April 28, 2024, 04:27:22 PM

Author Topic: US Olympics Swimming Trials start  (Read 2049 times)

Offline Swima

US Olympics Swimming Trials start
« on: June 29, 2008, 07:31:16 PM »
After the hype of Australia, France and the rest this year, the big boys in world swimming take to the water and things have started off with fire works from the first event:

WR For Phelps In 400 IM - 4:05.25 - Lochte Also Under Old Mark in 4:06.08
Jun 29, 2008       Adam Sioui

Michael Phelps and Ryan Lochte started off the first night of finals at the Qwest Center with a bang as both went under Phelps' old World Record in the 400 IM, with Phelps scoring the win.

Although out slower in the first 100 metres than at Worlds in Melbourne, Phelps blasted ahead during the backstroke leg and stayed under the mark for the remainder of the race.

Not to be undone, Lochte never let Phelps out of his sight and stayed close until he pulled even after the breaststroke split. Only 2 tenths separated the two stars at the 350 metre mark, but as he usually does, Phelps used his superior underwater kick to create the distance he needed to sequre the win. Still, it was a huge personal best for Lochte by more than 3 seconds, and now both of these Americans will enter Beijing as the favourites for gold and silver.

Here are their splits:

Phelps: 26.16; 55.38 (29.22); 1:26.62 (31.24); 1:57.32 (30.70) 2:32.45 (35.13); 3:08.45 (36.00); 3:37.93 (29.48); 4:05.25 (27.32)

Lochte: 26.44; 56.87 (30.43); 1:28.00 (31.13); 1:58.27 (30.27) 2:32.67 (34.40); 3:08.47 (35.80); 3:38.13 (29.66); 4:06.08 (27.95)
Success will never take you by surprise.

Offline Swima

Re: US Olympics Swimming Trials start
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2008, 07:32:47 PM »
Two world records and a new national record for the americans on night one. Brendan Hansen also looking good with a number two all time swim in the men's 100 breast semis. Beijing will by far be the most exciting swim meet in history.

« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2008, 12:04:47 PM »
Not only swimmin track go b nice as well

Offline Swima

First African American to set a US Swimming Record.
« Reply #3 on: July 04, 2008, 10:45:47 AM »
This fella go be trouble in Beijing, but he still have a ways to go. World Record is still 3 tenths of a second away.

From Swimmingworldmagazine.com

U.S. Olympic Trials: Cullen Jones Breaks American Record in 50 Free -- July 4, 2008

By John Lohn

OMAHA, Nebraska, July 4. TWO years ago, he emerged as the next great 50 freestyler from the United States. Now, Cullen Jones is the American-record holder. Jones scorched the field during the preliminaries of the spash-and-dash, clocking a time of 21.59. The effort broke Gar Hall's domestic standard of 21.76, set at the 2000 Olympic Trials in Indianapolis.

One heat after Jones set his American mark, Ben Wildman-Tobriner, the reigning world champion, produced the second-fastest effort in American history. Closing strong, the Stanford product was timed in 21.68, allowing him to finish just ahead of Hall. The two-time defending Olympic champ, Hall qualified third for the semifinals in 21.89.
Advertisement

"I'll take an American record," Jones said. "I think there's a lot more in the tank. In the 50 free, you have to be perfect. You're never perfect, but you keep trying. I've been practicing taking no breaths."

There was a logjam for the fourth position, as a threesome shared the spot with identical readouts of 22.05. Garrett Weber-Gale was the first to turn in that time and was joined in the group by Jason Lezak and Nathan Adrian, who tied with the time behind Jones in the 14th of 15 preliminary races. Matt Grevers checked in seventh in 22.19.

Qualifying eighth for the semifinals was Nick Brunelli (22.27), who narrowly missed a berth on the 400 free relay a night earlier. The rest of the semifinal field will include Gabe Woodward (22.32), Neil Walker (22.35), Jeff Barrett (22.44), Bryan Lundquist (22.45), Alex Righi (22.45), Scott Goodrich (22.55), Josh Schneider (22.55) and Matt McGinnis (22.56).

« Reply #4 on: July 04, 2008, 12:37:38 PM »
Dis olympics go b trouble but I go b AWALL from d 18th so is only 9 days I go c

« Reply #5 on: July 04, 2008, 08:43:36 PM »
Another WR 4 Phelps  he 4 in 4 wins at d trials

« Reply #6 on: July 05, 2008, 11:45:51 AM »
how come I keep reading about this 'new age NASA developed' suit that giving them a distinct adavantage....or is that a bullshit story?

« Reply #7 on: July 05, 2008, 02:12:46 PM »
how come I keep reading about this 'new age NASA developed' suit that giving them a distinct adavantage....or is that a bullshit story?
yeah some countries complaining that because they dont have those suits that they will be at a disadvantage
orrite read this thread
« Last Edit: July 05, 2008, 02:14:45 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #8 on: July 06, 2008, 08:37:52 AM »
We better see if we could ninja two ah dem suits for George  :devil:

Offline Swima

Re: First African American to set a US Swimming Record.
« Reply #9 on: July 06, 2008, 05:47:39 PM »
This fella go be trouble in Beijing, but he still have a ways to go. World Record is still 3 tenths of a second away.

From Swimmingworldmagazine.com

U.S. Olympic Trials: Cullen Jones Breaks American Record in 50 Free -- July 4, 2008

By John Lohn

OMAHA, Nebraska, July 4. TWO years ago, he emerged as the next great 50 freestyler from the United States. Now, Cullen Jones is the American-record holder. Jones scorched the field during the preliminaries of the spash-and-dash, clocking a time of 21.59. The effort broke Gar Hall's domestic standard of 21.76, set at the 2000 Olympic Trials in Indianapolis.

One heat after Jones set his American mark, Ben Wildman-Tobriner, the reigning world champion, produced the second-fastest effort in American history. Closing strong, the Stanford product was timed in 21.68, allowing him to finish just ahead of Hall. The two-time defending Olympic champ, Hall qualified third for the semifinals in 21.89.
Advertisement

"I'll take an American record," Jones said. "I think there's a lot more in the tank. In the 50 free, you have to be perfect. You're never perfect, but you keep trying. I've been practicing taking no breaths."

There was a logjam for the fourth position, as a threesome shared the spot with identical readouts of 22.05. Garrett Weber-Gale was the first to turn in that time and was joined in the group by Jason Lezak and Nathan Adrian, who tied with the time behind Jones in the 14th of 15 preliminary races. Matt Grevers checked in seventh in 22.19.

Qualifying eighth for the semifinals was Nick Brunelli (22.27), who narrowly missed a berth on the 400 free relay a night earlier. The rest of the semifinal field will include Gabe Woodward (22.32), Neil Walker (22.35), Jeff Barrett (22.44), Bryan Lundquist (22.45), Alex Righi (22.45), Scott Goodrich (22.55), Josh Schneider (22.55) and Matt McGinnis (22.56).

Jones ehn even make top two in the final. lawd US trials brutal! Weber-Gale and Wildman-Tobriner will swim the fity in Beijing.

« Reply #10 on: July 07, 2008, 06:30:08 PM »
We better see if we could ninja two ah dem suits for George  :devil:

Since politics and sport is bedfellows...I feel we could leverage dat in troot

Have manning tell dem fellahs, "hear wha we go warm boston for ah week free this winter..but we boy bovell need one ah dem dolphin suit whey allyuh have"