April 19, 2024, 12:35:53 PM

Author Topic: lil swimmers  (Read 166531 times)

Re: lil swimmers
« Reply #570 on: December 21, 2016, 03:27:55 PM »
Lilman breaks the jnr & Senior short course record in the 200 fly, previously held by Christian Homer, doing 2.00.26, placing 2nd in that event.
old time
200m butterfly   2:03.49      Christian Homer       November 2009   ASA Southwest Regional   United Kingdom   
new time
2 Lilman             17 Pointe-Claire Sw  2:04.27    2:00.26 

http://www.swimontario.com/liveresults/

Offline Swima

« Reply #571 on: December 22, 2016, 06:46:42 AM »
Ummm, lil man broke his own record. He went 2:02 last year. What kinda father you is boy?!?!?   ::)
Success will never take you by surprise.

« Reply #572 on: December 22, 2016, 08:15:54 PM »
Ummm, lil man broke his own record. He went 2:02 last year. What kinda father you is boy?!?!?   ::)
Obviously ah late one,  :D I went wiki, cause couldn't find list on the site  ..He and mammy dun straighten meh out doh..i forget to correct mehself...so ah forgetful too  :rotfl:
now if he did listen to meh and play football, i woulda know all the stats  ::)
« Last Edit: December 22, 2016, 08:17:59 PM by maxg »

« Reply #573 on: December 27, 2016, 11:26:46 AM »
Swima, swimming mammy just told me, she heard that Camo heading TT for their camp. Our top club in Quebec, doh we a close 2nd. Hail out Greg,very nice guy, very good coach. I hope if things go good, we can convince them next.
https://www.facebook.com/notes/sportt/canadian-swimmers-choose-tt-for-training-camp/1434714246573254
« Last Edit: December 27, 2016, 03:02:20 PM by maxg »

« Reply #574 on: December 27, 2016, 11:21:03 PM »

« Last Edit: December 30, 2016, 01:55:54 AM by maxg »

Offline Swima

« Reply #576 on: December 30, 2016, 07:22:06 AM »
Boy Max, I am only disappointed that the aquatics body wasn't asked to play a more prominent role in the whole thing. I won't go airing out everything, but my wish is that by the time your club arrives, we can do more to assist the process by which these teams are courted and our facility is prepared to receive them.

« Reply #577 on: December 31, 2016, 10:35:31 AM »
Boy Max, I am only disappointed that the aquatics body wasn't asked to play a more prominent role in the whole thing. I won't go airing out everything, but my wish is that by the time your club arrives, we can do more to assist the process by which these teams are courted and our facility is prepared to receive them.
I did find it strange reading
 "Sport Company of Trinidad and Tobago (SporTT ) Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Adam Montserin and Tourism Development Company Acting CEO Warren Solomon welcomed the CAMO team on their arrival at Piarco International Airport. "

No mention of ASTT, thus a totally eco-politico production and nothing to do with TT swim. Ok, if that's the beat, then y'all must find a way to chip to it, without committing to a single tune or a single DJ/band/party.
eg. Send info,invitations, Contact clubs, coaches directly, as ASTT, I don't think politically they will blank the event if organized properly, they will at least show dey face, and press flesh, even if all in the name of points.
Our club off to Puerto Rico at 1 k less than it cost CAMO swimmers (as far as i know), but if bringing 2 TT nationals reps club is any kind of selling point, don't see how they can move left when y'all moving correct & right.

« Reply #578 on: January 10, 2017, 07:12:30 AM »
Wish we could be next

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RFHgzZhkrCk

I think the Ministry should buy this from Jon. He's the darkskinned (lol, black) guy.
« Last Edit: January 10, 2017, 07:24:37 AM by maxg »

Offline Swima

« Reply #579 on: January 10, 2017, 01:17:01 PM »
I fully agree. Great promotional tool.

« Reply #580 on: January 16, 2017, 12:54:36 PM »

I did what I could, not giving up yet (working on a skype call)

Offline Swima

« Reply #581 on: January 16, 2017, 01:00:01 PM »
Yeah, I feel we losing the race. Btw I met the coach back in Hawaii at jr Pan Pacifics in 2010. He may not remember me though. He told me he spent some time down in the Bahamas. We met up again in Dubai in 2013 Jr Worlds.

« Reply #582 on: January 29, 2017, 11:42:01 AM »
once again, kids suffering from a embarrassed feeling of taking someone place on TT team.. at this point, i will let things work out, Right now we busy on trying to organize applications and finances for education.
http://www.calvulcans.com/news/2017/1/25/swimming-goin-garners-weekly-league-accolade.aspx
« Last Edit: January 29, 2017, 02:58:55 PM by maxg »

Offline Swima

« Reply #583 on: January 30, 2017, 05:35:14 AM »
It's their place if it is earned. No one's spot can be taken. Just want them to remember that. We have a pathway to junior elite and senior elite waiting for them if they want to be a part of it.

« Reply #584 on: January 30, 2017, 04:24:12 PM »

« Reply #585 on: February 10, 2017, 12:02:35 PM »
CCCan looking good as far as timing is concerned for everyone, however, will not be tapered. Only a couple issues to be resolved, before  standard achievement, confirmation and application to make the team (so far, all 3 interested). Then we have to count our funds. Seems like Carifta will definitely be a no-go. Lilman going to a grand prix and Fl camp with prov. team, and don't want to miss school twice, besides addtl funding. Dammit still a long way to go. :thinking:
« Last Edit: February 11, 2017, 09:59:44 PM by maxg »

« Reply #586 on: February 20, 2017, 05:01:32 PM »
MzTing placed 3rd in 200 fly at State championships last weekend. Dropped 4 secs, doing 2.07.40. Her coach was more excited than her, he said "it's great to see a swimmer mature and finally finding herself as an athlete". (18 hr drive was worth it)
Angel will be doing 6 events this weekend at Ottawa Geegees invt. (only 8 hr drive across the 2 days)
Lilman will be flying off to Indiana March 2 - 4, 2017: arena Pro Swim Series at Indianapolis (Indiana University Natatorium, IUPUI) then following that, fly off to Florida for a Provincial team Camp (ah not making that drive nah, at all, besides lilman is bigman now)
add: http://www.usaswimming.org/DesktopDefault.aspx?TabId=2798&Alias=Rainbow&Lang=en

hmmm..coach not having them tapered, shaved, hope at least racing suit..

Lilman doing 5 events (100,200 free, 100,200 fly,100 back) best ranking 200 fly, hoping for a C final, worse 100 free and back (50's)

also at the meet. Joshua Romany (50 ,100 free). Josh had a decent college championship, had some good times making a couple B finals, seems to be on his way back, well done Joshua.
« Last Edit: February 28, 2017, 12:33:42 PM by maxg »

« Reply #587 on: March 09, 2017, 08:19:29 PM »
Angel, 50,100 free,fly & breast..so far going into A final in 4th in 100 fly - real bun the last 10 metres, coach thinks caused he flub his turn, and had to work to hard to get back
https://www.swimrankings.net/services/CalendarFile/17610/live/

add: didn't improve on prelims much in 50 free (24.71), struggled at the end..realizing the importance of training, when yuh bun in the 50. Unfortunately no control this school term. Asst. coach was satisfied doh, was in the medals the 1st 35. Local University coach spoke with him. Given the "State of the Union", I more comfortable with him staying home.
« Last Edit: March 10, 2017, 05:03:45 PM by maxg »

« Reply #588 on: March 16, 2017, 11:45:55 PM »
http://www.hy-tekltd.com/swim-meet-software.html
For National and International meets

MeetMobile
http://activesupport.force.com/hytekswimming/articles/en_US/Article/Meet-Mobile-Publishing

SplashMe
https://appadvice.com/app/splashme/584805809

add: Friday at 1 pm. Still awaiting yesterday's results when it could be done real time (300 to 500 usd)
add: up now (1.50 pm) thanks
add: faster posting of results today. Good swimtt. Still feel live is the way to go
« Last Edit: March 18, 2017, 06:04:29 PM by maxg »

« Reply #589 on: March 31, 2017, 12:20:58 PM »
One of lilman jnr teamates just put down 2.06.74 in 200 fly prelims. Fastest in the club and 2nd age group fastest in the province, 3rd AG fastest in the country this season. Hopefully this will get lilman pushing back. His best time ever in LC being 2.06.71, but hoping for a 2.02 or lower, by season end. In addition, Angel is trying to train a little more working on his 100 fly, amongst 50's,these 2 guys might push him to do a little more fine tuning, as Coaches mammy an Martin are noticing a few technical flaws resurfacing which he can work on, 'clean up or get waves in yuh face'. What may have had him down, 3 of his other snr teamates (2 close friends) left the sport. 2 due to injury and sickness, 1, due to school. Hoping he can push past the negativity of that. Anyway, Race on. Good luck son.
https://www.swimrankings.net/services/CalendarFile/17933/live/index.html

nb: our(TT) top swimmers would make A finals at this provincial level.. and maybe challenge for medals
« Last Edit: March 31, 2017, 12:45:22 PM by maxg »

Offline Swima

« Reply #590 on: March 31, 2017, 01:32:18 PM »

nb: our(TT) top swimmers would make A finals at this provincial level.. and maybe challenge for medals

And yet that means nothing in the context of world success, and compared to us, the provincial population is probably 20 times ours, and in a country with swimming pedigree.

« Reply #591 on: March 31, 2017, 02:40:12 PM »

And yet that means nothing in the context of world success, and compared to us, the provincial population is probably 20 times ours, and in a country with swimming pedigree.

baby steps - we just need one or two to motivate the few and possibly encourage a few more...y'all doing great work with the tools and material you have, and I see your charges are making the sacrifices and effort. Many here and there, who are involved know how difficult it is.

Club : 500 competitive, Regional:2000,Provincial : 12000 (plus maybe equal number non-competitive. Part of the recruitment strength is the long winter. Hockey  & ringette (major comp.participants), skiing, then swimming, then there is minor part. in other items, soccer, gymnastics, track. Limited only by facilities. thus in the whole scheme of things approx. .0015 of prov. pop competitively swim. like everything else i's a numbers game. There it's harder for a kid to devote to the training required, given the limited facilities, and competition with other sporting and entertainment outdoor events. Your one or two products, real look like plenty to me.
« Last Edit: March 31, 2017, 03:11:10 PM by maxg »

« Reply #592 on: April 07, 2017, 07:53:37 AM »
Lilman had a disappointing swim yesterday at Nationals, he is a little down as he expected to drop time but didn't happen. Did 1.56.56(pb: 1.55.31) in 200 free trial, had to do at least a 1.52, hoped for at least a pb.
 Found out he only had a light breakfast and was a bit hungry and unnerved. Mammy think it's a little deeper, mental  training, as he panics as he becomes fatigued. He will have to face these disappointments and surpass them on his own. Usually we there to support, but being the meet is across the country, we couldn't afford it. Hopefully he has a better swim today in 100 free trial and can put his disappointment of yesterday swim behind him.

https://results.swimming.ca/2017_Team_Canada_Trials/

http://www.cbc.ca/sports/olympics/summer/aquatics/canadian-swimming-trials-stream-1.4054804

add: the disappointment continued. Just barely did a pb in 200 fly (not even a full half second). He was quite down. Of course he wasn't selected to WJ team. A few swimmers was sick, and some who would normally do well, didn't. He and mommy were in extensive discussions doh. He need to make some adjustments and approach his training differently. She is hoping when he get back, he is open to listening to us about details. One of which, being having a better rapport with his coaches. We can't help with the technical and physical, We can only help with the support and maybe some motivational. The rest is up to his Teachers at school , his coaches and most of all himself. However, Team Canada still invited him to the WJ team camp, I don't think doh, they are in a position to change their mind, as many boys were close. the best 200 fly prospect was 2.02.38 and standard was 2.02.31 and he wasn't selected. We were afraid they would select lilman for relay team as he was in with that, but seemed given the standards, they forgo the relay team. Fine by me.  I know he coming in a funk anyway, cause he don't like failure, so our first priority is help him, pick himself up. But he is the one who has to get up, we not gonna deadlift him.  Here we go. Let's see if we can be good by CCCan and beyond.
« Last Edit: April 11, 2017, 02:17:02 PM by maxg »

« Reply #593 on: April 12, 2017, 09:24:02 PM »
 :frustrated: :pissedoff:
 i taking a break..everybody on dey own in the short term..

« Reply #594 on: April 18, 2017, 12:20:47 PM »

« Reply #595 on: April 20, 2017, 07:10:49 AM »
Think Lilman dropping 2 events, will only be doing 7, he having shoulder pain. Was icing and Canadian healing oil all week

https://results.swimming.ca/2017_Speedo_Eastern_Championships/

add: Gonna have to do a pb to get into the medal ceremony int he 200 fr.

Did 1.55.60, according to mammy, seems like he sticking with his hard-headness, don't think we will see much improvement till he goes back to his old but better technique and mindset. Hopefully sooner than later. I gave up butting my head on that wall,  :frustrated:  but I know mammy will never surrender.
« Last Edit: April 20, 2017, 07:42:59 PM by maxg »

« Reply #596 on: April 20, 2017, 08:16:15 PM »
On a positive note, if I'm not mistaken, Tariq Lashley establishes a new TT record in 200 breast placing 3 Rd  with a time of 2.23.29. Way to go Tariq.

« Reply #597 on: April 23, 2017, 06:51:24 PM »
1st the good news..lilman finally dropped a confident smidgitn of time in the 50,100 and 200 fly. Is mammy gettin thru ? mammy say he seem quite elated, and fixed a couple of the bad habits in those swims. Hopefully he will continue to improve.
50 fly: 25.91
100 fly: 55.63
200 fly : 2.05.85

the other news, not really bad, but his(lilman's) club teammate broke his 15-16 club record doing 2.05.94.
« Last Edit: April 23, 2017, 07:38:32 PM by maxg »

Offline Swima

« Reply #598 on: April 23, 2017, 08:38:33 PM »
National records for both Lashley and Goin on both 200's. Maxg, the 200 fly result wasn't posted. I will need to see it to have it ratified.

« Reply #599 on: April 23, 2017, 09:08:29 PM »
it's on MeetMobile, however, it probably will be on swimrankings.net in a day or so.. :wavetowel:

Add:
https://www.swimrankings.net/index.php?page=meetDetail&meetId=601703&gender=1&styleId=17

Just realized Tariq had also done a pb in the 200 fly on same day 2.07.04
Could possibly be Tt reps in 200 fly at 15-7 (Lilman) and 18+ (Tariq, besides 200 breast). Now if MzTing and Angel could do amazing swims the expense might be worth the family trip, even if is partly heavy duty swimming .. it's in TT and for TT. Canada might not like what these guys might put down, as far as times in the future, but I'm sure will love them still.  🇨🇦 and 🇹🇹 .. just like me... ok ok I swim like a 🦀, mostly walk on the bottom.. but I is a 🇹🇹 🦀, so "Let's goT&T", who vex lorse
« Last Edit: April 26, 2017, 01:53:58 AM by maxg »