April 25, 2024, 01:04:19 PM

Author Topic: Dwight Yorke brushed by Singo  (Read 3530 times)

Dwight Yorke brushed by Singo
« on: June 28, 2008, 02:36:31 PM »
Dwight Yorke brushed by Singo
by Chris Wilson
news.com.au

Party boy ... Dwight Yorke says he is disappointed he could not make a return to the A-League this season.

DWIGHT Yorke claims he has been snubbed by the Australian A-League as he prepares to return to "sunny Sunderland" in the English Premier League.

Yorke said his heart had been set on a return to the A-League with the Central Coast Mariners, claiming he was "hugely disappointed'' when the deal broke down last month at the final stage.

However, the Mariners maintain they never got past first base in negotiations because they couldn't afford the former Aston Villa and Manchester United star.

Known as 'All Night' Dwight during his championship-winning stint with Sydney FC, Yorke has been hitting Sydney's most exclusive bars, restaurants and golf courses over the past fortnight.

He will fly out of Sydney tomorrow and re-sign with Sunderland on more money than he could have earned in Australia.

While Yorke said friends had called him "crazy'', he was adamant Sunderland had always been his second choice.

"That would have been my ambition, to come back here,'' Yorke said.

"I felt this year would have been the year to come back and stamp my authority in terms of playing football and getting the football buzzing around Sydney again.''

Yorke was the face of the first A-League season and was prepared to come back for less than his previous $1million price tag. He said he had been in talks with the Mariners for a year and continued to drop his asking price.

Mariners benefactor John Singleton, who helped lure John Aloisi to the club last season, refused to comment on the situation when contacted by The Sunday Telegraph. But Yorke feels let down.

"My last conversation (with the Mariners) was, 'yeah, we'll get it sorted'. We looked at a figure that was reasonable for them, it wasn't great for me but I was prepared to come for that,'' Yorke said.

But Mariners chief executive Lyall Gorman said Yorke had always been "out of our realm''.

Talking in the penthouse bar atop Star City Casino, Yorke denied his return to Australia would have been all show and no go.

"Sunderland has offered me a contract because they know I can still produce it,'' Yorke said.

"I'm 36, there's no secret there. I'm coming to the end of my career, I'm looking for something with a bit more flavour - in terms of lifestyle, the weather, people and food. Sydney fits that bill.''

Unfortunately no A-League teams could match his.

Re: Dwight Yorke brushed by Singo
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2008, 03:00:51 PM »
"Dwight Yorke brushed by Singo"

My goodness, what a headline!!!!  ;D  ;D  ;D

Offline Dr. Rat

• Licks Pass!!!
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2008, 03:22:26 PM »
With that pose..no wonder.
PNM in yuh mudda-in-law

Offline R45

« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2008, 08:42:49 PM »
I wonder if they them aussies have d same meaning for brush. If so, it makes d story more believable lol

Imagine dat headline in a local paper.

« Reply #4 on: June 28, 2008, 10:45:44 PM »
He looks in terrible ole man shape ,just like me .

« Reply #5 on: June 28, 2008, 11:34:57 PM »
He looks in terrible ole man shape ,just like me .
Quag, if he look like he in terrible shape I would not like to play against him fit.

« Reply #6 on: June 29, 2008, 09:15:13 AM »

But the article headline right; is brush he get brush and they tell him go he way after

« Reply #7 on: June 29, 2008, 09:23:36 AM »

But the article headline right; is brush he get brush and they tell him go he way after

....so yuh saying, "what gho's around, comes around"?

« Reply #8 on: June 29, 2008, 10:04:52 AM »
"Dwight Yorke brushed by Singo"

My goodness, what a headline!!!!  ;D  ;D  ;D

Ent, ah do a double take when ah read it, wonderin which chick brush dwight, again!  ah love it!  (taking a borrow Andre)

« Reply #9 on: June 29, 2008, 10:13:09 AM »
Yeah he looks extremely unfit.....lol

« Reply #10 on: June 29, 2008, 11:07:51 AM »
Dwight like dem washed up boxers who can imagine retiring cuase dey doh know what dey will do with themselves.

« Reply #11 on: June 29, 2008, 11:18:33 AM »
Dwight like dem washed up boxers who can imagine retiring cuase dey doh know what dey will do with themselves.

Except he eh washed up.

« Reply #12 on: June 29, 2008, 11:29:29 AM »
allya just jealous allya not as FIT as dwight
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline ckhan

• Pay Forward
« Reply #13 on: June 29, 2008, 11:33:07 AM »
Dat title is boss....hardluck dey Yorkie at least yuh get paid fuh yuh previous services.
If a free society cannot help the many who are poor it cannot save the few who are rich.

- John F. Kennedy

Offline TTR- 78 Batch

« Reply #14 on: June 29, 2008, 12:27:10 PM »
I'm 36, there's no secret there. I'm coming to the end of my career, I'm looking for something with a bit more flavour - in terms of lifestyle, the weather, people and food. Sydney fits that bill.''

To me it sounds like Dwight looking for a place to start he retirement in style, not to play any kind ah serious football

« Reply #15 on: June 29, 2008, 12:33:47 PM »
I'm 36, there's no secret there. I'm coming to the end of my career, I'm looking for something with a bit more flavour - in terms of lifestyle, the weather, people and food. Sydney fits that bill.''

To me it sounds like Dwight looking for a place to start he retirement in style, not to play any kind ah serious football
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Why the man eh come and play for Tobago United; yuh know what that could do for we pro league  in getting that some prominence? Me eh  against the man for looking to make some $$$$$ and live the lifestyle down under but oh gosh if yuh looking to ease it up at this time in yuh career, I am sure yuh have the big mansion put away in Tobago come and  bring some marketing and  upgrade we pro league. Guaranteed the football eh go be as serious as in Australia.

P.S Ah hear the 'brushing' good in Tobago.
« Last Edit: June 29, 2008, 12:45:48 PM by AB.Trini »

Offline TTR- 78 Batch

« Reply #16 on: June 29, 2008, 12:39:57 PM »
Allyuh by the way, watch what allyuh saying about footballers fitness.
Them Bermudians want tuh suit, because some Trini writers say that most of the Bermudian football team, was looking more like regular all fours players

Offline TTR- 78 Batch

« Reply #17 on: June 29, 2008, 01:05:37 PM »
Guaranteed the football eh go be as serious as in Australia.
P.S Ah hear the 'brushing' good in Tobago.

AB Trini, Ah just read Tobago United draw with Jabloteh 3-3, like them boys getting serious
but yeah the brushing was always nice in Bago, once you avoid the left hand dumplin

« Reply #18 on: June 30, 2008, 04:27:31 PM »
Tell meh all yuh joking please  :-\, de man looking fit as ever, abs in check, muscles tight, veins showing, all yuh mad yes. HIGHLY BLESSED.

Wade and Beasley - De real deal