April 29, 2024, 11:19:09 PM

Author Topic: Startlists for Aviva London Grand Prix  (Read 18948 times)

Re: Startlists for Aviva London Grand Prix
« Reply #60 on: July 26, 2008, 10:08:56 AM »
damm kelly ann have a next level to go...

« Reply #61 on: July 26, 2008, 10:09:58 AM »
It's Jamaica fest at the Palace. I wonder if they'll take a 15min drive down to Brixton afterwards to get some post race Jerk

or maybe a nice stop over in west london for some roti

« Reply #62 on: July 26, 2008, 10:17:55 AM »
It's Jamaica fest at the Palace. I wonder if they'll take a 15min drive down to Brixton afterwards to get some post race Jerk

or maybe a nice stop over in west london for some roti

Nah, they'll feel right at home in Brixton lol

Offline Aviator

« Reply #63 on: July 26, 2008, 10:25:03 AM »
17:04 - 100 METRES Women - Final    OFFICIAL RESULTS
   Wind: 0.0 m/s
1       Veronica CAMPBELL    JAM    10.87       0.188       SB    
2       Shelly Ann FRASER    JAM    10.95       0.211          
3       Marshevet HOOKER    USA    11.07       0.236          
4       Torri EDWARDS    USA    11.09       0.168          
5       Carmelita JETER    USA    11.17       0.215          
6       Debbie FERGUSON    BAH    11.18       0.192          
7       Kim GEVAERT    BEL    11.28       0.169          
8       Kelly-Ann BAPTISTE    TRI    11.30       0.196        :'( :'(
Psalm 14:1
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.

« Reply #64 on: July 26, 2008, 10:27:56 AM »
mmmmmmmmm Trinidad should win this relay

« Reply #65 on: July 26, 2008, 10:29:46 AM »
Came 2nd to the USA Red team

Offline football prof

« Reply #66 on: July 26, 2008, 10:40:39 AM »
1   USA RED USA-R  37.80  0.173   SR   
 (R. Martin, T. Padgett, S. Crawford, D. Patton) 
2   TRINIDAD & TOBAGO TRI  38.00  0.220   NR   
 (D. Brown, M. Burns, A. Armstrong, R. Thompson) 
3   GBR BLUE GBR-B  38.34  0.213   SB   
 (C. Malcolm, T. Edgar, M. Devonish, C. Pickering) 
4   USA BLUE USA-B  38.42  0.203     
 (L. Dixon, W. Spearmon, A. Merritt, M. Rodgers) 
5   JAMAICA JAM  38.85  0.280   SB   
 (A. Wellington, D. Thomas, M. Forsythe, M. Anderson) 
6   GBR RED GBR-R  38.87  0.315     
 (R. Scott, L. Yearwood, R. Fifton, H. Aikines Aryeetey) 
  NETHERLANDS NED  DQ 0.186     
 (M. Heisen, G. Hoogmoed, P. Van Luijk, C. Douglas) 
  POLAND POL  DNF 0.120     
 (M. Nowak, L. Chyla, M. Jedrusinski, D. Kuc) 

Offline Aviator

« Reply #67 on: July 26, 2008, 10:46:57 AM »
1   USA RED USA-R  37.80  0.173   SR   
 (R. Martin, T. Padgett, S. Crawford, D. Patton) 
2   TRINIDAD & TOBAGO TRI  38.00  0.220   NR   
 (D. Brown, M. Burns, A. Armstrong, R. Thompson) 

3   GBR BLUE GBR-B  38.34  0.213   SB   
 (C. Malcolm, T. Edgar, M. Devonish, C. Pickering) 
4   USA BLUE USA-B  38.42  0.203     
 (L. Dixon, W. Spearmon, A. Merritt, M. Rodgers) 
5   JAMAICA JAM  38.85  0.280   SB   
 (A. Wellington, D. Thomas, M. Forsythe, M. Anderson) 
6   GBR RED GBR-R  38.87  0.315     
 (R. Scott, L. Yearwood, R. Fifton, H. Aikines Aryeetey) 
  NETHERLANDS NED  DQ 0.186     
 (M. Heisen, G. Hoogmoed, P. Van Luijk, C. Douglas) 
  POLAND POL  DNF 0.120     
 (M. Nowak, L. Chyla, M. Jedrusinski, D. Kuc) 

One positive is that we set a national record, but that exchange between Armstrong and Rt has to be better and Armstrong of himself needs to step-up. Crawford MURDERED him. Brown did a good job on lead-off, but I will still switch him with RT. Hopefully with a couple solid days of stick work in relay camp we should be able to go sub-37.80

« Reply #68 on: July 26, 2008, 10:49:34 AM »
Aviator (or any other), educate me for a second, hasn't Brown run our anchor in the past?  What is the school of thought having him lead off and using Thompson as the anchor?

« Reply #69 on: July 26, 2008, 10:53:06 AM »
Aviator (or any other), educate me for a second, hasn't Brown run our anchor in the past?  What is the school of thought having him lead off and using Thompson as the anchor?

Ask ato

« Reply #70 on: July 26, 2008, 10:53:48 AM »

thats was apoor run by kelly-ann

Offline Aviator

« Reply #71 on: July 26, 2008, 10:55:27 AM »

Yes Db has been anchor in the past, but I guess they trying ah thing with Richard. Richard is the better starter and curve runner of the two, so I would make him lead off.

Me thinks Brung will make his case known for where he rightfully belongs on Tuesday in Monaco. :D
« Last Edit: July 26, 2008, 11:00:22 AM by Aviator »

« Reply #72 on: July 26, 2008, 10:57:15 AM »
Shay Shay  ;D, lookin foward to Beijing  :beermug: :beermug:

Offline Marlon

• Who the cap fit, let them wear it.
« Reply #73 on: July 26, 2008, 11:10:24 AM »

Yes Db has been anchor in the past, but I guess they trying ah thing with Richard. Richard is the better starter and curve runner of the two, so I would make him lead off.

Me thinks Brung will make his case known for where he rightfully belongs on Tuesday in Monaco. :D

Me thinks so too >:(

Offline fLaSh

« Reply #74 on: July 26, 2008, 11:27:13 AM »

I agree Richard is the better starter and curve runner but to be honest I don't think it makes a big difference since both are excellent on both legs. Did you see how Richard was closing on Patton who is allegedly a 9.89 man? What is important is that EVERYONE keep their egos in check and do their jobs to the best of their ability

What I'm more concerned is about Armstrong's poor performance and Browns poor reaction time. DB gives us a 0.120 rxn and we're at 37.90 just like that even with the weak third leg. Darrel has to react to the gun better than that. An aspiring WFH has no business reacting that slow in any race.
BTW Brown shoulda made his so-called case for that anchor in yesterday's 100m. No excuses whatsoever for not running that London dash.

Offline Aviator

« Reply #75 on: July 26, 2008, 11:42:06 AM »

I agree Richard is the better starter and curve runner but to be honest I don't think it makes a big difference since both are excellent on both legs. Did you see how Richard was closing on Patton who is allegedly a 9.89 man? What is important is that EVERYONE keep their egos in check and do their jobs to the best of their ability

What I'm more concerned is about Armstrong's poor performance and Browns poor reaction time. DB gives us a 0.120 rxn and we're at 37.90 just like that even with the weak third leg. Darrel has to react to the gun better than that. An aspiring WFH has no business reacting that slow in any race.
BTW Brown shoulda made his so-called case for that anchor in yesterday's 100m. No excuses whatsoever for not running that London dash.

I don't think that decision was his, but Franno's. Mark my words once healthy, DB will be the fastest man wearing red/white and black in Beijing. He also has more experience on the anchor, than RT which should go in his favor.

P.S. DB's reaction time wasn't bad at all. Check all the other teams in that race and the reaction times of all the 400m races run today. You will struggle to find any RX times faster than 0.200. It was loud as hell in that stadium with all them yardies.
« Last Edit: July 26, 2008, 11:54:17 AM by Aviator »

« Reply #76 on: July 26, 2008, 11:45:22 AM »
No excuses whatsoever for not running that London dash.

I don't know if any of the MVP runners took part in more than one race for the meet.  Neither Powell nor Carter ran the relay.

here is Aviator's post from an earlier thread

Today's update from the MVP website..............

July 23, 2008: So while taking my daily jog, I am thinking about the amount of MVP Track and Field Club members who will be participating at the upcoming London Super Grand Prix to be held at Crystal Palace and decide that I have got to be there. Here is the list and tell me if you too would want to be there in person as opposed to watching on the TV or internet and relying on blackberry communication from my team. Asafa, Nesta, Darrel and Frater in the 100m would be worth it (3 have individual World Championship 100m medals and Nesta has a World Championship relay silver medal). However, Trinidad wants Darrel to run the 4X100m so he may do just the relay. Shelly Ann and Sherone in the women's 100m (August 16 and 17 is what matters nothing else. You did what you had to do in the 3 rounds in Kingston, June 27 and 28). Brigitte and Melaine, both with the 3rd fastest times in the world in their respective hurdle events 100m and 400m. Brigitte you have raced more this year than most of your MVP colleagues so maybe you should rest this weekend. Markino in the 400m hurdles, 48 beckons. Germaine Mason you have been jumping higher each meet, do it again as you prepare for your first Olympics. Shericka let us see if we can get you some speed work, while Kaliese perhaps another 400m race for you. Well London here I come

« Reply #77 on: July 26, 2008, 12:30:22 PM »

C'mon Kelly Ann, yuh have to do better than this...Olympics is around de corner

« Reply #78 on: July 26, 2008, 12:36:23 PM »
The relay order was changed at my instruction, and they have run 38.00 NR today and 38.4 without Darrel.  I put Darrel 4th in 2001 and we got 2 World Championship silvers out of that. If Armstrong gets his game together this is a 37.8 team, clean passes this is a gold medal threat team, so I don't see what the problem is...Richard is IN NO WAY SHAPE OR FORM a better turn runner than Darrel - yet.  When I saw Darrel run 1st for MVP this year I saw he could run a very good turn - and he is not a bad starter.  

Plus Richard is the best anchor we have now. He will RUN DOWN AND CATCH people - as you saw today when he was running down a 9.89 man in Patton.  Anchor is not just a leg it is a state of mind, I myself almost never ran anchor for TNT or HSI (and never for UCLA!), I was more suited to 3rd or 2nd.

I don't know how anyone can watch what happened today with that NR and say oh yeah that need to be altered.

Anyhow, no one saw 2001's silver either -I was a madman then when I decided to put that then-16 year old to anchor.

Get used to this order it ent changing, and after what I saw today it definitely ent changing  :rotfl:

Have a little faith, shouldn't be that hard when we having bad races and running NATIONAL RECORDS. 2nd fastest time in the world (the first time this 4 have ever run together in life!) and men want change....steups.

If Armstrong would hold his own on third and not let men walk away from him like today this team gets a medal in Beijing - and in a relay if you can medal you can win - Great Britain won in 2004 with a team not as good as this one.

« Last Edit: July 26, 2008, 12:47:31 PM by A.B. »

« Reply #79 on: July 26, 2008, 12:40:01 PM »
From an 11.16 to a 11.30 seems she get flustered for the final ....good experience for her.....the test is how will she rebound in her next race
« Last Edit: July 26, 2008, 02:53:22 PM by Ngozi »

« Reply #80 on: July 26, 2008, 12:50:52 PM »
So ato what about kelly ann why are you so silent

Offline Aviator

« Reply #81 on: July 26, 2008, 12:57:21 PM »
The relay order was changed at my instruction, and they have run 38.00 NR today and 38.4 without Darrel.  I put Darrel 4th in 2001 and we got 2 World Championship silvers out of that. If Armstrong gets his game together this is a 37.8 team, clean passes this is a gold medal threat team, so I don't see what the problem is...Richard is IN NO WAY SHAPE OR FORM a better turn runner than Darrel - yet.  When I saw Darrel run 1st for MVP this year I saw he could run a very good turn - and he is not a bad starter. 

Plus Richard is the best anchor we have now. He will RUN DOWN AND CATCH people - as you saw today when he was running down a 9.89 man in Patton.  Anchor is not just a leg it is a state of mind, I myself almost never ran anchor for TNT or HSI (and never for UCLA!), I was more suited to 3rd or 2nd.

I don't know how anyone can watch what happened today with that NR and say oh yeah that need to be altered.

Anyhow, no one saw 2001's silver either -I was a madman then when I decided to put that then-16 year old to anchor.

Get used to this order it ent changing, and after what I saw today it definitely ent changing  :rotfl:

Have a little faith, shouldn't be that hard when we having bad races and running NATIONAL RECORDS. 2nd fastest time in the world (the first time this 4 have ever run together in life!) and men want change....steups.

If Armstrong would hold his own on third and not let men walk away from him like today this team gets a medal in Beijing - and in a relay if you can medal you can win - Great Britain won in 2004 with a team not as good as this one.

Precisely my reason for me wanting to run DB on anchor. Some men are just born for it. Like MLF. I doubt there is a relay coach in the wold that would substitute one of their 10.1x runners over a 10.2x running MLF on anchor, because you know what he will bring, and its the same reason D Will will always be on the US 4x400m squad regardless of whatever tata he runs in the open.

Honestly switching DB for RT wouldn't make much difference on paper, but I just like the security of having a guy who has been there done that. But if you say that's the final order, well not I guess that's it.  8)
« Last Edit: July 26, 2008, 01:01:49 PM by Aviator »

« Reply #82 on: July 26, 2008, 12:59:00 PM »
From an 11.16 to a 11.30 seems she get flustered for the final ....good experience for her.....the test is how will she rebound in here next race

Why we so hard on de girl ..allyuh know if today was one of those days ???..she is the best women's runner from T&T in muchos anos if not ever .... Thompson run a fifth ... man say good for he first professional race ...allyuh eh givin Kelly aNN NO SLACK ? ..WE EH EVEN HEAR A COMMENT FROM THE GIRL SELF .. suppose she had an upset stomach ?
C'mon guys ...have faith .
look how I brave ...Brown...Brown...Brown...and Kelly to make de final ..after dat is me an bago holding we breath.
By de way could someone post ah link for de men's relay ?

Offline Aviator

« Reply #83 on: July 26, 2008, 01:08:31 PM »
From an 11.16 to a 11.30 seems she get flustered for the final ....good experience for her.....the test is how will she rebound in here next race

Why we so hard on de girl ..allyuh know if today was one of those days ???..she is the best women's runner from T&T in muchos anos if not ever .... Thompson run a fifth ... man say good for he first professional race ...allyuh eh givin Kelly aNN NO SLACK ? ..WE EH EVEN HEAR A COMMENT FROM THE GIRL SELF .. suppose she had an upset stomach ?
look how I brave ...Brown...Brown...Brown...and Kelly to make de final ..after dat is me an bago holding we breath.

IF a youtube video doesn't pop up by later, this guy is going to post the entire Day 2 proceedings here later this evening.

http://www.justin.tv/channel34

« Reply #84 on: July 26, 2008, 01:19:03 PM »

I was thinking the same thing.

« Reply #85 on: July 26, 2008, 01:21:22 PM »
Kelly Ann had a really bad race she is tired she has been running since FEB and has run a full college season while these girls were lifting weigths  getting ready for JULY, AUG and SEP. I was dead last in my last Euro race before Sydney so it happens sometimes.

Doesn't mean she is done for Beijing but she has to go home now.

« Last Edit: July 26, 2008, 01:22:53 PM by A.B. »

« Reply #86 on: July 26, 2008, 01:22:12 PM »
The reason why we are hard on Baptise is because her times are getting worse...Thompson times are improving..

« Reply #87 on: July 26, 2008, 01:24:24 PM »
Thompson ran 9.93 9.96 and 10.00 this year so his times aren't improving per se.  They improved from one meet to the next in Europe.  Patience you all! lawd this ent football you can actually trust those who have been there before to make the right moves....

Offline Patterson

« Reply #88 on: July 26, 2008, 02:45:25 PM »
I know allyuh fellas talking serious business here but  I heard the commentator say Darrel Brown and Veronica Campbell married... and I heard it on cnn also...Anybody know when this happen or I just late and no i'm not some kinda groupie

« Reply #89 on: July 26, 2008, 02:50:45 PM »
I know allyuh fellas talking serious business here but  I heard the commentator say Darrel Brown and Veronica Campbell married... and I heard it on cnn also...Anybody know when this happen or I just late and no i'm not some kinda groupie
   :-\  Oh Gosh !!...Tell me this is chupid talk... ah know Darrell could find plenty better in T&T  :devil: