April 19, 2024, 01:43:51 AM

Author Topic: lil swimmers  (Read 166466 times)

Re: lil swimmers
« Reply #210 on: December 18, 2011, 11:04:34 AM »
thanks seeker.. Real HiLo weekend. Some things went well, some not so good..Lilman equalled the provincial 50 fly record, doh Angel won...but Angel did quite bad in back, Mzting not making any best times, and barely getting into 2 B finals..Today lilman vex the coach put him for 2 meets in a row, 200 breast, which is his weakest stroke, and no 50 back up to now, and he feel he could break that record too..... He say he not getting it... well, allyuh by now know how the boy doh like to lorse.. and to be honest me doh really get it either, since last year he wanting to do more back....so ah had to try an come up with some positive, and not just say, nuthen bout humility lesson, or training  for future lala...ah say "it depends on the Day the events fall" , he say "the 200 back & breast was right after each other, why he do that"...ah think, ah think.."Yes, ah know why"...ah hit him with "the Damn coach chupid "...he come back with he family guy impression
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hhMgmkYHlM8

we had ah good laff..but coach better scratch that breast of the event list or ah might have more trouble, dun having trouble keeping Mzting motivated..she even point out her good pardna who switch to the big club, improve so much, and bussing her tail, no problem...and how we should switch her, and Lilman need to be swimming with more competition..and let the Angel stay if he want...la la la
on top ah that, ah see she walk home twice this weekend..so ah know the next argument that will be presented is bout , she doh need no lift to get there, we doh have to go outta the way...buh to be honest I feel if we switch dey, with the more intense training, she will end up quitting, and I not ready for other activities

« Reply #211 on: December 25, 2011, 11:37:26 AM »
http://www.ddoswim.com/e/news.asp?ID=668

As of Friday last Mzting has switched clubs to Beaconsfield bluefins. The boys are staying at DDO. Gonna be tuff, we have not worked out the logistics, but had to be done. She was unhappy with everything, and with most of her friends leaving, it was either switch or dun. (I wouldn't make her go if she wasn't going to try)... She has a few friends at this other club, and wanted to try there, but if that didn't work out, was willing to go to the big club(Pointe Claire), which we actually live closest too...just we prefer the small club mentality..
« Last Edit: December 25, 2011, 11:43:47 AM by maxg »

« Reply #212 on: January 03, 2012, 11:53:42 PM »
Mzting enjoying the new club immensely. Big Welcome from the other swimmers, hook up with new friends, and the coach start working on stroke correction as of day 2..we hoping it take, cause it has been 3 initial yrs of no stroke coaching, and Madame head dun like dry coconut ahready, an if yuh pelt to hard, it might shatter...hope neither he or she get discouraged, cause after a week, some days she actually looking like an elite swimmer, and some is the ole WWF  in the water..keep trying darling, keep trying..Everybody had a bout of gastro over the holidays, but except for angel, they were able to start back regular training today..did I mention, Mzting new training schedule at the new club..6 mornings,5 evenings for ah total of 20.5 hrs - definitely more light weight training & dryland, doh the coach willing to ease her up initially...the boys say no way them switching to that madness, Angel say 5 days, 2 Optional mornings for total of  10 - 13 hours is way to much as is, lilman say he maxing out at Angel schedule as well...moreover these are the same boys, who were never going to train more than 3 days, 6 hrs a week, eh. So i just start to whistle "Showtime" from last year, cool cool, we will see what a couple years bring if God spare life, and continue his good health blessings

Next meet, in 2 weeks for all, at the boys home club,Mzting ex..we kinda hoping her new training come to the fore, although it is still relatively early to see any major time improvement. As another parent remarked, why he switched club, "even if he will always be a below avg. swimmer with his times, at least the coaches should be able to make him look like a swimmer"..
« Last Edit: January 08, 2012, 12:43:08 PM by maxg »

« Reply #213 on: January 08, 2012, 10:06:50 PM »
Mzting club is not sening their elite team to the Boys club SC meet next weekend.
So her next competition will only be the weekend after,(provincial cup).
Angel would be mising the 1st day of this meet, due to a inter-school debating event. Yes, we giving the choice of being well-rounded, if they chose to be.

Lilman doesn't seem fazed by all the attention from the record break, they both still sayin "ah fed up" & " practice boring". Strangers coming up to Mam & I, and congratulating us, I keep telling them "Thanks, but me ent do nothing is he". (lilman gettin kicks on that, cause I sayin it in Trini) Everytime, dem say, You drive dem here & everywhere, and always making it. And ah say "true, buh ah gett encouraged cause I see all ah allyuh doing it"..Them feel good, I feel good, and lilman does bequietly laughing cause when ah get uncomfortable ah guess ah does naturally switch to Trini, an he does get ah kick off of hearing it...or maybe get ah kick off of seeing meh uncomfortable..either way he gettin ah little kick..so far so good,actually, is all me, cause most of the time he doh be around, so it's just in my head ah guess..
on another note, dey hinting ah complain(not really all the way) buh we (mammy & me) not backing down, we letting them know that is normal, nobody doh really like training everyday, so it suppose to feel so, besides, when yuh put in work, there is a greater sense of accomplishment when yuh successful, and besides , it normal to feel like yuh could miss or not go sometimes...buh only if yuh strong & brave, yuh will stick it out.. :devil:.one thing ah notice bout we family(both sides), we head hard so..or to put it another way, we like challenge...I does get scared doh, if they gonna start saying they don't want to this anymore, don't know what I will do...for now, we still going pretty good..next weekend

Angel; 98; 200m Libre (24) 2:11.06; 200m Brasse (30) 2:51.83;400m 4 nages (32) 5:22.83

Lilman; 99 ; 50m Libre (22) 26.17 ;200m Libre (24) 2:07.46;400m Libre (14) 4:58.63;
 200m Dos 8. 2:25.39;50m Papillon (4) 28.64; 200m Papillon (20) 2:16.45
« Last Edit: January 08, 2012, 10:57:48 PM by maxg »

« Reply #215 on: January 20, 2012, 10:25:22 AM »
Lilman break Provincial 50 fly 12 &U record last meet...(28.40)

Both ah dem, didn't beat any of there times in the other events.. Lilman won 6/6 races and was vex...had a lil talk bout that

http://www.fnq.qc.ca/nouvelles_voir.asp?CodeN=1146
« Last Edit: February 01, 2012, 09:33:59 PM by maxg »

Offline Swima

« Reply #216 on: January 20, 2012, 10:33:45 AM »
Congrats Max. The kids looking great. I am taking a group of mine to camp in Florida this coming week. We trying a ting nah!
Success will never take you by surprise.

« Reply #217 on: February 16, 2012, 11:21:22 AM »
Mz Big girlzting off to eastern nationals this weekend..Only 3 events 50,100,200 free. Best ranking is 92 nd. the important thing is she is enjoying swimming again. The coach has worked well with her, and she is enjoying the camaradrie in the club. Hope it all translates to some good times to further encourage her. It is only 2 hrs away, but 1st time Mom & myself not going. Big girl now,Senior now..

The boys have Provincials Short course next weekend - 3 hrs away. seperated into 11-12,13,14,15. In there events, Lilman going in ranked #1 in all(corr: #4 in 50 back). Angel(corr:lowest) ranked top 10, add: ranked #1 in 4 items.

Needless to say, we nervous a hell, but them moving like normal...as a matter of fact, Angel who already give up a swim practice night, for intercity football practice, even decide he missing that to go on ah date...hmmnnn...and lilman say he go miss too, but want to go Wushu training..we don't want to force nobody to do the swim - doh want them to go an do it half-arse - , but we trying to tell them, their timing to be missing practice before such a big meet is not really getting focused... So far our layoff method has been ok..but secretly we still worry about there performances, as we know for a fact, their competitors do train more often (maybe harder) than them..

« Last Edit: February 16, 2012, 03:48:10 PM by maxg »

« Reply #218 on: February 21, 2012, 11:44:03 AM »
Mzting might be back. beat 2 times(27.95 in 50 free 32nd; 1:00.32 in 100 25th) & came close to the 3rd(200 - 2:12.47 49th) , all SC m.
Not great placings, but it's a start...waited 2 years for this personal best. Keep it up Mzting. Well done.

Next weekend Lilman & angel at provincials. Lilman on a high as he also matched his siblings on his school's honour roll..Well done Mr Man. Ah went an ask him how you gonna attribute that to the Wu shu, cause every swim achievement now he calling the sifu name.. he say "Focus, Focus"...is like with Sifu all things are possible...ah let him know I made an extra prayer in church Sunday for him...He say, "I said one for you too"   hmmnnn

« Reply #219 on: February 24, 2012, 03:10:28 PM »
Lilman broke 11-12  provincial record in prelims this morning. Doing 25.97 in 50 free.  Did 30.01 in back. Going #1 into finals
Angel did 25.57 in 50 free, seeded 1, but seeded #2 in 100 fly 1:04.63

SC Final: day 1
Angel;13 yr old,  1st,100 fly , 1.01.43; 1st 50 fly free, 25.21 (sorry swima)

Lilman ; 11-12, 1st 50 back, 29.29; 1st 50 free, 25.86

Notes: lilman miss the prov.back record (29.18)

Angel have a full blown cold..runny nose & watery eyes..
« Last Edit: February 27, 2012, 09:05:44 PM by maxg »

« Reply #220 on: February 25, 2012, 02:46:20 PM »
Day 2 : the angel cold was a false alarm. He just had a stuffy nose...Ah find lilman was looking tired before his swim..he say he wake up  3 am & couldn't go back to sleep..

Both still did well however..
Angel qualified for 100 back , 1:05.39; 100 free, 57.45..as he didn't do these events except maybe once last year, we didn't know what to expect..he looked very good, especially in the free..will se what finals bring.
Lilman qualified 200 fly, 2:16.77, ( his Canadian 11-12 record is 2:16.45) - that feels so weird, saying that.
And 200 IM, 2:21.smth (prov.rec. is 2:19.smth). He say he going to try for it...unfortunately, he will have to do it by himself as the closest time to his is about 8 secs slower..go lilman go,

Offline Swima

« Reply #221 on: February 25, 2012, 03:39:40 PM »
Looking like the guys are ripping up Max. Really great swims. Good thing lil man say he swimming for Canada. My 11-12 200 fly record would be history!

« Reply #222 on: February 27, 2012, 11:38:09 AM »
Lilman ended as top boy, with 6 Gold, 1 Silver (+ 2 Relay Gold) (prov. record in 50 free)
Angel ended up 2nd top boy(actually 3rd behind the top paraplegic athlete) with 4 Gold, 1 Silver (+ 2 relay Gold)  - both on same team (11-13 for relays)
Angel, 1998-02-08
Event, Placing,Time,Fina pts, prev. Time, Prev.time date,%improv.
50m Freestyle Final 1., 25.21, 522, 25.57, 103%
50m Freestyle Prelim 1. 25.57 500 26.20 2011-12-16 105%
100m Freestyle Final 2. 56.40 505 57.45 104%
100m Freestyle Prelim 1. 57.45 478 1:01.38 2011-07-28 114%
200m Freestyle Final 4. 2:05.49 496 2:07.57 103%
200m Freestyle Prelim 4. 2:07.57 472 2:11.06 2011-10-30 106%
100m Backstroke Final 1. 1:04.99 427 1:05.39 101%
100m Backstroke Prelim 1. 1:05.39 419 1:11.50 2011-12-17 120%
100m Breaststroke Final 7. 1:17.50 369 1:20.49 108%
100m Breaststroke Prelim 8. 1:20.49 329 1:21.58 2010-12-18 103%
50m Fly Final 1. 27.39 504 28.06 105%
50m Fly Prelim 1. 28.06 468 28.07 2011-12-17 100%
100m Fly Final 1. 1:01.43 491 1:04.63 111%
100m Fly Prelim 2. 1:04.63 422 1:08.18 2011-07-27 111%

Lilman, 1999-03-25
Event, Placing,Time,Fina pts, prev. Time, Prev.time date,%improv.
50m Freestyle Final 1. 25.86 483 25.97 101%
50m Freestyle Prelim 1. 25.97 477 26.17 2011-12-16 102%
200m Freestyle Final 1. 2:07.60 472 2:09.13 102%
200m Freestyle Prelim 1. 2:09.13 455 2:07.46 2011-12-18 97%
50m Backstroke Final 1. 29.29 459 30.01 105%
50m Backstroke Prelim 1. 30.01 427 32.58 2011-01-30 118%
50m Fly Final 1. 28.66 440 28.88 102%
50m Fly Prelim 1. 28.88 430 28.40 2012-01-14 97%
200m Fly Final 1. 2:18.46 489 2:16.77 98%
200m Fly Prelim 1. 2:16.77 507 2:16.45 2011-12-16 100%
200m Medley Final 1. 2:20.72 478 2:21.78 102%
200m Medley Prelim 1. 2:21.78 468 2:23.88 2011-12-18 103%
400m Medley Final 2. 5:03.83 465 5:05.56 101%
400m Medley Prelim 1. 5:05.56 457 5:03.35 2011-12-16 99%

« Reply #223 on: March 06, 2012, 12:10:35 AM »
Mzting is in Florida with her club for a 10 day swim camp..we down in Orlando for spring break...she call after day 1 ..she having a wonderful time,, after day 2.. She say this is great, lottsa fun..day 3 : she say she missing we..day4 : she begging mammy to come home...not feeling well, she doh like they jokes bout black ppl, her belly huttin..mammy say eh eh, time to grow up..only 7 more days....I tell her write a diary of the experience, and we will put it here...she get excited by that....

Meanwhile lilman happen to see me writing on here..ask meh who is lilman..ah tell him he doh know him, I will introduce him when he get lilbit older..

« Reply #224 on: March 16, 2012, 10:42:23 AM »
Lilman & Angel have both been invited to Provincial team camp this weekend. Man vex he have to miss Wushu, Angel vex he have to miss intercity tryouts - well, ??? we didn't tell him is the tryouts he missing, he thinking he missing practice....

On top ah dat Angel has been selected for a rep Provincial team (lilman too young) to attend a tri-provincial camp with Quebec, Ontario, & Maritimes - 5 day camp & competition. - TG is in this city this year...Well we congratulating, he grinding, cause he thinks he will be missing a intercity game.... we fraid to tell him,he mighten make the team, cause he missed the tryouts....lawd, ah feel we go turn this :angel: , he going to be a little :pissedoff:, doh let him turn  :devil: please....we just trying to harness and guide the boy & his talent...

Lilman start asking about the Tri-nation tournament he was selected for last year...wants to make it again (ah wonder why)...We explained it is to tough due to his birth date, and competitors this year...every 2 years would be better opportunities for him...he hold that, but not satisfied with it..

we ent tell them we seriously think of switching clubs yet - for their benefit..  :o :) :D :laugh: :rotfl: :worried: :duel: :Police: :flamethrower:

« Reply #225 on: March 17, 2012, 12:36:28 PM »
the boys along wit a couple teamates have been chosen/invited to participate in a special meet during the Olympic trials..against visiting clubs from the city coming to see that big meet. All 50 sprints.Angel will be happy.Lilman doh seem to excited.hmmmnn

update: next weekend is lilman only and last opportunity to try for any Long Course 12 & U provincial records. He wil be doing 7 events(no finals) in the 2 days and doh it will be tough, he have a decent shot at 3 or 4 items - if he doh bun. Good luck lil buddy.

From last prov.
http://www.ddoswim.com/e/news.asp?ID=685
« Last Edit: March 20, 2012, 07:32:38 PM by maxg »

« Reply #226 on: March 24, 2012, 09:32:49 PM »
"Some days will be better than some, but we have to learn to appreciate, everyday has the potential of being a good day"
day 1.
Lilman was not close to the Long course records as we hoped. The meet was not as well attended by the stronger swimmers in the province as we hoped. We 1st realized this immediately when we looked at the program, saw Angel ranked #1 in 200 free, in 1st heat, which were senior seeded timed finals. Both boys won there age groupevents, except when Lilman beat Angel in the fly, both of them beating their previous times, however Lilman was .4 secs of the provincial record, which he was hoping to get..they looked good, they did their best, but wee both relatively flat and unexcited. A little disappointing meet. MrsG & and was also a little disappointed that Lilman had no instruction or even verbal preparation, motivation, nothing...and the coahes now that he was making the record attempts...his coach wasn't even in attendance...so before the race, he was just sitting for a couple hours waiting, by himself..ecept at one point when some girls went over and asked his advice on doing their IM..WHAT ? hmmmnnn..I felt it similar to when he made the Canadian team(Mexic meet) last year, and they tell him don't worry about training, his summer pool swims will be enough..huh ?..

after his 1st record miss doh, he wasn't digging nothing (50 fly. record 28.60, he did 29.03), Angel who only got home from movies around midnight last night (bday outing) - did 29.08, and so we wasn't getting no horrors either..everybody cool..after the 2nd race 200 back, when Lilman won the heat, beating everyone, boys 16,19 & 27 - and he looked like he was on cruise -  we realized it would be even harder than we thought, especially this being his 1st LC meet of the season...well we gave up after that, and just hoped for best times....doh I was still quietly hoping for something in the 400IM..best SC time 5:03...LC prov. record 5: 06...alas he did 5: 17...winning his age group, coming 2nd overall to 1 18 yr old.....surrender

Nobody not vex though..buh it kinda irking we (mom&dad), something this big (to the club too), and nobody pumping him..we wishing we could, but fraid to add pressure or transmit our nervousness, besides "is only Mom & Dad - the feared swim-parents".... hmmnnn

Gonna have to re-evaluate our expectations, theirs and the clubs, and compare to Mzting new club, and see what our best options are...Couple years ago, was to swim competitively and have fun, and try and beat some times, as they started excelling, that changed slightly by adding win a few races, as they excelled even further, we added at least maintain or improve their current rankings, provincially, followed by National ranking improvement...but now...we have to ask, what we gonna add ? Do we want to add ? It seems to be type of sport when you stop trying to improve, you are quickly surpassed ? Isn't all sports like that ? what are we expecting ? Can we go back to just having fun & wondering if ? MrsG and I not like that, we were always competitors through and through ? are they like that, if they don't want to be, should we try to make them ? Shouldn't a competitive coach(other than parents)/club assist in these things ? What type of philosophy will satisfy all the different parties -  the 3 indiv. swimmers, the 2 parents, school, the club, the other recreational activities(which they also truly enjoy - probaly even more than swim trainng now) and their demands..add: Not even counting the financial burdens as well, that will hae to facto in too . So first Moms & I have to make sure we on the same page, check the club, present our case, and hope all interested parties can come up with a plan...we on track, cause the most Critical parties are on the same page..Yes , is we the parents will make the finals decisions...we sure it may not be the exactly perfect decisions, but it will be the best decisions, based on as much info from all parties as we can gather...Confident it will be good, aslong as we keep striving to make it better, ent...dah's we job

for now...Day 2...Go guys Go.  :wavetowel: :party: :applause:
http://www.calac.ca/sites/default/files/results/20120324_P1P2/index.html

add: Day2 ...same beats...see results above...for now Provincial & Canada leading times..but again, good swims, not great swims...besides the 3 spint events at Olym. trials meet friday...next meet in 1 mth, Team Champs...all 3 kids in the same division, even if diff. clubs...no more records, so tha should ease up that stress ah bit...
« Last Edit: March 25, 2012, 07:07:27 PM by maxg »

« Reply #227 on: March 29, 2012, 02:34:11 PM »
Noooo...Angel have the full blown flu..2 days before the invitational Olympic trial exposure meet..he say he going still, fever or no fever..Should he or shouldn't he ? I say he shouldn't. cause he might be made to look bad...and would be seen for all the wrong reasons, not counting lilman might cut he tail too...and the opposite is he swim good, and get on the swim ppl radar...even if lilman cut he rass still...hmmnnn...I telling him doh go, but I won't hold him back
« Last Edit: March 29, 2012, 02:42:25 PM by maxg »

Offline Swima

« Reply #229 on: April 15, 2012, 05:38:36 AM »
I highly doubt that that is what is being done in Britain, but if it is, then they are killing careers before they start. Any 12-14 year olds training like that are going to develop injuries. I know in the US they train fairly hard but because of the large size of the talent pool, they can get away with one or two falling by the wayside. We do not have a national policy in Trinidad and Tobago (big surprise) but many of our coaches make decisions based on economics, and have to produce in order to gain sponsorship, or funding or even just to keep the membership of the clubs vibrant. Some take that philosophy and apply it to young kids (10 and under) and that is where we are being terribly irresponsible.

« Reply #230 on: April 15, 2012, 09:49:04 PM »
Swima , I hear bout it live right here, at the big club down the road. This article just reinforce all the negative things I heard of, from many athletes who quit. Which caused us to feel so lucky we were initially refused by the big club. I am relatively certain, we would have been out of swimming, had we got in there. They have claimed to have changed, and our kids won't be subjected to such methods, but we hearing about a coach there still pushing to extreme limits.

« Reply #231 on: April 18, 2012, 10:33:10 PM »
Forecast: Wet & Wild, this meet not for the mild
This weekend it's Team Champs. Last year we got demoted to section 2.
Will have to finish top 2, to get back up, to section 1.
Check us here.
Hopefully, we will see "The return of the real Mzting"? Hoping she can make a final and/or,at least have a good showing, as now she is swimming against her old teammates & coach. And she can sometimes get quite intimated by them, one of the reasons she wasn't comfortable there. They can be catty, but they damn fast too. Keep telling her don't lose focus, but she wouldn't be Mzting if she used to listen to we. All the best dahlin.

http://www.ddoswim.com/e/news.asp?ID=705

Was showing lilman the girl who is breaking all the 11-12 records will be there at this meet.
Her name is Marie-Sophie Harvey. She is phenomenal.
Eh heh, like he jealous, he come with he Trini, like if he vex," dah's all you guys talkin bout all the time. Marie-Sorfy,Sorfy,Sorfy" an doing he hand too  :yapping: :yapping: :yapping:

We had a good laugh, but ah know it eating him she beat his 200 IM time

The boys only clashing in 2 events of the 5, 50 fly & back. So really not so bad.
As usual me & mammy anxious as hell, and dem cool...Doh Angel made a statement,he didn't practice hard for awhile..missed some, to make the Intercity(rep) Football team,which he did. Will be playing stopper, he seems more excited about that...or is it just he brakesin in case he get beaten...usually he does bring it Doh, and so far, no sniffles,no belly wuk, no fever, nothing. Well except Mzting an that time of the month thing..like mother nature Don't like her having easy meets at all..Keep dem on the up lawd..thanks
« Last Edit: April 18, 2012, 10:58:49 PM by maxg »

« Reply #232 on: April 24, 2012, 12:07:18 PM »
Lilman: 1 Gold, 4 Silver (+ 2 relay Gold)
Angel: 2Gold, 2 Bronze (+ 2 relay Gold)
MzTing: 1 Bronze
The boys team missed 2nd place by 7 points. We glad, cause team would get cuttail in Div.1.

MZting team placed 4th.
The boys relay team won the IM based on disq of 1st team. They left early.
They also had a new boy(only started this year) in the team. He swam very well.
« Last Edit: April 24, 2012, 12:10:20 PM by maxg »

« Reply #233 on: May 09, 2012, 04:29:54 PM »
Angel represent the province( 1 of 4 boys 1998 chosen) at tri-provincial(Ont,NS & Qc) camp & meet, from Today to Sunday, competition on Saturday.
They put them up and run through paces. Will post schedule, so ppl have an idea for type of format it takes.
Missing 3 days of school doh. He pack books to do studies as well.
This is the biggest deal for him...Lilman to young, so they didn't have to compete for this selection.

http://www.fnq.qc.ca/uploads/equipes/TRi-meet_horaire.pdf
« Last Edit: May 09, 2012, 05:29:35 PM by maxg »

« Reply #234 on: May 18, 2012, 12:30:14 PM »
Possibly the swim camp experience have Angel right now thinking his club practices are too easy. he is starting to question it.
He made friends with the swimmers from other provinces and his prov. teammates. He said,"Dad, you know what was most freaky ?ALL they talk about is swimming." He is now realizing how real swimmers operate..it's not just for fun, like he does.
he was real bun.
he placed one 2nd, a 3rd, two 4ths, a 5th & 6th.... an although he said he had fun, of course he didn't indicate any emotion over not winning...but after yesterdays practice, on the way down to his school - he recieved a most improved debater award - he confided to his mom, of wanting to move up in intesity training next year....Interesting...

This week we have our Home meet..not much competition at their own age group, and they only clash in 2 events - 50 free(Lilman leading) & fly (Angel leading). However, they may give the snr boys a run for the money. Wait, is swimming...NO MONEY (according to Lilman of course)
Oh Lilman latest phrase is saying in a Trini accent "No Magic ting boy".
We were trying to convince mammy to buy us a magic kit on vacation (Universal studios). Mammy say "NO!"...We beg, we promise, we plead. Mammy stick with No.
So ah say "well fellas, we try. but mammy say 1-2-3,Paff(wave hands), NO MAGIC ting"..well Lilman was rolling, he like that one..so now everything for him now is..."1-2-3, Paff(wave hands), NO (whatever)" - Trini accent and or "NOOooo Boy" trini accent..Ah tell him, mind who he tell that too..don't go be talking to he teacher like that..otherwise he might get in trouble with the teacher & me...he say "Noooo Boy"...we laugh for now
MzTing at an Intl meet at the Olympic stadium..only 3 events 50 Fr(rnk 17th/151) ,Br(36th/55),Fly(22nd/99). Boy she have it tough. She still haven't bought into the 'what she has to do' mentality to improve, but the maturity is definitely on the up. Head still hard doh.
« Last Edit: May 18, 2012, 12:47:00 PM by maxg »

« Reply #235 on: May 19, 2012, 04:30:03 PM »
MzTing make the 50 A Final yes...well we going for Ice Cream tonight...even if is only 10 th place...now she going up against Victoria Poon & Sandrine Mainville, #1 & 5 in Canada...ah hope they doh get frighten and doh show up   :laugh:
Liks book, but best she ever go take liks from

Boys did ok...doh Lilman finally just outtouch Angel in fly..28.64 & 28.66..I said to mammy, I think he could do it today, as Angel just 10 minutes before did 200 IM, and went hard..sure nuff
they had lilman 2nd in 1500 against his teammate and he was kinda confused, cause he was pretty sure he had it, but I think they did a staggered(??)start, when 2 ppl in same lane..and I think they miscount for that boy..so he actually did 100 less..but I said to him is no biggie, cause he don't want to be chosen to swim 1500 anyway...he say "That is True , but now he might say something foolish"..ah realizing now the boy just fraid to lose..

« Reply #236 on: June 13, 2012, 04:01:01 PM »
Mzting quit swimming...join track & field for summer...only had a provincials & then Nationals left.  :-\

Saw it coming doh...more later,plenty to write on this , trying to look on bright side  :banginghead:
« Last Edit: June 13, 2012, 04:07:27 PM by maxg »

« Reply #237 on: June 24, 2012, 11:28:06 PM »
http://www.ddoswim.com/e/news.asp?ID=723
Day2. Actually day 1 for us..
Lilman was good, but Angel was upset, overthrown, a boy bring it, actually 2nd place guy from last year,11-12. Angel did not beat his best time, and lost the 50 for it, would have had to beat it to win. That guy who lives foreign, shows up just for these provincials, did 25.85, angel did 26.11. Mammy say he had a bad start, I say nah, is something else..for the med.relay the coach, had to change up the team , just for relay Doh, it's  '98-2000. The only boy we could add to the team, was a 1st timer at this level, and he tried and swam the breast well..so lilman who usually does fly, did back,the boy, Mike did breast, Habs switch from back to fly, Angel finish in free..yuh know , angel swim 25.04 and bring dem back from 5 th to 2 nd. Ah say da'iz it...he put on he wrong head, he put on he team head, when he was supposed to bring the individual head..he was still smiling on way home doh..even if he didn't like it..ah sure ,he wanted to show in that relay, he could have won, he said, yeah...I said, wrong head...should have been other way...we laugh..but the brain register it...

Lilman, won 1999-2000, 50 free, 26.25 & 200 im , 2.24.85... The boy won't crack a smile..meanwhile ppl congratulating cause the list possible prov. record, we telling dem no, he's 3 mths to old ( he will always be to old for the LC meets records)... :idea: I get it..no ka-ching?.cause when yuh break a record here, you get a monetary prize, so he supposed to get 3 provincials,1 national, cheque in mail, from before he turn 12, but he still swimming 11-12, but 13..so he mashing the record times, but no Dunzai forthcoming...so ah remind him,they change the best boy rules..most medal win, based on color...certificate & a few bucks dey...he ask how much..ah say, not sure, will let u know, after final this evening..buh is really 125.. I figure if he win he 3 events today, I go tell him, if he don't, I go call, lilbit amt...     :devil:
Otherwise, he might beat he wushu master..not cause ah the money, he spoil an have all he want already, right mammy?, but for he, is principle...is just one slip, even if yuh could break record, when yuh DQ..then is, "Sorry,maybe next time".   But in Age group, yuh rarely have next time, cause yuh dun older.
« Last Edit: July 20, 2012, 12:22:57 PM by maxg »

« Reply #238 on: July 01, 2012, 10:29:50 PM »
Lilman ended with 7 golds in 7 events,11-12 ('00,'99 ). Won plaque for best boy in age group.
 Angel had 5 silver,amongst '98s. Was 3rd runner-up in his age group.

...more details later

Did some best times, achieved a couple age group & eastern Canada natnl standards

https://www.swimming.ca/meetreport.aspx?mid=11436

We going to Mzting old club for a tryout fit..everybody still not comfortable, but now if we don't try we will all be miserable..don't think they will enjoy it, especially as our club not going to Nationals, and swimming supposed to be done...ah will tell dem , dey might see Bovell, Doh Mzting dun say she rather see Machel...

Ah make mom a bet we go see George in the Carifiesta on Saturday,in between prelims & finals....now ah talking, eh Mzting ? Oh btw Mzting, your 1st Track meet is this weekend, you missing the jump up...

Yuh hear that ?       That is Mzting bawling
« Last Edit: July 05, 2012, 10:04:44 PM by maxg »

« Reply #239 on: July 14, 2012, 04:20:07 PM »
Just saw this old (april) article in our local community paper , didn't know it was online
http://montrealcommunitycontact.com/sports/12-west-island-trio-eye-2016-in-the-pool

The good news, Mzting went to a tryout swim with the boys, and said she wants to go again. Maybe she will go back after all..

Would have liked to take them to the TT Age grip. SC meet, as we'all on vacation, but we can't afford it...lilman say " I don't think that's a good idea dad"..training 2 times a week won't make me ready for TT.....But Mzting who quit swimming saying "lewwe go dad, lewwee go"  " how do u like my Trini dad?" ... I' m ready for them...

She mad yes