March 29, 2024, 12:19:35 AM

Author Topic: Soca Warriors blank Haiti 2-0.  (Read 4413 times)

Soca Warriors blank Haiti 2-0.
« on: July 31, 2008, 07:26:36 AM »
Victory by two over Haiti.
By: John Peters.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Senior Team completed a 2-0 victory against Haiti courtesy of second half goals by Keyeno Thomas and Cornell Glen in Wednesdays friendly international at the Marvin Lee Stadium, Macoya.

Warming up for next month’s semi final round World Cup qualifier away to Cuba, the Cyd Gray-led Soca Warriors suffered a setback mere minutes before kick off when captain Aurtis Whitley suffered a blow to the ankle in the warm up and had to be replaced in the starting line up by Kevaughn Connell.

The hosts struggled to find their rhythm in the opening 45 minutes as Haiti looked more purposeful and enjoyed larger periods of possession. T&T, playing the 4-5-1 formation with Glen alone up top, only settled in the second half and subsequently found the net in quick succession.

T&T did however create the first good try on goal on nine minutes. Connell pushed forward down the left and played one over neatly to the onrushing Khaleem Hyland but he couldn’t connect well allowing Fenelon Gabart an easy pick up.

Three minutes later Haiti showed their intentions when Germain Peter had his effort deflected inches wide of the goal. Glen, who made a couple surging runs on either side of the half, also had a one time shot saved before the 20-minute mark.

Chris Birchall would be the spot kick server for T&T on the night and caused the Haitian defense their first bit of problems with a well served ball from the left which made good height before going wide off the far post off Thomas’ head.

Haiti did manage some inroads into the T&T goal area but never managed to cause major panic in the T&T back line. They had no less than 16 players in their squad on Wednesday from the squad which beat Netherlands Antilles 1-0 over two legs in last month's World Cup tie. Missing on Wednesday were veteran Pierre Bruny and Cadet Eliphene.

The game picked up pace after the interval with T&T breaking the deadlock. On 62 minutes Birchall’s perfectly flighted free kick from left found the head of Thomas and Gabart had no chance of stopping the ball from entering the net.

Haiti almost got back into the match on 68 minutes when goalie Marvin Philip failed to hold Chery Mones’ left side cross but Peter could only head over from the six yard.

T&T got the 2-0 cushion in the 70th minute when another Birchall delivery from the spot came over from the left and Thomas headed across for an onrushing Glen to convert from close range.

Teams

T&T:
- 21-Marvin Phillips. 3-Avery John, 4-Makan Hislop, 5-Keyeno Thomas, 6-Khaleem Hyland, 7-Christopher Birchall (16-Radanfah Abu Bakr 76th), 8-Cyd Gray (capt), 10-Kerry Baptiste (17-Anthony Wolfe 62nd), 2-Kevaughn Connell (11-Andre Toussaint 72nd), 13-Cornell Glen, 18-Densill Theobald.

Did not play: - 2-Aklie Edwards, 15-Gyasi Joyce,1-Cleon John.

Haiti: - 1-Fenelon Gabart, 2-Alcenat Jn Sony, 4-Germain Peter (19.Jean Baptiste Fritzon 69th), 17-Alain Vubert 5-Jerome Mechack, 7-Fucien Brunel (11.Gustave Alain, 78th), (10-Alexandre Boucicaut 59th) 9-Leonel St Prux, 3-Gilles Frantz (15-Raymond Ednerson 77th), 12-Sampeur Markoel, 22-Chery Mones, 20-Joseph Peterson (16-Jean Marc Alexandre).

Did not play: - 30- Pierre Louis Wings, 6-Guerrier Parnel.

Match Officials

Referee – Kevin Tmas (Jamaica)
Assistant 1 – Egert Paesch (Aruba)
Assistant 2 – Triston Tullock (Jamaica)
Fourth Official – Dave Peterkin (Jamaica)

View Post Game Comments.
Maturana fights back.
...Warriors see off Haitian threat.
By: Lasana Liburd (Express).

Francisco Maturana gave a glimpse of his staying power at the Marvin Lee Stadium on Wednesday night with a timely interview in English as the "Soca Warriors" defeated Caribbean champions, Haiti, 2-0 for their seventh win from 12 internationals under the Colombian football coach.

At the post-match press conference, Maturana made his maiden media address in English-even in the questions and answers segment-and shared the head table with previously ignored 2006 World Cup players, Cornell Glen and Chris Birchall.

There was a suspicion that the inclusion of both players was forced upon the former two-time Colombia World Cup coach but he fended off the enquiry as to whether he sacrificed his supposed stance regarding the use of players who do not represent their respective clubs.

"I think that I am (an) intelligent man," he said. "I don't hate any compromise. (The) only (point is) for the football (team) to win

"(As far as I am concerned) all players are available."

Maturana appeared to be floundering after Trinidad and Tobago's slender goal aggregate triumph over Bermuda in June but at least he has managed a response.

On the field, he scrapped his team's 4-1-3-2 formation for a more pragmatic 4-1-4-1 and recalled discarded World Cup players like Cyd Gray, Anthony Wolfe, Avery John, Glen and Birchall. Off the field, assistant coach Anton Corneal, whose perceived influence courted criticism, has become less visible while the Colombian also paraded his improved English.

Of course, the most important bit is the wins column and Maturana improved that too with a more noteworthy victory, if not more convincing, than previous exhibitions against Grenada, Barbados, Guyana and the Netherlands Antilles.

The Haitians were livelier but fashioned only one scoring opportunity when the teams were level, striker Leonel St Preux wasting a free header in the first half.

The Warriors' threat came, almost exclusively, from deep free kicks which Birchall repeatedly aimed at powerful central defender, Keyeno Thomas. In the 62nd minute, Thomas headed home his second international goal in 56 caps from a Birchall delivery and, eight minutes later, the Joe Public player headed across goal for Glen to nod into an empty net.

It was Glen's first goal at this level in three years-his last came against Panama at the 2005 Gold Cup-and his tenth overall from 39 outings.

The talented 27-year-old striker was his own worse critic and gave the impression that he is, belatedly, ready to build on the promise that illuminated Trinidad and Tobago's famous World Cup tie against Sweden.

"I have a lot of work to do," said Glen, at Wednesday's press conference. "My fitness, my first touch, my decision making "

Birchall, in his first international for two years, did not knock a Haitian off the ball until the 58th minute and, even then, he conceded a free kick in the process. His dead ball delivery was his sole redeeming quality on the night as he tries to win a place ahead of W Connection midfielder Clyde Leon and, possibly, 19-year-old Khaleem Hyland, who gave a notable performance of restrained aggression in the holding midfield role vacated by the injured Aurtis Whitley.

"I am really glad to get (this first game) out of the way," said the England-born midfielder. "It is a rebuilding process and I think we are going in the right (direction)."

In goal, Connection employee Marvin Phillip became the first T&T custodian in over a decade-at least-to record six successive clean sheets. He is two shy of Walsall goalkeeper Clayton Ince for the most shut-outs in a calendar year.

Ince managed eight blanks in 2000-the most on record by a national keeper-with three against Canada and one each against Panama, Mexico, Barbados, Netherlands Antilles and the Dominican Republic. Phillip's shut outs, thus far, have come against El Salvador, Barbados, Grenada, Guyana, Netherlands Antilles and Haiti.

The strength of Phillip's and Maturana's records is open to debate. But on Wednesday night, at least in the post-game chat, the glass looked half full.
Haiti beaten 2-0 at 'Marvin Lee'
By: Ian Prescott (Express).

Warriors win

If Trinidad and Tobago wanted to be known as the best football-playing team in the Caribbean, incumbents Haiti made sure they worked hard to prove it last night at the Marvin Lee Stadium, Macoya.

The "Soca Warriors" had real opponents on their hands: quick, rough Haitians who tested them before the home team secured a 2-0 victory in the first of a two-match series.

If anyone expected fluid, beautiful Soca Warriors football, they were soon disappointed. Haiti disrupted the play, allowing T&T to play in their own half, but pressured them when they came forward.

T&T suffered a setback before the first whistle, losing designated captain Aurtis Whitley, who injured his leg during the warming-up on the artificial surface. French-based player Kevaughn Connell replaced him.

Meanwhile, Haiti's squad contained eight players from the 2007 Caribbean Cup championship winning team, including scorers Alexander Boucicat (midfield playmaker) and Fucien Brunel (midfielder).

Only missing from Haiti's World Cup qualifying squad were starting strikers Eliphene Cadet and Fabrice Noel (Puerto Rico Islanders), and captain Pierre Bruny.

Meanwhile, T&T had four survivors from last year's Caribbean Cup squad in the then captain Densill Theobald, young central defender Makan Hislop, Kerry Baptiste and keeper Marvin Phillip. More important T&T started five of their 2006 World Cup starters in Chris Birchall, Avery John, Theobald, Cornell Glen and Cyd Gray, with a sixth, Anthony Wolfe on the bench.

Despite a goalless first half, there was still enough action to keep fans attentive. Haiti signaled their intentions early, with a direct attack in the very first minute. T&T goalkeeper Marvin Phillip was quickly pressed into action. But although failing to cut out a through ball, Phillip still gathered the rebound before Haitian striker Leonel St Preux.

And St Preux had another chance in the 28th when heading away a wide cross from Jean Sony Alcenat. Connell's pace set up T&T's best first half chance in the 10th. Racing a full 40 metres out of defence up the left, Connell centred the ball to lone striker Glen, who shrugged off his marker but only just failed to slip the ball under the dive of goalkeeper Fenelon Gabart.

And on the half hour, Glen had another half chance, but turned the ball into the side-netting under pressure. T&T finally broke the deadlock in the 62nd, taking a 1-0 lead when Birchall hit a pin-point free-kick to central defender Keyeno Thomas, who nailed a downward header at the back post.

And just seven minutes later, Birchall and Thomas combined with another free-kick. This time Thomas reached the ball at the back post, and headed it across goal, where Glen scored in the 69th to make the score 2-0. T&T are now halfway towards proving they are the Caribbean's best, but, let's see how they do when the teams meet again in Haiti on August 10.
Soca Warriors blank Haiti 2-0.
By: Nigel Simon (Guardian).

The “Soca Warriors” continued their 2010 South Africa World Cup preparations with a 2-0 shut-out of reigning Digicel Cup Caribbean champions, Haiti, 2-0 in a friendly international at the Marvin Lee Stadium, Macoya, yesterday.

After a less than inspiring first 45 minutes, second-half strikes from defender Keyeno Thomas and forward Cornell Glen secured a second straight win for T&T over the Haitians, who had earned a 2-1 at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo in the Digicel final last year. However, the match did not get off to a good start for the host, as minutes before the kick-off, captain Aurtis Whitley, who was expected to make a return from injury after missing the last two matches had to be replaced from the starting 11.

Whitley, picked up an ankle injury while warming up on the artificial turf surface and his place in the team was taken by winger Kevaughn Connell while the captain’s band was handed to Cyd Gray. Seconds into the match, the Haitians were almost gifted a goal by a lethargic T&T defence, however goalkeeper Marvin Phillip was able to recover in time while at the other end the first real sign of life of attack from T&T came in the ninth minute, when Connell began a counter-attack down the left flank.

After reaching just over the half line, Connell picked out an over-lapping Gray racing down the centre of the Haitians defence, but with goalkeeper Fenelon Gabart to beat he fired straight into the legs of the keeper. Apart from that, the visitors enjoyed the better of the first half, stroking the ball around the field without much pressure from a very relaxed T&T midfield but with no real positive effect on the scorecard.

The Haitians should have gone ahead in the 26th minute, but striker Leonel St Preux, managed to head wide of the target from less than six yards out from a pin-point Alcenat Sony right-sided cross. T&T’s only other real threats of the first period came via some long range free-kicks taken by England-based Christopher Birchall, and aimed at Thomas at the far post, which were all handled by the Haitians.

Speedy forward Glen also looked to be coming into his own and on a few occasions had the Haitian defenders snatching at air with his quick turns and change of pace. But being the lone striker employed by T&T coach Francisco Maturana, he found the task too much to carry against the no-nonsene Haiti defenders.

At the intervention, Maturana seemed to have had a much needed pep talk with his players who looked much more purposeful, but the Haitians were still enjoying much of the ball with their quick and crisp inter-passing. Against the run of play though, T&T went ahead when Thomas rose high above the Haitian defence, not for the first time in the match, to head in another well flighted Birchall free-kick.

The goal seemed to knock some wind out of the Haitians, and six minutes later, Birchall and Thomas were both involved in T&T’s second goal, scored by Glen. From another Birchall free-kick, Thomas headed the ball back across the face of the goal from on the bye-line where an unmarked Glen chested the ball into a gaping goal.

When the final whistle came it was yet another win for coach Maturana against a Caribbean opponent and a third straight 2-0 win at Macoya, following on the heels of recent wins over Guyana and Netherland Antilles as they look ahead to the Concacaf Semifinal Round Group A World Cup Qualification home-and-away matches versus Cuba, Guatemala and USA beginning on August 20, in Havana.

The Haitians are also fine tuning their preparations for Concacaf matches against Suriname, Costa Rica and El Salvador in Group C while Group B comprises, Jamaica, Canada, Mexico and Honduras. T&T will now journey to Port-Au-Prince to face Haiti on August 10 and then face El Salvador in Washington in another friendly on August 14 before heading to Havana for its opening Semifinal Round fixture.

Touches report
« Last Edit: August 01, 2008, 03:28:17 AM by Flex »

Re: Victory by two over Haiti.
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2008, 07:56:07 AM »

« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2008, 08:05:51 AM »
Haiti beaten 2-0 at 'Marvin Lee'
By: Ian Prescott (Express).[/color][/size]

Warriors win

Connell's pace set up T&T's best first half chance in the 10th. Racing a full 40 metres out of defence up the left, Connell centred the ball to lone striker Glen, who shrugged off his marker but only just failed to slip the ball under the dive of goalkeeper Fenelon Gabart.

I thought Touches said it was Cyd?

« Reply #3 on: July 31, 2008, 10:23:45 AM »
It was Cyd...them fellas getting it wrong

Look Guardian Report

Nigel Simon

Haitian goalkeeper Fenelon Gabart, left, races off his line to block an attempt on goal from ‘Soca Warriors’ captain Cyd Gray, right, while team-mate Cornell Glen, centre, watches on in their international friendly at the Marvin Lee Stadium, Macoya, yesterday. T&T won 2-0.
Photo: Anthony Harris.

BY NIGEL SIMON

THE “Soca Warriors” continued their 2010 South Africa World Cup preparations with a 2-0 shut-out of reigning Digicel Cup Caribbean champions, Haiti, 2-0 in a friendly international at the Marvin Lee Stadium, Macoya, yesterday.

After a less than inspiring first 45 minutes, second-half strikes from defender Keyeno Thomas and forward Cornell Glen secured a second straight win for T&T over the Haitians, who had earned a 2-1 at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo in the Digicel final last year.

However, the match did not get off to a good start for the host, as minutes before the kick-off, captain Aurtis Whitley, who was expected to make a return from injury after missing the last two matches had to be replaced from the starting 11.

Whitley, picked up an ankle injury while warming up on the artificial turf surface and his place in the team was taken by winger Kevaughn Connell while the captain’s band was handed to Cyd Gray.

Seconds into the match, the Haitians were almost gifted a goal by a lethargic T&T defence, however goalkeeper Marvin Phillip was able to recover in time while at the other end the first real sign of life of attack from T&T came in the ninth minute, when Connell began a counter-attack down the left flank.

After reaching just over the half line, Connell picked out an over-lapping Gray racing down the centre of the Haitians defence, but with goalkeeper Fenelon Gabart

to beat he fired straight into the legs of the keeper.

Apart from that, the visitors enjoyed the better of the first half, stroking the ball around the field without much pressure from a very relaxed T&T midfield but with no real positive effect on the scorecard.

The Haitians should have gone ahead in the 26th minute, but striker Leonel St Preux, managed to head wide of the target from less than six yards out from a pin-point Alcenat Sony right-sided cross.

T&T’s only other real threats of the first period came via some long range free-kicks taken by England-based Christopher Birchall, and aimed at Thomas at the far post, which were all handled by the Haitians.

Speedy forward Glen also looked to be coming into his own and on a few occasions had the Haitian defenders snatching at air with his quick turns and change of pace.

But being the lone striker employed by T&T coach Francisco Maturana, he found the task too much to carry against the no-nonsene Haiti defenders.

At the intervention, Maturana seemed to have had a much needed pep talk with his players who looked much more purposeful, but the Haitians were still enjoying much of the ball with their quick and crisp inter-passing.

Against the run of play though, T&T went ahead when Thomas rose high above the Haitian defence, not for the first time in the match, to head in another well flighted Birchall free-kick.

The goal seemed to knock some wind out of the Haitians, and six minutes later, Birchall and Thomas were both involved in T&T’s second goal, scored by Glen.

From another Birchall free-kick, Thomas headed the ball back across the face of the goal from on the bye-line where an unmarked Glen chested the ball into a gaping goal.

When the final whistle came it was yet another win for coach Maturana against a Caribbean opponent and a third straight 2-0 win at Macoya, following on the heels of recent wins over Guyana and Netherland Antilles as they look ahead to the Concacaf Semifinal Round Group A World Cup Qualification home-and-away matches versus Cuba, Guatemala and USA beginning on August 20, in Havana.

The Haitians are also fine tuning their preparations for Concacaf matches against Suriname, Costa Rica and El Salvador in Group C while Group B comprises, Jamaica, Canada, Mexico and Honduras.

T&T will now journey to Port-Au-Prince to face Haiti on August 10 and then face El Salvador in Washington in another friendly on August 14 before heading to Havana for its opening Semifinal Round fixture.

Offline behind-de-bridge

Would you have preferred if we outplayed Haiti but lost
« Reply #4 on: July 31, 2008, 10:46:37 AM »
I have read that some critics who saw the game last night believe that T&T were awful. Well goals win matches and the history books wont lie...2 nil to T&T. IMO its better to play awful and win, than to dominate a game and lose. That's what is called 'grinding out a result' in the trade and is the hallmark of all successful teams. Plus to win any game without half the 'bound to must' starters like John, Edwards, Lawrence, Jones and Whitley is an achievement in itself.

Re: Would you have preferred if we outplayed Haiti but lost
« Reply #5 on: July 31, 2008, 10:53:12 AM »
If this was a tournament I would agree with you. But when you preparing a team for a tournament I feel it's more important to have the players available playing well. Doh mind the 'bound to must' starters not dey, because if anything happen to dem (injury and whatnot) is de fellas who play last night have to take dey place.

« Reply #6 on: July 31, 2008, 11:00:16 AM »
yes i would have preferred that so as not to continue to pull the wool over our eyes.

grinding out a result playing bad is fine, if its playing bad against the kinda quality opposition we will meet in the qualifiers. We cyah be playing bad right through against poor quality opposition.

we shouldve easily been down 2 goals to nil by the end of the first half if Haiti did not throw away their clear cut opportunities.  And the goals we scored were both from set pieces.

When we play the better teams in the qualifiers, the shit we've been playing against these lesser teams will manifest and we will get found out.

Offline behind-de-bridge

« Reply #7 on: July 31, 2008, 11:04:18 AM »
If this was a tournament I would agree with you. But when you preparing a team for a tournament I feel it's more important to have the players available playing well. Doh mind the 'bound to must' starters not dey, because if anything happen to dem (injury and whatnot) is de fellas who play last night have to take dey place.

I hear yuh, but supposing that was the best those guys could do? We are not exactly Brazil are we? With a small population and when you minus women, the over 40s, under 16s, drug addicts, vagrants and bandits, the talent pool to choose from very limited.

Offline behind-de-bridge

« Reply #8 on: July 31, 2008, 11:09:12 AM »

When we play the better teams in the qualifiers, the shit we've been playing against these lesser teams will manifest and we will get found out.

Well, its better to know yuh cutarse book later on, than live in a fools paradise. Remember the 2002 campaign?

« Reply #9 on: July 31, 2008, 11:10:11 AM »
There is another option.... to play well AND win. You cannot just keep playing shit and win all the time. Eventually your luck will run out and at the worst time. And it seems that we are winning in spite of glaring tactical deficiencies, meaning the weak link is looking more and more like poor coaching.

Its good we are now we are able to capitalize on our chances. But to qualify for the next World Cup we will have to play teams like the US and  Mexico, whose strong play will place severe limits on our ability to even get chances.

To maximize our chances against these teams it would be advantageous to include systematic execution alongside "grind" in our repertoire.

And yes the best thing about this was that we could have put another completely different team out there and still won, probably by even more goals.
« Last Edit: July 31, 2008, 11:12:47 AM by ZANDOLIE »

« Reply #10 on: July 31, 2008, 11:11:39 AM »
A win is better than a loss no matter what- so long as the team recognizes the areas for improvement, and continues to work hard to improve.

A win keeps confidence and morale up, and I can't stress how big a factor confidence and morale is in a team setting.

Knowing how to win is a quality in itself.  I always say it- big teams know how to win, even when they play badly.  How many times you see a smaller side give a big side a run for the money and in all fairness "deserve" to win, but just couldn't pull it off....Winning is an attitude, and it's developed the more a team wins games...

Anyone who's played the game enough knows what it's like to undeservedly win.... at the final whistle, it doesn't make the victory any less sweet.  While it may be true that a wake up call in a preparatory phase often proves valuable, I'd take a win over a loss any day, regardless of the quality of football played in getting to the ultimate result.  

« Reply #11 on: July 31, 2008, 11:11:43 AM »

I hear yuh, but supposing that was the best those guys could do? We are not exactly Brazil are we? With a small population and when you minus women, the over 40s, under 16s, drug addicts, vagrants and bandits, the talent pool to choose from very limited.

grinding out a result is fine if you are a top team that is in a slump (Arsenal, Barca etc..) or if that is your normal game plan (Italy, Bolton, Greece..etc). We probably don't fall into either category, and that is a problem. At the same time, give the fellas credit for winning.

« Reply #12 on: July 31, 2008, 11:15:39 AM »
Haiti has been playing as a unit for sometime. The problem with T&T is that we experimenting right up to the actual day of reckoning.
 The Team to play Cuba maybe will play a friendly against El Salvador.
 That has always been our problem. The blacklist compounded the problem this time around.
 Whim knew that without the blacklisted we cant cut it. This team is proving him right.
 Maturana is preparing a team for the next world cup not this one.

Re: Soca Warriors blank Haiti 2-0.
« Reply #13 on: July 31, 2008, 11:26:41 AM »

I never expected us to be world beaters or in the same class as Brazil. And I'm very much aware that we have a small talent pool. Haiti isn't exactly Argentina or Italy either.

Don't get me wrong. I'm happy for the win. It's just that knowing your national team is going into WCQs and is not playing well is cause for concern whether or not it's the best that the players can do.

« Reply #14 on: July 31, 2008, 11:27:47 AM »
Haiti has been playing as a unit for sometime. The problem with T&T is that we experimenting right up to the actual day of reckoning.
 The Team to play Cuba maybe will play a friendly against El Salvador.
 That has always been our problem. The blacklist compounded the problem this time around.
 Whim knew that without the blacklisted we cant cut it. This team is proving him right.
Maturana is preparing a team for the next world cup not this one.
I've been thinking that for some time now. I'm glad someone has come out and said it.

« Reply #15 on: July 31, 2008, 11:29:57 AM »
Let me put it this way, if the tables were turned and we were in Haiti's shoes last night we couldve taken alot more positives from the performance despite losing, than we did in winning last night.

Our only criticism wouldve been defending of set pieces which we couldve identified as an area to work on.

« Reply #16 on: July 31, 2008, 11:44:17 AM »
Let me put it this way, if the tables were turned and we were in Haiti's shoes last night we couldve taken alot more positives from the performance despite losing, than we did in winning last night.

Our only criticism wouldve been defending of set pieces which we couldve identified as an area to work on.

You really think that's the only legit criticism of Haiti's performance last night?

That's a spectator's/fans perspective.  A fan always wants to see smooth, slick, polished football.  Without that, a fan can barely find any positives.... but in the camp itself the view might be very different.  The guys in the team can probably take alot more positives out the game than were apparent to the spectators eye.  improved positional discipline, keeping a clean sheet, less mental lapses in certain parts of the field, clinical finishing, improved fitness, improved communication etc... just guessing of course but I think our view as fans can often be narrow and naive because we focus too hard on the finished product, whereas the players & staff may probably be satisfied with certain things that were being worked on, that haven't all come together yet to enhance the finished product. 
« Last Edit: July 31, 2008, 11:46:19 AM by kicker »

« Reply #17 on: July 31, 2008, 11:53:04 AM »

You really think that's the only legit criticism of Haiti's performance last night?

That's a spectator's/fans perspective.  A fan always wants to see smooth, slick, polished football.  Without that, a fan can barely find any positives.... but in the camp itself the view might be very different.  The guys in the team can probably take alot more positives out the game than were apparent to the spectators eye.  improved positional discipline, keeping a clean sheet, less mental lapses in certain parts of the field, clinical finishing, improved fitness, improved communication etc... just guessing of course but I think our view as fans can often be narrow and naive because we focus too hard on the finished product, whereas the players & staff may probably be satisfied with certain things that were being worked on, that haven't all come together yet to enhance the finished product. 

nah kicker thats making excuses..

listen..

each one of our players need 2-3 extra touches of the ball before passing off than our Haitian compatriots..

the ball was sticking on our players feet or bad trap more than our Haitian counterparts, and we were technically less competent. Them fellahs was only drawing collective steups with what they play last night. When you see a supposedly inferior team executing the basics, looking cohesive and doing things right then it is a fair judgement.

Quite obviously we are not improving.

We should be now at the level the Haitians were and improving some more ahead of the qualifiers but we looking like we in regress and they say we STILL looking for players??  Hello, qualifiers is in a couple weeks!!

When will we settle on a team and then get a level of understanding, and who are these "other better" players that will complement this group to make up our best team?

« Reply #18 on: July 31, 2008, 12:11:06 PM »

nah kicker thats making excuses..

listen..

each one of our players need 2-3 extra touches of the ball before passing off than our Haitian compatriots..

the ball was sticking on our players feet or bad trap more than our Haitian counterparts, and we were technically less competent. Them fellahs was only drawing collective steups with what they play last night. When you see a supposedly inferior team executing the basics, looking cohesive and doing things right then it is a fair judgement.

Quite obviously we are not improving.

We should be now at the level the Haitians were and improving some more ahead of the qualifiers but we looking like we in regress and they say we STILL looking for players??  Hello, qualifiers is in a couple weeks!!

When will we settle on a team and then get a level of understanding, and who are these "other better" players that will complement this group to make up our best team?

Nah I not making excuses...I eh see the game so like I say I just guessing.

And I FULLY agree that the coach is over-experimenting in this late stage with a crop of players that are all at the same sub par level.  I'm losing more and more faith in this present coaching staff by the minute.....

Just guessing that the positives might be more than are clearly apparent- that was the gist.

« Reply #19 on: July 31, 2008, 12:55:36 PM »
If we feel this way after playing rubbish and winning spare a thought for the poor Haitians,what do you all think about their chances of qualification for the Hex or for Africa 2010.

« Reply #20 on: July 31, 2008, 01:07:39 PM »
If we feel this way after playing rubbish and winning spare a thought for the poor Haitians,what do you all think about their chances of qualification for the Hex or for Africa 2010.

With some better strikers they making the hex for sure.

« Reply #21 on: July 31, 2008, 01:09:23 PM »

With some better strikers they making the hex for sure.

With better strickers they stand a chance of beating CR, USA and even Mexico....
« Last Edit: July 31, 2008, 01:15:26 PM by trinbago »

« Reply #22 on: July 31, 2008, 01:45:28 PM »
Not much to say here, it seem like we looked a bit like a team dat played in de last WC. For me, I'm happy wid de result and what I read, wid reference to how de team played. We should feel sort of comfortable wid dat performance, especially since there was no Stern,Yorke, Edwards and Jones (when he is fully fit). By no means we should get all cocky and celebrate. Although Haiti is solid opposition for our bois, dey (Haiti) are are not in de same class presently wid USA, Mexico, CR, Honduras, Panama or even de present Jamaican team. So I would say, we are moving in de right direction. Congratulations Soca Warriors. HIGHLY BLESSED.

Supa & De Enterprise News

Mrs. Obama was just voted the best dressed female in the world, at some 69th annual award (cannot remember the name, see her website). Mind you, most of her clothing are very reasonable, I saw dresses for about $150.00. So ladies, this is your time to step up and look sexy for your husband or boyfriend once again  ;).

Mr. David Beckham, he won the prize in de male category, followed by Mr. Kane West.

Team Usa won there 2nd exhibition game this morning (8:00 ET), against Turkey. Dey comfortable beat the Turkish 114-82. The game was played at a time most of us on the way to work, on work already, sleeping or may be  ???  ;D. Well I cheat a bit on my pay check 2day, cuz most of the time I was checking out de game from de break room. However, I don't feel 2 guilty, cuz de aircaraft dat I'm working on, it don't leave until tomorrow night (Friday)  ;). The next games coming up are 8/01 (Friday) at 8:00 AM ET and on 8/03 (Sunday) 3:00 AM.

The people that have doubts about dis team, go pull up de game and check out de clips. At half time dis morning dey showed a nice documentary,about de team when dey gathered, after dey were selected for Team Usa. I just love these guys, de way cuz of de way how dey are showing so much love and respect for each other. I have to appreciate dat, cuz all dem bois are franchise players and superstars from their respective teams. Dey have put all dat aside and showing total team work, love for each other and unselfish play at all times.

There were some real nice dunks from James and Howard, nice passes (Kobe, Paul) a lot of sharing of the ball from everyone, no look passes, you name it, dem bois displayed it dis morning. However, ah not being bias at all, go see for all yuh self, again de highlight of de game was a dunk by meh boi Wade (he is really back), de people in China in dat arena, dey just rose off dey seats wid shock. De commentators were lost for words  8) 8) 8).

« Last Edit: July 31, 2008, 03:43:02 PM by SUPA »

« Reply #23 on: July 31, 2008, 01:49:56 PM »
Remember WI continue 2 win from 91 when wit Viv and co we could not beat England after white washin dem. Dey hold on till 95 beatin Australia by 1 run etc where d WI team now only Bangladesh and Zimbabwe behind we. D writin was on d wall long time but we was winning.

So all yuh happy dat d payol have a winnin record and Phillips continue 2 have no goals score against he we go c how long that we could continue to play and win Cuba less than a month away

« Reply #24 on: July 31, 2008, 01:59:32 PM »

I not too sure about that Omar.......as much as we played badly, Haiti were absolutely dreadfull from set peices and Touches would have still have much to say about it if we were them.  they had many shots on goal from out side the area, but how many of them actually treated Phillip?

I agree with Kicker's point about moral and looking for positives

« Reply #25 on: July 31, 2008, 03:44:54 PM »
All yuh give thanks for small mercies nah, we go be alright wid de return ah Dwight  ;). HIGHLY BLESSED.

« Reply #26 on: August 01, 2008, 09:23:21 AM »
A win is better than a loss no matter what- so long as the team recognizes the areas for improvement, and continues to work hard to improve.

A win keeps confidence and morale up, and I can't stress how big a factor confidence and morale is in a team setting.

Knowing how to win is a quality in itself.  I always say it- big teams know how to win, even when they play badly.  How many times you see a smaller side give a big side a run for the money and in all fairness "deserve" to win, but just couldn't pull it off....Winning is an attitude, and it's developed the more a team wins games...

Anyone who's played the game enough knows what it's like to undeservedly win.... at the final whistle, it doesn't make the victory any less sweet.  While it may be true that a wake up call in a preparatory phase often proves valuable, I'd take a win over a loss any day, regardless of the quality of football played in getting to the ultimate result.  

Key deficiencies and shortcomings are too often overlooked in victories leading to a false sense of self worth and belief in our ability.

« Reply #27 on: August 01, 2008, 02:23:10 PM »
Marcos,
             All them big words. You have me confused. But you right.

« Reply #28 on: August 01, 2008, 02:57:36 PM »
Remember WI continue 2 win from 91 when wit Viv and co we could not beat England after white washin dem. Dey hold on till 95 beatin Australia by 1 run etc where d WI team now only Bangladesh and Zimbabwe behind we. D writin was on d wall long time but we was winning.

So all yuh happy dat d payol have a winnin record and Phillips continue 2 have no goals score against he we go c how long that we could continue to play and win Cuba less than a month away

Apples and oranges weary the WI and T&T are two completely seperate entities in the way cohesiveness is achieved. The WI is no more! It is a malnourished skeletal diseased frame unwilling to receive any type of treatment to improve. If JW is incompetent multiply that by 50 and you have the WICB. Here though are the similarities. You have a president who seems to be a graduate of the JW school of corruption and hubris. An outfit that plans games and then cancels ala the SL warm up before the start of the series. the differences however, are many. T&T maybe playing badly but we are behind them if not the admin. In the caribbean it depends on where you are born to decide whether you are behind the team or the admin. There is no unity and much undermining and the team has only one really worldclass player in Chanderpaul. I am hoping that MUrray pulls T&T out of this WI farce and let us go it alone. Hey Bermuda plays alone so why cant we.

« Reply #29 on: August 01, 2008, 05:46:02 PM »
D comparison is dat u can win but u have nuff problems and when d problems manifest it go b 2 late 2 address it. So come d aug 20 man/woman/ chile go 4get dat we beam Bim