April 24, 2024, 10:14:06 PM

Author Topic: Let the mind-games begin. Simoes to launch FIFA inquiry  (Read 6566 times)

Let the mind-games begin. Simoes to launch FIFA inquiry
« on: August 07, 2008, 04:43:22 PM »
The Jamaica Football Federation will be seeking clarification from FIFA regarding a few areas of concern as the Reggae Boyz prepare to meet Canada in CONCACAF World Cup qualifying on August 20.

“They always water the field before a game and at half time,” Rene Simoes pointed out to JamaicaWin.com. “This makes the field extremely fast and gives them an advantage. We would like to know if this practice is permitted.”

The Brazilian went on to say that this query is part of the preparation for the game. “We would want to know everything,” Simoes said. “We would like to prepare before the game and not wait until afterwards and then we complain. If it is OK to water the field, we will have to water our field and practice sometimes.” Simoes said that if it is permissible for the Canadians to water the field, which is artificial and does not need water, the JFF would be ensuring that when the Reggae Boyz practice on the pitch before the game, it is properly watered similar to a game situation to give Jamaica’s players the opportunity to familiarize themselves with the slick surface.

The Technical director said that the JFF will also ask FIFA to look at the dimension of the BMO field where the game is scheduled to be played as it appears to be much smaller than the FIFA minimum dimensions.

Simoes also pointed out that the JFF will also seek clarification regarding the amount of days that the players will be available to him before the game. August 20 is not an official match date on the FIFA calendar but rather a day for International Friendly games. On official match dates, the clubs are obligated to release the players four days in advance. However, on other dates they are only obligated to release the players only two days before.

Simoes said that preparations for the game are ongoing. “We have been watching all the videos that we can get our hands on,” Simoes told JamaicaWin.com. A squad of local-based players has been called to camp starting on Thursday and ending on August 14. He also said that one of his assistants, Lucio Gama, has been assigned to attend and spy on the game between Mexico and Honduras at the Azteca on August 20. Jamaica host Mexico at the National Stadium on September 6.

JamaicaWin.com will have minute by minute ‘LIVE TEXT’ coverage of Jamaica’s World Cup games as well as twice per day updates starting one week before each game. Send a link to your friend all over the world so they can be informed.

« Last Edit: August 07, 2008, 04:47:50 PM by Reggaefan »

Re: Let the mind-games begin. Simoes to launch FIFA inquiry
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2008, 04:57:29 PM »
Daz not mind games.

Daz de rantings of a desperate man who knows he facin a team much better than his own and tryin to tek in front from now before the inevitable cutass and recrimations fly.

« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2008, 05:10:41 PM »
walk wid allyuh long pegs ;D

« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2008, 06:02:01 PM »
steups.....all dem Canadians have to do is put up de Jakans in a hotel that more than two stories high...... :devil: heh heh heh

« Reply #4 on: August 07, 2008, 06:38:04 PM »
Daz not mind games.

Daz de rantings of a desperate man who knows he facin a team much better than his own and tryin to tek in front from now before the inevitable cutass and recrimations fly.

Look for the Canadians to come with their own "inquiries" when its their turn to visit the office. Yes, I agree with you, Canada starts favorite in this game....Lets see if the Boyz can spoli the party. This is the "Group of death" after all.

Simoes is being his normal very vocal self....its what make him who he is. He likes to stir things up...in a way, it seems to get the players fired up.
« Last Edit: August 07, 2008, 06:42:36 PM by Reggaefan »

« Reply #5 on: August 07, 2008, 07:38:44 PM »
steups.....all dem Canadians have to do is put up de Jakans in a hotel that more than two stories high...... :devil: heh heh heh

Whhhheeeeeeeeyyyyyyyssssss!  Sugar.u remember dah one gyul?  ;D ;D

Yuh cross wit elephant or wha?  And ah only mean dat from a memory perspective he....nutting else... ;D

« Reply #6 on: August 07, 2008, 08:23:25 PM »
Please tell me y this on d socawarriors.net I doh care but maybe other peeps care

« Reply #7 on: August 08, 2008, 04:35:20 AM »
Please tell me y this on d socawarriors.net I doh care but maybe other peeps care

if you dont care, why are you responding bro???? Next time you see a post with Jamaica or anything related in teh topic, just slkip over it and save yourself the stress! Simple thing.

« Last Edit: August 08, 2008, 04:39:17 AM by Reggaefan »

« Reply #8 on: August 08, 2008, 04:55:58 AM »
not ah bro. u around long enough to know who the females are on this site.

back to the mind games, the watering of the pitch thing is something i see alot on the international seen . i remember a yr when cnada came to play us we play the game in the hot 12 o clock sun, it did work against them cause they roast real quick.

« Reply #9 on: August 08, 2008, 05:03:59 AM »

Whhhheeeeeeeeyyyyyyyssssss!  Sugar.u remember dah one gyul?  ;D ;D

Yuh cross wit elephant or wha?  And ah only mean dat from a memory perspective he....nutting else... ;D

It was a classic....cyar forget dat one  ;D

« Reply #10 on: August 08, 2008, 06:18:51 AM »
Give us some money...

We will ask ralphie to throw 2 pigtail bucket of water on the COE pitch and you can take a sweat vs a PFL XI.

Offline jr sams

• Every time....all de time....true to form
« Reply #11 on: August 08, 2008, 07:51:31 AM »

“They always water the field before a game and at half time,” Rene Simoes pointed out to JamaicaWin.com. “This makes the field extremely fast and gives them an advantage. We would like to know if this practice is permitted.”

They do not always water the field as Simoes points out, at least as far as the games that I have been to at BMO field. Truth be told, the field began operations last year for the start of the 2007 TFC season. Since then, the Canadian Senior team has played 1 game on that pitch, against CR in Sep 2007 so the only advantage, if any, is some of the TFC players who are on the national team, like Jim Brennan.
I played on that pitch once and it is a lot better than the older turf pitches, but I think that both teams will be on equal 'footing' so to speak.
well yes

« Reply #12 on: August 08, 2008, 08:58:38 AM »
Seems Jamaica is de only team in this rounds to cry about alomst everything. They have a problem with everyone. Wonder if they will cry not to play in the Azteca too....

« Reply #13 on: August 08, 2008, 09:41:04 AM »
Reggaefan want people to think that its a difficult group,Canada has never been difficult when they have to step up.The fact is that Jamaica should be quite capable of beating Honduras and Canada in Kingston and getting draws away to those 2 countries or even beat Honduras away.TT on the other hand have 2 very tricky opponents in Cuba and Guatemala who narrowly missed 2006.

« Reply #14 on: August 08, 2008, 09:52:37 AM »
Watering an artificial field makes no sense

The ball does move fast as it is.

« Reply #15 on: August 08, 2008, 10:16:23 AM »

FIFA watered the pitches in Peru for the U17 WC. The reason is because of the rubber in the pitch it becomes gummy (when dry or hot). This has an effect on the bounce of the ball and it causes problems turning etc. as the sole of the boot has a tendency to stick (causing injury).
Field hockey has always watered the pitches for the Olympics & Worlds.

« Reply #16 on: August 08, 2008, 10:19:44 AM »
The Jamaica Football Federation will be seeking clarification from FIFA regarding a few areas of concern as the Reggae Boyz prepare to meet Canada in CONCACAF World Cup qualifying on August 20.

The Brazilian went on to say that this query is part of the preparation for the game. “We would want to know everything,” Simoes said. “We would like to prepare before the game and not wait until afterwards and then we complain. If it is OK to water the field, we will have to water our field and practice sometimes.” Simoes said that if it is permissible for the Canadians to water the field, which is artificial and does not need water, the JFF would be ensuring that when the Reggae Boyz practice on the pitch before the game, it is properly watered similar to a game situation to give Jamaica’s players the opportunity to familiarize themselves with the slick surface.

The Technical director said that the JFF will also ask FIFA to look at the dimension of the BMO field where the game is scheduled to be played as it appears to be much smaller than the FIFA minimum dimensions.

Simoes also pointed out that the JFF will also seek clarification regarding the amount of days that the players will be available to him before the game. August 20 is not an official match date on the FIFA calendar but rather a day for International Friendly games. On official match dates, the clubs are obligated to release the players four days in advance. However, on other dates they are only obligated to release the players only two days before.

Simoes said that preparations for the game are ongoing. “We have been watching all the videos that we can get our hands on,” Simoes told JamaicaWin.com. A squad of local-based players has been called to camp starting on Thursday and ending on August 14. He also said that one of his assistants, Lucio Gama, has been assigned to attend and spy on the game between Mexico and Honduras at the Azteca on August 20. Jamaica host Mexico at the National Stadium on September 6.

JamaicaWin.com will have minute by minute ‘LIVE TEXT’ coverage of Jamaica’s World Cup games as well as twice per day updates starting one week before each game. Send a link to your friend all over the world so they can be informed.

« Reply #17 on: August 08, 2008, 10:20:15 AM »

The question is why did CONCACAF set games for this date

« Reply #18 on: August 08, 2008, 10:23:54 AM »
Reggaefan want people to think that its a difficult group,Canada has never been difficult when they have to step up.The fact is that Jamaica should be quite capable of beating Honduras and Canada in Kingston and getting draws away to those 2 countries or even beat Honduras away.TT on the other hand have 2 very tricky opponents in Cuba and Guatemala who narrowly missed 2006.

Both Canada and Honduras are much improved and have the quality to qualify for South Africa 2010. On paper Jamaica's group is definitely the group of death. You obviously haven't been paying attention to CONCACAF football lately.

« Reply #19 on: August 08, 2008, 10:31:55 AM »

FIFA watered the pitches in Peru for the U17 WC. The reason is because of the rubber in the pitch it becomes gummy (when dry or hot). This has an effect on the bounce of the ball and it causes problems turning etc. as the sole of the boot has a tendency to stick (causing injury).
Field hockey has always watered the pitches for the Olympics & Worlds.

And I dont believe Rene really has a problem with the field being watered...I believe what he really was getting at is that he would be well within his rights to request ground staff to wet the field before he takes his team out for training prior to the game...or that he would be within his rights to water it himself.

« Reply #20 on: August 08, 2008, 10:38:18 AM »
The question is why did CONCACAF set games for this date

PERHAPS an explanation might be that the number of qualifying games in CONCACAF exceeds the number of games agreed to as International dates.

« Reply #21 on: August 08, 2008, 10:40:24 AM »

I want people to think its a difficult group? It wasnt Reggaefan who gave the group the "group of death" tag! but here are few reasons why the group of death tag is appropriate:

1) 3 of the regions top 4 teams are in this group
2) only group with all 4 teams qualifying for the world cup in the past.
3) only group with 1 caribbean team (caribbean powerhouse Jamaica)
4) all the teams have been in impressive form recently

I agree with you Fricio....Jamaica is MORE THAN capable of beating all the teams...HOME AND AWY. We have beaten them all WCQ games...

I'd much rather have Guatemala and USA in my group than Mexico and Honduras.

« Reply #22 on: August 08, 2008, 10:43:21 AM »
Seems Jamaica is de only team in this rounds to cry about alomst everything. They have a problem with everyone. Wonder if they will cry not to play in the Azteca too....

And what exactly have Jamaica cried about ?? Sam, Simoes is a man amongst men...Maturana doesnt have the gall to even pick his own team!
Trust me, when its Canada turn to visit Kingston, you will hear real "cry"

« Reply #23 on: August 08, 2008, 10:45:04 AM »
Give us some money...

We will ask ralphie to throw 2 pigtail bucket of water on the COE pitch and you can take a sweat vs a PFL XI.

Much closer and cheaper to fly to Miami from Kingston....Thanks, but no thanks. :)

« Reply #24 on: August 08, 2008, 10:45:42 AM »

Breds you need to repost that in the threads dedicated to Arsenal, Chelsea and anything posted by Zeppo as well.

« Reply #25 on: August 08, 2008, 10:45:58 AM »

I want people to think its a difficult group? It wasnt Reggaefan who gave the group the "group of death" tag! but here are few reasons why the group of death tag is appropriate:

I agree with you Fricio....Jamaica is MORE THAN capable of beating all the teams...HOME AND AWY. We have beaten them all WCQ games...

Besides Mexico, who else making up that "3 of the region's top 4"??

Offline jr sams

• Every time....all de time....true to form
« Reply #26 on: August 08, 2008, 10:55:40 AM »

I presume that your powerhouse comment is a Reggaefan opinion, because I would love to know what results you are basing that on 

You may have beaten them in the past, but this is 2008, and the teams that JA are facing have improved...In present form, I think JA will be in for a rude awakening on Aug 20 (IMHO). I will provide a report as I will be at the game.
« Last Edit: August 08, 2008, 11:01:10 AM by jr sams »
well yes

« Reply #27 on: August 08, 2008, 11:09:39 AM »

Who are the top 4 teams in the region right Now

Besides Mexico, who else making up that "3 of the region's top 4"??

Let me help you out:

Mexico, Honduras, Canada are all in CONCACAF's top 5...Canada was just pipped for the #4 spot by costa Rica in the FIFA ranking the other day....

So lets put it another way....3 of the regions top 5 teams are in the group of death (subject to change with the next FIFA ranking)

group 2 (Mexico, Honduras, Canada, jamaica)  average concacaf ranking of 5.25 take Ja out, avg rank would be: 3.33
group 1 (USA, Cuba, T&T, Guatemala)  average concacaf ranking of 6.25 take T&T out, avg rank would be: 5.66
Group 3 (Costa Rica, Suriname, Haiti, El Salvador) average ranking of 10
« Last Edit: August 08, 2008, 11:16:51 AM by Reggaefan »

« Reply #28 on: August 08, 2008, 11:14:05 AM »
If Jamaica makes it out of this group into the Hex, it will be a major surprise and they will have deserved their place.

Yes the ball round and anything can happen but yuh could only fluke so much.

« Reply #29 on: August 08, 2008, 11:19:34 AM »
If Jamaica makes it out of this group into the Hex, it will be a major surprise and they will have deserved their place.

Yes the ball round and anything can happen but yuh could only fluke so much.

Right, I believe thats the general concensus...put it this way...there will be surprise in the group whatever way you look at it....only 2 teams will progress, so one of Mexico, honduras and Canada will face the axe.

On the other hand, if T&T gets knocked out by Guatemala and CUBA...I dont think anyone would be surprised..given the way you scraped through vs Bermuda.