April 26, 2024, 07:32:09 AM

Author Topic: Kenwyne to undergo surgery.  (Read 4526 times)

Offline takenoprisoners

Kenwyne to undergo surgery.
« on: June 16, 2008, 09:19:26 AM »
Mail on Sunday
Blow for Sunderland boss Keane as striker Jones faces lengthy spell on the sidelines
By MARTIN HARDY
Last updated at 3:21 PM on 16th June 2008

Kenwyne Jones will undergo surgery on his right knee next week that could rule  him out for the majority of the new season.

As revealed in Sportsmail, the Sunderland forward suffered a serious injury in  his collision with David James in Trinidad and Tobago’s 3-0 defeat to  England at the start of June.

Club medics fear Jones has damaged his cruciate ligament which would rule him out for around nine months.

Unlucky Black Cat: Jones could be out for a long time

Tentative plans have been drawn up for the 23-year-old to be operated on in the middle of next week.

Jones will go under  the surgeon’s knife but if he has damaged his cruciate, then he will be lucky  to play any part in Sunderland’s second season back in the Barclays Premier  League.

Jones' absence for the majority of the season would leave a huge hole in Roy  Keane’s plans.
He scored seven league goals as Sunderland preserved their top-flight status following his £6million move from Southampton.
His form drew  attention from Liverpool, who were warned to forget about making a £10m offer.

Keane labelled Jones an untouchable and will have to redraw his summer transfer  plans if the striker is to miss most of the forthcoming campaign.
He still  intends to move for Diego Forlan but could have to find their funds for a  stop-gap target man.

Sunderland will seek hefty compensation from the Trinidad and Tobago FA for losing such a key figure for such a long time.

http://www.mailonsunday.co.uk/sport/football/article-1026823/Blow-Sunderland-boss-Keane-striker-Jones-faces-lengthy-spell-sidelines.html?ITO=1490
« Last Edit: June 16, 2008, 09:57:03 AM by TakeNoPrisoners »

Re: Kenwyne to undergo surgery.
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2008, 09:25:59 AM »
Sunderland will seek hefty compensation from the Trinidad and Tobago FA for losing such a key figure for such a long time.

I assume that is the reason you would insure your players!!  I would think Kenwyne would have been insured for this game or else he would have never played. 

Am I incorrect here?

Offline takenoprisoners

« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2008, 09:34:10 AM »

I assume that is the reason you would insure your players!!  I would think Kenwyne would have been insured for this game or else he would have never played. 

Am I incorrect here?
Correck, Best of luck to Kenwyne.
« Last Edit: June 16, 2008, 09:35:48 AM by TakeNoPrisoners »

« Reply #3 on: June 16, 2008, 09:36:29 AM »
Still no word as to the degree of the injury though. I guess thats what the operation will find out

« Reply #4 on: June 16, 2008, 10:20:35 AM »

Brother that is how it is normally done... If the TTFF did not insure him it would not suprize me either....
Remember when Yorke got hurt on national duty and dem men never called to ask how he was doing....

« Reply #5 on: June 16, 2008, 10:24:48 AM »
I assume that is the reason you would insure your players!! I would think Kenwyne would have been insured for this game or else he would have never played.

Brother that is how it is normally done... If the TTFF did not insure him it would not suprize me either....
Remember when Yorke got hurt on national duty and dem men never called to ask how he was doing....

True...I also wondering if he woulda get insurance in the first place seeing that he was already carrying an injury when he was selected.

« Reply #6 on: June 16, 2008, 11:24:04 AM »
Dey could seek but me eh so sure dey go find

« Reply #7 on: June 16, 2008, 12:14:16 PM »
You mean to tell me two facking weeks later and they still can't tell exactly what wrong with him?  What de ass they scanning he knee with... ah fax machine??

« Reply #8 on: June 16, 2008, 01:02:18 PM »
You mean to tell me two facking weeks later and they still can't tell exactly what wrong with him?  What de ass they scanning he knee with... ah fax machine??
Probably keeping it quiet so that desperation don't send up the price of a replacement.

Meanwhile, somebody on Sunderland message board say Kenwyne himself telling people he out til March.

Offline Augi

« Reply #9 on: June 16, 2008, 01:09:23 PM »
Jones I wish you a speedy recovery.This is a Big blow to our World Cup campaign.

« Reply #10 on: June 16, 2008, 01:40:26 PM »
Great job by Portsmouth's James to f up we player and potentially sideline him for the next 10mths,hurting both National and club duty, for a in consequential "FETE" match to celebrate 100 yrs of bullshit from TTFF with a team who currently stuggling to differentiate they ass from they elbow

THANK YOU JACK ASSS WARNER

Offline redtrinigirl

• A Trini In London
« Reply #11 on: June 16, 2008, 01:44:24 PM »
Probably keeping it quiet so that desperation don't send up the price of a replacement.

Meanwhile, somebody on Sunderland message board say Kenwyne himself telling people he out til March.

Absolute nonsense. He will be back alot sooner than people think.  ;)
Attraction of the Mind gives Respect.
Attraction of the Heart gives Friendship.
Attraction of the Body gives Desire.

Attraction of all Three of them at once …
gives Love.

« Reply #12 on: June 16, 2008, 01:56:57 PM »
Great job by Portsmouth's James to f up we player and potentially sideline him for the next 10mths,hurting both National and club duty, for a in consequential "FETE" match to celebrate 100 yrs of bullshit from TTFF with a team who currently stuggling to differentiate they ass from they elbow

People need to get off James case... unless allyuh ready to blame KJ too for not pulling up on ah 50-50 ball in a meaningless friendly.  Is just ah hardluck play, Jame heself could easily have been injured and with the shoe on the other foot nobody here would be blaming KJ for injuring James.

« Reply #13 on: June 16, 2008, 01:57:47 PM »

Bake allyuh real good yes...

« Reply #14 on: June 16, 2008, 02:28:31 PM »

he should have neva played !!! to begin

Offline kev

• Lifes a bitch, then you marry one
« Reply #15 on: June 16, 2008, 02:52:04 PM »
So far I have seen everything from 6 weeks to 9 months, somebody is bound to have struck lucky with their guess.  All the speculation is meaningless his injury is what it is and he will be out for however long it takes, all the debate and worrying in the world isn't going to change that.  The worst scenario of them all is that he doesn't have an operation comes back after a couple of months and it goes again, tahts him out till next summer.

It should be the teh TTFA who insures the players for their matches and as such the club should be able to claim against that, otherwise the club can ask teh TTFA to shell out.  As happened with the english FA and Eufa wuth Michael Owen.

« Reply #16 on: June 16, 2008, 03:08:57 PM »
Jones I wish you a speedy recovery.This is a Big blow to our World Cup campaign.

what World Cup campaign is that?

« Reply #17 on: June 16, 2008, 03:19:37 PM »

« Reply #18 on: June 16, 2008, 03:33:39 PM »

People need to get off James case... unless allyuh ready to blame KJ too for not pulling up on ah 50-50 ball in a meaningless friendly.  Is just ah hardluck play, Jame heself could easily have been injured and with the shoe on the other foot nobody here would be blaming KJ for injuring James.

Damn you voice of reason !! GRRRRRR!

Offline Tigger

« Reply #19 on: June 16, 2008, 03:46:06 PM »
Blow for Sunderland boss Keane as striker Jones faces lengthy spell on the sidelines

Can anybony give me some good news..

« Reply #20 on: June 16, 2008, 03:47:21 PM »
Until this news hits the BBC I not taking it on.

Up to now the only news BBC have on Sunderland is that they release 8 players which is about 2 weeks ago.

« Reply #21 on: June 16, 2008, 07:19:04 PM »

Ok Bake (Last word) N Shark my real focus of attack was the circumstances of that game. Kenwyane's injury is almost a metaphor to the state of affairs of the Team and TTFF "INJURED!"

Offline Cartman

Kenwynne
« Reply #22 on: June 22, 2008, 03:23:00 AM »
Just back from my holiday and I have found out Kenwynne is probably out till January, I am gutted about this. We are really gonna struggle without him leading the line like he did so well last season.

We already needed to buy one striker but now we need two, we are in for Darren Bent for £16.5m....that's lot of money like!

:'( :'(
Roy Keane's Red & White Army

Re: Kenwynne
« Reply #23 on: June 22, 2008, 09:01:02 AM »
Just back from my holiday and I have found out Kenwynne is probably out till January, I am gutted about this. We are really gonna struggle without him leading the line like he did so well last season.

We already needed to buy one striker but now we need two, we are in for Darren Bent for £16.5m....that's lot of money like!

:'( :'(

Darren Bent is a decent player but that amount of money is outrageous.

« Reply #24 on: June 22, 2008, 09:10:26 AM »
Advice to Keano:

1. Buy back Stern John. Yep, you heard me, eat some humble pie and  buy back de man  >:(
2. Bent for 16.5 million eh go be doing anymore than Stern-turn-inho for 1/2 million, trus meh.

« Reply #25 on: June 22, 2008, 10:22:55 AM »
Still no word as to the degree of the injury though. I guess thats what the operation will find out

Who ever giving we that report, cutting it short with tha lil bit ah info. ::) Once they do an X-ray for broken bones they will also do an MRI to determine damage to his ligaments and or tissue damage. The surgeons know what going in his knee even before they operate...so thee reporters ent coming correct for we, with what really going with we striker. ??? We needed tha man in the front line today boi. Oh gosh…Father help we!

« Reply #26 on: June 22, 2008, 12:08:07 PM »

« Reply #27 on: June 22, 2008, 05:57:20 PM »
I wish him a speedy recovery however long he is out for.

On a side note if Sunderland  sue the TTFF questions of its legitimacy as a private organization might arise.

I wonder if the international media is aware that the TTFF is an a private organization?

Does any one know if any other FA's are in the same status?

« Reply #28 on: June 25, 2008, 09:40:55 PM »
Some more news on KJ.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/sports4.html

LONDON – The Sunderland manager Roy Keane is reported to be on the hunt for a top striker to replace his injured T&T international Kenwyne Jones.

Sunderland is reporting that a knee injury Jones suffered in T&T’s recent friendly against England is set to keep the 23-year-old striker out of football until December, and the premier league side needs a short term replacement for the first half of the season.

Various newspaper reports have mentioned Manchester City’s Benjani Mwaruwari and James Beattie, of Sheffield United, as targets.

It has been suggested that Keane is willing to spend five million pounds to land Beattie or Zimbabwe-born Benjani. (CMC)

« Reply #29 on: June 25, 2008, 10:07:59 PM »
Is d same injury dog had so u know what d prognosis is