The main purpose of this thread was a jovial way of examining some concerns of some of the older forumites who have intimated that the forum has changed and nowadays the rhetoric from some posters making others hold their tongue cuz they fraid to get cuss and in some cases, some ppl stop posting altogether cuz the talk often goes completely off topic and gets personal.
We all know we have 'ignorant' ppl on the board and we have all lived with that in real life.
But its true what Omar says, in that the board is really a microcosm of the real world.
You'll see some of the weaker spirited posters who align themselves with the perceived stronger posters and support them in their threads to protect themselves from getting attacked and ensuring they have support when they need it.
It's like a gang (not used in the violent colloquial context) sub culture.
In the real world organisations like FABA do exist.
To address Sushilla's point, I used the word 'prevent', cuz that sort of sums up what effect the picong having on them. It's preventing them from posting; they're being 'persuaded' not to post or 'fearful' of posting due to the previous reactions of other posters to similar topics raised.
But the bullying and umbrella term victimisation are taken seriously up in the UK, especially in employment and your job can be in jeopardy for what we in Trini would see as ole talk. There are also big campaigns and many organisations against it in schools here, including cyberbullying (by text, by msg board) which has become prevalent, but yea it has largely gone a bit overboard.
But FABA is sure it can make a difference here.....
Kicker, ah not sure how DODACO and FABA can work in tandem, but perhaps DODACO can up the ante and FABA can offer the counsel and promise of retribution.
All yuh never see Get Carter.