April 28, 2024, 11:25:19 PM

Author Topic: T&T's biggest racket in history  (Read 2638 times)

T&T's biggest racket in history
« on: January 11, 2009, 08:06:49 AM »
T&T's biggest racket in history
Richard Charan (T&T Express)

There exists a public service department in this country where customer care is five-star, where your every wish is fulfilled in the shortest time and with the least burden upon you - weary citizen.

And you've got three locations from which to chose - North, South and Tobago.

Like the Hyatt or Hilton, you're met at the entrance, ushered to the car park, and given personalised care - every service explained and fee outlined.

There is food and drink, but no overnight stay.

That's because when you check in at THE LICENSING OFFICE, and deal with its "employees", you can be out of there in an hour.

But if you do, you will have participated in one of this country's deepest, darkest, and most far reaching rackets in history.

So big is the scam that there is an estimated 75,000 to 100,000 vehicles on the nation's roads that are in some way tied to the corruption, some believe.

And the fraud is equal-opportunity, accessible to the man with the rusted old car, to the millionaires with auto dealership, and everyone in between.

It has generated a down-stream industry amounting to tens of millions of dollars annually, with its own workforce.

- The touts, not the maxi taxi hustlers but filthy rich men working for officials within the licensing offices who are prepared to deliver any service for the right price.

- Some insurance agents granting insurance certificates to vehicles without ever seeing the rides, selling the "rights" of crashed vehicles to dishonest people with a foreign used vehicle or shell too old to lawfully license.

Some insurance agents themselves earning a second salary running auto garages where the swaps are done.

- Some police officers, paid a stipend for turning a blind eye to the con, choosing not to annoy a beast now so big that senior Ministry of Works and Transport officials, and some of the richest people accept it as normal business practice.

- Certain driving instructors - many times freelancing as a tout, or as a middle men between tout and customer.

The criminal enterprise is half a century old.

But there is a new attempt to destroy it. It began last Monday simultaneous raids at 3 a.m., at Licensing Offices in Port of Spain and San Fernando.

Police took documents related to cars stolen and re-registered by unscrupulous people.

The investigation is being led by Assistant Commissioner of Police Raymond Craig, a man who once was in charge of the Organised Crime and Narcotic Unit and now is in charge of traffic matters.

As of Friday, police had impounded more than 100 vehicles and detained 20 people, among them auto dealers and a police officer who owned a car believed stolen.

But it's not the first time police have tried.

He said that in 1987, then-Attorney General Selwyn Richardson worked with senior police officers to snare several Licensing Office workers involved in re-registering stolen Toyota Royal Saloon - the luxury cars of the time.

Every accused won their cases in court.

The new investigators, who include men from the Anti-Corruption Bureau operating within the Office of the Attorney General, will soon learn how big is their challenge.

How the racket operates

Possibly the most corrupt piece of real estate in Trinidad is within the compound of the San Fernando Licensing Department.

There is no escaping the touts - men who knock on your window as you drive in, each one with pen and book, application and registration forms, and cell phone of speed dial, ready to do your business.

Many of these men are former employees with detailed knowledge of the system. At least one was fired for fraud. Others work with other government departments but moonlight in the car park, where they can make as much as $3000 a day.

If you refuse these men and say you want to deal with the legitimate workers, prepare to be insulted, and to suffer.

Business that would have taken you half an hour through the tout, may take a day or more.

There are touts employed with new and foreign-used dealers, rental companies, trucking companies, with money to ease the passage of licensing the vehicles.

There are some touts so big in the business that they have a stable of juniors who work for them.

And as many in the auto industry know, you can have a stolen car made new again with a new owners name, get an inspection sticker for T vehicle without it ever having passed "the pit" for a thorough inspection.

You want to build your own vehicle out of new, stolen or used parts?

No problem. You want to sell a car taken from a man shot in the head and left to rot along a forest road? There are garages with the tool to remove and replace the car's firewall - the metal which separates the engine compartment from the passenger compartment. The firewall contains the chassis numbers which is the official identification record contained in a certified copy, which identifies the owner.

In T vehicles, the chassis number is stamped somewhere along the frame of the vehicle. That too can be erased, and re-stamped at auto repair garages.

A foreign used vehicle too old to be registered? Small thing.

Trucks costing too much to register. Bribes will reduce the figure.

Reassembled a knocked down vehicle and need it registered despite the 2003 ban? Its part of the service offered.

Sometimes the corruption slows to a trickle because an incorruptible licensing official has temporarily taken charge.

That person is despised, and the touts wait with anticipation for his departure so business can resume.

And for those who need a driving permit, there is a bobol for you too.

Some driving instructors let you know straight up your choices. Go through the driving lessons, or get a "sure pass", for a fee, on the day of the driving test that is really just a farce.

If you choose to not pay, be prepared to be failed.

You can pay to have the test date brought forward.

If you can't read or write, the regulations examination can be done by someone pretending to be you. Or you can get the multiple choice examination paper with the answers already filled in.

But you need not even go to the Licensing Office for a driving permit anymore. There are agents working around the country, to whom you supply a passport sized photo, signature and the money and come back another day to collect your license. It is authentic in every way because it was done at the Transport Division, and made an official record within a few weeks. You can also pay for a Heavy T license which gives you the right to drive a 26-wheeler.

It will cost you between $2000 and $5000.

Re: T&T's biggest racket in history
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2009, 08:46:50 AM »
Waiting for the ball to drop.

« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2009, 02:34:09 PM »
when it drop somebody will pick it up and run with it till it drop again,cyar stop this.

« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2009, 09:44:46 AM »
when it drop somebody will pick it up and run with it till it drop again,cyar stop this.

sure they can stop it, by replacin the maze ah "paper" with a computer databases "with offsite secured backup" for starters, why u feel dem licensing officer fightin down dat plan so hard,

1)too much track to cover
2)an den dem ol man ha to learn how to use a computer

« Reply #4 on: January 12, 2009, 10:02:33 AM »

sure they can stop it, by replacin the maze ah "paper" with a computer databases "with offsite secured backup" for starters, why u feel dem licensing officer fightin down dat plan so hard,

well that is it

you going and telll dem ole arse license officer who still writing with quill to use ah computer to enter any records

to this day, if yuh lorse yuh license yuh had to dig up in ah big ledger to find where yuh sign for it how much years ago.

« Reply #5 on: January 12, 2009, 10:35:26 AM »

well that is it

you going and telll dem ole arse license officer who still writing with quill to use ah computer to enter any records

to this day, if yuh lorse yuh license yuh had to dig up in ah big ledger to find where yuh sign for it how much years ago.

yeah boy... the book of life yes.

Last time I renew my licence i see an elderly couple flipping through pages in that huge ledger for about 45 minutes trying to find their signature. I feel real sorry for them.

If the licencing officers not willing to adapt to change then get new licencing officers. Half of them done corrupt already as is..  I knew someone who tendered for a project to computerize the licensing office and is just common knowledge that they not willing to do it because it would make corruption difficult.. sad state of affairs.

« Reply #6 on: January 12, 2009, 11:20:03 AM »

well that is it

Last time I renew my licence i see an elderly couple flipping through pages in that huge ledger for about 45 minutes trying to find their signature. I feel real sorry for them. :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

If the licencing officers not willing to adapt to change then get new licencing officers. Half of them done corrupt already as is..  I knew someone who tendered for a project to computerize the licensing office and is just common knowledge that they not willing to do it because it would make corruption difficult.. sad state of affairs.

Lack of political will.

« Reply #7 on: January 12, 2009, 11:51:25 AM »

well that is it

Last time I renew my licence i see an elderly couple flipping through pages in that huge ledger for about 45 minutes trying to find their signature. I feel real sorry for them.

wait?! allyuh SERIOUS??. ???..so when next I go T&T, if I want to get back my licence from 20 years ago ...I jadda flip troo ah book to look for mih signature??!!

pure,pure comedy

« Reply #8 on: January 12, 2009, 11:58:01 AM »
Dat office is de wickedest..most corrupt ting in trinidad and tobago history. My brethrin gone to do he drivers test....de officer done start a talk..how money does make de world go round. My brethrin say..well..boss..me eh have no money yuh know..de officer say...well..hard luck..yuh fail. My brethrin say....wha yuh mean i fail..i eh even get in de car yet..how you know i cant drive. De officer say...yuh cyar even drive a bargain...how yuh could drive a car? De kinda slackness and corruption dat does go on dey...amazing. Den people does wonder why so much people on de road dat eh drivers...dem is motor vehicle operators. And if yuh ever notice..is some hard old car dem officers driving...cuz dey kno wha could go on if some idiot hit dem. De love of money is really de root of all evil. Last i heard..is bout 500 to pass de test if yuh paying. So lets assume 2 or 4 people pay each day. Assuming 2..thats 1000 in the officer hand. Multiply dat by 5 days a week..yuh get 5 grand. Multiply dat by 4 weeks.....dahs 20 grand....and yuh eh even start to talk bout de man salary yet eh. And you expect dem to cooperate and let dat office get computerised? Dey too wicked. Chaguanas and Arima office almost impossible to pass without paying money. When i was doin my test..a girl could not drive AT ALL.....she pay..and i fail cuz i didnt. Dey too wicked.

wait?! allyuh SERIOUS??. Huh..so when next I go T&T, if I want to get back my licence from 20 years ago ...I jadda flip troo ah book to look for mih signature??!!

Dead serious. Yuh does hadda remember de date it was issued. Else is real pressha for you. Last monday i gone to renew my permit..and a man come in saying he loss he permit. Apparently he had lost it bout a year ago and a man help him find it real quick..so he gone back by de man...asking de man if he remember him. De man say..boy..de amount of people i deal with in dat year...you expect me to remember you? Ent i did tell yuh keep a photocopy of yuh permit jus in case yuh loss it? De man who lose he permit  say..yeh..i do dat. So de worker say..so where it is? De man say..i had it in de wallet with de permit. All i coulda do is shake my head yes.....
« Last Edit: January 12, 2009, 12:01:32 PM by Bourbon »
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #9 on: January 12, 2009, 12:04:30 PM »
.boy..de amount of people i deal with in dat year...you expect me to remember you? Ent i did tell yuh keep a photocopy of yuh permit jus in case yuh loss it? De man who lose he permit  say..yeh..i do dat. So de worker say..so where it is? De man say..i had it in de wallet with de permit. All i coulda do is shake my head yes.....

:rotfl: LOL!!LOL!!

« Reply #10 on: January 12, 2009, 12:16:33 PM »

well that is it

not to cry down the old eh, but all over d public service from top to buttom, the older heads does frustrate the transition to computer technology, ah suppose is ah fear of redundancy eh, but oh god man,.............95yr old man in europe an' d states getting comp literate and even earnin IT qualies,.................an all we ole people sayin is dem to ole to learn dat, but yet still where I work dem same ole people learn how to use browsers good good ............ and have large porn collections to boot....................if u could learn it for vice, you could learn to continue earnin your dollar 
« Last Edit: January 12, 2009, 12:24:28 PM by lefty »

« Reply #11 on: January 12, 2009, 12:22:15 PM »
.boy..de amount of people i deal with in dat year...you expect me to remember you? Ent i did tell yuh keep a photocopy of yuh permit jus in case yuh loss it? De man who lose he permit  say..yeh..i do dat. So de worker say..so where it is? De man say..i had it in de wallet with de permit. All i coulda do is shake my head yes.....

yeah boy  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #12 on: January 12, 2009, 12:23:38 PM »
Licensing office need a few secret shoppers?

« Reply #13 on: January 12, 2009, 12:26:56 PM »
It even relates to Customs.

I had an experience some time ago in the old airport trying to clear something, and it was the most antiquated, dated shit ever. One set a paper and sign in ah book and the paper missing and one office make an error when he write up the paper so yuh had to go back but when yuh go back he by the bar so yuh had to wait till he good and ready.

Eventually what should take an hour tops end up taking 5.

« Reply #14 on: January 12, 2009, 01:00:26 PM »
Dat office is de wickedest..most corrupt ting in trinidad and tobago history. My brethrin gone to do he drivers test....de officer done start a talk..how money does make de world go round. My brethrin say..well..boss..me eh have no money yuh know..de officer say...well..hard luck..yuh fail. My brethrin say....wha yuh mean i fail..i eh even get in de car yet..how you know i cant drive. De officer say...yuh cyar even drive a bargain...

well your brethrin must be my brethrin cause he give me the exact same story down to the last sentence some months ago. he say de only way he get it sort out was to let his pops (a man with serious civil clout), to make a phone call and he say in 5 minutes he get ushered inside and license produced in quick time.

I fail my first test. Sit down in the car and the licensing officer, ah old indian man with ah kinda high pitch voice (notorious), start bawling me up from the get go for no reason. Needless to say that throw me off and i cut off.. well he lock me off with that, but start talking a money talk and i just ride out.

I know a girl who bounce the car and still pass.

that place is a hell hole.

« Reply #15 on: January 12, 2009, 01:33:36 PM »
Yuh see d author of that article...Richard Charan.

Mind one of them same Licensing people ent do him a wickedness.

« Reply #16 on: January 12, 2009, 01:43:01 PM »
Dat office is de wickedest..most corrupt ting in trinidad and tobago history. My brethrin gone to do he drivers test....de officer done start a talk..how money does make de world go round. My brethrin say..well..boss..me eh have no money yuh know..de officer say...well..hard luck..yuh fail. My brethrin say....wha yuh mean i fail..i eh even get in de car yet..how you know i cant drive. De officer say...yuh cyar even drive a bargain...

well your brethrin must be my brethrin cause he give me the exact same story down to the last sentence some months ago. he say de only way he get it sort out was to let his pops (a man with serious civil clout), to make a phone call and he say in 5 minutes he get ushered inside and license produced in quick time.

I fail my first test. Sit down in the car and the licensing officer, ah old indian man with ah kinda high pitch voice (notorious), start bawling me up from the get go for no reason. Needless to say that throw me off and i cut off.. well he lock me off with that, but start talking a money talk and i just ride out.

I know a girl who bounce the car and still pass.

that place is a hell hole.
well daiz the same man, he was in tong? he fail me too 1st time, same ting....well he tell me pull aside so he could talk to another licensing officer who was park at the side of the road during my test...then jump back in and tell me how I nearly bounce down the man...talk bout I fail but give enough of a drive left so money could pass...but who goin and belive me?  I is a 17yr old young buck.  we like it so....

« Reply #17 on: January 12, 2009, 07:49:57 PM »
in another thread TT was talking bout purging all the police officers and dem... licensing office is whey need to be cleaned b/c dey nastier than the aegean stables.  dey fail me first time too down in south and i wasn't no bad driver by any means.  between dem and the driving instructors...lord have mercy trinis love bobol.

« Reply #18 on: January 13, 2009, 05:27:10 AM »

yeah boy  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Ah shouldn't but..... :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: or else I'll  :'( :'(

« Reply #19 on: January 13, 2009, 05:28:16 AM »
Yuh see d author of that article...Richard Charan.

Mind one of them same Licensing people ent do him a wickedness.

Oh lord yuh like a conspiracy eh  ;D....