March 28, 2024, 08:36:13 PM

Author Topic: Red-hot Marabella Flames.  (Read 4292 times)

Red-hot Marabella Flames.
« on: June 25, 2008, 08:49:18 AM »
Red-hot Marabella Flames.
By: Gregory Trujillo (Guardian).

“Creep before you walk”, says former national footballer Jan Steadman.

With that in mind, Steadman is hoping to take newly-formed Marabella Flames from the Second Division of the Southern Football Association (SFA) right up to the T&T Professional Football League (PFL) in a couple years time.

“I prefer to start in the lower division and work my way up,” said the 60-year-old, who starred alongside the likes of Warren Archibald and Leroy de Leon in the ‘hey’ days of Mt St Benedict’s, known back then as the “Brunner Boys”.

“You have to creep before you walk,” stressed Steadman. “You have to know it inside out. Everybody feels that just racing with the ball is football. Football is a commanding game. What is actually taking place in the game is in your head.”

Newly-formed southern-based Marabella Flames will start from scratch by entering the SFA with the intention of getting promoted all the way to the PFL.

Strange enough, the idea of introducing Marabella Flames to local football came all the way from Brooklyn, New York in the United States.

American-based business owners, Trinidadians Anthony Lambert and DarioTrujillo, who currently ran a football academy for kids in Brooklyn

CHAMPS Academy, decided to establish a football franchise in Trinidad and the name Jan Steadman came up.

“It was like a dream come through,” Steadman pointed out. “Here I am with my coaching school and really can’t go into the big league because of the lack of funds ... and up comes an offer from Lambert and Trujillo that I could not resist.”

Lambert, who was the owner of semi pro team Brooklyn United in New York, is presently in T&T with the intention of seeking information for what is required to take Flames to the highest level.

“The Marabella football Flames want to start as a new franchise in the T&T Pro League but CEO Dexter Skeene suggested starting

the franchise in the lower league and work our way up the ladder,” said Lambert.

“At the end of the day, starting in the lower division will work out better for us. It gives us the ability to build a community based team from scratch,” added Lambert.

“After being exposed to a scientific approach to training from college level to semi pro, I saw the need to utilise state of the art training equipment to help with the development and to upgrade the skills of the youths within the San Fernando community,” said Lambert.

“Another thing we are trying to do is to create a pipe-line for the local players based in the southern community to experience the type of training methods used by overseas players.”

Lambert revealed that equipment valued over TT $35,000 was shipped down and is now being utilised by players training with Flames. Among the equipment are agility ladders, hurdles and poles and balls.

One of the early products of the Jan Steadman School of Coaching has been “Strike Squad” striker Leonson Lewis.

Steadman was one of the first set of players from T&T to play professionally in the US, turning out for New York Cosmos and New York Generals in the 1960’s.

Ironically, while teaching at St Benedict’s he was the head coach of Naparima College - a job that saw him take his school’s southern rivals to several titles in the Championship Division of the Secondary Schools Football League (including a clean sweep in 1999).

Over the years, Steadman was able to produce several outstanding players who landed scholarships in the United States.

Former St Benedicts standout Edson Landeau will operate as the team’s general manager.

The team is still running screening sessions for players at Skinner Park in San Fernando. Training days are Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays.

When the SFA opens on Saturday, the Flames will be wearing their flaming all-red outfits (home kit).

Re: Red-hot Marabella Flames.
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2008, 08:57:30 AM »
If the outfit flaming it should be pink  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Is a bout time Steady start doing things. Wish them all the best.

« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2008, 09:14:00 AM »
My boy jannnnnooooo........landeau is the general  manager ....hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm......that team will be fit and decent and knocking a decent brand

« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2008, 09:41:21 AM »
since that is my home town I am very interested in helping out financially. Can anyone telll me how I can make contact with this club?

« Reply #4 on: June 25, 2008, 09:46:53 AM »
My boy jannnnnooooo........landeau is the general  manager ....hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm......that team will be fit and decent and knocking a decent brand

Ah know yuh happy to see Jan doing positive things.

« Reply #5 on: June 25, 2008, 09:49:09 AM »
since that is my home town I am very interested in helping out financially. Can anyone telll me how I can make contact with this club?

ah believe flex or firebrand could link you with Lambert (bach) ...

He used to post on the board before...

« Reply #6 on: June 25, 2008, 10:33:02 AM »
marabella flames coming to bun out all weak heart teams . i cant wait to see them play

Offline OutsideMan

• Many bad things. *Sips Scotch*
  • SocaWarrior4Life
Jan Steadman's current venture
« Reply #7 on: June 25, 2008, 11:58:45 AM »
Hey, for those of you who might be interested, here's an article in today's T&T Guardian about Jan Steadman's new coaching venture, with the upstart profesional football club, the "Marabella Flames".  I know one of the owners of the club, and I could tell u right now, the man has some real vision when it comes to the direction of professional football in the country. 

Do yuh thing, Lambert.... :beermug:     :beermug:        :beermug:       :beermug: 

Here's the link to the article:    http://www.guardian.co.tt/SA-8.html 

RED HOT MARABELLA FLAMES

BY GREGORY TRUJILLO

“Creep before you walk”, says former national footballer Jan Steadman.

With that in mind, Steadman is hoping to take newly-formed Marabella Flames from the Second Division of the Southern Football Association (SFA) right up to the T&T Professional Football League (PFL) in a couple years time.

“I prefer to start in the lower division and work my way up,” said the 60-year-old, who starred alongside the likes of Warren Archibald and Leroy de Leon in the ‘hey’ days of Mt St Benedict’s, known back then as the “Brunner Boys”.

“You have to creep before you walk,” stressed Steadman. “You have to know it inside out. Everybody feels that just racing with the ball is football. Football is a commanding game. What is actually taking place in the game is in your head.”

Newly-formed southern-based Marabella Flames will start from scratch by entering the SFA with the intention of getting promoted all the way to the PFL.

Strange enough, the idea of introducing Marabella Flames to local football came all the way from Brooklyn, New York in the United States.

American-based business owners, Trinidadians Anthony Lambert and DarioTrujillo, who currently ran a football academy for kids in Brooklyn

CHAMPS Academy, decided to establish a football franchise in Trinidad and the name Jan Steadman came up.

“It was like a dream come through,” Steadman pointed out. “Here I am with my coaching school and really can’t go into the big league because of the lack of funds ... and up comes an offer from Lambert and Trujillo that I could not resist.”

Lambert, who was the owner of semi pro team Brooklyn United in New York, is presently in T&T with the intention of seeking information for what is required to take Flames to the highest level.

“The Marabella football Flames want to start as a new franchise in the T&T Pro League but CEO Dexter Skeene suggested starting

the franchise in the lower league and work our way up the ladder,” said Lambert.

“At the end of the day, starting in the lower division will work out better for us. It gives us the ability to build a community based team from scratch,” added Lambert.

“After being exposed to a scientific approach to training from college level to semi pro, I saw the need to utilise state of the art training equipment to help with the development and to upgrade the skills of the youths within the San Fernando community,” said Lambert.

“Another thing we are trying to do is to create a pipe-line for the local players based in the southern community to experience the type of training methods used by overseas players.”

Lambert revealed that equipment valued over TT $35,000 was shipped down and is now being utilised by players training with Flames. Among the equipment are agility ladders, hurdles and poles and balls.

One of the early products of the Jan Steadman School of Coaching has been “Strike Squad” striker Leonson Lewis.

Steadman was one of the first set of players from T&T to play professionally in the US, turning out for New York Cosmos and New York Generals in the 1960’s.

Ironically, while teaching at St Benedict’s he was the head coach of Naparima College - a job that saw him take his school’s southern rivals to several titles in the Championship Division of the Secondary Schools Football League (including a clean sweep in 1999).

Over the years, Steadman was able to produce several outstanding players who landed scholarships in the United States.

Former St Benedicts standout Edson Landeau will operate as the team’s general manager.

The team is still running screening sessions for players at Skinner Park in San Fernando. Training days are Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays.

When the SFA opens on Saturday, the Flames will be wearing their flaming all-red outfits (home kit).

©2005-2006 Trinidad Publishing Company Limited 
The dumbest people on earth are generally located in comment sections of websites all over the world.

Offline rastafari

« Reply #8 on: June 25, 2008, 12:09:22 PM »
I used to play with Dario Trujillo as a youth. He went on to play for Belmont boys secondary and won intercol. His father is Gregory Trujillo.
Good friends of my family.

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI

Offline marcus

• BLOOD, SWEAT & TEARS
Re: Jan Steadman's current venture
« Reply #9 on: June 25, 2008, 12:29:45 PM »
Wish Jan all the best!!! close family friend, coached me when I was young.

He is a very good coach, who got the best out of underdog teams. Recently known for his resurrection of the Naps squad in the late 90s and their continued success (steups by the way). He also speaks his mind, wish he had gotten a chance to coach this level of football or higher sooner or even a national junior team or somethin... this man doh deal with BS at all.

congrats boss! from de Carvalho family!
« Last Edit: June 25, 2008, 12:37:06 PM by marcus »

« Reply #10 on: June 25, 2008, 06:26:27 PM »
At first I thought it was a porn site.

Congrats to Jan and the rest of his group for making the attempt to bring some serious club football to south. I say serious because to many fly by night teams that  have  sprung up and flopped after 3 to 4 seasons. I hope this project is for the long-haul. Good luck again.

Offline Bach

« Reply #11 on: June 25, 2008, 07:41:29 PM »
Hello,
To everyone on the forum. I was very pleased with the positive comments made in reference to "Marabella Flames". If any of you would like to get in contact with me aside from using this forum, I can be reached at alambert@marabellafc.com

God Bless

« Reply #12 on: June 25, 2008, 07:46:13 PM »

Ah know yuh happy to see Jan doing positive things.
Lol yuh damm right so we making arrangements to go see the team in us sept 10th?

"Creep before you walk"
« Reply #13 on: February 02, 2010, 07:10:00 PM »
"Creep before you walk"
By MFC staff.

Coverage From T&T Guradian GREGORY TRUJILLO.

"Creep before you walk", says former national footballer Jan Steadman.

"I prefer to start in the lower division and work my way up," said the 60-year-old, who starred alongside the likes of Warren Archibald and Leroy de Leon in the 'hey' days of Mt St Benedict's, known back then as the "Brunner Boys".

"You have to creep before you walk," stressed Steadman. "You have to know it inside out. Everybody feels that just racing with the ball is football. Football is a commanding game. What is actually taking place in the game is in your head."

"It was like a dream come through," Steadman pointed out. "Here I am with my coaching school and really can't go into the big league because of the lack of funds ... and up comes an offer from Lambert and Trujillo that I could not resist."

"The Marabella football Flames want to start as a new franchise in the T&T Pro League but CEO Dexter Skeene suggested starting the franchise in the lower league and work our way up the ladder," said Lambert.

"At the end of the day, starting in the lower division will work out better for us. It gives us the ability to build a community based team from scratch," added Lambert.

"After being exposed to a scientific approach to training from college level to semi pro, I saw the need to utilise state of the art training equipment to help with the development and to upgrade the skills of the youths within the San Fernando community," said Lambert.

"Another thing we are trying to do is to create a pipe-line for the local players based in the southern community to experience the type of training methods used by overseas players."

One of the early products of the Jan Steadman School of Coaching has been "Strike Squad" striker Leonson Lewis.

Steadman was one of the first set of players from T&T to play professionally in the US, turning out for New York Cosmos and New York Generals in the 1960's.

Ironically, while teaching at St Benedict's he was the head coach of Naparima College - a job that saw him take his school's southern rivals to several titles in the Championship Division of the Secondary Schools Football League (including a clean sweep in 1999).

Former St Benedicts standout Edson Landeau will operate as the team's general manager.

Related Topic

Marabella Football Flames Academy (MFFA) is expanding.

Marabella Football Flames Academy (MFFA) is expanding their menu of affordable prices and advanced youth soccer training in Guaracara. When Marabella Football Flames started the Southern Community soccer program in February 2009, the plan was to bring in a higher level of training and increase the opportunity for youths in the Southern Community.

For the 2009-2010 seasons, the Flames Academy has officially launched its Academy Soccer Program on July 4th, 2009. This program provides services to Guaracara, Whiteland, Mayo and Williamsville areas and gives youth soccer players the opportunity to train and compete at the highest level at a discounted price that makes it accessible to the entire community.

In an interview with the media, MFFA President Anthony Lambert elaborated: 'Our Academy's mission is to provide high level training at affordable, family prices so children in the community have an equal opportunity to experience and learn to love the beautiful game.

To be able to pull that off, you have to surround yourself with people that are focused on the community and the mission of the organization. I think we've done a good job of that and we plan to press forward offering the communities a higher level of Academy and soccer training at prices that don't lock families out. Our policy is definitely one of inclusion, rather than exclusion.'

In 2009, MFFA initiated new youth soccer programs that were the first of their kind in the Southern community. These programs include the use of state of the art training equipment and skill training programs created by NSCAA certified developers, as well as, advanced technical training for players looking to take their game to the next level.

Expanding the MFFA soccer training was the natural next step in the Academy’s development. However, offering these programs at discounted fees is a challenge, even with the involvement of volunteers in the Southern soccer community.

Registration takes place every Saturday before practice. For further information or area of concerns you may contact Careese Achat at 763-7284.

From left to right: Team Chairman/Owner Anthony Lambert, Head Coach Jan Steadman, Team Trainer Angson Banister and team General Manager Edson Landeau.
« Last Edit: February 02, 2010, 07:16:42 PM by Flex »

« Reply #14 on: February 02, 2010, 10:09:56 PM »
Good luck, I hope you guys go the distance.

« Reply #15 on: February 03, 2010, 10:24:14 AM »
I am still interested in helping to finance this team. I have tried calling the number oin the site. Even left a message and sent an email. I have had no reply.

Tallman can you help me out here?

« Reply #16 on: February 03, 2010, 10:48:58 AM »
I am still interested in helping to finance this team. I have tried calling the number oin the site. Even left a message and sent an email. I have had no reply.

Tallman can you help me out here?

Check yuh PM.

« Reply #17 on: February 03, 2010, 12:02:46 PM »
Wow hadn't seen Jan in a Long time well since Benedict's.

He ah serious fella when he ready. Ah see he pepper some fellas with licks nuff times  :devil:

« Reply #18 on: February 03, 2010, 01:37:32 PM »
all the way from de 'bella...i go buy de shirt.

« Reply #19 on: February 03, 2010, 07:16:26 PM »
Wow hadn't seen Jan in a Long time well since Benedict's.

He ah serious fella when he ready. Ah see he pepper some fellas with licks nuff times  :devil:

benedidicts use to win titles under him..ah dont know wha happen to them now

« Reply #20 on: February 04, 2010, 09:44:57 AM »
Nuff respect to Jan, one of the best youth coaches I encountered....but he real f&@k up in truth...one time he tell a player that it have grandmothers with better ball control skills.

« Reply #21 on: February 04, 2010, 11:51:56 AM »
keep striving. I supporting