April 26, 2024, 06:15:16 AM

Author Topic: Birchall, Avery rejoins Warriors for Panama friendly.  (Read 2982 times)

Birchall, Avery rejoins Warriors for Panama friendly.
« on: July 25, 2008, 04:02:37 PM »

Trinidad and Tobago’s Senior Footballers will resume training on Friday ahead of next Wednesday’s friendly international against Panama at the Marvin Lee Stadium from 6pm as they continue preparations for the August 20 CONCACAF World Cup qualifier away to Cuba.

The team, under head coach Francisco Maturana, will face off with the Central Americans and then journey to Port-Au-Prince for another friendly international against Haiti carded for August 10. Also tentatively scheduled is a friendy against El Salvador in Washington, USA on August 13.

Maturana will for the first time since taking over as T&T coach, have the chance to see English-born midfielder Chris Birchall in T&T colours. Both Birchall and US-based defender Avery John (Miami FC) will arrive on the weekend to join the team for Wednesday’s friendly against Panama. Birchall last played for T&T in a friendly international against Austria in November 2006 while John’s last appearance was against Panama the previous month that same year. The former Port Vale man netted a double for Coventry in a  5-0 win over Nuneaton Town in a preseason fixture on Thursday.

“Obviously it’s a delight to be recalled to the Trinidad and Tobago national team. It’s always my intention to play and I’m looking forward to it after the lay off,” Birchall said.

“I’ve never tried to turn my back but obviously now I want to try and maintain a regular spot in the team and contribute to the team’s cause to get to South Africa. I strongly believe we have a good chance to qualify again and I would love to be part of it. It’s good to see the coach having a look at some of the other guys again and hopefully we can get it right and have a good go at Cuba and the other teams in the semi-final round,” he added.

Among the other players in Maturana’s squad for Wednesday’s encounter include Marvin Phillip, Cleon John, Makan Hislop, Cyd Gray, Gyasi Joyce, Keyeno Thomas, Radanfah Abu Bakr, Aklie Edwards, Khaleem Hyland, Densill Theobald, Kerry Baptiste, Anthony Wolfe, Cornell Glen and Andre Toussaint. Kevaughn Connell has also been invited while Aurtis Whitley and Keon Daniel are nursing niggling injuries and will be in the final squad depending on their physical status after the weekend. Sunderland midfielder Dwight Yorke and other UK-based pros will join the team inside the week leading up to the August 20 World Cup qualifier against Cuba.
« Last Edit: July 25, 2008, 04:23:36 PM by Flex »

Re: Birchall, Avery rejoins Warriors for Panama friendly.
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2008, 04:30:25 PM »

Trinidad and Tobago’s Senior Footballers will resume training on Friday ahead of next Wednesday’s friendly international against Panama at the Marvin Lee Stadium from 6pm as they continue preparations for the August 20 CONCACAF World Cup qualifier away to Cuba.

The team, under head coach Francisco Maturana, will face off with the Central Americans and then journey to Port-Au-Prince for another friendly international against Haiti carded for August 10. Also tentatively scheduled is a friendy against El Salvador in Washington, USA on August 13.

Maturana will for the first time since taking over as T&T coach, have the chance to see English-born midfielder Chris Birchall in T&T colours. Both Birchall and US-based defender Avery John (Miami FC) will arrive on the weekend to join the team for Wednesday’s friendly against Panama. Birchall last played for T&T in a friendly international against Austria in November 2006 while John’s last appearance was against Panama the previous month that same year. The former Port Vale man netted a double for Coventry in a  5-0 win over Nuneaton Town in a preseason fixture on Thursday.

“Obviously it’s a delight to be recalled to the Trinidad and Tobago national team. It’s always my intention to play and I’m looking forward to it after the lay off,” Birchall said.

“I’ve never tried to turn my back but obviously now I want to try and maintain a regular spot in the team and contribute to the team’s cause to get to South Africa. I strongly believe we have a good chance to qualify again and I would love to be part of it. It’s good to see the coach having a look at some of the other guys again and hopefully we can get it right and have a good go at Cuba and the other teams in the semi-final round,” he added.

Among the other players in Maturana’s squad for Wednesday’s encounter include Marvin Phillip, Cleon John, Makan Hislop, Cyd Gray, Gyasi Joyce, Keyeno Thomas, Radanfah Abu Bakr, Aklie Edwards, Khaleem Hyland, Densill Theobald, Kerry Baptiste, Anthony Wolfe, Cornell Glen and Andre Toussaint. Kevaughn Connell has also been invited while Aurtis Whitley and Keon Daniel are nursing niggling injuries and will be in the final squad depending on their physical status after the weekend. Sunderland midfielder Dwight Yorke and other UK-based pros will join the team inside the week leading up to the August 20 World Cup qualifier against Cuba.

Fina-f**king-ly.... our best local keeper in my opinion

Also... Glad Avery's back as well... and of course Birchy.... so good to see Theobald and Cyd's name in the mix as well.....

« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2008, 04:50:02 PM »
Who's Cleon John?

« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2008, 04:56:01 PM »
Who's Cleon John?

Jabloteh GK.... very good

« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2008, 05:11:42 PM »
So Clyde Leon get drop?  Everyone was raving about him who saw him play.

« Reply #5 on: July 25, 2008, 05:16:12 PM »

doh worry he will play based on maturana past record .. trust meh.....

« Reply #6 on: July 25, 2008, 05:37:04 PM »
Who's Cleon John?
Cleon John been Jabloteh first keeper for the last few seasons

« Reply #7 on: July 25, 2008, 05:37:56 PM »
Steupse dont listen to "everyone"...wait till yuh see a video of the game

« Reply #8 on: July 25, 2008, 05:55:12 PM »
Sando Prince when will we see this video?

« Reply #9 on: July 25, 2008, 06:46:09 PM »
.....hhhhhhmmmm....No Atullah....hhhhmmmm....

« Reply #10 on: July 25, 2008, 07:05:52 PM »
I 4 got Blade oui welcome back welcome back welcome back

« Reply #11 on: July 25, 2008, 07:13:53 PM »
Let the coach get to see other players nah man! be patient.

« Reply #12 on: July 25, 2008, 08:22:02 PM »
Two components of the steel needed on the team:  Avery and Birchall..

Offline Gladman

« Reply #13 on: July 25, 2008, 09:15:35 PM »
How Gyasi Joyce on the team  ???
Life Is Like Sugar Cane,It Hard But Sweet

« Reply #14 on: July 25, 2008, 09:16:32 PM »
Leon Must get dropped if Bleeder, Me Mum and Whitley there....3 men playing the same def mid position.

He proved himself. I am sure he will get another call up.

Middle of Hyland, Me Mum, Denzil and Whitley is formidable...add Wolfe in the mix and baptiste. We solid now.

« Reply #15 on: July 25, 2008, 09:36:56 PM »
good luck abu bakr.

« Reply #16 on: July 25, 2008, 10:49:23 PM »
.....hhhhhhmmmm....No Atullah....hhhhmmmm....

Do start.  You all ready know Maturana say he suck

« Reply #17 on: July 26, 2008, 10:00:07 AM »
Starting to look more and more like a real team with some of the better PFL players

Offline Saywha

« Reply #18 on: July 26, 2008, 10:15:40 AM »
finally good sense prevailed and Birchie is back on the squad.  I hope there will be no more drama, Mr Warner.

« Reply #19 on: July 26, 2008, 10:21:00 AM »
Saywha no drama wit we football

« Reply #20 on: July 26, 2008, 10:30:29 AM »
Cyd Gray at less than 100% is still the fastest and most stable RB we have. I felt a lot more reassured with him in the team against Netherlands Antilles. We need points in Cuba. A stronger Defense with Cyd and Avery will help us achieve that goal.

« Reply #21 on: July 26, 2008, 10:38:59 AM »
Exactly Jah we still need a pardner for DL because MH is real tears

« Reply #22 on: July 26, 2008, 10:41:35 AM »
Exactly Jah we still need a pardner for DL because MH is real tears
I find Osei is a better central defender than hislop
« Last Edit: July 26, 2008, 12:15:05 PM by Jah Gol »

« Reply #23 on: July 26, 2008, 10:56:31 AM »
what type of team will panama bring ...... panama is out they are rebuilding..... ... is the local based that should have been playing panama in stady of N/A... I guess no Ecuador AND HONDURAS

« Reply #24 on: July 26, 2008, 12:03:04 PM »
Agree Jah as 4 d local base wit d exception of d exblacklisted players is total local

« Reply #25 on: July 26, 2008, 02:21:55 PM »
If he was available I think Patterson coulda get a run in one of these games. Even if its off the bench.