April 26, 2024, 10:51:49 AM

Author Topic: Don Imus strikes again  (Read 6647 times)

Don Imus strikes again
« on: June 23, 2008, 06:24:53 PM »
NEW YORK (AP) - Don Imus has once again injected race into his radio show.

During an on-air conversation Monday about the arrests of suspended Dallas Cowboys cornerback Adam "Pacman" Jones, Imus asked, "What color is he?"

Told by sports announcer Warner Wolf that Jones is "African-American," Imus responded: "There you go. Now we know."

Civil rights leader Al Sharpton issued a statement calling the exchange disturbing "because it plays into stereotypes." He says his National Action Network was still deciding how to respond.

Imus was fired from his previous show last year after he made a racially charged comment about the Rutgers women's basketball team.

Representatives for Imus and WABC Radio haven't returned calls.

Offline assrancid

• Man who scratch ass should not bite fingernails.
  • Education should be the handmaid of citizenship.
    • Stony Brook University
Re: Don Imus strikes again
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2008, 07:43:15 PM »
Imus say that man is an ass of the highest quality and grain!

He is showing HIS true colours again!

« Reply #2 on: June 23, 2008, 07:51:09 PM »
Imus say he isanass
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #3 on: June 24, 2008, 09:29:40 AM »
sharpton and imus deserve each other oui

==

Don Imus says race comment was misunderstood

By SAMANTHA GROSS, Associated Press Writer

NEW YORK - Months after returning to the radio with a pledge to mend the wounds caused by his comments about a women's basketball team, Don Imus is once again defending on-air remarks regarding race.

During an on-air conversation Monday about the arrests of suspended Dallas Cowboys cornerback Adam Jones, Imus asked, "What color is he?"

Told by sports announcer Warner Wolf that Jones, who used to be nicknamed Pacman, is "African-American," Imus responded: "There you go. Now we know."

In the face of criticism that ensued, Imus said Monday that he had been misunderstood.

"I meant that he was being picked on because he's black," Imus said in a statement released by his spokesman.

The on-air exchange came six months after Imus' return to work on a new show on WABC-AM following his firing from MSNBC and CBS Radio for making a sexist and racially charged comment about the Rutgers University women's basketball team. When he returned to work, Imus gave a lengthy on-air apology and pledged to use his new show to foster an open dialogue on race relations.

Before Imus offered his explanation Monday, civil rights leader Al Sharpton criticized the remark, saying his National Action Network would look into it.

"I find the inference of his remark disturbing because it plays into stereotypes," Sharpton said in a statement. "We will determine in the next day or so whether or not his remark warrants direct action on our part."

Sharpton was one of the chief critics who successfully pushed for Imus' firing from his televised radio show in April 2007.

WABC and Citadel Broadcasting Corp. Vice President Phil Boyce said Imus would explain his comments on his Tuesday morning show and said it was unlikely the broadcasters would take disciplinary action.

Boyce said Imus had explained himself in a private conversation Monday afternoon and the explanation was satisfactory.

"I think some people may be misunderstanding what he meant," Boyce said.

Jones' attorney did not immediately respond to an e-mail.

Rutgers University women's basketball spokeswoman Stacey Brann said there was "no need to revisit the past" and wouldn't comment further.

On Monday's show, Imus and Wolf were discussing Jones' request Saturday that people stop using his nickname. Wolf explained Jones was suspended from the NFL following a shooting at a Las Vegas nightclub, and he added that Jones had been "arrested six times since being drafted by Tennessee in 2005."

Imus' next words were, "What color is he?"

« Reply #4 on: June 24, 2008, 09:33:35 AM »

Question: what colour is Imus

Answer: Red .............. Neck

Offline assrancid

• Stony Brook University
« Reply #5 on: June 24, 2008, 10:27:51 AM »

Lots of red necks would take offense to that statement.

Not all red necks are racist, and besides they are not the ones to worry about!

The real focus should be on those in Jackets and ties with the education that make policy.

« Reply #6 on: June 24, 2008, 12:26:12 PM »
I see nothing wrong with Imus' comments...

Offline assrancid

• Stony Brook University
« Reply #7 on: June 24, 2008, 12:52:51 PM »

What is your race?

« Reply #8 on: June 24, 2008, 03:48:30 PM »
The problem with Imus is that he trying to force a link between two unrelated conditions, colour and behaviour. So whether he meant it in the kindest way as he suggest or the most cruel way as is probably the case, he still wrong.

And assrancid I for one believe you are new on this site. Why.....because you taking Bakes chain-up  :devil:
« Last Edit: June 24, 2008, 03:52:14 PM by ZANDOLIE »

« Reply #9 on: June 24, 2008, 03:56:23 PM »
Speaking of rancid, wey TT these days?
« Last Edit: June 24, 2008, 04:16:59 PM by ZANDOLIE »

« Reply #10 on: June 24, 2008, 04:37:40 PM »
I saw a clip this mornin. This fella seem to have a axe to grind.

« Reply #11 on: June 24, 2008, 04:38:00 PM »

Lots of red necks would take offense to that statement.

Not all red necks are racist, and besides they are not the ones to worry about!

The real focus should be on those in Jackets and ties with the education that make policy.

my comment was a poor attempt at a off-colour joke (dais another poor attempt).. dont get too worked up about it.  ;)

but hole on tight as I see you chooking fire with Bakes

Offline assrancid

• Stony Brook University
« Reply #12 on: June 24, 2008, 04:45:11 PM »
Unless Bakes is a beautiful trini woman, there will be no chooking in the fire from me...even if that is his desire.

« Reply #13 on: June 24, 2008, 05:08:56 PM »
Unless Bakes is a beautiful trini woman, there will be no chooking in the fire from me...even if that is his desire.

Too easy...
mih riddle go get ah answer soooon

« Reply #14 on: June 24, 2008, 05:19:34 PM »

Too easy...
mih riddle go get ah answer soooon

why, you think Bakes looking in the mirror?

« Reply #15 on: June 24, 2008, 05:24:23 PM »
 :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: This place real convoluted yes...More twists and turns than Peyton Place

« Reply #16 on: June 24, 2008, 05:27:57 PM »
:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: This place real convoluted yes...More twists and turns than Peyton Place

Peyton Place??...when las you watch tv boss?

It have new shows now dred like Knight Rider and A-Team an ting

« Reply #17 on: June 24, 2008, 05:31:50 PM »
Dem shows too modern for me...the most i could take is a lil Good Times, Mannix, Best Village and maybe, MAYBE Strarsky and Hutch....and only the early episodes at that.

Rennie B still Deejaying?
« Last Edit: June 24, 2008, 05:34:47 PM by ZANDOLIE »

« Reply #18 on: June 24, 2008, 09:09:56 PM »
Peyton Place u go b talkin bout dem radio drama next

« Reply #19 on: June 24, 2008, 09:35:09 PM »

What is your race?

Nunyabizanoid... heard of it?
« Last Edit: June 24, 2008, 09:40:24 PM by Bake n Shark »

« Reply #20 on: June 24, 2008, 09:37:46 PM »
The problem with Imus is that he trying to force a link between two unrelated conditions, colour and behaviour. So whether he meant it in the kindest way as he suggest or the most cruel way as is probably the case, he still wrong.

And assrancid I for one believe you are new on this site. Why.....because you taking Bakes chain-up  :devil:

I dunno what chain up you talking about... I don't see a problem with his comments.

"What race is he?"

"He's African-American"

"There you go... now we know."

What's wrong with that?  Do we know more?  Are we inside his head or are we insinuating, speculating and leaping to all manners of unfounded conclusions?

Outside of more I simply don't feel the need to devote any energy or attention to what should be a non-issue.

« Reply #21 on: June 24, 2008, 10:15:30 PM »
If the man had say Mexican ,that go be another controversy .like up here with thrm Sri Lankans .

But istn calling ppl red neck kinda predujice also .

sorry ah feeling controversially kickys tonite ,I think I would start putting this disclaimer from now orn.
« Last Edit: June 24, 2008, 10:20:52 PM by Quagmire »

Offline assrancid

• Stony Brook University
« Reply #22 on: June 24, 2008, 11:37:12 PM »

What is your race?

Exactly, neither is it Imus' business to question the man's race and then comment on it.

He suffers from foot in mouth disease.

« Reply #23 on: June 24, 2008, 11:47:29 PM »
why ? ,why cant he be held accountable cause he rich and hes black ,just like if a red neck f**k up ,ppl go talk but if u black is taboo to say . yah suppose to be representing . Black ppl not perfect ,they far from it,but u cant tell that.

Offline assrancid

• Stony Brook University
« Reply #24 on: June 25, 2008, 12:15:25 AM »
Quagmire, is your disjointed comment aimed at me?

If it isn't then my apologies.

If it is, I never said that Imus had no right to comment on the incident, I said the race of  Pacman had no relevance so why mention it?  What was the significance of asking at all?  Then why retort "there you go, now you know?"  Did someone ask him what Pacman's race was?

He brought it up to make a point and was once again caught out.

Then he comes with his BS about blacks being targeted for arrest...If you believe in Imus then heaven help us all.

« Reply #25 on: June 25, 2008, 12:20:32 AM »
Nah imus I gather is an asshole . But I doh really know the man  is just the hype I heard . ,i ve never even seen a pic of him  . But he like to kick up shit ,ah know that. But hey shit is need to be kicked some time oui . What he doing is not illegal .isjust blacks doh liked to be called out.
« Last Edit: June 25, 2008, 12:22:28 AM by Quagmire »

Offline assrancid

• Stony Brook University
« Reply #26 on: June 25, 2008, 12:28:25 AM »
calling black female college athletes : "Nappy headed hoes"  can hardly be classified as calling blacks out now, or can it?

He is not kicking up productive shit either, just controversial drivel.

« Reply #27 on: June 25, 2008, 12:30:04 AM »
yeah that was bad ...hes ah asss hole fire bun him. :flamethrower: :flamethrower: :flamethrower: :flamethrower: :flamethrower: :flamethrower: :flamethrower: :flamethrower: :flamethrower: :flamethrower: :flamethrower: :flamethrower: :flamethrower: :flamethrower: :flamethrower:
« Last Edit: June 25, 2008, 12:31:40 AM by Quagmire »

« Reply #28 on: June 25, 2008, 12:30:36 AM »

What is your race?

Exactly, neither is it Imus' business to question the man's race and then comment on it.

He suffers from foot in mouth disease.

Of course it is his business... He's paid to offer social commentary...and to be the occasional provocateur.  His words as presented leads to several (or at least two) constructions and many are just running with the knee-jerk response.  While this is the understandable inference drawn from his statements (given his past), it doesn't make it the only inference to be drawn, let alone the correct inference.

Offline assrancid

• Stony Brook University
« Reply #29 on: June 25, 2008, 07:23:55 AM »
The boy who cried wolf.

Imus made inflammatory and racist statements to millions of listeners before he made statements that can be construed as racist again, so that certainly does not constitute anything "knee jerk."  He is however, a bonafide jerk.

Provocateur?   Nah!  Rabble rouser and disrespectful.