April 26, 2024, 08:53:06 AM

Author Topic: Great news for those of us planning to travel to S. Africa 2010!!  (Read 14167 times)

check out the last paragraph in bold...  :rotfl:

Fans get World Cup ticket boost

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/internationals/7498630.stm

Fans following national teams at the 2010 World Cup will be able to support their country in greater numbers after a change in the way tickets are sold.

World governing body Fifa will allocate 12% of total stadium capacity to fans of competing teams, up from eight percent, for first round games.

"We have always been criticised for too many tickets going to the fat cats," said Fifa official David Will.

"But we are confident that at least 80% in 2010 will go to the general public."

The new 12% figure will only be for the first round of the World Cup in South Africa, with the total returning to about eight percent for matches in the knockout phase.

Tickets will go on sale in February 2009 and a new collection system will be put in place to try to stop tickets being sold on the black market.

There will be five phases of ticket sales and buyers will only be able to pick up their tickets when they get to the host nation.

"It is in much the same way as you book a movie ticket by phone or online these days using your credit card and then when you get there you access your ticket through an ATM-type machine," said Will, who is chairman of the World Cup ticketing sub-committee.

Fifa will also not be giving tickets to the football associations of participating countries to sell and distribute.

That responsibility will now go to MATCH, an organisation in Manchester which runs Fifa's hospitality and accommodation programmes and will now sell and distribute tickets.

Re: Great news for those of us planning to travel to S. Africa 2010!!
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2008, 01:47:52 PM »
well there goes our WC dream...now JW have no incentive for us to qualify  ::)

« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2008, 01:53:29 PM »
Watch sharp, WC 2010 might have to move...

« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2008, 02:05:39 PM »
If we make it, how much yuh wanna bet MATCH teams up with an exclusive local distributor in Trinidad?  ;)

« Reply #4 on: July 09, 2008, 02:08:53 PM »
cyar count chickens before they hatch. 2010 umm... with the team we have now ummm.... tickets or T.V. ummm....

« Reply #5 on: July 09, 2008, 02:55:14 PM »
Dem stadia behind schedule I say leh we go back 2 Germany a great time was had by all.

« Reply #6 on: July 09, 2008, 03:55:40 PM »
Dem stadia behind schedule I say leh we go back 2 Germany a great time was had by all.
ah might b a little disappointed but it eh go vex me atall.............it go b like going back home

« Reply #7 on: July 09, 2008, 06:56:22 PM »
If we make it, how much yuh wanna bet MATCH teams up with an exclusive local distributor in Trinidad?  ;)

Boy yuh take de words right off mih key board!!!.... :devil: ;D

« Reply #8 on: July 10, 2008, 05:45:22 AM »
.....on second thought , let mih eh book mih ticket to SA yet....just in case "plan B" kick in  :devil: ;D

« Reply #9 on: July 10, 2008, 07:20:48 AM »
Watch sharp, WC 2010 might have to move...

And if it doesn't ticketing and public transportation, among many other things, will be a nightmare.

Imagine 10,000 Maxi taxis, buses and cars desceending on a stadium on matchday.

And imagine trying to sell tickets at an affordable price for the locals and keeping them out of the hands of the foreigners that you want to make money off of.

Germany make plenty money but this one could easily make a loss.

« Reply #10 on: July 10, 2008, 08:51:27 AM »
A big loss

« Reply #11 on: July 10, 2008, 09:26:28 AM »
Jack go find some way to siphon money out the system.

All of a sudden he go open a courier business to physically transfer the tickets and some bobol go happen.

« Reply #12 on: July 10, 2008, 10:49:47 AM »
Siphon is 4 gas he go just plain tief