April 19, 2024, 10:40:21 PM

Author Topic: T&T Football Cult Heroes  (Read 31975 times)

T&T Football Cult Heroes
« on: July 28, 2008, 07:53:54 PM »
Probably already discussed here..

But who is the best local footballer who you've ever seen or played with, that never even sniff a national team?

Offline Anbrat

Re: T&T Football Cult Heroes
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2008, 08:20:19 PM »
Probably already discussed here..

But who is the best local footballer who you've ever seen or played with, that never even sniff a national team?

Edsel 'Mac' McCaskie (St. Benedicts and Lanes) 

Offline scooby

« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2008, 08:41:34 PM »
I would have KERN Simmons he use play in Aranquez Savanna with Stagg Bluffers, he also went to San Juan Govt Primary when Jap Brown used to coach them. To bad he when mad at an early age think he still a teenager when he became destitute but he kick ball with any foot, good theader of the ball, driblle and pass anyone from the area would no him, to be quite frankly a young kern and even better than young Latas

« Reply #3 on: July 28, 2008, 11:01:41 PM »
Clifton "blacksmith" Gomez....think Princes Town. Boss player.

« Reply #4 on: July 28, 2008, 11:19:18 PM »
Clifton "blacksmith" Gomez....think Princes Town. Boss player.
Saddist yuh just call a big big player dey ayah

« Reply #5 on: July 29, 2008, 12:11:06 AM »
Nigel "Juggy" Jugroop (talk about ah Indian baller)

Gerard Walker

... both 'gustine stalwarts during Nixon's time, along with Ancil Elcock and McComie...dat c**t.

Offline rastafari

« Reply #6 on: July 29, 2008, 04:43:44 AM »
Ok here is a list of players that i think, never made it to the National senior team.

Teams                                                   Players
St Francois Nationals                                Cantius
                                                            Libert 'blackboy' Duncan
                                                            Richard Leera

Belmont Secondary                                 Marvin Joseph

ASL Sports                                             Leric 'Lobo' Joseph

Doc's Khelwalas                                      Wayne 'yankee' Valley

Carapachaima Senior Comprehensive          Earl Mayers

Princess Town Senior Comprehensive         Kevin Barrow

Signal Hill Senior Comprehensive                Jason Duncan

Fire Services                                           Shawn James

St Mary's College                                     Kevin Moze
                                                            Brandon Moze
                                                            Gavin Moze

Trendsetter hawks                                  Sterling Smith

Queens Royal College                               Jeremy 'checky' Short

« Last Edit: July 29, 2008, 06:39:47 AM by rastafari »

« Reply #7 on: July 29, 2008, 06:26:17 AM »
I would have KERN Simmons he use play in Aranquez Savanna with Stagg Bluffers, he also went to San Juan Govt Primary when Jap Brown used to coach them. To bad he when mad at an early age think he still a teenager when he became destitute but he kick ball with any foot, good theader of the ball, driblle and pass anyone from the area would no him, to be quite frankly a young kern and even better than young Latas
      I've heard of Kern Simmons a lot because i'm very close to the family and they always talk about his ability as a player,it's just unfortunate he had to end up this way but i would just like to add a couple players that come to my mind,Keith Douglas,Fitzroy Valentine,Denzil White(not sure),from a senior team perspective i would say Colin Rocke.

Offline dtool

« Reply #8 on: July 29, 2008, 12:41:19 PM »

I would say Jose Gruny... Luton Town.

« Reply #9 on: July 29, 2008, 12:51:26 PM »
did Anselm "Spanner" George ever play for the national team?

« Reply #10 on: July 29, 2008, 12:58:41 PM »
did Anselm "Spanner" George ever play for the national team?

From what I understand Spanner got a lil taste of nat'l senior football....Not sure if he ever made the full breakthrough (capped), but I know he sniffed the fringes (screenings, training etc...) Touches could probably confirm....

Offline jr sams

• Every time....all de time....true to form
« Reply #11 on: July 29, 2008, 01:22:41 PM »
Ok here is a list of players that i think, never made it to the National senior team.

Brandon Moze
                                                            Gavin Moze

Never made the Senior team, but was on the National under 20 squad that went to the under 20 world cup in Portugal in 1991
well yes

« Reply #12 on: July 29, 2008, 01:41:24 PM »
Leon Steele, Point fortin Civic Center

« Reply #13 on: July 29, 2008, 01:42:25 PM »
wait nah kevin moze never get called up for d national team...hmmm... ::)
what ah talent he was......

joel ribiero....qrc goalkeeper was another talented player...

« Reply #14 on: July 29, 2008, 01:43:44 PM »
      I've heard of Kern Simmons a lot because i'm very close to the family and they always talk about his ability as a player,it's just unfortunate he had to end up this way but i would just like to add a couple players that come to my mind,Keith Douglas,Fitzroy Valentine,Denzil White(not sure),from a senior team perspective i would say Colin Rocke.

I believed Denzil had a short stint in the National team...ask Tallman tho

« Reply #15 on: July 29, 2008, 01:51:26 PM »

Richard Suderland, Mervyn Serjue, Tony Huggins, Errol Stephenson
Nuff Tobago Ballers

« Reply #16 on: July 29, 2008, 02:02:58 PM »
Leric Lobo Joseph did play for TT in the 80s. Probably the only man who used to sub for his club and make the national team. Bear in mind that ASL had about 7 national players. I think Lobo got picked becz coming off the bench he showed his class against some of the best teams in the world, eg. Flamengo, Tottenham etc.

Colin Rocke....a true crime.

Marlon Charles - ex Fatima, played at youth level but never cracked the sr. team. Present TT women's coach.

Anthony Clarke GK. played at U-16, but seemed ignored by the selectors for the rest of his career. Amazing reflexes.

David Mohamed the cricketer of the 80s. A great defender. Captained South U-19.

« Reply #17 on: July 29, 2008, 02:09:05 PM »

Brandon Moze
                                                            Gavin Moze

Never made the Senior team, but was on the National under 20 squad that went to the under 20 world cup in Portugal in 1991

I thought it was Kevin who was in that pool for that squad and used to get a corbeaux in the lead up, but didn't make the final cut. Didn't realize Gavin made it as a reserve goalie. Brendon also played in youth teams. Unlike his two brothers, Brendon was actually a starter who used to run de 90 minutes for all the youth teams he played on, but never went to WC. Also used to play left back at nationals cuz the competition was too stiff in the center of midfield where he was a standout for Saints. Oldest brother Darragh (sp?) was a nice baller too. Big fella wit red hair used to look like a Scot.

My nominees would be Jason Rocke and Marvin Raeburn (altho he was on the fringe of some national youth teams I think)

Best ballers I ever played with who eh sniff a national team was Kamu Laird

Offline Anbrat

« Reply #18 on: July 29, 2008, 02:10:56 PM »

Richard Suderland, Mervyn Serjue, Tony Huggins, Errol Stephenson
Nuff Tobago Ballers

I could also speak for Richard Sutherland (Pres) and Errol Stephenson (St. Benedicts). Exceptional talents!

« Reply #19 on: July 29, 2008, 02:17:50 PM »

Brandon Moze
                                                            Gavin Moze

Two Moze brothers played for TT at the U-20 WC.

« Reply #20 on: July 29, 2008, 02:23:16 PM »
Kenny Nazib from ROCFAS - Diamond Vale. Nuff Nationals come down de park and get school !! He used to play in Notherns League too......real telented....but as usual.........

« Reply #21 on: July 29, 2008, 02:31:47 PM »
i second Nigel Jugroop.. played with him in meh Jabloteh days.... (in those days, Jabloteh had about 9 players who had stints with a national youth team...)

Just a few other that come to mind

BB Players ........... Noel Auguste (was rumored he declined Gally's invitation during the Strike Squad era) , Ronnie 'milo' Charles

Challengers /Jabloteh........ Sean 'yellowman' Constantine
BB player/ John D .. Nicholas Ashby
St Georges ....... Sean Rojas
Army..... Anthony Delpeche

Offline scooby

« Reply #22 on: July 29, 2008, 04:59:59 PM »
libert blackboy duncan did get a short run on the national team and denzil white also had a short run

« Reply #23 on: July 29, 2008, 05:02:23 PM »
Ent Jeff "Agos" Agostini turn down Gally and the strike squad also. Excellent baller for
Boussier Youths and Queens Park

« Reply #24 on: July 29, 2008, 05:20:17 PM »
Ah doh understand how anybody could turn down Gally during the SS days?

Maybe it was around 1988 when TT football was in the toilet?

If anybody could give reasons for dis, please do.

« Reply #25 on: July 29, 2008, 06:05:41 PM »
Ah doh understand how anybody could turn down Gally during the SS days?

Maybe it was around 1988 when TT football was in the toilet?

If anybody could give reasons for dis, please do.

          If you ever read Marlon Morris book or was around the time of the Strike Squad you might understand it was not all doom and gloom,there was a lot of ups and downs,politics played a part at times,players were often dissatisfied and had their growses,i personally inherited a Shell Squad of players who rejected Gally or was dismissed from that Squad eg Nevick Denoon,Timothy Haynes etc etc there was bachanal with Nakhid,at one time Skeene,another time Anton. 
« Last Edit: July 29, 2008, 06:48:42 PM by Coop's »

« Reply #26 on: July 29, 2008, 06:25:15 PM »
Coops talk about Fitzroy Valentine from Tunapuna. Originally a Tunapuna Arsenal man and he went to the DF. Good player. Had a wicked slap shot. Good skills. I don't know if he ever play for TT.

Dtool called out Jose Gruny. I think he was from Belmont. Spanish Trini. Had good ball control and use to dribble real nice.

Observer called out Sutherland, Sirju and Huggins. All Technical men. Great school boy players.  All born the wrong time. Stephenson sounds familiar. But I just can't place him in my mind.

VB called out Lobo. I know Lobo from Belmont. He used to play for a team called Preston with Brian"Big Bird" Brown. He was a very good goalkeeper. But I saw Chinapoo string him up from 30 yards in the Barataria oval. He used to do crazy things in goal like the Colombian keeper. But I was surprise that he was playing out for a big team like ASl. I regret that I never see him play out for them side.

I want to big up Philbert Prince and Peter Halfhide. These two guys were not super star defenders. But I would put them  on my team anyday. Tough hard tackling and great headers of the ball.

« Reply #27 on: July 29, 2008, 06:55:05 PM »
Another player i think could have gotten a break was Marlon Waterman.

« Reply #28 on: July 29, 2008, 07:10:17 PM »
Coops talk about Fitzroy Valentine from Tunapuna. Originally a Tunapuna Arsenal man and he went to the DF. Good player. Had a wicked slap shot. Good skills. I don't know if he ever play for TT.

Dtool called out Jose Gruny. I think he was from Belmont. Spanish Trini. Had good ball control and use to dribble real nice.

Observer called out Sutherland, Sirju and Huggins. All Technical men. Great school boy players.  All born the wrong time. Stephenson sounds familiar. But I just can't place him in my mind.

VB called out Lobo. I know Lobo from Belmont. He used to play for a team called Preston with Brian"Big Bird" Brown. He was a very good goalkeeper. But I saw Chinapoo string him up from 30 yards in the Barataria oval. He used to do crazy things in goal like the Colombian keeper. But I was surprise that he was playing out for a big team like ASl. I regret that I never see him play out for them side.

I want to big up Philbert Prince and Peter Halfhide. These two guys were not super star defenders. But I would put them  on my team anyday. Tough hard tackling and great headers of the ball.
Deeks,

who you you referring to as a GK, not Lobo??

He used to play forward for ASL. Nice dribbling skills.
Scored for ASL vs. Flamengo who were teh World Club Champions, with Zico, Eder and Jhunior. Was leading 1-0 in the sed. hlf and the National Stadium was going crazy. Stad sell out that day. Ppl had to sit onthe steps.

But ASl lost 3-1, sorf goal at the end of the game. Lobo header that score vs Paulista Corinthians was one of the best I've ever seen in my life.

Peace,

« Reply #29 on: July 29, 2008, 07:21:22 PM »
VB,
        As a youth Lobo was GK. He used to play for Preston in Carl Weekes league.. Then he went Malvern and ASL. That is why I said that I was surprise that he played forward for those teams. Is big who told me that Leric Joseph the dread dribbler for ASL is Lobo the GK.  I had left TT for US before he started to play out.