April 28, 2024, 08:39:33 PM

Author Topic: 100 years of football in T&T  (Read 2918 times)

100 years of football in T&T
« on: July 27, 2008, 10:56:49 AM »
100 years of football in T&T
Trinidad Express Letters

On July 27, 1908, Scottish-born Thomas Boyd along with representatives from Casuals, Clydesdale, Local Forces, Queen's Royal College, Shamrock and St Mary's College met and decided to form the TAFA (Trinidad Amateur Football Association).

Today, as we celebrate the 100th anniversary of that event, we are indeed extremely proud to not only pay tribute to those pioneers, but most definitely, to the countless others who have made invaluable contributions to the development, growth and success of the game over the past 100 years.

We can begin with the clubs, players, officials and supporters of the POSFL, NAFL, SAFA, SAFL, East St. George FA, Arima FA, Central FA, and Tobago FA, all inter-league, North-South, Youth and Senior National selections, the Women's, Colleges, Secondary and Primary Schools' Leagues, as well as every parent, teacher and sports master.

Next would be the organisers of the Sunday-morning and Minor Leagues all across this twin-island Republic, that included people like 'Pin' Smith, Mervyn 'Mervina' Alleyne, Linton Brown, Ivan Williams, Eddie Hart, Vernon Seales, 'Lad' Seymour, John Thomas and Paul Castillo.

Then there were those remarkable and selfless individuals like Kelvin 'Pa' Aleong, Bertie Thompson, Joffre Chambers, Rex Dewhurst, Horace Springer, J. Hamilton Holder, A. J. DeFour, Hugo Gunning, Hugh McDavid, Dom Basil Matthews, John Camacho, Cyril Lopez, Ernie Hinds, Leroy Morris, Joseph Correia, Eddie Furlonge, Roy Joseph, Mark Moody-Stuart, Lieut. Comm. Charles Hayward, Eric James, Ken Galt, Percy Knox, Frederick Martinez, Robbie Greenidge, Tony Gouveia, Sonny Vincent Brown, 'Fix-up' Lopez, the NAFL's Groundsman Stanley, the 'Scotsman' John Miller, and Suriname's August Wooter, to name just a few among the many.

We also had the good fortune of having fair, experienced and competent referees, who contributed in no small measure to the proper administration and control of games.

Men with integrity like George Cumberbatch, Harold Burnett, Tommie Nathaniel, Carlton Dore, Alvin 'Golden Boy' Rodrigues, Prior Jones, Len Jardine, Lloyd DeGouville, Roderick Yeates, Osmond Downer, Eric Marache, Victor Noel, 'Vap' Prizgar, CZ Bain, George Chin Cheong, Felix Borde, Eric Monteil, John Alleyne, and many others too numerous to mention.

Eighty-one years ago, the English FA donated the Trophy that is today competed for in the oldest, most prestigious competitive knock-out tournament in local football, but there is also an extremely long list of Individual and corporate trophy and cup donors, whose contributions were equally important in establishing and supporting the numerous League and Knock-out competitions all across this country.

And last, but definitely not least, we were blessed with very knowledgeable and informed Sports editors and journalists in both the print and electronic media.

Finally, as we celebrate this centennial with the highest tribute to our first-ever World Cup Finalist team, we also recognise and acknowledge the tremendous contribution of all those who paved the way before them, and we look forward with renewed confidence and optimism to the game's next 100 years.

Veteran Footballers' Foundation

praymond@cima-ae.com

Re: 100 years of football in T&T
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2008, 03:05:49 PM »
T&T veterans celebrate 100th anniversary
Trinidad Express

Sunday, July 27th 2008

Trinidad and Tobago football turns 100 years today and the Veteran Footballers Foundation will celebrate with one of the largest gatherings of past football standouts in the vicinity of the grand stand at the Queen's Park Savannah, Port of Spain from 10 a.m.

Many former national and local players, including recent First Citizens Sports Foundation inductee Shay Seymour, Ivan Moe, Selris Figaro, Len Leggard, Henry "Foxy" Govia, Lincoln Phillips, Jean Mouttet, Rowley Forde, Tim Joseph, and Eddie Aleong have been invited to celebrations to mark the 100-year anniversary of the meeting which formed the Trinidad Amateur Football Association (TAFA), the predecessor to the T&T Football Federation (T&TFF).

Some of the other players being recognised during today's proceedings are Albert Goddard, Andy Aleong, Tony Campbell, Gwenwyn Cust, "Shorty" Sheppard, Norris and "Leathers" Sorzano, the Saldenha brothers, Elton Scantlebury, Ulric Boxill, "Son" Baptiste, and many others, including late former national standout Tyrone "the Tank" de la Bastide, who passed away in March at age 68 after ailing for a long time.

Also invited to the event are other veteran national and local club footballers, as well as former and current media personnel who have contributed to T&T football over the years.

« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2008, 03:07:05 PM »
Did anyone make it out to that event? pictures, video?

Also what does the Veteran football foundation do? first I heard of them (besides organize this event)
« Last Edit: July 27, 2008, 03:12:06 PM by E-man »

« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2008, 04:35:18 PM »
I aint hear nutten bout this till now.... :-\

« Reply #4 on: July 27, 2008, 04:49:35 PM »
       Those are all veterans, peeps on here may not know or have heard about most of those players mentioned,they are our forgotten heroes,i like what they have done here for these guys,all we need is a little appreciation for the work we have done in making Football the most loved game in the country,for keeping the flag flying,for passing on the baton to the next generation of players,even if is just to say thanks it's worth it.

« Reply #5 on: July 27, 2008, 06:04:02 PM »
       Those are all veterans, peeps on here may not know or have heard about most of those players mentioned,they are our forgotten heroes,i like what they have done here for these guys,all we need is a little appreciation for the work we have done in making Football the most loved game in the country,for keeping the flag flying,for passing on the baton to the next generation of players,even if is just to say thanks it's worth it.

They really should have announced their event on this forum. Unless it was a private affair - it would have been nice to know in advance.

« Reply #6 on: July 28, 2008, 06:09:33 PM »

WONDERFUL MEMORIES: Ivan Moe, from left, Hera Singh and Henry "Fox" Govia are amused by a picture of Govia's old team, Shamrock FC, at the Queen's Park Savannah, Port of Spain yesterday, when several great players of the past gathered to celebrate 100 years of football in Trinidad and Tobago. Moe played for Colts FC, the Belmont Battalion, while Singh played for Strollers.-Photo: DEXTER PHILIP

« Reply #7 on: July 29, 2008, 06:27:45 AM »
As this is the 100 anniversary of football. Don't you think the powers that be should have some commemorations for the different leagues of the past. POSFL and NAFL,  Arima Football league, PYM and Central St.George. CFA and Central Football league(Couva), SFA, SFL, Tobago Football Leauge and College Football Leauge? This is 100 yrs!!!! We will not be here for the next 100!!!!

« Reply #8 on: July 29, 2008, 09:40:33 PM »
Dis is d effort of Tansley Towsend

« Reply #9 on: July 29, 2008, 10:41:47 PM »
Dis is d effort of Tansley Towsend
      You sure is not Tansley Thompson you want to say because i was told it was Tansley Thompson.

« Reply #10 on: July 29, 2008, 10:44:40 PM »
Coops u correck meh brain eh wukin ah tired