April 25, 2024, 11:37:18 AM

Author Topic: What is the origin of the Soca Warriors nickname?  (Read 20980 times)

What is the origin of the Soca Warriors nickname?
« on: November 07, 2005, 09:20:46 AM »
Tallman now that we on the Verge of History, Where is the History recorded?

Now that we on the verge of making the World Cup where is the information on how the Socawarriors name came about etc.

I cant remember the details even though it is a recent name.

We need to document this good because right about now we walking in the History.

All about this time so next week TnT up 5-0 from the forst leg and Party done start already.
« Last Edit: November 07, 2005, 09:27:45 AM by Tallman »

Re: What is the origin of the Soca Warriors nickname?
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2005, 01:33:38 PM »
I am not sure of de exact set of circumstances, but de team started using de name in 1999. In 2000,  Alison Ayres (composer of "Road to Italy") tried to change it to de "Soca Bomb Squad" but nobody eh take he on. Of course, Warner try tuh change it tuh jes Warriors but dat and all eh wuk.

« Reply #2 on: November 26, 2005, 01:38:23 PM »
I always thought that it was a move to give the team a marketable identity simlar to the JA team being called the reggaeboyz, which in turn (I suspect) was an identification with the Samba boys moniker used for Brazil.

I don't know of any team using national music to symbolize the team before Brazil

« Reply #3 on: November 26, 2005, 01:42:58 PM »
ah just had a thought..allyuh think they going to retire the 'Soca Warriors' name after the World Cup?..just like how "Strike Squad" is now symbolic with our past?..and we say there will never be 'another' Strike Squad.
whats allyuh opinion on this?

« Reply #4 on: November 26, 2005, 01:46:35 PM »
ah just had a thought..allyuh think they going to retire the 'Soca Warriors' name after the World Cup?..just like how "Strike Squad" is now symbolic with our past?..and we say there will never be 'another' Strike Squad.
whats allyuh opinion on this?

Nah Soca Warriors there for good.... we was Soca Warriors last campaign too

« Reply #5 on: November 26, 2005, 01:48:40 PM »
leave well enough alone

« Reply #6 on: November 26, 2005, 01:51:20 PM »
but it remained cause the other team previously failed..right?
if thats not the case..why they retire Strike squad then?

« Reply #7 on: November 26, 2005, 02:13:17 PM »
i am 99.9% sure of this.....peter miller the englishman in charge of marketing for the ttff 4 yrs ago
came up with the " soca warriors" name.......i even saw a soca warriors football scarf in his office.....i collect football scarves from around the world and i would really like to get that one.....tnt tnt tnt

« Reply #8 on: November 26, 2005, 02:17:57 PM »
As long as I been comin on dis website...it's been known as the soca warriors.  That means it was around at least as long as 2000.  That lyrics about Peter Mitchell starting it seems to ring a bell with me.  Think that may well be accurate.

Offline Socaman

• Live Yuh Life Like Yuh Playin Mas!!!!
« Reply #9 on: November 26, 2005, 02:48:29 PM »
i heard that peter Mitchell was the man that satarted calling the team de socawarriors!!! Don't know if it's true

« Reply #10 on: November 26, 2005, 04:04:54 PM »
i heard that peter Mitchell was the man that satarted calling the team de socawarriors!!! Don't know if it's true

You guys never heard of a poster called Defender? Well he is the originator of that name. A business man, a friend and a patriot. He never told me why he stopped posting just that he is too busy with his businesses and for other reasons he has never told me. All he does is read when he has the time.
« Last Edit: November 26, 2005, 04:09:45 PM by sub1 »

« Reply #11 on: November 26, 2005, 04:06:48 PM »

Peter Mitchell?  Like you join Observer in dah fan club or wha?   ;D

Offline ß!aCkÒuT

• Time To Play The Game
« Reply #12 on: November 26, 2005, 04:42:37 PM »
Dey cyah change d name because we goin to make history...We goin to be d smallest team ever to win the world cup :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
If love were a flame, it has ignited my soul...my one spark has created the magnificent fire of true passion

".The Poet."

« Reply #13 on: November 26, 2005, 04:44:13 PM »
i am 99.9% sure of this.....peter miller the englishman in charge of marketing for the ttff 4 yrs ago
came up with the " soca warriors" name.......i even saw a soca warriors football scarf in his office.....i collect football scarves from around the world and i would really like to get that one.....tnt tnt tnt

After the game against Bahrain on the radio ... the commentators asked that very same question. Who came up with the name Soca Warriors. From what they all said it was the commentator Selwyn (who ever ...can't rememeber his last name... but the boring one) who called the National team Socawarriors first. Everyone was in agreement with that claim to fame so ..... it could be him. Apparantly he did it while commentating a game and it stuck.

Offline ß!aCkÒuT

• Time To Play The Game
« Reply #14 on: November 26, 2005, 04:49:12 PM »
After the game against Bahrain on the radio ... the commentators asked that very same question. Who came up with the name Soca Warriors. From what they all said it was the commentator Selwyn (who ever ...can't rememeber his last name... but the boring one) who called the National team Socawarriors first. Everyone was in agreement with that claim to fame so ..... it could be him. Apparantly he did it while commentating a game and it stuck.

« Last Edit: November 26, 2005, 05:01:51 PM by Tallman »
If love were a flame, it has ignited my soul...my one spark has created the magnificent fire of true passion

".The Poet."

« Reply #15 on: November 26, 2005, 04:56:27 PM »

You guys never heard of a poster called Defender? Well he is the originator of that name. A business man, a friend and a patriot. He never told me why he stopped posting just that he is too busy with his businesses and for other reasons he has never told me. All he does is read when he has the time.

The name "Soca Warriors," came around in very early 1999 ... but was being bandied about in late 98 by the TTFF and their marketing thrust.

on the old TTFOL...Defender told us the name would be used ....however, he never admitted to having anything to do with it. In those days he was persona non grata with Jack..so ah know he wasnt working with them.

De asses decided on Soca Warriors becz ppl were still talking about the Reggae Boyz in France.

We had the Strike Squad..then the Dream Team...now Warriors.

We always have to go and spoil a good thing..we just can't leave well enough alone.
Just like the team uniform of the Strike Squad days and the 90s.

Peace,
« Last Edit: November 27, 2005, 09:01:40 AM by vb »

« Reply #16 on: November 26, 2005, 05:01:04 PM »

Selwyn melville ....not. Selwyn, Defender and I were in T&T When Selwyn was forced to acknowledge Defender as the originator. They were friends but after a business deal went south they went their seperate ways as, according to Defender, he, defender, is still waiting for for the Melville's fishing boat to make maoney so he, Melville, could pay him. I beieve that Melville is hoping for a copyright payout. Unlucky for him Defender has the post from Marc Pucell's site where he announced to the world the name  SOcawarriors.... Tallman may not know but I bet you Flex does. Flex and Defender, according to defender, knew each other very well and he gave Flex permission to use the name because of the respect that he had for the work that Flex was doing.....He showed me the email from Flex. So there you have it. Sub is seldom ever wrong.

« Reply #17 on: November 26, 2005, 05:09:55 PM »
I was on the site..when he announced the name...he did so a few weeks before it was official.

However, I dont remember him TAKING credit for it.

I'm not saying he's not the originator...but I just don't remeber him acknowledging it.. And I remember his post well.

Do any of the other regulars...Jumbie, SH etc, remeber this.

Peace,

« Reply #18 on: November 26, 2005, 05:18:10 PM »
I was on the site..when he announced the name...he did so a few weeks before it was official.

However, I dont remember him TAKING credit for it.

I'm not saying he's not the originator...but I just don't remeber him acknowledging it.. And I remember his post well.

Do any of the other regulars...Jumbie, SH etc, remeber this.

Peace,

You are right he still doesnt take credit for it.  But he is upset with those who are trying. A La MElville. He told me how he came up with the name and why he put it over as such. If he gives me the OK I will share it with you. I dont even feel comfortable with what i have i just put on the site.........I will defer to you VB.

« Reply #19 on: November 26, 2005, 05:25:07 PM »
Well u is a man who doh defer too often..  ;D

If there's more than meets the eye...

Offline StoreBayLimer

« Reply #20 on: November 26, 2005, 09:59:15 PM »

Selwyn Melville is the originator of the name socawarriors.  Some time around 1996, and before Marc Purcell started his site, Marc was asking around on the newsgroup soc.culture.caribbean what would be a good nickname for the team.  Socawarriors was not even mentioned then, it was some time later after Selwyn calling them that, that the name sort of stuck.  Let’s not forget also about the name soca-babes for the youth team of 1991.

« Reply #21 on: November 26, 2005, 11:09:01 PM »
me eh know about selywn, but ah know defender say dat was going to be de name.

Anyway..it come like when kitch call simon spree de inventor ah de pan....irrelevant since nobody patent it.

« Reply #22 on: November 27, 2005, 12:45:17 PM »
sub1...me eh no bout all de details....but ah do remeber defender iz de fus person who ah hear wid de name back in de day  :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #23 on: November 27, 2005, 01:32:59 PM »

Anyway..it come like when kitch call simon spree de inventor ah de pan....irrelevant since nobody patent it.

so wait we doh have ah patent?

Offline monty

« Reply #24 on: November 27, 2005, 01:51:07 PM »

so wait we doh have ah patent?

Not quite sure about this either.. but you must remember the short lived uproar regarding this:

Pan Future

In 2002, we were rudely made aware of how easily we can lose what we so glibly took for granted. For in April of that year the US Government granted the Whitmyre/Price patent to two Americans for supposedly being the first to make a steelpan using a hydrofoam press. It has been claimed that Dr. Clement Imbert, Senior Lecturer at the University of the West Indies and Eugene McDavid had already discovered this process in the 70’s, but lacked the financial resources to undertake the expensive and lengthy process for applying for a patent. The patent is now being challenged, but that is only the tip of the iceberg

« Reply #25 on: November 27, 2005, 02:00:52 PM »
monty boy that article almost bring tears to mah eyes :(

Offline dutchman

« Reply #26 on: November 27, 2005, 06:05:47 PM »
Trini walking in germany.
who are you ?
we are 'warriors'
what ?
yeah ah 'warrior'?
Well you look like a friendly guy to me,I'm danish and..
we are RED,
we are WHITE
we are DANISH DYNAMITE
ah we are the 'SOCA WARRIORS' ;)

I think Socawariors is a great name
why on earth did Jack wanted to change it into warriors ?
does anyone know that ?
For me warriors by itself sounds like a 70ties B movie.
dream team that sounds to me like US basketball
Belgium is not going to be in Germany so you could call yourself ''RED devils" naaa
it's Socawarriors you have the pan man... you don't realize how much better they sound then samba boys from Brazil or Argentina drums.. African drums the're all the same.
You're name needs that music connection just like JAmaica did.
Rumor has it that every other thing you read or hear is just a rumor.

« Reply #27 on: December 06, 2005, 05:22:55 PM »
Check dis, Swallow had ah album in 1989 entitled "The Soca Warrior".

« Last Edit: June 04, 2013, 08:43:59 AM by Tallman »

« Reply #28 on: December 06, 2005, 05:51:47 PM »
tallman yuh become a fugitive awa?  :rotfl:

NICE who would have thought they had secturity an ting  :D

« Reply #29 on: December 06, 2005, 05:54:07 PM »
COTT not making joke