March 28, 2024, 01:16:57 PM

Author Topic: Could T&T Fans Own a Football Stadium like Chelsea Fans do?  (Read 2133 times)

The recent debacle with the HC stadium leaves me thinking about what happened with Chelsea in 1997, where the fans had a non-profit organization formed and it bestowed ownership to the fans of chelsea. In otherwards, the fans owned the stadium and this avoided any property management company from purchasing the stadium and property, meaning that the fans had a vested interest in the team and stadium.

They are called the Chelsea Pitch Owners PLC http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chelsea_Pitch_Owners ; in theory we can apply this to the supporters of T&T.

I thought this was a very good idea on the part of Chelsea, I wonder if the same initiative can be applied with one of our national football stadiums. It will give the fans a vested interest in sport for one and also allow all home games to be played at a venue that is conducive to great support and also will keep home games at home. Its just an idea but the government and ttff would have to agree to this and whether they will is another question.

God is de BOSS....
« Last Edit: June 22, 2008, 09:54:36 AM by TI »

Offline R45

Re: Could T&T Fans Own a Football Stadium like Chelsea Fans do?
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2008, 11:30:53 AM »
They don't own the stadium. They own the naming rights to the club and ground.

« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2008, 11:54:54 AM »

go re-read the article, because they own the freehold and naming rights.

God is de BOSS....

Offline Benjie

« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2008, 02:57:42 PM »
Nice idea but revenue on the use of stadia are far too low in Trinidad to make it viable. I think its a great idea however but financially its a money pit

Offline Benjie

« Reply #4 on: June 22, 2008, 02:59:19 PM »

God is de BOSS....

Oh and freehold refers to the land and the rights that an owner can have.

« Reply #5 on: June 23, 2008, 12:34:25 PM »

God is de BOSS....

Oh and freehold refers to the land and the rights that an owner can have.

and your point is boss?

God is de BOSS....

Offline Padams

• Great are the Warriors///We shall Prevail!!!!
« Reply #6 on: June 23, 2008, 01:01:42 PM »
Maybe when hell freezes over................ Not with the kinda jokey fans we have... Cyah even full a stadium but we expect our fans to buy one....
Iz not Pre-Marital Sex, if yuh have no intention 2 geh Married..........

« Reply #7 on: June 23, 2008, 01:22:00 PM »
Maybe when hell freezes over................ Not with the kinda jokey fans we have... Cyah even full a stadium but we expect our fans to buy one....

correct

not to mention in a situation like that, they probably have an executive board that is voted in to make decisions.

with the kind ah bobol that does go on here with a simplest of matters who we going and vote in for a whole stadium

destined to fail

Offline #4

• #YGBfiles: The Young, Gifted, and Black Files
« Reply #8 on: June 23, 2008, 06:59:32 PM »
a training pitch maybe...but not a stadium

« Reply #9 on: June 23, 2008, 07:21:25 PM »
Boi tnt fans eh even owning the friggin swipa to cut the grass.

BTW.. do clubs have any part ownership in the smaller stadiums we have?

« Reply #10 on: June 24, 2008, 03:42:20 AM »
they own the freehold not the stadium two very different things.

In england you have freehold and leasehold and most properties tend to be leasehold with the freehold owned by someone else. At the end of a leashold the building and land returns to the freeholder, but with most leasholds being 999 years its a long time away ! Also by law leaseholds can be renewed and have to be done at a fair market price so freeholders cannot price a renewal so high as to get the land/ building back.

So in short the stadium is not owned by the fans its owned by chelsea village PLC

« Reply #11 on: June 24, 2008, 04:21:59 AM »
they own the freehold not the stadium two very different things.

In england you have freehold and leasehold and most properties tend to be leasehold with the freehold owned by someone else. At the end of a leashold the building and land returns to the freeholder, but with most leasholds being 999 years its a long time away ! Also by law leaseholds can be renewed and have to be done at a fair market price so freeholders cannot price a renewal so high as to get the land/ building back.

So in short the stadium is not owned by the fans its owned by chelsea village PLC
eh???
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.