April 27, 2024, 10:29:23 PM

Author Topic: U-17 women put three past Ireland  (Read 3204 times)

U-17 women put three past Ireland
« on: August 29, 2010, 08:11:53 AM »
U-17 women put three past Ireland
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFF)

Trinidad and Tobago’s Under 17 women footballers are seemingly peaking just in time for the start of the FIFA Under 17 Women’s World Cup as they produced a scintillating performance in their final warm-up international to whip European second placed team Republic of Ireland 3-0 at the Pine Island Soccer Complex in Fort Lauderdale on Saturday evening.

The result was a much welcomed one for T& T head coach Even Pellerud who gave full credit to skipper Lauren Schmidt and her teammates but warned against complacency as T&T head into their World Cup opening match against Chile next Sunday at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Port of Spain from 6pm.

T&T got three clinically taken goals from forwards Brianna Ryce, Diarra Simmons and Camille Charles for the much deserved win. The Irish tried all they could to break down a stubborn T&T defence and had two chances at goal to get back into the match but were denied by a solid Linfah Jones in goal for T&T.

“It’s hard to say who is the most shocked coach at this time, the one from Ireland or the one from T&T. The UEFA number 2 ranked and so far unbeaten team could not handle our young ladies this Saturday evening,” Pellerud told TTFF Media after the match.

“Playing all their regular starters did not help them much. Our girls put on some relentless pressure on the Irish passing game and organized some attacks that always seemed to cause a lot of damage in their defensive end,” the Norwegian continued.

Ryce scored a header on the first post, Simmons was on spot to tap home T&T’s second item while Charles put T&T 3-0 ahead with a spectacular diving header.

“These last games with an unbeaten streak of 3 international wins (all against WC teams) should provide the confidence that is much needed. Most importantly, the team would now realise that we are on the right track,” Pellerud added.

“There is no need of any dramatic changes in approach and training regime over the next week, which would have been a very unfortunate conclusion if we had performed poorly today.

The camp here in Miami has already proved to have been of crucial importance to us, and I thank all that made this camp possible in the last minute.

“We will now train here over the next day or so and return to Trinidad late Monday. We look forward to settle down in our team hotel and calmly prepare for this phenomenal event in Trinidad & Tobago. We seem to be ready for this big challenge.

“It’s a great result for us but we are well aware that the matches in the World Cup starting with the opening one on September 5 is of most importance so we will not allow this result to make us feel we have reached our highest point. We will continue to focus on getting the job done during the World Cup,” Pellerud concluded.

T&T also defeated Barry University’s Women’s team 4-1 in a friendly on Thursday night. They will face Chile at the Hasely Crawford Stadium on September 5 at 6pm before taking on fellow Group A opponents Nigeria on September 8 at 7pm at the Mannie Ramjohn Stadium and Korea DPR at the Ato Boldon Stadium on September 12 at 6pm.

“The girls put on an inspired performance against a quite good team from Barry, a team that fielded some good international players as well, including a member of the Puerto Rico senior team,” Pellerud told TTFF Media.

“The game gave us an opportunity to play a more composed game, and our passing game was much improved. The midfielders and strikers tested their shooting skills all match long.

T&T were up 3-0 at half time through goals by Diara Simmons, Jasmine Sampson and Kayla Taylor. The game eventually ended 4-1.

Meanwhile, with the kick off of the FIFA Under 17 Women’s World Cup less just over a week away, the excitement and the tension is building slowly and all systems are in place for this country’s hosting of fifteen of the top Women’s teams which will begin arriving here from Friday night through to September 4. The first of the arriving teams will be 2008 World Champions and Group.

A campaigners Korea DPR. The Koreans will touch down at the Piarco International Airport in two batches, the first arriving at 9:45pm on Friday and the second at 11:25am on Sunday.

The last two arriving teams will be  Germany and Chile on September 4. The T&T team, currently at a training camp in Ft Lauderdale where they played Republic of Ireland on Saturday, will return home on August 30 while Ireland will get here on September 2.

The teams will be accommodated at the Hilton Hotel, Crowne Plaza and Mr Irvine Bay Hotel in Tobago. And among the training pitches that will be used by the teams aside from the stadia, include Presentation College Ground, Chaguanas, Woodford Lodge, Queen’s Royal College, Arima Velodrome, Fatima College, WASA Recreation Ground, St Mary’s College, UWI Spec I and II, St Anthony’s College and in Tobago – Montgomery and Plymouth Recreation Grounds and Shaw Park.

Re: U-17 women put three past Ireland
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2010, 08:47:08 AM »
I am loving this .... a good coach can prepare  team and most of TT's good teams  ... tend to be yes you heard it here first ...... FIT!

« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2010, 09:40:58 AM »
seems the women doing better than the men these days

« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2010, 09:45:36 AM »
Nice. Crunch time now. Keep up de good work.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

Offline Boodsy

« Reply #4 on: August 29, 2010, 10:44:46 AM »
well done.... :beermug:

« Reply #5 on: August 29, 2010, 11:40:53 AM »
Sad to say but ALL T&T teams including PFL teams need foreign coaches. Our local coaches just not ready.

« Reply #6 on: August 29, 2010, 12:07:21 PM »
Best of luck and best of  success in this tournament ladies; Do TnT proud and boldly go where no other national team has gone before.......Take the final. Yes WE CAN!!!!!

« Reply #7 on: August 29, 2010, 12:11:29 PM »
Best of luck and best of  success in this tournament ladies; Do TnT proud and boldly go where no other national team has gone before.......Take the final. Yes WE CAN!!!!!

Well said Obama Trini.

« Reply #8 on: August 29, 2010, 02:30:26 PM »
Sad to say but ALL T&T teams including PFL teams need foreign coaches. Our local coaches just not ready.

If the locals are given the resources that the foreigners get, you just don't know what will happen, don't you. When Fenwick had money, he was like a genius. But he has little money now, let's see his genius at work.

« Reply #9 on: August 29, 2010, 03:49:31 PM »

If the locals are given the resources that the foreigners get, you just don't know what will happen, don't you. When Fenwick had money, he was like a genius. But he has little money now, let's see his genius at work.

Not much fenwick could now ... most of jab players gone the club broke and he rebuilding

« Reply #10 on: August 29, 2010, 04:33:00 PM »

If the locals are given the resources that the foreigners get
, you just don't know what will happen, don't you. When Fenwick had money, he was like a genius. But he has little money now, let's see his genius at work.
tired hear that excuse .....

« Reply #11 on: August 29, 2010, 04:54:06 PM »

Deeks, most of our local coaches were at one time players. They used to make the same basic errors that our players are making today. They can't teach what they themselves don't know. To reach that next level we need better everyday coaches.

« Reply #12 on: August 29, 2010, 06:41:16 PM »

Pure rubbish!  Where is the history to prove that statement correct? It is not about local coaches getting resources. It is about good coaching, in spite of resources and our local coaches are inferior.  Look at every level of the game and tell me where have the local coaches been successful? Our local club teams are generally inferior and our local team is inferior with local coaches.  Many of the biggest countries in the world have no problem hiring foreign coaches, as long as they are the best.  Why do we feel that we have good ones in this inferior league and using coaches with absolutely limited coaching experience?  Technical ability and coaching savvy comes with coaching experience, not with on the field playing experience.
GET A GOOD FOREIGN COACH NOW, AND STOP PLAYING RUSSIAN ROULETTE WITH OUR TEAM!

« Reply #13 on: August 29, 2010, 06:55:01 PM »

Pure rubbish!  Where is the history to prove that statement correct? It is not about local coaches getting resources. It is about good coaching, in spite of resources and our local coaches are inferior.  Look at every level of the game and tell me where have the local coaches been successful? Our local club teams are generally inferior and our local team is inferior with local coaches.  Many of the biggest countries in the world have no problem hiring foreign coaches, as long as they are the best.  Why do we feel that we have good ones in this inferior league and using coaches with absolutely limited coaching experience?  Technical ability and coaching savvy comes with coaching experience, not with on the field playing experience.

:applause: :applause: :applause:

« Reply #14 on: August 29, 2010, 07:50:29 PM »

CLICK HERE for the rest of the photos

« Reply #15 on: August 29, 2010, 08:03:59 PM »

:applause: :applause: :applause:

I agree that some of our coaches need to go abroad for stints and that is normal. As a matter of fact I think the best ones take the initiate and do it themselves.  But I stand by what I say. Local coaches are not given the resources like foreigners. Leh me see Fenwick work miracles with the lil bit of money he says he has. The season is still young, so let's wait and see.

None ah allyuh could talk to me about foreign coaches. Since the 60's they have tried foreign coaches. All have fail with the exception of Beenie man. So  too the local coaches have all failed. So foreigners 1 vs locals 0

« Reply #16 on: August 29, 2010, 08:34:36 PM »
Deeks you missing the point. We not talking about just reaching a WC. We talking about improving the standard of play of ALL our players. Our players are lacking in the most basic forms of the game and only good coaching can fix that. And at present none of the locals doing that.

« Reply #17 on: August 29, 2010, 09:56:16 PM »
Guys, I ain't arguing about the skill level of the players. I know the coaching at the club level is sad. Now  Lincoln and The TTFF or whoever were supposed to be doing different levels of coaching classes for the locals. What has happened to that. Long ago they use to bring FIFA coaches and they had classes in Chag. In addition, Edgar, Ken Henry, Bertille,Hannibal, LaFoucade and many who can't remember all went abroad to do their coaching courses. It just that this crop of local coaches have not taken the initiative to do it on their own. Some coaches may have been good as players, but I think a coach need to go to a classroom and exchange ideas, pick up new tactics and strategy. They also would do well to acquire management and people skills, which is so important in football today. As far as the TTFF organizing coaching courses.!!! I don't know what are  their programs. And I doh care. As far  I as I concern they have zilch!!!!

But they could  bring all the foreign coaches they want and we may have fleeting success, but it will end up the same as after 90 and 06. That organization has to go. Change in govt was good. We need a change in TTFF. 

« Last Edit: August 29, 2010, 09:58:30 PM by Deeks »

Offline coachman

« Reply #18 on: August 29, 2010, 10:05:24 PM »
Why should they ,when they  ::)are getting hired with limited knowledge and getting more money than the players.

« Reply #19 on: August 29, 2010, 10:27:39 PM »
That's what the centre of excellence was supposedly built for

« Reply #20 on: August 30, 2010, 05:58:01 AM »

Not much fenwick could now ... most of jab players gone the club broke and he rebuilding

are you talking about Jabloteh or the mens senior team.

« Reply #21 on: August 30, 2010, 06:57:27 AM »
We have not heard from you in a while Mr. Phillips. What have you been up to as far as T&T football goes ?

"I certainly haven't disappeared from the scene as some of you would suggest."

"Until fairly recently, most of my time had been focused on continuing the “D” Licence Coaching Courses. Over 800 coaches have been certified through this program."

These coaching programs is what will develop good coaching.

Certification makes all the difference.

« Reply #22 on: August 30, 2010, 07:02:40 AM »
Team looks disciplined and FIT. Pics bringing back 80's youth team good vibes. Kill dem TnT.

« Reply #23 on: August 30, 2010, 08:29:45 AM »

Offline CK1

• Man of Faith and Integrity
« Reply #24 on: August 30, 2010, 05:52:20 PM »
We have not heard from you in a while Mr. Phillips. What have you been up to as far as T&T football goes ?

"I certainly haven't disappeared from the scene as some of you would suggest."

"Until fairly recently, most of my time had been focused on continuing the “D” Licence Coaching Courses. Over 800 coaches have been certified through this program."

These coaching programs is what will develop good coaching.

Certification makes all the difference.

What about foreigh based coaches who have top level licenses; diplomas and experience coaching top level players  and some even instructing/teaching some of the courses. We don't do a good enough job at looking at all of our available resources that is players and coaches.
Jesus Christ...King of Kings and Lord of Lords!

« Reply #25 on: August 30, 2010, 07:09:22 PM »
Most foreign based coaches from TT sometime don't like to apply because of the hassle they have to deal with, albeit the TTFF and/or the gov't. Then some can't handle the slow pace of TT culture. For instances the coach say we start practice at 4:00 pm. But men straggling at 4:15pm, etc.

« Reply #26 on: August 30, 2010, 07:58:27 PM »
Most foreign based coaches from TT sometime don't like to apply because of the hassle they have to deal with, albeit the TTFF and/or the gov't. Then some can't handle the slow pace of TT culture. For instances the coach say we start practice at 4:00 pm. But men straggling at 4:15pm, etc.

Deeks that on time thing easy to fix. We does show up on time for all the different jobs we does be wukking in NYC.