April 27, 2024, 12:05:33 PM

Author Topic: Pompey makes a good buy  (Read 3603 times)

Pompey makes a good buy
« on: July 11, 2008, 12:31:31 PM »
Not a huge Peter Crouch fan, but he is effective (difficult to deal with) and can score goals. Pompey may just be the winner in this move. They now have several options up front & can show variety on the day.

Re: Pompey makes a good buy
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2008, 12:47:53 PM »
Excellent buy for Portsmouth. Dat Defoe Crouch frontline go wreak havoc! 
With Hyland in de middle too dey good for de League title.  :devil:
« Last Edit: July 12, 2008, 08:46:13 PM by FireBrand »

« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2008, 12:51:35 PM »
Not a huge Peter Crouch fan, but he is effective (difficult to deal with) and can score goals. Pompey may just be the winner in this move. They now have several options up front & can show variety on the day.

I like watchin dem play.  There are 2 players on their team I particularly enjoy...

Sulley Muntari and Niko Kranjcar.  Both excellent players.  I think Arsenal is trying to get Kranjcar which would be great for them because he would fit in with their style and philosophy beautifully in my opinion.

« Reply #3 on: July 11, 2008, 12:53:41 PM »

I like watchin dem play.  There are 2 players on their team I particularly enjoy...

Sulley Muntari and Niko Kranjcar.  Both excellent players.  I think Arsenal is trying to get Kranjcar which would be great for them because he would fit in with their style and philosophy beautifully in my opinion.

Not to mention opening that slot for Hyland

« Reply #4 on: July 11, 2008, 12:58:15 PM »
Excellent buy for Portmouth. Dat Defoe Crouch frontline go wreak havoc! 

LOL!

Hyland in tough to mek de reserve team far less de 1st squad.

He have competition like Papa Bouba Diop, Pedro Mendes, Sean Davis, Lassanna Diarra & Songo'o to deal with.

Besides....ah tink de combo up front go more be Benjani and Crouch.

« Reply #5 on: July 11, 2008, 01:02:35 PM »

LOL!

He have competition like Papa Bouba Diop, Pedro Mendes, Sean Davis, Lassanna Diarra & Songo'o to deal with.

Oh Dear  :devil: :rotfl: Benjani plays for Manchester City  ;D

« Reply #6 on: July 11, 2008, 01:06:47 PM »

LOL!

My bad.  I thought he transferred to Pompey during the January window last season.

« Reply #7 on: July 11, 2008, 01:11:14 PM »

LOL!

De Hyland comment was just kix. Even if he signs I would not expect to see Hyland starting or even coming off the bench next season. Like yuh say is stiff stiff competition in Pompey's midfield and he is more of a "diamond in de rough". How well he adapts to EPL ball and how soon he steps up to a starting role is really up to him though, but I have faith dat de youth could be a big baller in years to come.

« Reply #8 on: July 11, 2008, 01:13:03 PM »

LOL!

De Hyland comment was just kix. Even if he signs I would not expect to see Hyland starting or even coming off the bench next season. Like yuh say is stiff stiff competition in Pompey's midfield and he is more of a "diamond in de rough". How well he adapts to EPL ball and how soon he steps up to a starting role is really up to him though, but I have faith dat de youth could be a big baller in years to come.

Totally agreed.  And ah know yuh was on kix hence de LOL... 8)

« Reply #9 on: July 11, 2008, 01:14:57 PM »

LOL!

My bad.  I thought he transferred to Pompey during the January window last season.

something of ah davyjenny kinda variety...

« Reply #10 on: July 11, 2008, 01:16:07 PM »
I expect Crutch to score bout 21 goals this season....definitely not the most finesse of players but has a knack of being in de right place at the right time....

« Reply #11 on: July 11, 2008, 01:21:09 PM »
I expect Crutch to score bout 21 goals this season....definitely not the most finesse of players but has a knack of being in de right place at the right time....

Crutch have skillz bro

« Reply #12 on: July 11, 2008, 01:21:54 PM »
No one mentioning Kanu in the mix. Still deadly and now has a supporting cast

« Reply #13 on: July 11, 2008, 01:27:44 PM »

Crutch have skillz bro
ah didn't say he doh have skills all I said is that he is not a finesse player at times he looks clumsy....

« Reply #14 on: July 11, 2008, 01:37:49 PM »

Crutch have skillz bro
ah didn't say he doh have skills all I said is that he is not a finesse player at times he looks clumsy....

I think he might look clumsy ONLY because he's very tall.  But I think Crutch's game is based much more on finesse than anything else.  He doesn't get the respect he deserves because he "sticks out" so much.  Jes my opinion.

« Reply #15 on: July 11, 2008, 01:42:00 PM »

LOL!

We all make mistakes, I thought he transfered back for minute ;D

« Reply #16 on: July 11, 2008, 01:58:49 PM »

LOL!

We all make mistakes, I thought he transfered back for minute ;D

:-[ :-[  ;D

« Reply #17 on: July 11, 2008, 02:10:26 PM »
Palos he still clumsy he eh no Jan Koeller....more like Manute Bol  :) :)

« Reply #18 on: July 12, 2008, 01:35:08 AM »
I think he might look clumsy ONLY because he's very tall.  But I think Crutch's game is based much more on finesse than anything else.  He doesn't get the respect he deserves because he "sticks out" so much.  Jes my opinion.

Well said. I'm sad to see him leave Liverpool, but it's clear that Benitez didn't like him for some reason. Not only because he never gave the Torres/Crouch partnership time to gel, but even when the score was 0-0 and bringing Crouch on would have made sense, he very rarely did. And I prefer the £10m to having Crouch scratching himself on the bench.

« Reply #19 on: July 12, 2008, 03:18:45 AM »
crouch? 21 goals????...wha u smoking boy...steups

« Reply #20 on: July 12, 2008, 05:48:48 PM »
it's clear that Benitez didn't like him for some reason.

Is not Benitez alone.... :devil: ;D

« Reply #21 on: July 12, 2008, 08:16:00 PM »
Jones was Sunderland's player of the year with 7 goals ...surely expecting Crouch to get 21 with Pompey is a bit much. He wont have the services as with liverpool which would make things a lot harder. I like Crouch though ...for a tall man he is quite agile ...no skills man though ..my standards are a little higher for that type of description. Pompey made a gear buy , in my book , after all the man is still a member of the England squad ..although that counts for a little less these days ..

« Reply #22 on: July 12, 2008, 09:54:25 PM »
What's not 2 luv adios hair puller I might now satrt 2 pay Liverpool some attention now dat yuh eh dey. Dat was meh sign back from D John Barnes dayz

« Reply #23 on: July 13, 2008, 03:32:59 AM »
if a trini did pull somebody hair to score, allyuh woulda make a meal out of it, or allyuh would say is the ref fault for not seeing it?
Yeh i know is a dutty way to play, but sancho shoulda fall down or to try something to get the ref to notice the foul.

« Reply #24 on: July 13, 2008, 01:29:39 PM »
Ah just cannot wait fuh de EPL nah, de new and improved Chelsea, Sunderland and all de other new signings, waw. Cuz life is kind ah boring as far as sports go these days. Thank de lawd for de Super league last night, 2 night and de days ahead. Cuz is real pressure wid sports right now. However, I'm trying to force myself to like Baseball. I will need to, so dat next year de lawd spare my life, I wouldn't have to go though dis. Earlier dis year, I received some free tickets for 2 games to see de Florida Panthers in a hockey game at de Bank Atlantic Centre. Well I will be returning next season to view a couple more games,a real exciting sports doh, a decent crowd. I never thought dat in my life ah would ah even gone to see a hockey game  :o.

Back to de baseball topic, i  do understand de game, but some of de lil rules and dem ah not 2 sure about. Well believe it or not, seeing dat de wife is Puertorican, she was telling meh since last year dat baseball is very interesting game, ah should follow it and take dem (wife and son) to a Marlins game  :-\. I must admit dat I sat down wid her dis week and I watched a few games wid her, and it is pretty ok. Well of course she teaching meh all de lil rules dat I'm not 2 familiar wid  :-[  ;D.

Well if ah get tuh love de game, it will make meh summer more interesting as far as sports, so when de NBA, EPL, La Liga, etc, seasons are over, ah will have another sport to be interested until August. Apart from dat, de Florida Marlins have ah court issue going on, dat should be decided dis week. Dey are trying to clear up some situation, so dat dey could build a very nice stadium in Miami for de Florida Marlins. Ah guess next summer, ah will be singing like dem Yankees, " Take me to de ball park"  ;) ;D. HIGHLY BLESSED.
« Last Edit: July 13, 2008, 01:38:21 PM by SUPA »

« Reply #25 on: July 13, 2008, 09:38:02 PM »
Brudder 4 me d hair ting was d last straw neva digged d lankey fella

« Reply #26 on: July 14, 2008, 08:50:48 AM »

Niko Kranjcar- another one of the standouts from the U-17 tourney hosted in T&T....

« Reply #27 on: July 14, 2008, 06:48:22 PM »

Well said. I'm sad to see him leave Liverpool, but it's clear that Benitez didn't like him for some reason. Not only because he never gave the Torres/Crouch partnership time to gel, but even when the score was 0-0 and bringing Crouch on would have made sense, he very rarely did. And I prefer the £10m to having Crouch scratching himself on the bench.
same feelings here with the Torres partnership.
sometimes i used to wonder when we need a goal or even winning and Rafa used to bring on Benayoun, Lucas or some dotish ass substitution and leave Crouch on de damn bench.  ::)
as ah does always say..Crouch have plenty skills and touches for a tall boney ass man.
good luck Crouch  :beermug:

« Reply #28 on: July 15, 2008, 11:52:02 AM »

Crutch have skillz bro

Good point...and he doh even look clumsy- he just stands out because of his unusual physique...but his movement and ball control look quite polished to me.