March 28, 2024, 06:02:48 AM

Author Topic: D Touches Match Report T&T vs Guyana.  (Read 12239 times)

D Touches Match Report T&T vs Guyana.
« on: July 08, 2008, 09:50:40 PM »
Dear forumites,

We may have won the game.....but the display on the field only reinforced the point that we have level cut-arse coming our way.

Had it not been for a moment of brilliance by Clyde Leon (Man of the Match) and a mistake by the Guyanese goalie. TT would have been like a over heating car with two flat tyre and no spare on the Beetham at 2 am in the morning.

There were four positives in this entire match.

1) Clyde Leon is a baller...a proper composed player and he scored an impressive bullet from 30 yards out. Which the Guyanese keeper could only look at in awe. One of the best goals I have seen in TT for a long time. He played the defensive mid field position like a true general, proper touch, good passes, good knock, good hustle and tackle, good reading and shutting down of the passing lanes and good technique. He has a bit of skill and can shield the ball. He has a football brain and I would love to see him and Whitley play together in the middle.

2) Our players have improved on their passing and trapping.

3) Cornel Glenn still has the speed, the skill and the fight in him. He is a bit rusty and the sharpness is not there but in time he will get back to his MLS pre injury days.

4) Through some miracle we kept a clean sheet  ???  ???  ??? A comedy of errors and desperate saves coupled with poor finishing from Guyana...but we did it  ;D

I don't think I will be making a trek to the COE for a weekday match any time soon. Leaving town at 6:40, traffic greeted us from the beetham and only the driving skill of Swima on the shoulder and his navigation of el secorro enabled us to arrive at the start of the game.

We entered from the car park entrance. The TTFF reusing the guadeloupe game tickets and $100 poorer I made my way to the main stand. The temporary bleachers were removed and only the permanent stands remained. The laventille rhythm section were setting up shop and provided the vibes for the evening.

Both anthems were sung without musical accompaniment and many people near the cafeteria, toilets and under the stand were unaware that this was going on.....Imagine they still ent get the cd with the anthem yet.

I missed the warm up but the starting line up was as follows...

T&T: - Marvin Phillip, Aklie Edwards, Kern Cupid, Keyeno Thomas (capt), Makan Hislop, Clyde Leon, Khaleem Hyland (Kerry Noray 77th), Kendall Jagdeosingh (Kevon Carter 46th) (Jerol Forbes 70th), Keon Daniel, Anthony Wolfe (Akeil Guevara 46th), Cornell Glen.\

T&T 2 (Clyde Leon 7th, Keon Daniel 69th) v Guyana 0

TT played in the old red kit red pants and red socks, while Guyana had a yellow adidas kit with black stripe and black pants, yellow socks.

TT lined up in a 4-5-1

Phillip

Edwards   Hislop  Thomas  Cupid

Leon

Daniel  Wolfe Hyland Jagdeosingh

Glen

Guyana played a 4-4-2 interchanging into a 3-5-2 and they completely shut TT down and out after 10 minutes.

TT started well...very well and I was impressed by the speed, off the ball runs, quick passing and aggressive attitude.

In the first minute Glen had a shot to goal saved and TT had nearly 3 opportunities to score. Wave after wave of attack and free flowing pretty passing football and we looked good. Then from nothing a thunderbolt of a shot from CLyde Leon taking everyone in the stadium especially the keeper by surprise. What a goal it was!!!!

and then....

with 10 minutes gorn TT just couldnt see their way.

The goal woke up Guyana and just flicked the OFF switch for TT. Nuttin doing, nuttin happening. Guyana composed themselves and started to dominate. They started to string passes together and had they got a glorious opportunity with Hercules missing a sitter in the 6 yard box moments later, barely connecting his head with a good cross.

After that for the next 35 minutes TT could not come out of their half. Guyana simply put 5 men in the middle, left one man marker on Glen and used the wings to come forward. They formed triangles, made off the ball runs, passed the ball around and TT were just chasing shadows.

Our only play was to hoof it long and let Glen run onto it...which he did..and he usually managed to get a shot off or a corner which was wasted.

Jagdeosingh tried to put in a few crosses on the right but he was unable to get past his marker.

Daniel was the pull stones for the night and ironically it was he who scored TT's second goal. The boy simply lost the ball each time he had it, fell down, made the wrong choice of pass or just get a jam or make a pretty flick to no one.  It is funny how the ball follows the players who are having a bad game and time after time he simply was not up to the task. However, he must be congratulated for giving TT a much needed cushion.

A long ball is picked up by the Guyanese left back and Daniel actually "pongs" off the guy in a shoulder to shoulder challenge. It was strange, comical even...imagine a toothpick vs a swizzle stick and the swizzle stick coming second. But Daniel wins the ball The Guyanese on the ground crying foul and ref saying play on. Daniel waltzes into the area, beats one, fires, it is deflected by another defender into the arms of the substitute Guyanese keeper, who replaced his injured comrade...and who could do nothing but let it slip through his hands and into the net.

Goal yes...we taking that!

Apart from that and Clyde Leons goal TT rarely threatened and the habit of going through the middle was quickly shut down by Guyana. Forbes or Carter got a sitter but it was hit tamely to the keeper. Glen also had a header and a one on one attempt but his shot was high and wide.

The back four were a comedy of errors, missing ball, miskicking, setting up man to hit bullet, beating and losing the ball in the box, fouling in dangerous areas, losing the marker...not tackling, escorting...in short the usual nah. But a clean sheet is recorded in an unconvincing heart attack manner.....well done fellas.

But in truth and in fact Shabazz must be complemented as he got his tactics right and completely out smarted maturana who reverted to a 4-4-2 in the second half.

Folks Guyana knock the ball around us like if they was Brazil especially in the second half and we were always struggling to catch them. If we did get the ball, no options going forward made all counter attacks null and void. Waiting for the midfield support enabled Guyana to regroup and an errant pass or hard jam from the Guyanese gave away possession

No improvement from the Bermuda game and only the scoreline saved Maturana from embarrassment.

All the subs were a waste of time...Carter came on and get injured had to come back off, Forbes ent do nuttin, Noray try but he just too thin to make a impact and Guvera was not much of a factor.

Additionally I find Hyland playing worse with each game. He not doing the simple things correctly, he not involved and drifting in and out of the game. Also he giving away the ball and making some silly errors. He has to get out of TT fast and play ball regularly, he will not improve with this no club scenario.

Truth be told only one player looked the part tonight and that was Clyde Leon. A great find and at least this game showed again who is to be on the team come the end of August.

Also Cyd, Avery John and Whitley were in the stands taking in the action. There were rumours that Dwight was also present as well.

I also think there were three Cuban coaches/spies sitting behind me in the game. They were doing their analysis and they had a camera man too .

I becoming more and more afraid for us. I not seeing the improvement and the coach still auditioning players and giving those who struggling minutes in the hope they could play better. But with each game it just exposing them more and more.

While others getting drop or cyar even get a sweat....I feel it for Guerra. Of the subs is only he, Anton Pierre and the backup goalie samuel ent get a sweat. Is how long he go rot on the bench for?

Anyways..till next time.
« Last Edit: July 09, 2008, 04:22:36 AM by Flex »

Re: D Touches Match Report T&T vs Guyana
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2008, 09:59:47 PM »

Also Cyd, Avery John and Whitley were in the stands taking in the action. There were rumours that Dwight was also present as well.

While others getting drop or cyar even get a sweat....I feel it for Guerra. Of the subs is only he, Anton Pierre and the backup goalie samuel ent get a sweat. Is how long he go rot on the bench for?

Anyways..till next time.

Should have been on the pitch... I've seen all our RB's and LB's under Maturana/Corneal and not one have anything on Cyd and Avery...  nowhere close

And I cant believe de whole Guerra situation....  i still in shock...  I cant wait to hear the coaches excuse when quizzed on his absence from the game (Lasana..ask de man lol)

Leon was quite impressive... What a goal..but his overall play was really good...but then again we could question the opposition? but Guyana were decent.. passed the ball well and maybe actually controlled the game but Pacho and Corneal live to fight another day...

Hyland was poor...looked overweight...maybe due to lack of playing time regularly...yet he's earning a starting spot  ::)

« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2008, 10:00:50 PM »
Yeah Dwight was dey yep d beatings will continue

« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2008, 10:01:57 PM »
Thanks as usual Touches.

But Clyde Leon eh no "find".

TI does get plenty pong on dis site but he was toutin Leon from long time.  I remember seeing him play for T&T under Wim as a sub against El Salvador and he immediately impressed me by doing the same things that he impressed you with.

Sad thing is....no sign of Atullah Guerra.  No pick for Kerry Baptiste.  No shot for Hayden Tinto.  Not a sniff for Trent Noel.  

Daz jes a few who have some pedigree and can help T&T right away.  But we most pressin need is in defence....we go leak goals if we continue so when it come time to face REAL opposition.

Oh well...coach dem like it so ah guess.

« Reply #4 on: July 08, 2008, 10:06:11 PM »
Leak u say it go b a gush

« Reply #5 on: July 08, 2008, 10:12:26 PM »
Both anthems were sung without musical accompaniment and many people near the cafeteria, toilets and under the stand were unaware that this was going on.....Imagine they still ent get the cd with the anthem yet.

But I heard the music come through on the radio - did i95 slyly mix it in from the studio? LOL

Sounds like Hyland needs to start being challenged with real ball over in England. Like he's slowly dying with these minor scrimages - along with practically the whole side.

Any new word on the South American teams we're supposed to play?

« Reply #6 on: July 08, 2008, 10:15:47 PM »
D Guyanese tape of their anthem was louder than we on. D fella tearin d tickets had 2 tell d man who  sellin d tickets dat d anthem playin 4 he 2 stop sellin tickets

Offline THETRUFF

« Reply #7 on: July 08, 2008, 10:36:16 PM »
           The really sad thing about the state of football in Trinidad...is that the TTFF, coaching staff, etc...seem void of any plans/order...with the match against Cuba ever drawing closer....what is our strategy...what is our strongest team...objectively speaking...the TTFF is inna mess!!.....we have so called experienced coaches that cannot select cohesive defenders....do we ever see any team with pedigree whether it be club or country experimenting with their defenders??...Defense win games, offense sells tickets...any high school football coach knows that...we need our best defenders selected.....and playing all the time!! together!!!
            Note to corneal..and maturana...the cornerstone of building a solid defense...is having the players perfect their positioning and timing..In my opinion...your defenders have to be the smartest players on the field...and a group of 4...that ALWAYS..ALWAYS...ALWAYS....play together....for Guyana..no disrespect intended...to put our defense under duress is sad at the least!!....are our players adjusting and learning anything??? I am not impressed at all.....and at this pace....we will get what we sowed when we play Cuba....those teams out there are developing...they are learning...I have a suggestion...why dont the pfl coaches select a Trinidad all star pfl team and let them represent us....because the team we have now is not ready at all...note on suggestion...let the pfl coaches select the team... :beermug:

« Reply #8 on: July 08, 2008, 10:49:59 PM »
from all reports seems like clyde leon did himself no harm but d question is with maturana (corneal) questionable selection policy will he get another run?..an it pains me to no end to see guerra on the bench..the little i saw of him he looks very very promising and i was hopin to see more of him in the national setup..too echo the sentiments of a good few hear i am very afraind for the qualifiers..if this side remains as it is without serious reinforcements then the kinda licks we'll get we'll make the west indies team look like world beaters...

« Reply #9 on: July 08, 2008, 11:29:02 PM »
Man touches I just open ah beer ready to read ,but I took just a few sips and it was over ....to short man ,but say what .Like they say you cant make a silk  purse from a sows ear,they play shit how much can one explanciate .This Coach to hard headed ,I see why Costa rica ran him out,say what Anton will have the next 6 years to evaluate as much players as he wants .Thanks for all your hard work :beermug:

Offline breezers

• he who rise against poor ppl shal perish in d end
« Reply #10 on: July 09, 2008, 01:02:57 AM »
Thanks as usual Touches.

But Clyde Leon eh no "find".

TI does get plenty pong on dis site but he was toutin Leon from long time.  I remember seeing him play for T&T under Wim as a sub against El Salvador and he immediately impressed me by doing the same things that he impressed you with.

Sad thing is....no sign of Atullah Guerra.  No pick for Kerry Baptiste.  No shot for Hayden Tinto.  Not a sniff for Trent Noel.  

Daz jes a few who have some pedigree and can help T&T right away.  But we most pressin need is in defence....we go leak goals if we continue so when it come time to face REAL opposition.

Oh well...coach dem like it so ah guess.

Clyde is ah rell good player...totally!! Is mainly becuz of an injury (back ah believe) he wasn't able tuh follow up on his good debut performance with some other consistent apperances..But after he recover he had tuh fight up tuh get back on de national selectors radar...so now he's bac he would show his worth...Quality Player!!
Soca Warriors, Holland And Barcelona,
BIG BIG TEAMS!!!!

Re: D Touches Match Report T&T vs Guyana.
« Reply #11 on: July 09, 2008, 05:21:04 AM »
Dear forumites,

W

We entered from the car park entrance. The TTFF reusing the guadeloupe game tickets and $100 poorer I made my way to the main stand. The temporary bleachers were removed and only the permanent stands remained. The laventille rhythm section were setting up shop and provided the vibes for the evening.

Bo

Anyways..till next time.

Yuh serious??

« Reply #12 on: July 09, 2008, 06:08:32 AM »
Maybe I miss it but how much people was there ?

Clyde Leon has about 5 caps for T&T. Lasana always write about him too...

« Reply #13 on: July 09, 2008, 07:31:09 AM »
Man touches I just open ah beer ready to read ,but I took just a few sips and it was over ....to short man ,but say what .Like they say you cant make a silk purse from a sows ear,they play shit how much can one explanciate .This Coach to hard headed ,I see why Costa rica ran him out,say what Anton will have the next 6 years to evaluate as much players as he wants .Thanks for all your hard work :beermug:
Yeah boy touches.......yuh long post and dem is de only long post I could read all de way chroo and say YES!!!...yuh come and give we ah waterdong report man.....like yuh secretary write dah one for yuh.....Tanks doh breddah...still ah good job.  Keep dem coming

Offline Trin

« Reply #14 on: July 09, 2008, 07:41:53 AM »
dat match wasn't worth no long report yes.
Thanks for what we get der Touches  :beermug:

« Reply #15 on: July 09, 2008, 07:43:06 AM »
Boy kiffy it ent have nuttin to write bout nah.

I was vex I hustle and take traffic and spend $100 to watch that.

I might go the venezuela game if it happen but I go rock back and ketch the replay on tv later in the night.

I woulda be better off donating that money to some kinda charity, or buying a KFC or something.

I see 10 minutes of football from TT.

For 80 minutes it was just Guyana knocking and us struggling.

Sam...it had about 500 people....many of them were the ladies footballers and their family and supporters. A few guyanese too were in the stands.

« Reply #16 on: July 09, 2008, 07:51:18 AM »
thanks touches..

ah find it eh right wha dey doing guerra man..

it must have some kinda merit system..

how you go get pick for so much game and cyah get ah sweat after all this time.. Then all kinda man from all over the place coming in every game and sweating in front of you.. You would think that if others get omitted then you would move up the order and eventually into a starting role.

dey really know how to kill ah youth confidence yes..

« Reply #17 on: July 09, 2008, 07:53:47 AM »
guerra should have been playing in central mid with leon as holding, i have said leon was capable many times but plenty men on here except for palos seems clueless about potential and talent in the mid. i really hope guerra gets his shot bc hes better than hyland, actually hes the best youth baller in tt

God is de BOSS...

« Reply #18 on: July 09, 2008, 07:59:05 AM »
Why all yuh surprised Atullah didn't play?  He have to pay for speaking out!!....ah bet he will NEVER say nutten bad bout de coach, TTFF/Jackula ever again....how dare he....little upstart... >:(

That said, Touches boy yuh report as usual, on point.....foreign based all yuh doh get tie up with the score line eh.....all yuh have to see de crap with yuh own two eyes to believe it.
I think last night was de first time I ever remember watching ah football game and I almost fall asleep towards de end of the first half...literally ah was yawning...

Den...to be honest ah was looking forward to when Guyana had de ball...cuz dem was de ones playing any kinda football worth watching, not us...

« Reply #19 on: July 09, 2008, 08:04:08 AM »
guerra should have been playing in central mid with leon as holding, i have said leon was capable many times but plenty men on here except for palos seems clueless about potential and talent in the mid. i really hope guerra gets his shot bc hes better than hyland, actually hes the best youth baller in tt

God is de BOSS...
TI wham?....I does mirror yuh midfield sentiments breddah.....how yuh goh say kiffy clueless bout potential.  Is only men who know how to juk de fitball could talk bout talent, and ah know meh touches on like boil corn too.....And ah sure yuh have a lil ting yuhself

« Reply #20 on: July 09, 2008, 08:13:46 AM »

God is de BOSS...
TI wham?....I does mirror yuh midfield sentiments breddah.....how yuh goh say kiffy clueless bout potential. Is only men who know how to juk de fitball could talk bout talent, and ah know meh touches on like boil corn too.....And ah sure yuh have a lil ting yuhself

my bad they family, that statement was in no way directed to you, your an exception just like palos and a few others... i fed up watching boring tt football, when this team put hardest, bleeder, guerra, leon, whitley and yorke on the team and rotate them, then an only then will you see the potency of our mid.

God is de BOSS....
« Last Edit: July 09, 2008, 08:16:08 AM by TI »

« Reply #21 on: July 09, 2008, 08:34:03 AM »
is really de off season yes..

the match report for this game make it onto foxsoccer main page..

http://msn.foxsports.com/soccer/story/8327234/Trinidad-beats-Guyana-2-0-in-friendly

« Reply #22 on: July 09, 2008, 08:38:53 AM »
Thanx Touches..
It sounded like a drab affair, but I really was not expecting anything much. When ah was checking the updates last night, all kinda 20 mins passing and no updates, ah say that game must be real stale...

« Reply #23 on: July 09, 2008, 10:05:22 AM »
The best part of the match was d two guyanese sitting in front of me. Dem men cuss and quarrel with their team d whole first half. Den at half time one of them buy a bottle of water and pull out a 5 piece and light it up. D man eh say a word d whole second half, i swear d man fall asleep.

Offline Israel

« Reply #24 on: July 09, 2008, 10:54:21 AM »
I think Atiba Charles should get a call up as we r in dire need of defenders
If a rasta in a coma, is he still conscious?

« Reply #25 on: July 09, 2008, 10:59:09 AM »
All yuh lucky all yuh eh get match observations 4 dat piece ah nonesense dat was at MLS las nite

« Reply #26 on: July 09, 2008, 12:15:55 PM »

Sad to see that at this level that is one of the noticeable highpoints. One would think that a coach would want technically sound players.......

« Reply #27 on: July 09, 2008, 12:46:00 PM »
aaammmm.....plz bear with me here....

but whas the background info. on Clyde Leon??
club, age etc

« Reply #28 on: July 09, 2008, 01:10:14 PM »
aaammmm.....plz bear with me here....

but whas the background info. on Clyde Leon??
club, age etc

Plays for W-Connection, 24 yrs old, went to P-Town.

« Reply #29 on: July 09, 2008, 02:03:40 PM »

Sad to see that at this level that is one of the noticeable highpoints. One would think that a coach would want technically sound players.......

It eh have much talent around ! See what the coach has to work with ? Is ah big ting when a national player could collect and pass !!! You getting it from a man who does go to all de games ( touches ) ...it eh easy dis roungs sah !
I know somebody go start to point fingers at local coaches soon enough but dat is for another discussion.