April 29, 2024, 06:13:06 AM

Author Topic: Warner starts regional tour  (Read 1322 times)

Warner starts regional tour
« on: July 10, 2008, 01:00:46 PM »
Warner starts regional tour
Newsday

Thursday, July 10 2008

CONCACAF President Austin Jack Warner arrived in Haiti yesterday to begin his 40-country Member Association Tour of the CONCACAF region. Warner’s visit to Haiti is his first stop and will be used to get first-hand information and review a range of topics which impact on the associations.

These include internal administrative and technical issues; relations among members; relations with ruling bodies, specifically, FIFA, UNCAF and CFU as applicable, as well as committees within those organisations; relations with government; development issues; and their vision for the future.

Prior to his departure for Haiti, the FIFA Vice President attended the 2008-09 CONCACAF Champions League Team Summit at the Intercontinental Hotel in Miami, Florida on Tuesday and yesterday.

The summit attracted representatives from each of the clubs that are competing in the inaugural Champions League and reviewed details and requirements related to the various aspects of the event.

The topics addressed in the two-day summit included the CONCACAF Champions League Game Day Operations; Media Operations; and Commercial Rights.

Joe Public is the lone TT club in the championship after qualifying out of the Caribbean region along with Puerto Rico Islanders and Jamaica’s Harbour View FC. Representatives from all the participating clubs as well as national association members were present at the summit.

“In the 18 years we have aspired to take the club tournament to another level and we are still aspiring to do that with the help of all the associations and clubs. Today we have the dawn of a new era. An era where we have a Champions’ League that will be as good as and in many ways better than the Champions League in Europe., “ Warner said.

“We have one that I am quite sure will dazzle the world and elevate our clubs to a high level and expose them that will only serve to make the players overall better and by extension our national teams,” he said.

“The competition we hope will very soon produce the winners of the FIFA Club championship. That can only be achieved, though, through the collective efforts of all of us .

“That FIFA Club championship which they have today is a direct result of the efforts of CONCACAF .We fought for that tirelessly for the past six years. We fought for that just as we continue to fight for the Confederations Cup,” Warner stated during his address at the summit in yesterday.

Joe Public will face American MLS club New England Revolution in a home and away tie with the first match being played at the Marvin Lee Stadium on August 26 and the second leg on September 2.

The winner of the Champions’ League will be CONCACAF’s representative team at the 2009 FIFA World Club Championship.

Re: Warner starts regional tour
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2008, 05:31:53 PM »
1 ah dem 40 countries could please set him up wit a house and keep him pretty please

« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2008, 05:52:36 PM »
1 ah dem 40 countries could please set him up wit a house and keep him pretty please
      I'm sure they would like too but you think they could afford him?if you read the lead post you will see the weight that man have,is not one country is 40 and he is the adviser for all of them,even their governments,look at the responsibility he has,they are the same countries that have him where he is, not T&T,could you imagine having to visit 40 countries as part of your job,that's a dream. 

« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2008, 06:08:01 PM »
Well Coops, I glad for Jack. Let him visit those 40 countries. He deserves that. He is a FIFA exec.  We have no problem with his FIFA responsiblities. Our problem is with his irresponsiblities with TT football.

« Reply #4 on: July 10, 2008, 06:44:41 PM »
      I'm sure they would like too but you think they could afford him?if you read the lead post you will see the weight that man have,is not one country is 40 and he is the adviser for all of them,even their governments,look at the responsibility he has,they are the same countries that have him where he is, not T&T,could you imagine having to visit 40 countries as part of your job,that's a dream. 

Coops you sound like one of these star struck teenagers. Sad indeed that one as old as you still hasnt learned that Jack's visits to these countries is not an exercise in diplomatic function but one of survival and political chicanery. You may stand in awe and disbelief but pablo escobar visited all his underlings in colombia and other south american countries. And this under the cloud of the US DEA. Now tell me which is criminal activity is tougher, Jack's or the late minor criminal Escobar?

« Reply #5 on: July 10, 2008, 07:09:44 PM »
Steups.  He only looking for free food.  Yuh remember he talk back in de day how he used to go to school bare feet and he bring lime juice and fry bake everyday for lunch.  Now he want de black listed men to do de same thing.

« Reply #6 on: July 10, 2008, 07:57:13 PM »
Steups.  He only looking for free food.  Yuh remember he talk back in de day how he used to go to school bare feet and he bring lime juice and fry bake everyday for lunch.  Now he want de black listed men to do de same thing.

lime juice an fry bake does cut

« Reply #7 on: July 10, 2008, 08:24:30 PM »
When he coming to Trinidad to visit and speak with the TTFF?  We have a lot a problems that need fixing.  It go be good if he can hear about them!