April 26, 2024, 04:24:42 AM

Author Topic: Before the Money, Politics & Drama-A reflection on a simpler time...Woo Saah  (Read 8364 times)

It seems as though the board needs an intervention right now....

people are saying things they otherwise would not have said were they not really passionate about TnT football and equally agitated at the state to which it has reached.

It's called the JW Effect.

Let's all take a moment to reflect on TnT football prior to the politics and the onslaught of the JW effect.......Woo Saah

« Last Edit: June 19, 2008, 02:46:15 PM by FLi ! »

Re: Before the Politics-A Reflection...Woo Saah
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2008, 12:50:25 PM »
Fli I say is d 73 pic u post dey. Dem fellas have d own nightmares about d named fella cyah call he a gentleman

« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2008, 01:00:43 PM »

well all the woes seem to have started after this game...so i was showing the pic just before the drama started  ;)

« Reply #3 on: June 19, 2008, 01:04:03 PM »
I concur but is d media effect thou a ripple y d drama began dat fateful day

« Reply #4 on: June 19, 2008, 02:01:19 PM »
Fellas,
           It had politics long before that. The stakes were not as high as now. The money has changed everything.

« Reply #5 on: June 19, 2008, 02:43:32 PM »
Fellas,
           It had politics long before that. The stakes were not as high as now. The money has changed everything.

Ok, i'll amend the subject title.

Yep a simplier time it was

you have to go back before the 4 goals being disallowed and the ref and linesman getting suspended for life   dais waaaaaay back in time
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

you have to go back before the 4 goals being disallowed and the ref and linesman getting suspended for life   dais waaaaaay back in time

i giving u'll a start point, u'll can carry it back as far as you want....we just need to collectively refocus on what we want out of TnT football..that's the purpose of this intervention

From what I remember. for the 1970  WC qualifying. We played our home games in Haiti and Quatemala. We got knocked out.

1971 Concacaf tournament. Most of the players strike for better food. We came 2nd to last. Deleon win the MVP.

1972 tour to Venezuela. Players strike for more money/stipend. Jimmy Springer decided not to play for TT ever again.

1973 Concacaf tornament in TT. None of the NASL pros played. TFA claimed, they have no money to pay the pros. TT humiliated by Haiti 6-1(check that score???). We were disappointing. GK Gerald figeroux was outstanding for TT. The only bright spot on the team.

1973/74 WC tournament in Haiti. Allyuh know about that.

1975 to present. Jack era. Need I say more.

Deeks, I feel that you could give us a much more deatailed history :D jk

Thanks man for that info
« Last Edit: June 19, 2008, 07:43:36 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

1973 Concacaf tornament in TT. None of the NASL pros played. TFA claimed, they have no money to pay the pros. TT humiliated by Haiti 6-1(check that score???). We were disappointing. GK Gerald figeroux was outstanding for TT. The only bright spot on the team.

Trinidad's World Cup Squad Aims To Boycott Training
Original Date: 1973-08-26
PORT OF SPAIN, Trinidad (AP)

Trinidad soccer officials today braced themselves for showdown with players of the National squad now preparing for the World Cup preliminaries against Haiti in November.

The players last night declared they will boycott training sessions conducted by English coach Kevin Verity, if the Trinidad Football Association does not withdraw suspensions slapped on six key players. The disciplinary committee of the association last week threw Ulric Haynes, Wilfred Cave, Leroy Spann, Trevor Leiba, Godfrey Harris and Renwick Williams out of the squad for violating a directive not to play for their club in national championship tournaments, currently contested. Scarcity of adequate venues for the players to train at caused the members of the squad to be idle.

Verity, brought out from England to put the team in World Cup form, has complained that during the past month he has not yet been able to arrange a proper session and the shut-in squad, in its decision to boycott the sessions, said they are fed up with strenuous exercises and not sufficient match-play work.

"It is for these reasons Haynes and the rest of the fellows decided to ignore the ban on appearances for our clubs," a spokesman for the disgruntled players said.

Officials of the association declined to comment.

In 1969:

Footballers Say They Were Let Down
Original Date: 1969-12-05
PORT OF SPAIN, Trinidad, Dec. 4, (AP):

Three Washington-based Trinidad professionals who were asked to make themselves available for the Trinidad football team now competing in the North, Central America and Caribbean Soccer Confederation Championship finals in Costa Rica, have accused the Trinidad Football Association of breaking faith with them and causing them financial and other embarrassments.

The three are goalkeeper Lincoln Phillips, defence man Victor Gamaldo, and pointer Gerry Browne.

Phillips, Gamaldo and Browne, in signed letters to newspapers this morning said the Association invited them to come to Trinidad to be included in the Championship and they accepted.

Phillips said he asked for $400 and return plane passage to the United States, but added he would have made the trip free of charge because he intended visiting his family.

Gamaldo and Browne said they asked for J$240 plus return passages. But they alleged that at the last minute the Association informed them that the invitations were withdrawn.

Three other professionals, including Bertrand Grell who also plays for the Washington Darts, Everald Cummings and Leroy DeLeon are in the team. Grell was brought from the States while Cummings and DeLeon had been home awaiting calls for renewal of contracts with their American Clubs.

Phillips said he spent over J$40 making phone calls to Association officials, while Gamaldo declared in a letter reproduced this morning in the daily papers GUARDIAN and EXPRESS, that he had been willing to come home even if he lost financially on the deal.

Meanwhile, Lawrence Rondon, who is in the team in Costa Rica, was named last night as 'Sportsman of the Year' of his club Comma Brechin Castle S.C.

Association officials were unavailable for comment on the "withdrawal of invitations" report. President Phil Douglin and secretary Eric James are in Costa Rica with the Trinidad team.

Injuction Granted
Original Date: 1969-12-22
PORT-OF-SPA1N, Trinidad, Dec. 21 (Reuters):

An injunction has been granted against Phil Douglin, president, and three other members of the Trinidad Football Association (T.F.A.) by a judge in the San Fernando high court yesterday.

The injunction which was filed by the Point Fortin Civic Centre team, in the oil belt, asked the court to restrain the T.F.A. from carrying out decisions taken last Tuesday to suspend eleven players of the National Team which participated in the CONCACAF championship in Costa Rica, from playing football until an inquiry called by the T.F.A. council was determined.

'Demands Too Steep'
Original Date: 1969-12-27
PORT-OF-SPAIN. Triindad, Dec. 24 (AP):

Trinidad Football Association (TFAS) today revealed that Lincoln Phillips, Gerry Browne and Victor Gamaldo, professionals with the Washington Darts in the United States, had made demands which were too steep when asked if they would be available for the CONCACAF championships in Costa Rica last month.

The official said the three players demanded return plane fares, appearance fees and guarantees of coaching or other jobs in Trinidad at the end of the CONCACAF tournament. The official added that another professional club had accepted the TFAS offer of J$120 plus return fare at the end of the tournament.

Phillips, Browne and Gamaldo arrived here for Christmas vacation yesterday and declared they were shocked when the Association withdrew the invitation. Goalkeeper Phillips said the trio had asked for a fee of from 120 to 125 dollars but did not mention the stipulation stated by the TFAS official.

Will Call On AAA To Settle Confusion
Original Date: 1969-12-31
PORT-OF-SPAIN, Trinidad, Dec. 29 (Reuters):

Mr. Frank Stephens, Parliamentary Secretary for Sports, said here today he would call on the Amateur Athletics Association in a few weeks' time in an effort to settle the confusion which has plagued the country's sporting world following the recent CONCACAF Championships in Costa Rica.

Mr. Stephens made the comment a few hours before an injunction by four footballers who attended the Championships was due to be heard in chambers here by a judge.

After preliminary discussions the hearing was postponed until January 19. No statement was issued by either the court or by legal representatives.

The four footballers were suspended by the Amateur Athletics Association following alleged incidents at the Costa Rica Championships.

Seven other national players were also suspended by the Trinidad Football Association following allegations that they and other players were involved in incidents.

« Last Edit: June 19, 2008, 03:39:08 PM by E-man »

"In 1969:
Footballers Say They Were Let Down
Original Date: 1969-12-05
PORT OF SPAIN, Trinidad, Dec. 4, (AP):
Three Washington-based Trinidad professionals who were asked to make themselves available for the Trinidad football team now competing in the North, Central America and Caribbean Soccer Confederation Championship finals in Costa Rica, have accused the Trinidad Football Association of breaking faith with them and causing them financial and other embarrassments.
The three are goalkeeper Lincoln Phillips, defence man Victor Gamaldo, and pointer Gerry Browne."

Look ting :o
« Last Edit: June 19, 2008, 03:39:46 PM by WestCoast »

Offline takenoprisoners

E-man where you find this stuff, trinigoogle? ;D
Thanks man! :beermug:

Eman is trinigoogle

Fli that strike squad picture...what game is dat?

It is NOT NOV 19th as Brian Williams not in the pix and was the only member who showed up on that day.

So we have a long history of sh!t......long live FPATT!!!!!!

« Reply #17 on: June 19, 2008, 07:21:30 PM »

well all the woes seem to have started after this game...so i was showing the pic just before the drama started  ;)

dat have to be de guatemala game then because jack buy a big Dish after that one.

I might have gotten my dates and other incidents  mixed up, but I know they happened. This crap has been going on for a long time. To damn long.

Team photo 1992.

Back: Dexter Francis, Kerry Jamerson, Michael Maurice, Leonson Lewis, Dexter Lee
Front: Hutson Charles, Russell Latapy, Dwight Yorke, Clayton Morris, Marvin Faustin, Philbert Jones

Addendum: Sorry Oli, but this is the BIG BIG BIG Team ;)

The T&T team in Haiti in 1973:
only have names for the back row:
Back row (left to right) Edgar Vidale (coach), Kevin Barclay, Sydney Augustine, Selris Figaro, Selwyn Murren (captain), Devenish Paul, Leon Carpette, Russell Tesheira, Winston Phillips, Gerald Figeroux
« Last Edit: June 20, 2008, 03:42:54 AM by WestCoast »

the best crest in the world !

and a big big team !

Allyuh emember the players trading card? With Yorke, and Latas etc. I think was from MILO.

Any body still have ?

That is best Trini Tracksuit I ever see.

Allyuh emember the players trading card? With Yorke, and Latas etc. I think was from MILO.

Any body still have ?
I have meh Yorke and Latas cards still intact

Ah wonder how much dem cards will go for now...lmao

Whey...look at Ollie Camps up behind Latas before he become the shrivelled up, hunched over puppet of today

U know how long me eh c dat pic dat was part of meh shrine 2 d sq in J13 Mary Seacole Hall UWI Mona JA. God alone knows what happen 2 dat pic

Ah wonder how much dem cards will go for now...lmao

Will give you $100 each.

Nah man...not for sale nah, but thanks for the offer :beermug: :beermug:

Okay.. $150.00 each..