April 28, 2024, 10:14:28 PM

Author Topic: Timeshare info  (Read 3858 times)

Re: Timeshare info
« Reply #30 on: July 16, 2008, 08:28:31 PM »
Timeshare 101 - How to Choose a Timeshare

Not withstanding if Timeshares are a waste of $$ or worth it, here are some guidelines to chose a timeshare

Why timeshare?  the accommodations are far and away larger, of better quality, and more suited to a family on the road.  However, timeshares have a bad reputation due to selling practices.

Check out this user group and do research before buying.  Most first time buyers buy impulsively and do not plan it.

Timeshare User Group

1.   If your intention is to go to the same place each time, then buy there and do not rely on your ability to trade there.  For example, if you like a particular resort in Mexico and you intend to visit there each year, then that is where you should buy.  But do your research to find out the pros and cons of that resort.

2.   If traveling to different places is a priority, then buy into a company that has multiple resorts.

3.   Once you’ve pinpointed where you want, start watching auctions on eBay, without bidding, to see how much things are selling for. Do not bid until you figure out what the going rate is.  Never bid beyond the average selling price.  In most cases, there will always be another listing. For a first time purchase, buy from a seller specializing in timeshare sales on eBay.  There are also transfer costs ($50 to $300) and closing fees ($300 to $500).  Annual maintenance fees could run from $300 to $2,000.  Closing may take as long as three months.

4.   Try renting before buying.  Don’t fall for the sales presentation.  Do not buy from the developer.

5.   Like a condo, resorts too can be subject to a special assessment.  Call the management company and ask when the last special assessment was and if any are being contemplated. If a special assessment has happened recently, you’re probably good for a while.

6.   Off season weeks are worthless. Do not buy one.

7.   Pay particular attention to maintenance fee levels. Too low a fee and the resort will probably be poorly maintained. Too high a fee and you would be better off trying to trade in using a more economical resort.

8.   Once you purchase, start planning two years in advance to book your reservation.

« Reply #31 on: July 16, 2008, 09:44:32 PM »
Steups. You cyar even go round de corner, but yuh lookin fuh timeshare  :devil:.

he better find one in de city... u knwo how de wildlife in de country does be dnagerous....gobble gobble gobble..lol

he should buy a room in the house and call that a win lol
Gosh man..why allyuh fellas so?  :-[
ah know what to do allyuh next time..last time allyuh wanted to go see where Brittney Spears was living up in Hollywood :devil:
and ah sure when we bounce up in Chicago allyuh go want meh to drive allyuh to see Oprah house  ;D

« Reply #32 on: July 16, 2008, 09:56:21 PM »
<taking notes>

when ah tell ya could learn something in here...me ain't lying nah

allyuh continue wid dis free education please and thanks

yes fellas thanks for sharing your experiences
since i was definitely looking for a Trini's perspective.

Pecan as Ricky say that is generously good of you to buy that second timeshare  :beermug:

Bakes the last time ah went Vegas we put aside a good half day and hit 3 timeshare presentations..just to get all them free tickets and meals..we end up saving just over $1000 in that 5-6 hours..yes ah cheap ;D
ah ent know if is setup or what..but them people who does buy into it the 1st rounds does real crack me up yes..and yuh does see the other people who buy by the 3rd round smiling as if they get a good deal lol

Anyway fellas I will reply sometime tomorrow with my take on the timeshare pros and cons and we could discuss further.