April 23, 2024, 03:43:41 AM

Author Topic: Gullit set to join Beckham in new world  (Read 6122 times)

Gullit set to join Beckham in new world
« on: November 05, 2007, 04:08:12 AM »

http://sport.independent.co.uk/football/news/article3138314.ece

Ruud Gullit is top of the shortlist to be David Beckham's new manager at Los Angeles Galaxy as the ambitious American club attempt to appoint a high-profile coach to complement the status of their most famous player. The former European footballer of the year is expected in California later this week.

Gullit, 45, has not been in management since his one season in charge at Feyenoord in 2004-05 and his last job in England with Newcastle ended in controversy and the sack in 1999. However, having signed Beckham, LA Galaxy are determined to employ a top coach who is regarded as big enough to manage the most famous player in the world – and bring to LA what Gullit once described as his "sexy football" philosophy.

The LA Galaxy franchise is being advised in the recruitment process by Beckham's management company, 19 Entertainment, although there is no suggestion that the player himself will have any say in the selection. Beckham's personal manager, Terry Byrne, and entertainment mogul Simon Fuller, the founder of 19 Entertainment, have formed a strong bond with AEG, the owners of LA Galaxy, who have sought their advice on finding a famous name to succeed former coach Frank Yallop.

Gullit is the preferred choice and knows Byrne who worked for Chelsea, where the Dutchman played and managed from 1995 to 1998. AEG is hoping to set up a deal for Gullit similar to the one in place for Beckham, under which a basic salary is augmented by a share of sponsorship deals dependent on the success of LA Galaxy in the new season, which starts in April.

LA Galaxy and AEG are confident of landing Gullit having first approached Jürgen Klinsmann, who lives in California and has become one of the hottest properties in world football on the basis of his World Cup campaign with Germany last year. Klinsmann was not interested in the job. The Manchester United assistant, Carlos Queiroz, and former United States national team manager Bruce Arena, have also been considered as alternatives if the deal for Gullit falls through.

The club's efforts to persuade Gullit to join have intensified after they officially announced they had parted company with Yallop on Sunday. He is returning to his former club the San Jose Earthquakes, who are "returning" to the MLS next season after what will be three years out of the league. Yallop's dismissal was regarded as inevitable after a disappointing season for LA Galaxy despite all the anticipation generated by Beckham's arrival.

Yallop, a former Ipswich Town player who has carved out a good reputation as a coach in America, was never likely to hold on to his job once his side failed to qualify for one of the eight end-of-season play-off places in America's Major League Soccer. With Beckham's injuries restricting him to five appearances for LA Galaxy, their MLS season has ended on a flat note. The club who were due to play a friendly in Vancouver last night.

Whether Gullit can turn around their fortunes is another matter. The MLS imposes a $2m (£1m) salary cap on its clubs but allows them to sign up to two "designated" players whose salary is outside the franchise budget, which allowed LA Galaxy to sign Beckham. The MLS pays the first £200,000 of their salary and the club makes up the rest. There is nothing in MLS rules that states a limit on the salaries paid to coaches.

LA Galaxy have enjoyed a remarkable rise in profile since Beckham arrived in July and Gullit's appointment would be in keeping with their pursuit of European football's biggest names. Whether his management record stands up to scrutiny is another matter, although his playing career was even more successful than Beckham's. As well as being voted European Footballer of the Year in 1987 he won two European Cups at Milan and the 1988 European Champ_ionship with the Netherlands.

Yet his management career has never quite matched up. His most successful spell was at Chelsea, where he won the FA Cup as player-manager in 1997 and was second in the Premier League in February 1998 when he was abruptly sacked by the Ken Bates regime.

After he had steered Chelsea to the quarter-finals of the European Cup-Winners' Cup that season Gullit's star burnt bright. In August 1998 he was appointed manager of Newcastle United in place of Kenny Dalglish. The club finished 13th in 1999, and reached the FA Cup final but Gullit fell out with both the club captain, Alan Shearer, and Rob Lee.

Gullit's reign ended five games into the new season after he dropped Shearer and should he choose to join LA Galaxy, he would have to show the kind of tolerance to one big name player in particular that he could not manage at Newcastle.

Beckham: Yallop resigns as coach of Galaxy

Beckham really runs things. Shouldn't the owner or the chairman or someone on the board be making this announcement ?

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/21629709/

CARSON, Calif. (AP) -Galaxy star David Beckham said Frank Yallop resigned as head coach of the Los Angeles MLS team Sunday night after its charity game for Southern California's wildfire victims.

"Obviously, we're disappointed,'' Beckham said to reporters gathered outside the team's locker room. "We felt that he was the right man. We felt that he's a good manager and a strong character with the team.

"But, we've all said, he's not walking away. He's looking after himself and he's looking after his family. It's what we would all do. We're sad to see him leave and we wish him all the luck and all the best.''

Galaxy spokesman Patrick Donnelly didn't comment when asked about Yallop.

Yallop, hired by the Galaxy to replace Steve Sampson in June 2006, was 18-21-12 in two years with the Galaxy.

McClaren slammed for Beckham trip

"What can Beckham show the England manager in that sort of game?"- Agreed

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/7078465.stm

Steve McClaren's trip to Los Angeles to watch David Beckham in a charity game was a "farcical" waste of time, Terry Butcher has told BBC Radio 5 Live.

The England coach had travelled over to check on the fitness of the 32-year-old who scored twice in LA Galaxy's win over a team featuring celebrities.12-4

"For the England manager to be watching that is farcical," said the former England captain.

"What can Beckham show the England manager in that sort of game?"

Beckham joined LA Galaxy from Real Madrid in the summer and said that he has enjoyed his experience.

"I am loving it," he said, with the Major League Soccer season now over.

"It's been great so far, very positive and smooth apart from the season."

The former Manchester United player missed the Euro 2008 qualifiers against Israel and Russia because of a knee injury but will be hoping to be in the squad to face Croatia on 21 November.

Russia must not win in Israel four days earlier in order for England to keep alive their hopes of reaching next year's finals.

Beckham was recalled to the England squad by McClaren in June after being ignored since England lost in the World Cup quarter-final against Portugal in July 2006.

He played in the Euro 2008 qualifier against Estonia and friendlies against Brazil and Germany but has not featured since in McClaren's plans because of his knee problems.

The former England captain has played 97 times for his country since his debut in 1996.

Meanwhile, Frank Yallop has resigned as coach Los Angeles Galaxy.

The former Ipswich Town player is reported to be returning to San Jose to coach the Earthquakes.

"Obviously, we're disappointed," said Beckham, after turning out in the charity match against a Hollywood XI led by actor Anthony LaPaglia in aid of the victims of the California fires.

"We felt that he was the right man. We felt that he's a good manager and a strong character with the team.

"He's not walking away. He's looking after himself and he's looking after his family.

"It's what we would all do. We're sad to see him leave and we wish him all the luck and all the best."
« Last Edit: November 08, 2007, 02:33:31 AM by FLi ! »

Re: Beckham: Yallop resigns as coach of Galaxy
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2007, 05:06:08 AM »

So obvious.

Beckham going to be player/coach.
 Beckham bringing Yorke to LA to win the league.
 Beckham staying for 2 seasons as that.
 After Man U lose the next 2 title races, Ferguson resigning and Beckham going to be Man U coach in 2010.

After England ketch they nen nen in SA if they qualify, Beckham going to be appointed new England coach.

In the meantime Spice Girls going and make 3 hit songs.
Aliens going to kidnap Posh Spice and send her back to earth as one of Gladys Knight pips.

Yorke going to settle down in south Trinidad after buying the whole block that Villa Capri on.

« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2007, 06:24:13 AM »

lol.....ok then  :whistling:

« Reply #3 on: November 05, 2007, 06:30:06 AM »

lol.....ok then  :whistling:

I sense a certain level of disbelief bordering on dismissiveness.
 I bet yuh that at least 1 of the predictions come true and I personally banking onthe Villa Capri sale.
We could settle up on the dec 20th lime FPATT organising in Paddington.

« Reply #4 on: November 05, 2007, 10:01:51 AM »
looks like another non footballing decision gone sour ! Oh and it again involves the golden boy ..

« Reply #5 on: November 05, 2007, 10:05:48 AM »
beckham go be player coach soon.

« Reply #6 on: November 05, 2007, 12:19:21 PM »
Andre halloween done and gone, enough wit de scary monsters.

Offline RedDevils

« Reply #7 on: November 05, 2007, 01:16:36 PM »

So obvious.

After Man U lose the next 2 title races, Ferguson resigning and Beckham going to be Man U coach in 2010.

After England ketch they nen nen in SA if they qualify, Beckham going to be appointed new England coach.

Aliens going to kidnap Posh Spice and send her back to earth as one of Gladys Knight pips.

Yorke going to settle down in south Trinidad after buying the whole block that Villa Capri on.

crack is wack,

Glory, Glory MANUTD.

« Reply #8 on: November 05, 2007, 05:03:50 PM »
Bruce Arena now resign from the NY Redbulls

I have a feeling he will be in LA next season....

« Reply #9 on: November 05, 2007, 06:30:08 PM »

So obvious.

You was going ood until that one... the most unbelievable prediction on your list...

« Reply #10 on: November 05, 2007, 06:47:14 PM »

u prob don't  know the spice girls have come back together do u ?

« Reply #11 on: November 05, 2007, 06:49:54 PM »

yeah but 3 hit songs?
i would believe 0  :devil:
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #12 on: November 05, 2007, 08:38:51 PM »
Beckham finally geh a situation he could run and be the focal point off. He couldn't do it at United which is why they ship him out and at Real he was still only one off the players with no pull or say in things. Good for the Galaxy for hooking up with the biggest publicity whore in football! The team is already 10 and 1.

« Reply #13 on: November 05, 2007, 11:17:52 PM »

Sarcasm Fli...

« Reply #14 on: November 05, 2007, 11:23:07 PM »

Sarcasm Fli...

All wit apart from the Yorke bit.  ;D ;D

Ruud Gullit bringin de sexy back in LA.
« Reply #15 on: November 08, 2007, 12:38:13 PM »
Ruud Gullit is being introduced as the new LA Galaxy coach. just heard on internet the radio.
« Last Edit: November 10, 2007, 09:19:54 AM by Flex »

Offline fatimarima

Re: Ruud bringin de sexy back in LA
« Reply #16 on: November 08, 2007, 02:41:51 PM »
WOW,  big things yes.   Hope this is not "chain-up talk"   

« Reply #17 on: November 08, 2007, 02:56:19 PM »
WOW,  big things yes.   Hope this is not "chain-up talk"   

« Reply #18 on: November 08, 2007, 03:02:45 PM »
Ruud Gullit is being introduced as the new LA Galaxy coach. just heard on internet the radio.

galaxy rel spending money, they better make it to playoffs next season

« Reply #19 on: November 08, 2007, 03:52:00 PM »
I now read an article on yahoo sports where Pele is stating that America was misled by Beckham,they projected Beckham as a goal scorer,Beckham is refuting that by saying he is not a goal scorer.
I know a lot of you might have different views but if Beckham is at La to draw crowds fine,but Football i think they made a mistake,hopefully Ruud might make a difference but if they don't get players he and all in big trouble,time will tell. 

« Reply #20 on: November 08, 2007, 04:13:42 PM »
Coops,
From a marketing perspective Beckham is right from the MLS. Late spring this year an independent retail store in Ohio ordered $40,000 worth of Beckham merchandise. Adidas even pulled production of certain lines who to make Beckham shirts. The MLS made the money they invested in Beckham in something like 3 or 4 months, they never expected investment and revenue to come so quickly.
From a football perspective Beckham can only produce when he has great players around him and anyone who has an inkling about the sport would know that he is not a goal scorer but American media being what it is sold him as being better than slice bread.
It will be interesting to see what happens between  Gullit and Beckham, it will be either love or hate no middle ground...

« Reply #21 on: November 08, 2007, 04:21:35 PM »
I don't see where de problem would be. Ruud is a coach, Beckham is a player and is not like dat side have any great wealth of talent to keep Becks on de bench. Hopefully Ruud could take them somewhere otherwise, all fall down.

And Coops, America wasn't misled by Beckham, America was misled by MLS presenting Becks as a goal scorer, which he isn't. Dat side need a decent forward who could score off of Becks' crosses/setups.

« Reply #22 on: November 08, 2007, 04:35:00 PM »
LA needs more than Gullit and Beckham. Becks needs a good supporting cast around him. But Ruud is a superstar himself. So more Beckannal.

« Reply #23 on: November 08, 2007, 04:42:25 PM »
Ruud might be in for a rude awakening on the lack of control and say a coach has in the MLS and that the Galaxy's focus appears to be more about making desicions that lead to a more appealing brand versus making desicions that support winning football matches. Hell some of the coaches who are American ( Bruce Arena) are frustrated by the set up. It will be interesting to see how long it takes for Ruud boy to voice frustrations. Be careful for what you wish for and covet buddy.

« Reply #24 on: November 08, 2007, 04:42:35 PM »
I don't see where de problem would be. Ruud is a coach, Beckham is a player and is not like dat side have any great wealth of talent to keep Becks on de bench. Hopefully Ruud could take them somewhere otherwise, all fall down.

And Coops, America wasn't misled by Beckham, America was misled by MLS presenting Becks as a goal scorer, which he isn't. Dat side need a decent forward who could score off of Becks' crosses/setups.
I dunno what de hell some ah allyuh does read nah...nobody never presented Beckham as no goal-scorer.  Beckham's purpose was to help raise the profile of the league and of the sport, which he has already accomplished.  No one was misled, and whichever party claiming dat is a damn ass, becuase everything was laid out in the open for all to see what they was getting before pen hit paper.

Additionally, none of us here is in position to say that Beckham coming here was a mistake...already it has paid huge dividends in just half a season for the MLS.  The jury is still out on Beckham's return on the investment, but I'm certain that he ent suffering for the move.

« Reply #25 on: November 08, 2007, 04:53:49 PM »

I dunno what de hell some ah allyuh does read nah...nobody never presented Beckham as no goal-scorer.  Beckham's purpose was to help raise the profile of the league and of the sport, which he has already accomplished.  No one was misled, and whichever party claiming dat is a damn ass, becuase everything was laid out in the open for all to see what they was getting before pen hit paper.

Additionally, none of us here is in position to say that Beckham coming here was a mistake...already it has paid huge dividends in just half a season for the MLS.  The jury is still out on Beckham's return on the investment, but I'm certain that he ent suffering for the move.

Breds there is no need to get hyped up about this,if you read my post you will observe i tried to state some statements Pele made it's not what anyone here said,i just read it on yahoo sports.

« Reply #26 on: November 08, 2007, 06:02:10 PM »
because dis thought still fresh in meh mind......so we could look forward to seeing de ole Rudd run out and play for de Galaxy and hit we some vex step-overs and thing ala Mccomie when dey playing some weak team ;D yeah, yeah ah know it weak but ah couldn't help it.

« Reply #27 on: November 08, 2007, 06:06:27 PM »
now i barely see them 3 holland men play eh so maybe i miss something there but
 how he bringing the sexy ??? ???

Offline Phensic

« Reply #28 on: November 08, 2007, 06:41:20 PM »
Buh what dee cutter munt!  Now dat iz news papa! He was one of my favourite internationals in the late 80's and 90's.

He was a boss on the right for AC Milan, with Van Basten and Rijkaard!!!

Sweet hire!

« Reply #29 on: November 08, 2007, 07:22:40 PM »
now i barely see them 3 holland men play eh so maybe i miss something there but
 how he bringing the sexy ??? ???

When Ruud became the coach of Newcastle, he made the comment that he was going to bring sexy football to the club. Well, it became a bit of a joke, especially since things didn't go so well.