At the end of it all,if we dont get to SA our team would be ready for 2014 with anything you or the rest of CONCACAF could throw at us,you lot in Jamaica would be 5 years behind still begging for the dregs of British football,what makes it worse is that they dont have Jamaica in their hearts.Marlon King is typical of that so called Jamaican.Did he not say to Boxhill"you and your country can f**k off?Do you think Trinidad would have anyone who treat us like that? Never mate!

« Reply #40 on: June 13, 2008, 06:52:21 PM »
what is de name of dis site again????? guess dem man feel safe since there isn't any hignorance on this site...

« Reply #41 on: June 14, 2008, 04:32:54 AM »
When "Jamaica football" becomes Jamaican football it would start to progress,it cannot be built from the top but from grassroots like we are doing in TT with our yutes.We are not looking for "readymade players" to build from the top.Simoes got away with that in 98,it wont happen this time.All building processes must start from a strong foundation,you dont start building your house from the roof.At the end of it all,if we dont get to SA our team would be ready for 2014 with anything you or the rest of CONCACAF could throw at us,you lot in Jamaica would be 5 years behind still begging for the dregs of British football,what makes it worse is that they dont have Jamaica in their hearts.Marlon King is typical of that so called Jamaican.Did he not say to Boxhill"you and your country can f**k off?Do you think Trinidad would have anyone who treat us like that? Never mate!

Please dont speak about things that you know little about (Marlon King incident).  Needless to say, the player has come back into the fold, and has shown just how comitted he is to Jamaicas football. He is Jamaica's captain in Ricardo Gardeners absence. Like you said, Marlon King doesnt really need Jamaica, so he could very well have stayed away from international football after the ban. Fact that he came back tells you something.

Jamaica's football is in a MUCH healthier state than T&T's, with all the dirty laundry being washed in public bteween your federation and players, and your federation and the government over use of stadium.  Dont get carried away by the fact that you tied us twice in the past 3 months. Also, dont read too much into that Grenada loss, its just one of those results where a small team faces a larger one and come out on top...in a game with very little significance. I read posts here by people suggesting Jamaica forwards are crap etc etc. Again, we have two PROVEN premierships starters in our frontline, who WILL deliver when the stakes are high.

And I have said this before, there are Not one football league in teh caribbean capable of producing an abundance of footballers ready for football at the highest international level. Thats why th ebest of our NPL normally end up getting contracts in the English Leagues, where they develop their game, and come back to make our teams better. Having said that, Marlon King is the ONLY England born player that will take the field in our next WCQ game vs the Bahamas. Sure, the fact that you have a few youngsters in your side doing well, while English players like Chris Birchall is put aside to rot, doesnt give you the right to suggest that Jamaica's football is in trouble. While your Youngsters make their names locally, we have a guy who just needs one more cap to move from Portmore straight to a Premiership club for the start of the season. He will get that cap Sunday.
« Last Edit: June 14, 2008, 08:24:27 AM by Reggaefan »

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #42 on: June 14, 2008, 07:03:06 AM »

Please dont speak about things that you know little about (Marlon King incident).  Needless to say, the player has come back into the fold, and has shown just how comitted he is to Jamaicas football. He is Jamaica's captain in Ricardo Gardeners absence. Like you said, Marlon King doesnt really need Jamaica, so he could very well have stayed away from international football after the ban. Fact that he came back tells you something.

Jamaica's football is in a MUCH healthier state than T&T's, with all the dirty laundry being washed in public by your federation and players.  Dont get carried away by the fact that you tied us twice in the past 3 months. Also, dont read too much into that Grenada loss, its just one of those results where a small team faces a larger one and come out on top...in a game with very little significance. I read posts here by people suggesting Jamaica forwards are crap etc etc. Again, we have two PROVEN premierships starters in our frontline, who WILL deliver when the stakes are high.

And I have said this before, there are Not one football league in teh caribbean capable of producing an abundance of footballers ready for football at the highest international level. Thats why th ebest of our NPL normally end up getting contracts in the English Leagues, where they develop their game, and come back to make our teams better. Having said that, Marlon King is the ONLY England born player that will take the field in our next WCQ game vs the Bahamas. Sure, the fact that you have a few youngsters in your side doing well, while English players like Chris Birchall is put aside to rot, doesnt give you the right to suggest that Jamaica's football is in trouble. While your Youngsters make their names locally, we have a guy who just needs one more cap to move from Portmore straight to a Premiership club for the start of the season. He will get that cap Sunday.
AMEN RF!
I'm wondering: the scouts that came to the England/T&T match. How many players were discovered.
jjbrown

leroy

« Reply #43 on: June 14, 2008, 07:39:11 AM »
The real journey begins
published: Saturday | June 14, 2008

Rene Simoes, left, and Captain Horace Burrell.

Audley Boyd, Assistant Sports Editor

CAPTAIN Horace Burrell is at the helm of the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF). His trusted lieutenant, Horace Reid, plays the same role as general secretary. René Simoes is still the team boss and Alfredo Montesso remains his right-hand man. Even some of the foot soldiers, Ian 'Pepe' Goodison, Andrew 'Bomber' Williams and Ricardo Gardner, still number among the party.

In a little over 10 years ago, the tried and proven squad that lifted Jamaica's football to the dizzying heights of World Cup qualification in France, 1998, are leading another charge for glory, this time on a campaign to lead to South Africa 2010.

First order of business

First stop is at 'The Office' - the arena where some of the Boyz's greatest successes were scored in the 'Road to France' campaign - and the first order of business is Bahamas in a 7 p.m. game tomorrow.

It appears a pretty straightforward assignment: a country ranked 167th with no record in football to cause any tremors for even a Premier League club here.

Yet, that will not be the case for the Jamaicans, given their latest result - a shocking 1-2 loss to 143rd-ranked Grenada in the Spice Isles on Tuesday.

"Football is a sport that you cannot take for granted, anyone can beat you, anyone," remarked Simoes on the team's return Wednesday.

On the warpath

They are still reeling from the effects, to the point where they are basically on the warpath and ready to unleash on the Bahamians.

"I have no doubts that this team can do very well," Simoes said. "We will analyse our mistakes. The next game cannot be the same. I guarantee you, it will not be the same."

It cannot.

Tomorrow's match is the first of a two-way series, from which only the winners will advance in the qualifiers. Whatever the circumstances, Jamaica being eliminated by The Bahamas is simply unthinkable. Unheard of, especially as both legs of the CONCACAF second-round fixture will be played here.

The sport's governors, FIFA, deemed Bahamas' home venue unfit for hosting World Cup level matches and the multi-purpose stadium in Trelawny will host the second game on Wednesday.

The next stage is a four-nation semi-final round-robin series from which the top two will advance to a CONCACAF Final Round six-team elimination that decides the automatic qualifiers for South Africa 2010.

Likely semi groups

Based on the seedings, the semi-final group is likely to include Mexico, Honduras and Canada. Mexico, Jamaica and Honduras were all matched in the same semi-final group in the 1998 qualifiers.

At that time, the vast majority of Reggae Boyz were based with clubs in Jamaica and as such, prepared together for years leading into the campaign. Now, it's the other way around with the majority based with clubs in Europe or North America, where they play professionally.

Seven of the starters are based overseas - Goodison, Tyrone Marshall, Ricardo Gardner, Andy Williams, Demar Phillips, Marlon King and Ricardo Fuller. And the goalkeeper, Donovan Rickettes, was attached to Bradford City in Britain until his work permit expired this year. The other three starters, Rudolph Austin and the unrelated Taylors - Jermaine and Evan - play for local clubs.

They only get together for short periods leading into a game, though this time the end of the football season in Britain has meant almost a two-week camp for Simoes' team.

Defeat at the hands of Grenada marked the culmination of warm-up matches against Caribbean rivals, as Jamaica had previously drawn 1-1 with Trinidad and Tobago beaten St Vincent and the Grenadines (SVG) 5-1.

Interestingly, SVG were also in the '98 semi-final grouping and were hammered by the same margin in their fixture against the Boyz at 'The Office'. Scoring a double that day was Theodore 'Tappa' Whitmore, who is now a member of Simoes' coaching staff.

Jamaicans will be hoping he can impart some magical influence on not only his teammates of the day, but other members of squad who will lead the charge against Bahamas.

VOX POP - Do you believe that Jamaica should be using so many players from the 1998 team for this 2010 World Cup campaign?

Kevin Walker - I don't think that we should be using some of these older players because they cannot manage the pace of the game anymore. I think that they should give the younger players a chance to prove themselves to the world.

Simon Lamey - Once they are fit and can meet the necessary criteria of the team, I don't see any reason why they shouldn't be using them.

Steven Henry - I don't think these older players should play now because we had teams that went to the Under-17 and Under-20 World Cups before and we don't have any of these youths playing now. This means that we are in serious problems.

Otis Campbell - I think we should be using the younger players instead of the older ones because a number of older players are past their best now.

Anna Pottinger - The older players are a lot more experienced than the younger ones and I believe that once they are fit and can still perform at the highest level, we should still continue to use them.

David Whittingham - I think we should still use the players from the 1998 team because most of the players are playing overseas and they are also a lot more experienced than the younger ones.
-
---

Guys even Audley Boyd Article have some conclusion to what we are saying.

« Reply #44 on: June 14, 2008, 09:34:04 AM »
dont see bahamas beating JA anytime soon

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #45 on: June 15, 2008, 05:40:26 PM »
Now we know whose name should be in the topic of this thread.  ;D
« Last Edit: June 15, 2008, 06:22:39 PM by jamaica2099 »
jjbrown

« Reply #46 on: June 15, 2008, 06:31:45 PM »

When yuh right yuh right.

Blessings

« Reply #47 on: June 15, 2008, 06:50:19 PM »

sigh :(

TV, Radio link for the Bahamas vs Jamaica game today
« Reply #48 on: June 18, 2008, 11:57:32 AM »
Game starts in less than 2 hrs (5PM EST), and will be broadcasted on GOLTV (also on TVU/Sopcast). I'll upload the highlights tonight after the game.

Here is a live radio link from Jamaica : http://www.nationwideradiojm.com/
« Last Edit: June 18, 2008, 02:17:08 PM by Reggaefan »

Offline R45

Re: TV, Radio link for the Bahamas vs Jamaica game today
« Reply #49 on: June 18, 2008, 12:05:17 PM »
This place really needs an ignore function. If I was interested in JA football, I'd go to a site about it. I doh understand why you need to create 50 topics at this site. You could even just keep all of it in a single topic. I thought people would grow out of trolling after a while, guess not.

« Reply #50 on: June 18, 2008, 12:10:31 PM »
This place really needs an ignore function. If I was interested in JA football, I'd go to a site about it. I doh understand why you need to create 50 topics at this site. You could even just keep all of it in a single topic. I thought people would grow out of trolling after a while, guess not.

Wait, how come you didnt complain when a fella start a thread below for Brazil vs Argentina?  Or what about that Antigua vs Cuba radio link that i provided yesterday?

Hint: next time you see a post with a title depicting something that doesnt interst you, just bypass that post.  Fact that you opened this one and replied to it tells me that deep down you are interested. I bet you will be following the game under the quiet. :)

« Last Edit: June 18, 2008, 12:14:15 PM by Reggaefan »

Offline R45

« Reply #51 on: June 18, 2008, 12:13:26 PM »
Bredz, you might want to put on some clothes cause you real transparent and not fooling anybody here. Don't even try.

« Reply #52 on: June 18, 2008, 12:15:04 PM »
Bredz, you might want to put on some clothes cause you real transparent and not fooling anybody here. Don't even try.

I know I am transparent. If inly we could get Jack Warner to be the same...

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #53 on: June 18, 2008, 06:00:22 PM »
Reggae Boyz strut their stuff
(FIFA.com) Thursday 19 June 2008
 Print Email to a friend Share
Jamaica finished the virtual formality of reaching the group stages of qualifying for the 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa™ in the North, Central American and Caribbean zone with a 6-0 second-leg rout of the Bahamas in Greenfield-Trelawny on Wednesday.

The result, combined with the 7-0 win in Kingston at the weekend, means that Rene Simoes' Reggae Boyz have strolled through by an astonishing 13-0 aggregate scoreline, signalling a return to the drawing board for the Bahamas.

Luton Shelton, of Sheffield United, grabbed a hat trick on Wednesday, bringing his tally for the series to five after scoring twice in the home leg at 'the Office,' as the Jamaicans' Kingston ground is known.

Deon Burton scored a brace and Tyrone Marshall rounded out the goals on Wednesday.

The Jamaicans now join up with Honduras, who beat Puerto Rico 6-2 on aggregate, in the group stages of the region's qualifying.

The ten remaining second round ties are at the halfway mark with the first legs taking place at the weekend. The biggest shock came in the form of a 2-1 win for minnows Bermuda over Germany 2006 participants Trinidad and Tobago on the road in Macoya. The USA powered past Barbados 8-0 in Los Angeles, while Mexico struggled to a 2-0 win over Belize in Houston. Costa Rica, much to the chagrin of their fans, could only manage a 2-2 draw in St. George's against Grenada.

The ten remaining second leg ties will take place this weekend.

CONCACAF qualifying round 2 at the halfway mark:
Grenada 2-2 Costa Rica
Antigua and Barbuda 3-4 Cuba
Suriname 1-0 Guyana
Guatemala 6-0 St. Lucia
USA 8-0 Barbados
St. Vincent 0-3 Canada
Haiti 0-0 Netherlands Antilles
Belize 0-2 Mexico
Panama 1-0 El Salvador
Trinidad and Tobago 1- 2 Bermuda

Though to the group stages:
Honduras (6-2 aggregate win over Puerto Rico)
Jamaica (13-0 aggregate win over Bahamas)

Add your comment

User comments »
Well done Jamaica...next stage will be tougher.GOOD LUCK BOYZ! hope the team increase there standard game by game, and you all will be in the prestigeous football tournament on earth!!!
Posted by bashman, England on 19/06/2008 at 00:38

The Reggae Boyz have finished their end of the deal. The next move belongs to T&T. ;D
jjbrown

Jamaica vs Bahamas second leg highlights
« Reply #54 on: June 18, 2008, 07:57:08 PM »
Added the FIFA anthem in the background. 9 megs, 4 minutes worth of highlights.

http://www.jaycentdrysdale.com/clips/jambahSecondLeg.wmv

Re: Jamaica vs Bahamas second leg highlights
« Reply #55 on: June 18, 2008, 11:16:40 PM »
Added the FIFA anthem in the background. 9 megs, 4 minutes worth of highlights.

http://www.jaycentdrysdale.com/clips/jambahSecondLeg.wmv

Confident scoreline RF. De "Boys" on to a winning start...

« Reply #56 on: June 18, 2008, 11:39:05 PM »
Any clips of de embarassing draw  first leg ?
Is ah cricket pitch dey was playing on or wha,how de ball was only bouncing ?
And wha was dem tings jumping up in de stands whenever ah goal score ?

« Reply #57 on: June 19, 2008, 12:10:19 AM »
RF how many  post yuh plan to make bout de JA vs Bahamas game?

« Reply #58 on: June 19, 2008, 12:15:35 AM »

boy i was wonderin the same thing

tell me something RF while you busy patting yourself on the back
does this glorified scrimage in which you held 90% of the ball and Bahamas did not cross mid line actually do anything to improve your club? other than make a few jagabats in the crowd free up themself?
i actually fell asleep it was such garbage (golTV)
« Last Edit: June 19, 2008, 12:24:54 AM by ricky »

« Reply #59 on: June 19, 2008, 03:06:15 AM »

boy i was wonderin the same thing

tell me something RF while you busy patting yourself on the back
does this glorified scrimage in which you held 90% of the ball and Bahamas did not cross mid line actually do anything to improve your club? other than make a few jagabats in the crowd free up themself?
i actually fell asleep it was such garbage (golTV)

Aaaaah. You guys finally back to your normal selves. Yes, the game was played at a cricket stadium, on the northwest , rural Jamaica.

A scoreline of 7-0 and 6-0 (13-0 aggregate) is about what you would expect when you have a first tier caribbean team play what is perhaps a third tier caribbean team. What is SHOCKING, is when a third tier caribbean team have the Audacity to put a beating on a first tier caribbean team (coming from the last world cup). Infront their own fans (all 1000 of them).

While our "jagabats" were celebrating 13 goals against the opponents, your "Jagabats" were weaping at your side being beaten by minnows.

Yes, Ricky, I have the first leg highlights for you, all seven goals. Enjoy.

http://www.jaycentdrysdale.com/clips/JamaicaVsBahamas.wmv

« Last Edit: June 19, 2008, 03:13:48 AM by Reggaefan »