April 28, 2024, 11:08:19 PM

Author Topic: TT team of the 60's  (Read 6404 times)

Offline Anbrat

TT team of the 60's
« on: July 14, 2008, 07:55:13 AM »

A trip down memory lane!!!!!

Offline dtool

Re: TT team of the 60's
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2008, 10:42:59 AM »

Name the players please ......

« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2008, 11:08:36 AM »
Name the players please ......

Front row:
third from left could be De La Bastide. a wild guess.
fourth from left look like Gally.

Back row:
first from left could be Jean Mouttet. a wild guess.
second from left, look like De Leon.
fifth from left look like Selwyn Murren

« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2008, 11:13:54 AM »
thx anbrat.

mods,

this is mos def 1 for thw socawarriors.net archives.

« Reply #4 on: July 14, 2008, 11:21:01 AM »
Is dat SH nex to Gally holdin de TTFF flag? 

Den again de photo did say Team of de 60's  SH woulda retire by den... ;D

« Reply #5 on: July 14, 2008, 11:30:34 AM »
Is dat SH nex to Gally holdin de TTFF flag? 

Den again de photo did say Team of de 60's  SH woulda retire by den... ;D

allyuh bad for spite oui!  :rotfl:  :rotfl:  :rotfl:  :rotfl:

« Reply #6 on: July 14, 2008, 11:37:38 AM »
Bert Grell back row 3rd from left, 5th from right

« Reply #7 on: July 14, 2008, 11:38:06 AM »

Gerald Figaro,Leroy Deleon,?,Gorden Husbands,Selwyn Murren,Arnim David,Crawford (back row)

Buggy Haynes,?,Tyrone Delabastide,Gally Cummings,Wilfred Cave (front row)

I know the two question marks but the names just not coming to me.I hope this is a start.

« Last Edit: July 15, 2008, 10:30:16 AM by Coop's »

« Reply #8 on: July 14, 2008, 11:54:01 AM »

Gerald Fifaro,Leroy Deleon,?,Gorden Husbands,Selwyn Murren,Arnim David,Crawford (back row)

I know the two question marks but the names just not coming to me.I hope this is a start.

coops I think the ? at the back is Grell & Mervin Crawford is the Keeper in black.
next to Gally is I think is Steve David (not Cave)

« Reply #9 on: July 14, 2008, 12:04:38 PM »

Gerald Fifaro,Leroy Deleon,?,Gorden Husbands,Selwyn Murren,Arnim David,Crawford (back row)

coops I think the ? at the back is Grell & Mervin Crawford is the Keeper in black.
next to Gally is I think is Steve David (not Cave)
       I'm not sure but that guy looks like Willo to me,any how you should know that guy next to Buggy Haynes, he was one of our best defenders, he from St Benedict's with Archie and them,i played together with him but just can't remember his name.   

Offline dtool

« Reply #10 on: July 14, 2008, 12:07:53 PM »

Good start ...
Fella look like Bert Grell(back 3rd from left)  and Arnim David look like Jeff Gelleneau????
Who Crawford use to play for???

« Reply #11 on: July 14, 2008, 12:14:51 PM »

Good start ...
Fella look like Bert Grell(back 3rd from left)  and Arnim David look like Jeff Gelleneau????
Who Crawford use to play for???
      Breds mark my word i played with and against these guys,Crawford used to play for South can't remember the club team he played for.

Offline Anbrat

« Reply #12 on: July 14, 2008, 12:21:01 PM »

Coop's yuh did well. :applause:  Permit me to fill in the blanks. To the right of 'Dilly' is Betram Grell. To the right of Grell is not Gordon Husbamds, it is Jimmy Springer (QRC).

Between Buggy and Tyrone de la Bastide is Lawrence 'Fred' Rondon. You got every other name correct!

Btw, I wonder how many knew that Mervyn Crawford, the GK in the photo is Hasely Crawford's brother. Mervyn campaigned with Hurricanes in the SFA.

« Reply #13 on: July 14, 2008, 12:25:47 PM »
Twenty years ago I heard that Crawford's brother played GK for TT.

I never read it in the TT newspapers and wasn't able to confirm it until today.

Imagine is a white from England ah had to hear dis from.

Peace,

« Reply #14 on: July 14, 2008, 12:26:17 PM »

Coop's yuh did well. :applause:  Permit me to fill in the blanks. To the right of 'Dilly' is Betram Grell. To the right of Grell is not Gordon Husbamds, it is Jimmy Springer (QRC).

Between Buggy and Tyrone de la Bastide is Lawrence 'Fred' Rondon. You got every other name correct!

Btw, I wonder how many knew that Mervyn Crawford, the GK in the photo is Hasely Crawford's brother. Mervyn campaigned with Hurricanes in the SFA.

He actually played as a  Sweeper for Hurricanes in his later years

Offline Anbrat

« Reply #15 on: July 14, 2008, 12:28:19 PM »
Twenty years ago I heard that Crawford's brother played GK for TT.

I never read it in the TT newspapers and wasn't able to confirm it until today.

Imagine is a white from England ah had to hear dis from.

Peace,

Whats up, VB!

Nitendo Vinces..........

« Reply #16 on: July 14, 2008, 12:38:30 PM »

You also did very well because although i played together with Lawrence Rondon i just could not remember his name,the best i've seen at taking penalty kicks,thanks for correcting me on Jimmy Springer (QRC/Maple),these posts does bring back good memories.
« Last Edit: July 15, 2008, 10:33:01 AM by Coop's »

« Reply #17 on: July 14, 2008, 08:39:11 PM »
Coops,
        That picture realy bring back memories. I saw Mervyn saved for TT against Nautico. And yes it was common knowledge that he was Hasley's brother. I also seen Mervyn played for hurricanes against Defence in Geo. V Park for a CoC games. DF beating 4-0.

I spoke to Grell just last week. Guys, Bert look great for his age. He is a real cool guy. One of the reason why Bert do not get the props like Archie, Dilly and Gally is that he did not go to a prestige school. Long ago, attending a prestige school was indeed a ticket to greener pastures in education and sports. But Bert defied the odds and was as good as or better than some who attend the so called prestige schools.

The other person in the picture I must mention is Jimmy Springer. Real proud of this QRC man. He was a comsumate ball player. Real cool, but had a rebel streak in him. He stood forr what he thought was right and paid the price. If any body have any news about Jimmy,please share it with this forum. This guy never fulfilled his though potential. God Bless guy.

P.S. I can't leave out Tyrone, the Tank. The original roberto Carlos. Thanks for the memories, God Bless and RIP.

« Reply #18 on: July 29, 2008, 03:25:32 PM »
Deeks I plan to pass this photo on to a close family friend, Len Gray, who lives in Toronto.

He and Grell real close (but I can't remember which brother, I think it's Bert).

He always tells me, the Grells learn how to dribble by visiting him in Arima and playing football on the street with a tennis ball :-)

I met the son, who was on schol (I  think in Washington) back in the early 90s. He had actually trained with the TT U-16 team in the 80s. Knew a lot of TT ballers on the College circuit and met a lot of TT players. Spoke about the Chinapoo bullet in hallowed terms :-)

Peace,

« Reply #19 on: July 29, 2008, 03:42:46 PM »
Dat squad would get 5 from dis current Maturana squad.  8)

« Reply #20 on: July 29, 2008, 03:56:54 PM »

You smoke about five ganja before you make dat post?  ??? ???

« Reply #21 on: July 29, 2008, 04:04:51 PM »

You smoke about five ganja before you make dat post?  ??? ???

You doubt it?  Based on what exactly?  Nostalgia?

« Reply #22 on: July 29, 2008, 04:11:05 PM »
And what you basing yours on??

First of all what is the current TT squad. The one that play Bermuda??

The Squad that went to the WC in 2006 was no Bomb squad, but bear in mind we had a helluva Coach.

I think Coaching would have a lot to do with it?

But based on skill, flair and natural ability about five men on dat team could make an All time TT team.

Shaka and Latas retired. Yorke kinda retired. So who on our present team could make that 60s squad. You would catch your ass to find five.

« Reply #23 on: July 29, 2008, 04:19:25 PM »
And what you basing yours on??

First of all what is the current TT squad. The one that play Bermuda??

The Squad that went to the WC in 2006 was no Bomb squad, but bear in mind we had a helluva Coach.

I think Coaching would have a lot to do with it?

But based on skill, flair and natural ability about five men on dat team could make an All time TT team.

Shaka and Latas retired. Yorke kinda retired. So who on our present team could make that 60s squad. You would catch your ass to find five.

Steupes.  Men stronger, faster, fitter now dan in de 60's.  Dem fellas was GREAT IN DEY TIME.  But STILL used to get lick up from Surinam, Haiti and dem. 

Dem fellas was really good compared to dey peers because it had nutting else really to compare dem wit.

We players now bein compared not to men in de PFL (like dem fellas was bein compared to dem peers in Northern & Southern football league) but to INTERNATIONAL players.

If de Soca Warriors dat went Germany was to meet dem fellas, de warriors woulda ress 10 normal on dem.  Is jes evolution bro.  Nutting more...nutting less.  8)

« Reply #24 on: July 29, 2008, 04:33:33 PM »
It ever occured to you that Suriname and Haiti was better back then.

Are you aware of how much talent Sur. has lost to Holland.

Yes playing abroad in better league should make u a better player. But then again about four members of that team played in the NASL.

About half our team playing second div. football or worse in Europe.

What makes you think these fellas fitter? You see both teams play?

The fitter men who catch dey ass vs. BERMUDA!!!???

If you want to compare ppl on our present team to Steve david, De Leon, Grell and Archibald. Go ahead boss.

BTW there's  better and getting the chance to show your stuff.

Yorke got a chance in the Premiership. I think if Leonson Lewis or Steve David had got a chance, the world would have known about them as well.

Ah know SD ddn't make it on his trial. But there are many factors for failing on a trial.

But after all some of these fellas only hold dey own with Pele and Beckebauer.

Sancho catching ass. Bleeder and whitley cah get a contract to save dey life and we have a defender (JOyce) that most ppl never heard of.

« Reply #25 on: July 29, 2008, 04:52:56 PM »
What makes you think these fellas fitter? You see both teams play?

The fitter men who catch dey ass vs. BERMUDA!!!???

Bermuda would have beaten the team of the 60's.

Actually...they did.  8)

« Reply #26 on: July 29, 2008, 05:17:54 PM »
Yeah but dat Bermuda team woulda give today's TT squad 10  8)

« Reply #27 on: July 29, 2008, 05:35:33 PM »
The Bermuda team of the 60's had a guy called Clyde Best who later played for West Ham. One of the new modern day black players in the English league.

It is always difficult to compare past and present teams. The older one like myself who have seem both old and new and the future will always show bias to the guys who played when we were young.

. If you feel the present day guys will win in playoff between the two, that is fine by me.  The current players have one advantage over the older guys. That is globaliztion. Believe you me, I never in my life would have believe a man from TT would be a superstar for Man U. Take it from a guy who came of age in the 60's. That is absolutely maind buggling. To the current generation, that is no big thing. To them that is the norm.

Offline Anbrat

« Reply #28 on: July 29, 2008, 07:56:02 PM »
The Bermuda team of the 60's had a guy called Clyde Best who later played for West Ham. One of the new modern day black players in the English league.

It is always difficult to compare past and present teams. The older one like myself who have seem both old and new and the future will always show bias to the guys who played when we were young.

. If you feel the present day guys will win in playoff between the two, that is fine by me.  The current players have one advantage over the older guys. That is globaliztion. Believe you me, I never in my life would have believe a man from TT would be a superstar for Man U. Take it from a guy who came of age in the 60's. That is absolutely maind buggling. To the current generation, that is no big thing. To them that is the norm.

If only the T&T players of yesteryear had the opportunity of today's generation....... but dat is wishful thinking.

« Reply #29 on: July 29, 2008, 08:19:33 PM »

In 1968 there was the CONCACAF Champions Cup. Trinidad Regiment looked like they would go through in the Caribbean group as they had not lost a game. The last game was against Bermuda's Somerset which hadn't been doing well at all, but I guess they kept all their goals for Trinidad and knocked them into second place.

vs Jong Colombia 1-1 draw, goal by Gerry Browne
vs Racing 1-0 win, goal by Kelvin Berassa
vs Jamaica Regiment 2-1 win, goals by Kelvin Berassa
vs Somerset 1-5 loss including Clyde Best goal and a hat trick by Randolph Horton

Lincoln Phillips was in goal.

Somerset had been losing up to that point.

Jong Colombia of the Netherland Antilles went through instead.

Somerset dim Trinidad Regiment 5-1
Date Published: 1968-02-01
Source: Jamaica Gleaner

SOMERSET of Bermuda ended their four-game fixtures in the CONCACAF Inter-Club Champion of Champions football tournament and earned their only points as they shut out the Trinidad and Tobago Regiment 5-1 at the National Stadium last night.

A first half hat-trick by right winger Randolph Horton signalled, the beginning of the end for the Trinidad team, who got their lone goal five minutes after Horton had whipped in his last.

In the second half each team made purposeful attacks on the other's goal front and soon the Bermudan team increased their tally when inside left Clyde Best banged a hard grounder past Phillips in goal.

Lionel Smith completed the rout soon after with a powerful penalty conversion.