So after yesterday's unification bout, we are now The Undisputed Champions of Europe until next weekend
Pre-game the atmosphere was mostly mellow (not really a surprise in Amsterdam). The game meant alot more to Benfica fans than Chelsea fans...Benfica were there to try and win their first European trophy in decades, Chelsea were basically there for the party.
At one point it looked as if it was all kicking off in the town center near where me and my pardna were liming. I couldnt see whether it was Chelsea v Benfica or just Chelsea imbeciles fighting one another. Anyway we decided to make a move down the road, just as a squad of Chelsea hard men came steaming in looking for a fight, quickly followed by some MASSIVE dutch police (some of them fellas look like robocop on steroids), followed by a herd of police horses, then even more police. Didn't hear any more about that fiasco, guess nothing came of it (edit - more about it here:
http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/europa-league-final-chelsea-hooligans-1892194)
Anyway, onto the match. I eh go lie, we were pretty poor yesterday, Benfica were better. We looked tired and seemed to be conserving energy in the first half. David Luiz and Lampard were getting overrun in midfield and Ramires was useless out on the right wing. The only saving grace for us was the Benfica aren't that skillful and just couldn't make good use of their possession. Similar to last year's game at Stamford Bridge, they had a lot of the ball but didn't threaten anywhere near as much as they could have.
Second half we stepped it up a bit and that half was more competitive from a Chelsea perspective. Even so, I wasn't looking forward to extra time - several players were completely bun in the last 10 minutes, Benitez was determined not to sub anybody and as a spectacle the match was still pretty dry. So thank God for Ivanovic
. That ball seemed to hang in the air for ever...we were behind that goal...watched the ball loop high across the six yard box...watched the keeper take a step and then stop as if the ball was going over...but then....
As every Chelsea hater has already said, the Europa League doesn't compare to Champions League and its true...for me yesterday's experience could never touch Munich. Amsterdam was fun but Munich was magical. But a trophy is a trophy and it was a great way to end the season
Jimmy Floyd in de dance
Pre-game
Benfica
Chelsea
Action
Champions
Celebrations