April 18, 2024, 07:58:09 PM

Author Topic: Dwight Injury  (Read 2483 times)

Offline kev

• Lifes a bitch, then you marry one
Dwight Injury
« on: July 25, 2008, 09:07:07 AM »
Thought you might like to know with T&T coming around.

Yorke suffers suspected cheek fracture
[/color][/size]

By Nick Alexander

Dwight Yorke faces a spell on the sidelines after suffering a suspected fractured cheekbone in Portugal.

The Sunderland midfielder was struck in the face by Vitoria goalkeeper Nikola Milojevic in Wednesday's 1-1 pre-season draw.

It was thought the Sunderland man had suffered bruising, but the injury appears to be worse than first feared.

The former Manchester United man will now undergo X-rays to determine the full extent of the problem.

Roy Keane said: "We thought it was just a bang on the head but there could be a fracture there, around his eye, he'll be out for a number of weeks."

Re: Dwight Injury
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2008, 09:09:37 AM »
WTF...  How long does a cheekbone fracture keep you from not playing?   What about a mask?

« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2008, 09:10:48 AM »
small ting....if dem US women players could play wit a facemask..............Warrior York could do it too.

Offline Tigger

« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2008, 09:48:57 AM »
WTF... How long does a cheekbone fracture keep you from not playing? What about a mask?

orr he can do like my boy Rip !! ;)

« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2008, 09:53:40 AM »
I doh understand how that thin piece of plastic could help the injury.

Unless it have some sort of cushion on the inside rubbin against yuh face you must feel the impact of the blow if anything connect.

Look at a shinpad...dat there just so yuh doh get cut from the pegs and follow through, when a man kick yuh...yuh does still feel it.

« Reply #5 on: July 25, 2008, 10:31:52 AM »
Touches: It won't stop you from feeling the pain. Just might help prevent further injury.

Unless I'm mistaken though, he can't just wear it right away and go back into games. I believe it has to be somewhat healed before he can do that. Also, he'd probably have to get dispensation from FIFA to be allowed to wear it during games (like Davids and his goggles).

Also, how long it takes to heal depends on where it is exactly (above de eye, below, near de temple, close to de nosebridge, etc). And trust me one of the last things yuh want is a loose piece of bone floating around near yuh brain when yuh looking to head a ball.
« Last Edit: July 25, 2008, 10:34:09 AM by Mose »

« Reply #6 on: July 25, 2008, 11:31:54 AM »
Ok so Me Mum back now Yorke injured so we cyah have only good news 4 d day

« Reply #7 on: July 25, 2008, 12:01:36 PM »
I doh understand how that thin piece of plastic could help the injury.

Unless it have some sort of cushion on the inside rubbin against yuh face you must feel the impact of the blow if anything connect.

Look at a shinpad...dat there just so yuh doh get cut from the pegs and follow through, when a man kick yuh...yuh does still feel it.

That 'thin' piece ah plastic is deceptive... that is a space-age polymer that is both break and shatter-proof.  The fact that the mask is custom-fitterd to the face means that if there is any blow to the face, rather than the force being localized to the point of impact, the force instead is diffused throughout the mask and across the face.

So in short, where ever the break is, even if you hit the mask there the blow is dampened and the force from the blow directed to other parts of the face.  You won't feel as much pain, and more importantly, you don't aggravate the existing injury (which would prevent healing).
« Last Edit: July 25, 2008, 05:31:45 PM by Bake n Shark »

Offline PIMP

« Reply #8 on: July 25, 2008, 02:02:32 PM »
get better soon dwighty....
ah have a feelin is keane who cuff him in his face for coming out of retirement....lol

« Reply #9 on: July 25, 2008, 02:35:22 PM »
ah have a feelin is keane who cuff him in his face for coming out of retirement....lol

« Reply #10 on: July 25, 2008, 05:22:14 PM »
WTF... How long does a cheekbone fracture keep you from not playing? What about a mask?

orr he can do like my boy Rip !! ;)

Hoss yuh frighten me there...Didn't realize Rip was his nickname- thought Rick Hamilton died yes.....phew.

« Reply #11 on: July 25, 2008, 06:55:38 PM »

*chuckles*

« Reply #12 on: July 25, 2008, 07:10:31 PM »
Yep I agree wit d PIMP neva thought I woulda say dem words

Offline SuperTrini

The Latest.....Yorke suffers possible fracture
« Reply #13 on: July 26, 2008, 02:26:20 PM »
Sunderland's Yorke suffers possible fracture

SUNDERLAND, England (AP) - Sunderland striker Dwight Yorke may have suffered a fractured cheekbone and could miss Trinidad and Tobago's next World Cup qualifier.

Playing in a pre-season friendly in Portugal for Sunderland on Wednesday, Yorke was struck in the face by Vitoria Setubal goalkeeper Nikola Milojevic.

The English Premier League club at first thought he suffered only bruising, but a report on the club Web Site said it could be more serious and he will have X-rays to establish the extent of the injury.

"We thought it was just a bang on the head," Sunderland manager Roy Keane said. "But there could be a fracture there, around his eye, he'll be out for a number of weeks."

Trinidad plays its first match in the third round of CONCACAF World Cup qualifying on Aug. 20 in Cuba. Other teams in the round-robin group are the United States and Guatemala. The top two will advance to the next round.

Offline SuperTrini

Re: The Latest.....Yorke suffers possible fracture
« Reply #14 on: July 26, 2008, 02:32:09 PM »
One down....hope he'll be back 4 the USA game

Re: The Latest.....Yorke suffers possible fracture
« Reply #15 on: July 26, 2008, 03:03:03 PM »
nice one Roy

::)

Offline Winnipeg Fury

Yorke injured......
« Reply #16 on: July 26, 2008, 10:03:22 PM »
Yorke suffers possible fracture, could miss World Cup qualifier
By THE ASSOCIATED PRESS

SUNDERLAND, England - Sunderland striker Dwight Yorke may have suffered a fractured cheekbone and could miss Trinidad and Tobago's next World Cup qualifier.

Playing in a pre-season friendly in Portugal for Sunderland on Wednesday, Yorke was struck in the face by Vitoria Setubal goalkeeper Nikola Milojevic.

The English Premier League club at first thought he suffered only bruising, but a report on the club website said it could be more serious and he will have X-rays to establish the extent of the injury.

"We thought it was just a bang on the head," Sunderland manager Roy Keane said. "But there could be a fracture there, around his eye, he'll be out for a number of weeks."

Trinidad plays its first match in the third round of CONCACAF World Cup qualifying on Aug. 20 in Cuba. Other teams in the round-robin group are the United States and Guatemala. The top two will advance to the next round.