March 28, 2024, 03:00:42 AM

Author Topic: CHELSEA FOREVER! - Home of the Champions!  (Read 624362 times)

Re: CHELSEA FOREVER! - Home of the Champions!
« Reply #3510 on: October 19, 2013, 10:26:10 PM »
The referee and his assistant blew the call on Chelsea's first goal... It was a foul by Eto'o

How so?   ??? ???

Goalkeeper releases the ball to punt it upfield, he's still considered to be in possession of the ball and you can't take it away from him.

From the Guardian:

According to Fifa's Laws of the Game – 12.16, a goalkeeper is considered to be in control of the ball even while bouncing it and any attempt by an opposition player to take it away from him should be "punished by a direct free-kick".

« Reply #3511 on: October 20, 2013, 09:43:39 AM »
The referee and his assistant blew the call on Chelsea's first goal... It was a foul by Eto'o

How so?   ??? ???

Goalkeeper releases the ball to punt it upfield, he's still considered to be in possession of the ball and you can't take it away from him.

From the Guardian:

According to Fifa's Laws of the Game – 12.16, a goalkeeper is considered to be in control of the ball even while bouncing it and any attempt by an opposition player to take it away from him should be "punished by a direct free-kick".

Offences committed by goalkeepers
A goalkeeper is not permitted to keep control of the ball in his hands for more
than six seconds. A goalkeeper is considered to be in control of the ball:
• while the ball is between his hands or between his hand and any surface
(e.g. ground, own body)
• while holding the ball in his outstretched open hand
• while in the act of bouncing it on the ground or tossing it into the air
When a goalkeeper has gained possession of the ball with his hands, he cannot
be challenged by an opponent.
A goalkeeper is not permitted to touch the ball with his hand inside his own
penalty area in the following circumstances:
• if he handles the ball again after it has been released from his possession
and has not touched any other player:
– the goalkeeper is considered to be in control of the ball by touching
it with any part of his hands or arms except if the ball rebounds
accidentally from him, e.g. after he has made a save
– possession of the ball includes the goalkeeper deliberately parrying the
ball
• if he touches the ball with his hands after it has been deliberately kicked to
him by a team-mate
• if he touches the ball with his hands

Yeah, I know that application of the Law, one of which I have contention with as there are many grey areas in there. Mind you I am a supporter of protecting the goalkeeper, however, to me some of these rules conflict with each other.

« Reply #3512 on: October 20, 2013, 11:59:17 AM »

Yeah, I know that application of the Law, one of which I have contention with as there are many grey areas in there. Mind you I am a supporter of protecting the goalkeeper, however, to me some of these rules conflict with each other.

None of those rules conflict with the one I posted though... he was in the process of dribbling the ball in preparation to kick it upfield.  From your post:

• while in the act of bouncing it on the ground or tossing it into the air

Rookie officiating error... pub league level actually, by Taylor.

« Reply #3513 on: October 20, 2013, 12:51:19 PM »
Rookie officiating error... pub league level actually, by Taylor.

It was the linesman's fault, not the ref's. He consulted his linesman who told him that the keeper had dropped the ball to his feet (as opposed to bouncing it). The linesman clearly didnt see either

« Reply #3514 on: October 20, 2013, 02:35:57 PM »
It was the linesman's fault, not the ref's. He consulted his linesman who told him that the keeper had dropped the ball to his feet (as opposed to bouncing it). The linesman clearly didnt see either

What was there to consult about? If it's even close the spirit of the rule requires you to whistle for an infringement.  That sort of thing might be okay in a pick up game, but for my part has no part in the professional game.

« Reply #3515 on: October 20, 2013, 05:05:28 PM »

What was there to consult about? If it's even close the spirit of the rule requires you to whistle for an infringement.  That sort of thing might be okay in a pick up game, but for my part has no part in the professional game.

As per Ryan though, the lines man view is that he dropped the ball, the laws does not cover that....and well the spirit of the law  :-\

« Reply #3516 on: October 20, 2013, 07:44:13 PM »
As per Ryan though, the lines man view is that he dropped the ball, the laws does not cover that....and well the spirit of the law  :-\

Take a look at the replay at 1:13 thereabouts... tell me what part of that looks like he dropped the ball. 

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/0BmzxZUii-8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/0BmzxZUii-8</a>

I understand that's not your argument (Mackay confirmed that both officials were in agreement that he dropped the ball, that if he was bouncing it and Eto'o did what he did then that would be a foul), but I don't understand how they could both miss such an obvious call.

« Reply #3517 on: October 20, 2013, 09:02:37 PM »
Horrible officiating.

« Reply #3518 on: October 22, 2013, 01:37:09 PM »
Torres...  ;)

« Reply #3519 on: October 27, 2013, 10:35:11 AM »
Did Torres just blow past Clichy?

Bad Torres 1 - Good Torres 1

Terrible Miss, Excellent cross.

« Reply #3520 on: October 27, 2013, 11:00:58 AM »
Torres, even though he miss a sitter playing like a boss !!

« Reply #3521 on: October 27, 2013, 11:05:53 AM »
Don't worry Torres. Assists are the new goals.

« Reply #3522 on: October 27, 2013, 11:09:38 AM »
Don't worry Torres. Assists are the new goals.

Aguero: No, goals are the new goals.

« Reply #3523 on: October 27, 2013, 11:50:00 AM »
joe hart had ah brain fart ;D

« Reply #3524 on: October 27, 2013, 11:52:29 AM »
Hart like he was bored.

Mysterious figures at chelsea
« Reply #3525 on: October 28, 2013, 10:20:15 AM »

Is this the end of the beautiful game as we know it ? dangerous happenings are taking place worldwide which threatens weekend enjoyment and even the right to attend football matches. What if a man made disaster happened in a world cup environment with such an international audience and with those wanting maximum publicity ? it always seems to be centured around racism as I am sure many of us are noticing is creeping back into the game of football.

http://www.goal.com/en/news/5610/mysterious-circles/2013/10/28/4364588/mysterious-figures-at-chelsea?ICID=HP_HN_2Another stadium was visited by strange guests over the weekend, with 11 hooded onlookers causing a stir at Stamford Bridge on Sunday

Re: Mysterious figures at chelsea
« Reply #3526 on: October 28, 2013, 10:24:50 AM »
similar scenes took place in germany etc. notice it coincided with entrance of the german beckenbauer ...and at least one disguised person was standing right behind him ? you dont get that position just so ...you have to know before hand where you want to be located and make suitable arrangements ....better yet ..the kaisers visit was not widely known ....

Re: Mysterious figures at chelsea
« Reply #3527 on: October 28, 2013, 10:27:13 AM »
Viral ad campaign... nothing more to see here

« Reply #3528 on: November 02, 2013, 08:32:20 AM »
Steups...  >:(

« Reply #3529 on: November 09, 2013, 10:55:13 AM »
Saved by the ref!

« Reply #3530 on: November 09, 2013, 11:45:48 AM »
Saved by the ref!

No talk of the dive by Ramirez?  He clearly threw himself into Reid to draw the contact then fell, turned around and appealed for a penalty.  I'm surprised people don't talk more about this aspect of his game.

Offline Dansteel - The Iceman

« Reply #3531 on: November 09, 2013, 05:25:51 PM »
Saved by the ref!

No talk of the dive by Ramirez?  He clearly threw himself into Reid to draw the contact then fell, turned around and appealed for a penalty.  I'm surprised people don't talk more about this aspect of his game.

I used to like Ramires as a player but I am fed up of his constant fouling and diving. So it go sometimes. With him, Neymar and Dani Alves, Brazil going to "win" real penalties next summer.
Victoria concordia crescit

« Reply #3532 on: November 09, 2013, 07:04:52 PM »
Saved by the ref!

yeah he does overdo it.  Chelsea is luckiest team when it comes to ghost penalties.  I feel them rub off on Ramires, he wasnt on the diving scene but i noticed since last season he hitting the ground real quick.  his game has changed.

« Reply #3533 on: November 09, 2013, 10:21:04 PM »
I still like him as a player, but could really do without the South American 'gamesmanship.'  I also agree that Oscar on that scene too (and Hazard, while we at it).  Haven't really seen enough of Neymar to say he does dive, and never really notice that about Alves.  Thank God Coutinho play in Europe long enough, or maybe is just how he is, that he not on that diving scene.  And while we talking about Liverpool players, Suarez seems to have learned his lesson as well.

« Reply #3534 on: November 17, 2013, 09:59:43 AM »
I feel Chelsea should go in for Chicharito. Man Utd killing de man.

« Reply #3535 on: November 18, 2013, 09:49:07 AM »
I feel Chelsea should go in for Chicharito. Man Utd killing de man.

I like that idea.  He is a poacher extrodianaire!

« Reply #3536 on: November 26, 2013, 03:47:58 PM »
how in d hell Mata cyar get no run on this side steups

« Reply #3537 on: November 26, 2013, 03:55:47 PM »
how in d hell Mata cyar get no run on this side steups

Because Mata and Oscar does play same position and Oscar has been Chelsea's best player (and one of the best in the EPL) this season.

« Reply #3538 on: December 01, 2013, 12:13:55 PM »
Shyte game, yet still able to walk away winners.

« Reply #3539 on: December 01, 2013, 12:23:51 PM »
Shyte game, yet still able to walk away winners.

true