March 28, 2024, 02:16:51 PM

Author Topic: CHELSEA FOREVER! - Home of the Champions!  (Read 624471 times)

Re: CHELSEA FOREVER! - Home of the Champions!
« Reply #3840 on: December 22, 2014, 02:44:38 PM »
Should have had a 2nd red for that tackle on Hazard.

Offline ANC2

« Reply #3841 on: December 22, 2014, 03:27:37 PM »
Chelsea come like a dam blister, wear yuh down till it difficult to walk and then win.

« Reply #3842 on: December 22, 2014, 03:34:16 PM »
They know how to defend though... one thing I have to give them.

« Reply #3843 on: December 23, 2014, 01:38:43 PM »
Chelsea sink Stoke to restore advantage
Chelsea FC are three points clear at the top after goals from John Terry and Cesc Fŕbregas secured a 2-0 win at Stoke City FC in their final pre-Christmas game.

• Chelsea FC restore three-point advantage at the top of the league with win at Stoke City FC.
• John Terry heads early opener to set Blues on way to 13th success in 17 league matches.
• Cesc Fŕbregas's second Premier League goal of season secures points in 78th minute.

« Reply #3844 on: December 30, 2014, 02:22:49 PM »
HISTORY SAYS CHELSEA WILL WIN THE PREMIER LEAGUE THIS SEASON
DECEMBER 28TH, 2014 BY THOMAS HAUTMANN

Chelsea fans, it’s time.

Time to start drawing up your Premier League title parade plans and ramp up the talk trash to your rivals, because the Blues are winning the league this season. Book it!

Why are we so confident? Jose Mourinho has never squandered a league title in which his team has been in first place on December 25th. Never.

In fact, it seems as if that is a prerequisite for “The Special One.” All seven of his titles have come after his team was on top at Christmas, and he’s failed to win a title in which that hasn’t been the case.

http://blog.foxsoccer.com/post/106417643172/history-says-chelsea-will-win-the-premier-league

« Reply #3845 on: December 30, 2014, 02:39:07 PM »
The end of a long wait for Chelsea
Published: Tuesday 30 December 2014, 10.48CET

Champions Matchday recalls Chelsea FC's debut on club football's greatest stage in 1999, 44 years after they were denied the chance to play in the inaugural European Cup.

It was a long 44 years since Chelsea FC had been denied the opportunity to enter the inaugural European Champion Clubs' Cup in 1955. But having finished third behind treble winners Manchester United FC and Arsčne Wenger's Arsenal FC in 1999, the Londoners finally made their first foray into the UEFA Champions League with a qualifying tie against serial Latvian title winners Skonto FC.
Manager Gianluca Vialli was only 35, but he named a team crammed with leaders in the first leg at Stamford Bridge. Indeed, of his starting XI, Dan Petrescu, Didier Deschamps, Gustavo Poyet, Chris Sutton, Dennis Wise, Albert Ferrer and Gianfranco Zola would all become head coaches.

Ferrer, Deschamps and Marcel Desailly had already lifted Europe's biggest prize and nine of the squad, including the manager, had featured in Chelsea's 1998 UEFA Cup Winners' Cup triumph – not to mention Deschamps, Desailly and Frank Leboeuf's 1998 FIFA World Cup winners' medals.

In a way, Chelsea could be described as the most experienced debutants in European history. For Skonto, it was their fifth time in the competition. They had defeated Luxembourg's AS Jeunesse Esch 10-0 and Romania's FC Rapid Bucureşti 5-4 in the earlier rounds. Aleksandrs Starkovs was the man in charge and the visitors possessed a core of players who would feature for him in Latvia's UEFA EURO 2004 campaign – the country's only major final tournament appearance.

Future Skonto chairman Vladimirs Koļeņičenko and Arsenal defender Igors Stepanovs were on the bench as the game kicked off in west London, but Juris Laizāns – later part of PFC CSKA Moskva's 2005 UEFA Cup-winning squad – and captain Vitālijs Astafjevs, who would earn more caps than any other European player with 167 for Latvia, both started.

The Blues had an unbeaten European home record spanning 27 matches in the UEFA Cup and Cup Winners' Cup, yet they took a while to click against the Riga-based club. Skonto were reduced to ten men after 33 minutes, but the contest remained scoreless until two substitutes combined with 14 minutes left.
Tore André Flo chested the ball to Celestine Babayaro – who five years earlier had become the youngest ever UEFA Champions League player while at RSC Anderlecht – and the Nigerian struck low and hard into the net.

Two minutes later Poyet rounded off a fantastic passing move by curling past goalkeeper Aleksandrs Koļinko, before Sutton made it 3-0 with a smart finish on the turn – his first Chelsea goal. Afterwards Vialli said: "I'm happy with that: 3-0 is better than 2-0. We can go to Latvia with confidence."

A fortnight later in Riga he rang the changes, with six different players beginning the return leg. In front of 5,000 home fans brandishing airhorns, the English team saw out a 0-0 draw, the most notable aspect being the introduction of Carlo Cudicini, who replaced Ed de Goey late on. The Italian keeper had been on the bench for AC Milan in the 1993 final, while his father Fabio had won the tournament with the Rossoneri in 1969.

Vialli said: "We have some exciting times to look forward to." He wasn't wrong. The Blues would score 22 goals – including eight from Flo – and overcome Milan, Feyenoord, Olympique de Marseille and Galatasaray AŞ en route to a thrilling 6-4 aggregate loss to FC Barcelona in the quarter-finals.

Chelsea would be back in 2003, with signings including Damien Duff, Juan Sebastián Verón and Geremi starting their first match against MŠK Žilina – heralding the dawning of a new era under Roman Abramovich.
http://www.uefa.com/uefachampionsleague/news/newsid=2190396.html

« Reply #3846 on: January 01, 2015, 12:42:36 PM »
Chelsea getting slaughtered? 4-1 to Spurs!!!

« Reply #3847 on: January 01, 2015, 12:54:37 PM »
Happy New Year  :cursing:

« Reply #3848 on: January 01, 2015, 01:07:10 PM »
Thoroughly enjoying this.

Upon post-match review, Cahill should be sanctioned for that kick in Kane's back.
« Last Edit: January 01, 2015, 01:09:08 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #3849 on: January 01, 2015, 01:14:07 PM »
Regarding Willan ... any comments from fans or detractors?

« Reply #3850 on: January 01, 2015, 01:47:16 PM »
Happy New Year Chelsea and Chelsea fans! I hope the other 364 days are just like today!
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #3851 on: January 01, 2015, 01:56:49 PM »
What a ting should Lampard win the league with Man City.

« Reply #3852 on: January 02, 2015, 12:46:05 PM »

What does Mourinho value in this player's contribution?

« Reply #3853 on: January 02, 2015, 01:18:12 PM »

I think he is a hybrid Ramirez who Jose has shown that he like/d. Box-to-box

The problem with William though is that he still struggles when the game becomes physical, whereas Ramirez has no problem playing the physical game. Willian however, is much more creative and technical than Ramirez is. He works about 10% less than Ramirez, but his creativity and superior technique makes up for this.
Therefore, I think Jose prefers to take his chances now with Willian who has shown great improvement (like Hazard) from last season to this season. I suspect Jose will be hammering away at Willian to make tackles and improve his ball winning ability (not hide after he receives a couple crunching tackles) to cement his game.

« Reply #3854 on: January 07, 2015, 11:01:19 AM »

I think he is a hybrid Ramirez who Jose has shown that he like/d. Box-to-box

The problem with William though is that he still struggles when the game becomes physical, whereas Ramirez has no problem playing the physical game. Willian however, is much more creative and technical than Ramirez is. He works about 10% less than Ramirez, but his creativity and superior technique makes up for this.
Therefore, I think Jose prefers to take his chances now with Willian who has shown great improvement (like Hazard) from last season to this season. I suspect Jose will be hammering away at Willian to make tackles and improve his ball winning ability (not hide after he receives a couple crunching tackles) to cement his game.

You took the discussion in a direction I hoped it would get to.

In observing Ramires in the loss to Spurs, I found him to be immediately incisive in the final third, particularly in the penalty area. Found it telling that Mourinho turned to him to resolve the problem presented. Ramires gets more shots off also.

However, is it valid to compare Willan and Ramires? Is this a distinction through which Mourinho frames things?

« Reply #3855 on: January 10, 2015, 10:01:27 AM »
Football can be cruel. Newcastle dominating Chelsea, and then give up a goal on a counter attack. Just like our U-20 last night.

« Reply #3856 on: January 10, 2015, 10:17:55 AM »
Nice build up for the second goal by Costa. Chelsea now appears to getting in gear.

« Reply #3857 on: January 17, 2015, 01:24:12 PM »
Chel5ea

Online lefty

« Reply #3858 on: January 20, 2015, 02:33:40 PM »
capital one cup semis have some pace so far nice two way action
http://goatd.net/101043/watch-liverpool-vs-chelsea

« Reply #3859 on: January 20, 2015, 03:20:56 PM »
Fabregas played Gerard off the pitch.

Online lefty

« Reply #3860 on: January 20, 2015, 03:37:39 PM »

yeah but liverpool pressure was still heavy throughout ....dat sterling is ah exceptional talent though....jeezan

« Reply #3861 on: January 20, 2015, 03:40:01 PM »

yeah but liverpool pressure was still heavy throughout ....dat sterling is ah exceptional talent though....jeezan

It's funny that they are forcing him into the role Balo should be playing. This way that Liverpool is playing if they had done that when Balo first came he would have been successful and Liverpool would have been more successful too.

Online lefty

« Reply #3862 on: January 20, 2015, 03:41:57 PM »

It's funny that they are forcing him into the role Balo should be playing. This way that Liverpool is playing if they had done that when Balo first came he would have been successful and Liverpool would have been more successful too.

what about he injured  ???

« Reply #3863 on: January 20, 2015, 03:46:35 PM »

That's something to brag about?  Gerrard is 35, slowing down and just coming off a hamstring injury.  You should be more worried that Henderson played Fabregas off the pitch.  For all the big side Chelsea supposed to be a big side, they have an interesting habit of morphing into a mid-table club when faced with real competition away from home.  One shot on goal whole game... and that was the penalty.

« Reply #3864 on: January 20, 2015, 04:20:15 PM »
Good game...Brendan Rodgers should not have abandoned the philosophy at the beginning of the season; newbies should have been made to fall in line.  Our defending is getting better; midfield is livelier; just need to get Sturridge back.  Not sure Balo could fit in to this style, cause he does not run the channels.

« Reply #3865 on: January 20, 2015, 04:42:54 PM »
Good game...Brendan Rodgers should not have abandoned the philosophy at the beginning of the season; newbies should have been made to fall in line.  Our defending is getting better; midfield is livelier; just need to get Sturridge back.  Not sure Balo could fit in to this style, cause he does not run the channels.

That right there is the problem.  The same elan who earlier in the season was criticizing Rodgers for not tweaking Liverpool style to suit Balotelli, now saying is ah pity Rodgers didn't play his preferred style all along because Balo woulda be successful, lol.  Balotelli played in two matches since the Bournemouth win (when the new tweak was implemented) and still eh make ah note.  He just doesn't play to suit the style... at least not yet.  Still holding out hope that he'll adjust, if not he getting sell this summer.

« Reply #3866 on: January 23, 2015, 12:28:09 PM »
Mourinho denies Schurrle and Salah to leave Chelsea in January
Jose Mourinho has insisted Chelsea have no plans to sell or buy in the January transfer window, playing down reports of imminent exits for World Cup winner Andre Schurrle and Mohamed Salah.
The Blues boss says both Germany forward Schurrle and Egypt winger Salah will be in the squad for Saturday's FA Cup fourth-round tie with League One Bradford, a game for which captain John Terry will drop to the bench.
"The club doesn't move. We don't move. Our desire is to keep the same squad," Mourinho said.
"The window is open, but what I can say is I like them, I need them and I trust them.
"We are happy with the players, we are happy with the work we did in the summer to prepare for the season, (it) reflects the trust we have in the group and, if possible, we don't want to be involved in the transfer window.
"If we have to be it's because somebody pushed us, with some offer for our player, but Chelsea moving and looking for a change? No.
"Sometimes we have needs, like we had in the past transfer windows where we sold some players.
"The reality is normally nothing should happen in the next two weeks and we should go to February with the same squad."

Salah has found first-team opportunities limited this season and has been linked with a move to Roma.
A Bundesliga return for Schurrle has been suggested, with Wolfsburg mentioned.
If a move were to happen, it would take a "phenomenal offer" and a player indicating his desire to switch, Mourinho says.
"The principle is that we would like him to stay," Mourinho added.
"The question is not to be allowed or not allowed. The question is to have a phenomenal offer and a player to be super keen of accepting a new challenge in his career.
"We don't want to sell our players."
Fiorentina's Colombia winger Juan Cuadrado has been linked with a move to Chelsea.
Mourinho, who insisted Chelsea do not have players lined up to join them if a player is sold, added: "I shouldn't make any comments about players from other clubs. You speak about Cuadrado, you can speak about 10, 20 players.
"It's my job to know them all. I think he fits well in Fiorentina's squad and Colombia's squad, not in Chelsea's squad."
Schurrle began the season full of confidence after setting up the World Cup-clinching goal in Brazil last July, but is currently finding opportunities hard to come by at Stamford Bridge.
Mourinho said: "I consider him an important player, (but) unless I find a tactical system with three wingers, it's difficult to be in front of Eden (Hazard) and Willian.
"He's not a kid to moan. He's a good professional. He works always well."
Schurrle is to start against Bradford, with Petr Cech to play in goal after Thibaut Courtois returned for the midweek Capital One Cup semi-final first leg at Liverpool.
Cech played last weekend's match at Swansea as Courtois was still nursing a minor thumb problem and Mourinho has no concerns with managing two goalkeepers he believes are among the world's best.

"It's my easiest decision," he said.
"No other manager in the world is so happy and comfortable as I am about the problems I have in goal."
Mourinho will make changes for Bradford, with Tuesday's second leg with Liverpool at Stamford Bridge in mind.
There is also the small matter of a Premier League encounter with Manchester City, who are five points behind the leaders in second place, on January 31.
The Portuguese added: "We have two knockout matches in three days, so we can after Tuesday we can be in four competitions or only two. Of course we want to try to be in all four.
"The third match is just a Premier League match, one of 38, and that is different. It doesn't decide anything, but Bradford and Liverpool, yes. They decide if we are still in the competition."
Chelsea, who play Paris St Germain in the Champions League last 16 next month, remain on course for a quadruple which Mourinho says is "almost impossible" due to fixture congestion as much as anything.
"It's very difficult," Mourinho said.
"A team that plays the Capital One Cup final will have one game in the Premier League postponed. A team that plays the FA Cup semi-final will have a game postponed. A team that gets a draw in the FA Cup has to play another game.
"If a team is in all these competitions plus the European competition until the end of the season, (there) will arrive a moment in April, May so, so difficult that I would say almost impossible."
Link: http://www.foxsports.com/soccer/story/mourinho-denies-schurrle-and-salah-to-leave-chelsea-in-january-012315

« Reply #3867 on: January 24, 2015, 10:42:24 AM »
We're losing to crab connection.   :cursing:

« Reply #3868 on: January 24, 2015, 10:56:23 AM »
Cut arse whey sah...................and ah good laugh at Man United Yesterday.   :frustrated:

« Reply #3869 on: January 31, 2015, 12:41:21 PM »
I feel Kompany owe people money... :thinking: