April 19, 2024, 02:33:27 PM

Author Topic: Cold welcome for Jamaica U-17s in T&T.  (Read 6237 times)

Cold welcome for Jamaica U-17s in T&T.
« on: July 31, 2008, 04:39:10 AM »
Cold welcome for U-17s in T&T.
By: Karyl Walker (Jamaica Observer).

Despite travelling for over eight hours to get to the twin-island republic of Trinidad & Tobago for a Caribbean Football Union (CFU) tournament, the Under-17 Jamaican, Turks & Caicos and Cuban football teams were given the cold shoulder upon arrival at the Piarco International Airport in the capital of Port of Spain on Tuesday.

No official from the Trinidad Football Federation was on hand to welcome the visiting teams. The abandonment of the visiting teams forced head of the Jamaican delegation, Carlton 'Spanner' Dennis, to use his initiative and coerce customs and immigration officials to process the Jamaican delegation speedily. The Cuban and Turks & Caicos Islands teams were not so lucky, however, and had to endure a long wait to be processed.

"This is not the way we treat visitors when they come to Jamaica. The boys have been travelling for over eight hours and no one is here to greet them and see that they are taken care of," a peeved Dennis remarked.

But the young Boyz's plight had just begun as after they were processed by airport officials, there was apparently no provisions made for a tour bus to take them to the Ambassador Hotel in the district of St James.

However, quick action on the part of the home country's officials resulted in two "maxi taxis" being contracted at the last minute to ferry the young Jamaicans and their luggage.

The situation almost sunk further into controversy after inadequate food was prepared for the team. One member of the hotel kitchen staff was overheard rebuking some members of the team for sharing their food too heavily. The situation caused team coach Christopher Dawes to almost lose his cool.

"The youths have been travelling from morning. They are a teenage sports team and they have to eat adequately," Dawes said. But despite the hitches, the young Boyz settled in nicely and were tucked in by midnight.

They team underwent a light training session yesterday morning before a more intense session later in the day. The Jamaicans are among 21 under-17 national teams participating in the CFU Youth Cup 2008, which runs from 31 July to August 10. The Jamaicans will take on Antigua and Barbuda in the opener today.

The tournament will see six groups playing at five venues in Trinidad & Tobago during the first round - Fatima College Ground; Guaracara Park; St Mary's College Ground; Tobago; University of the West Indies field and Marvin Lee Stadium, where the Jamaicans will see first-round action.

The six group winners, along with two best second-placed finishers, will progress to the quarter-finals on August 6. The semi-finals and final will take place at Marvin Lee Stadium in Macoya on August 8 and 10, respectively.
« Last Edit: July 31, 2008, 07:56:57 AM by Flex »

Re: Cold welcome for Jamaica U-17s in T&T
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2008, 05:29:00 AM »
Peeps this not good at all,i think we can do better than that T&T.

« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2008, 05:50:36 AM »

Steupes.  Dem does put we to train in areas where taxi and ting doh go, whey it have gangland violence right thru but dey complainin bout customs and food?  ::) ::) ::)

« Reply #3 on: July 31, 2008, 06:18:04 AM »

Steupes.  Dem does put we to train in areas where taxi and ting doh go, whey it have gangland violence right thru but dey complainin bout customs and food?  ::) ::) ::)
        Breds is not Jamaicans alone it's everybody getting the same treatment,if that's the way to treat people fine,i know as a player when i leave home and go to a foreign country how it feels.

« Reply #4 on: July 31, 2008, 06:48:57 AM »
Usually for tournaments of this nature most host will have an official to look after teams at arrival. The same host will make sure transportation is prepared and ready to go.

« Reply #5 on: July 31, 2008, 07:37:30 AM »
TTFF didn't have no money to pay the Maxi driver, so the official never reach the airport...

Re: Cold welcome for Jamaica U-17s in T&T.
« Reply #6 on: July 31, 2008, 07:48:03 AM »
Welcome to Hell .... no pleasantries here

« Reply #7 on: July 31, 2008, 07:55:38 AM »
Sorry, but that is very embarrassing for T&T. Complete lack of professionalism.

« Reply #8 on: July 31, 2008, 08:09:05 AM »

but isnt CFU supposed to send delegates and people to organise each team?  Why does the TTFF have to do that ?

just a question

« Reply #9 on: July 31, 2008, 08:09:53 AM »
Alyuh forget when we arrived in the airport (in Texas I believe) for the last GC  how the immigration treat we? Let them fight up with immigration, but we should have officials on hand to assist in getting them to the hotels and such.

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #10 on: July 31, 2008, 08:16:04 AM »
T&T wants to host all the football tournaments in the Caribbean. Yet, does not want the responsibility of preparation of other teams.

Three years of hosting.  ??? ??? ???   
jjbrown

Offline 7 blessings

• Lion II Zion
« Reply #11 on: July 31, 2008, 08:24:03 AM »
Yeah this definitely cannot fly; Trinidad traditionally know how to welcome and host people when they visiting the country and this is very uncharacteristic. Not pleased to hear this at all.
Jesus Christ died for us....now it's time for us to Live for Him

« Reply #12 on: July 31, 2008, 08:24:44 AM »
T&T wants to host all the football tournaments in the Caribbean. Yet, does not want the responsibility of preparation of other teams.

No we don't.  Doh get tie up.

De oddah Caribbean countries does leech off of T&T because when it come time to host, ALL a allyuh does back out sayin it too expensive and dem allyuh afford it.

If it wasn't fuh T&T, it woulda have considerably less football tournaments in de Caribbean.

Instead a bein grateful, allyuh ingrate wan to fackin criticise.  HAAMC!
« Last Edit: July 31, 2008, 09:02:18 AM by palos »

« Reply #13 on: July 31, 2008, 08:29:59 AM »

You cannot host because, 1) you broke, 2) you dont have the facilities, we using school teams ground and the field is still better than your national stadium, 3) you dont apply or seemed to be interesting in hosting one, so how can you (for example) be granted to be host, same with other countries, if you dont apply how can you host, 4) You simply do not know how to behave. Remember, your peeps up in de bushes was bussing shots while our team was in training when we last visited Jam and 5) Remember your U-15 team was a no show last time, I take it the TTFF was assuming that it would have happened again..  :angel:

I still feel bad about the way your team was treated, the TTFF was wrong and should try and make that up to you guys. Free dildos for your entire team and staff...

De thing is, why Mexico and them central american team shaft allyuh when allyuh visit them you dont seem to complain. But when T&T do it, we bad....

De TTFF an all real un-professional.....
« Last Edit: July 31, 2008, 08:36:48 AM by Sam »

« Reply #14 on: July 31, 2008, 08:44:40 AM »
Welcome to Hell .... no pleasantries here

:devil: :devil: :devil:

« Reply #15 on: July 31, 2008, 08:59:18 AM »
cant do that to the youths...thas just wickedness...
when ya think the TTFF cant go any lower...they prove us wrong....

and yesterday we had training in the savannah. So we making a lap of the sand track and like one of the U17 teams(not sure what country, they were wearing black and white kits) were strolling through the savannah.
Dont know if anyone else agrees but thas real shit that a side have to come and train in the savannah for an international tournament.

Think there is ANY chance of the gov't fixing up the savannah. dont hadda be the best of the best. but maybe fence off the football fields mainly, put some lights and benches. That aint that difficult and ya hiring a lil ground staff to keep it maintained REGULARLY.

just thinking about a park i kicked ball in in Brooklyn....had a american football field there as well and it was fenced off...had a baseball diamond there as well...
i mean..how difficult can it be???

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #16 on: July 31, 2008, 09:07:37 AM »

You cannot host because, 1) you broke, 2) you dont have the facilities, we using school teams ground and the field is still better than your national stadium, 3) you dont apply or seemed to be interesting in hosting one, so how can you (for example) be granted to be host, same with other countries, if you dont apply how can you host, 4) You simply do not know how to behave. Remember, your peeps up in de bushes was bussing shots while our team was in training when we last visited Jam and 5) Remember your U-15 team was a no show last time, I take it the TTFF was assuming that it would have happened again..  :angel:

1) Did you know that Jack took all the money from FIFA that was suppose to be distributed to other smaller Caribbean islands to build their own sporting football complex was used to build most of the stadia in T&T. And yet school grounds are being used.
So taking Jamaica out of the equation. What's T&T's reason for not allowing other Caribbean nations to host the tournament? Maybe they are poor and have bad football fields like Jamaica. ???
And how do shots being fired by rival gangs in Jamaica equates the welcome given to Jamaica, Cuba and the Turk & Caicos. Were they treated this way simply because they travelled with Jamaica?      

I still feel bad about the way your team was treated, the TTFF was wrong and should try and make that up to you guys. Free dildos for your entire team and staff...

De thing is, why Mexico and them central american team shaft allyuh when allyuh visit them you dont seem to complain. But when T&T do it, we bad....

De TTFF an all real un-professional.....

2) So T&T's answer is to do the same.
jjbrown

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #17 on: July 31, 2008, 09:22:48 AM »

No we don't.  Doh get tie up.

De oddah Caribbean countries does leech off of T&T because when it come time to host, ALL a allyuh does back out sayin it too expensive and dem allyuh afford it.

If it wasn't fuh T&T, it woulda have considerably less football tournaments in de Caribbean.

Instead a bein grateful, allyuh ingrate wan to fackin criticise.  HAAMC!
Hmmm! Jack taking away other Caribbean nations money sent from FIFA for them to build their own football stadia and using it to build those stadia in T&T instead.

Yeah! I can see where I'm getting tied up. ;D

jjbrown

« Reply #18 on: July 31, 2008, 09:31:43 AM »

but isnt CFU supposed to send delegates and people to organise each team?  Why does the TTFF have to do that ?

just a question

TTFF is the host federation. At the very least they should have previously arranged some transport for the youths to their hotel. Especially given the fact that Jack was making a big stink about how the TTFF have no money because they spending so much to host this youth tournament.

« Reply #19 on: July 31, 2008, 09:40:48 AM »
Maybe its a ploy....To make Hunt feel shame and hope he will reconsider.

The players and teams not saying is Warner do this to them...They saying TT is a poor host.

A negative image is not easily removed. Come now we should be better hosts.

A certain level of protocol must be upheld.

« Reply #20 on: July 31, 2008, 09:47:38 AM »
F*#k 'em...welcome to International football. :devil:

« Reply #21 on: July 31, 2008, 09:49:56 AM »
Jamaica put up our boys in some godforsaken part of Kingston or wherever that even the police were afraid to tread and treat them shabbily at the last U-17 CONCACAF qualifier. Even so Trinidad should have treated these JA youths and  others  better than that.  And this is what I can't understand about the TTFF, they have done a LOT better in the past and have consistently organized good youth tournaments for the past 2- 3 years. Why sink below the good standards they previously set?

Anyway lets hope the rest of the tournament is a success.

« Reply #22 on: July 31, 2008, 10:09:54 AM »
Cold welcome for U-17s in T&T.
By: Karyl Walker (Jamaica Observer).

Despite travelling for over eight hours to get to the twin-island republic of Trinidad & Tobago for a Caribbean Football Union (CFU) tournament, the Under-17 Jamaican, Turks & Caicos and Cuban football teams were given the cold shoulder upon arrival at the Piarco International Airport in the capital of Port of Spain on Tuesday.

jamaica is not an hour away by flight  .. Oh i forget them does go through Miami dem like fi get dem US Visa

« Reply #23 on: July 31, 2008, 10:35:20 AM »
Listen de other islands does do the same thing and worse especially Jamaica from personal experience.Is just that we've always been courteous in the past and this is probable a communication slip up.At least they staying at a hotel instead of a high school class room in Kingston.

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #24 on: July 31, 2008, 11:16:08 AM »
I would like to see past incidents posted about the type of welcome that T&T has being treated to at the airports of other Caribbean nations. Jamaica included where T&T did not have an escort for their team.

Anyone Trini. Please post. If this treatment was meted out from the airport.   

jjbrown

« Reply #25 on: July 31, 2008, 11:31:32 AM »
I would like to see past incidents posted about the type of welcome that T&T has being treated to at the airports of other Caribbean nations. Jamaica included where T&T did not have an escort for their team.

Anyone Trini. Please post. If this treatment was meted out from the airport.

So it have to be at the flikking airport? How about when allyuh stick T&T in some sh*thole in Kingston and eh give them the same facilites the rest of the team got? We still beat you and left you home watching us on TV.  Don't worry your youths will be leaving T&T very soon.

« Reply #26 on: July 31, 2008, 11:37:27 AM »

"We"??

Dai'z yuh boy Jack and dem... not 'we'.

« Reply #27 on: July 31, 2008, 11:39:51 AM »
Totally agree... people who complaining about how Jamaica treat we players completely missing the point.  Just because Jamaica act with ineptitude and unprofessionalism doesn't mean we need to reciprocate.  If anything we should be the ones setting the standard...not following it.

« Reply #28 on: July 31, 2008, 12:05:01 PM »
It is responsibility of the host association to see about these things. That is not gamesmanship that's totally unprofessional.

« Reply #29 on: July 31, 2008, 12:12:41 PM »
Alyuh forget when we arrived in the airport (in Texas I believe) for the last GC  how the immigration treat we? Let them fight up with immigration, but we should have officials on hand to assist in getting them to the hotels and such.
eh heh
totally agree

"However, quick action on the part of the home country's officials resulted in two "maxi taxis" being contracted at the last minute to ferry the young Jamaicans and their luggage."
good to see something was done eventually

and the food thing is confusing, maybe the hotel underestimated the amount of food that a group of this size would need.
« Last Edit: July 31, 2008, 12:16:52 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.