March 29, 2024, 02:05:57 AM

Author Topic: What is a Ja-litre?  (Read 9671 times)

What is a Ja-litre?
« on: June 22, 2008, 01:17:35 PM »
Fellas,

The original Jalitre was a one litre or a two litre bottle?

I in a argument here and I think it was a one litre but ppl arguing is a two.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Re: What is a Ja-litre?
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2008, 01:19:00 PM »
I think it is the 2 ltr bottle. Now I have been away from home a loooong te so I may be wrong

« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2008, 01:23:03 PM »
This is from the Cole Cold website:
http://www.chubbysd.com/colecold%20files/colecold.htm

The 2 litre and 1 litre packages were nick-named 'Jaliter' a merger of the name Jaleel (the company's name) and litre. Locals often refer to competitive brands of 2 litre by this name as well. 'Jaliter' has now become a generic name for 2 litre bottles and other competitive brands are also referred to as a 'Jaliter'.

So I guess the technical answer is "both"  :beermug:

« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2008, 04:10:38 PM »
was the original doubles one bake to pull over de channa or was it always two?

btw how much for ah aloo pie nowadays?

« Reply #4 on: June 22, 2008, 04:11:26 PM »
D Jalitre was a 2lt when it bus out on d scene

« Reply #5 on: June 22, 2008, 04:32:12 PM »
daiz sweedrink. ;D

« Reply #6 on: June 22, 2008, 04:41:18 PM »
every two litre drink is now called is a Jalitre ;D

« Reply #7 on: June 22, 2008, 05:28:55 PM »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #8 on: June 22, 2008, 05:50:08 PM »
The original set of ads featured the one litre, but from the get go it referred to both the 1 and 2 litre drinks.

« Reply #9 on: June 22, 2008, 09:38:11 PM »
every two litre drink is now called is a Jalitre ;D

yeah I remember being sent to buy a jalitre of Coca Cola.

Anybody remember before them plastic 2 litre bottles the economy size for coke was a a 1 litre "coke-shaped" green glass bottle with a crimped cap. And that used to seem like plenty.

Now man putting that down in two gulp.

« Reply #10 on: June 22, 2008, 11:54:18 PM »
of course I remember that and they were in wooden bottle crates too

« Reply #11 on: June 23, 2008, 07:13:39 AM »
we use to say ah 1 liter or a smaliter remember that .Jaliter was for the 2 liter ,as I remember.

« Reply #12 on: June 23, 2008, 08:15:44 AM »
It was the 2 litre.

If all yuh remember long time the 2 liter bottle had a black piece at the bottom of the bottle that yuh could ah rip out and yuh modda use to plant seedlings in them.

The only thing that use to come 1litre was RC Cola with the blue label.

Offline mal jeux

« Reply #13 on: June 23, 2008, 01:06:53 PM »
ja-litre is the measurement system used by dreadies.  :angel:

"How many times do I have to flush before you go away?"

« Reply #14 on: June 23, 2008, 03:30:18 PM »

« Reply #15 on: June 24, 2008, 11:04:17 AM »

Bu Dum Bum Ching

Offline trinindian

• Curried Wild Meat With Plenty Hot Pepper
« Reply #16 on: June 24, 2008, 11:52:09 AM »
It was the 2 litre.

If all yuh remember long time the 2 liter bottle had a black piece at the bottom of the bottle that yuh could ah rip out and yuh modda use to plant seedlings in them.

The only thing that use to come 1litre was RC Cola with the blue label.

yep i remember this. back when solo yo yo was out .

« Reply #17 on: June 24, 2008, 04:48:57 PM »
SM Jaleel lick dem up with distribution all dem lil parlour had cole cole. d good doc game 2 my Int Bus when I was doin my MBA and told us what was done plus d lauch of chubby real intrestin story d man is a MD who went into business

« Reply #18 on: June 24, 2008, 05:07:22 PM »
SM Jaleel lick dem up with distribution all dem lil parlour had cole cole. d good doc game 2 my Int Bus when I was doin my MBA and told us what was done plus d lauch of chubby real intrestin story d man is a MD who went into business

Every now an dem yuh does read aboot dem kinda super geniuses

Like dis fellah 31yrs..de man have Bsc, Msc, MD,MBA...and now lookin to focus on heart surgery
And I did think gettin  top marks in my O levels was plenty

http://www.thestar.com/article/446504

« Reply #19 on: June 24, 2008, 09:07:56 PM »
Yep dem fellas not easy

« Reply #20 on: June 28, 2008, 07:30:55 PM »
The Original Jalitre was a 1 litre bottle and was $2:50 I believe when it hit the market.