April 28, 2024, 02:45:24 PM

Author Topic: Boldon predicts 9.80 in 100m finals  (Read 1773 times)

Offline fLaSh

Boldon predicts 9.80 in 100m finals
« on: August 14, 2008, 10:34:10 PM »
Boldon predicts 9.80 in 100m finals

“This is the second fastest track, I have seen. Only Atlanta (1996 Olympic Games) was faster than this.”

Those are the words of four-time Olympic medalist Ato Jabari Boldon on the eve of the 100 metres finals in Beijing.

“I had an opportunity to run the track (at the Beijing Stadium) this morning and it is fast, very fast. I am going to expect some very fast times. Just the way everything was this morning, it is going to be sizzling.” said Boldon, now a well-respected athletics analytical commentator with NBC.

“The only point of note is that I experienced a strong head wind, and that may mean something. I notice there is rain today, so we have to watch that as well,” added Boldon.

Boldon is not overly concerned that the smog will cause any problems, “I do not foresee any problems for the athletes with the smog. It is something to have to get used to as an athlete. They all have the same situation. Your job is to get out there and run.”

On the question of the 100 metres and times, Ato told the T&T Guardian, “I picture Usain Bolt in front, but there is no real person as yet. I see for second particularly as I am not certain that Tyson Gay’s leg is totally healed at the moment. Our guys from T&T are going to have to run fast if they are going to medal. They will need a 9.80 to medal I think; definitely times under 9.90.”

But the big question is can we do it. “Yes, our team has the talent,” said Boldon.

Re: Boldon predicts 9.80 in 100m finals
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2008, 02:54:12 AM »
Bad title/heading. He says the trini guys will need a 9.8 to get a medal.

« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2008, 06:31:58 AM »
With de way Bolt running.....hhhhhmmmmm.....

« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2008, 03:32:47 PM »
Trini guys need 9.8 to get a medal....how that went??

« Reply #4 on: August 16, 2008, 03:48:03 PM »
Ato, any worries about Bolt dragging his toe at the start, or that is nothing
Thanks

did ya buss ah cuss when Richard ended up in 2nd :devil:
JK
« Last Edit: August 16, 2008, 04:00:25 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #5 on: August 16, 2008, 03:50:04 PM »
Trini guys need 9.8 to get a medal....how that went??

ok nuh, enough with de dishing out ah de crow nuh man, lunch time was 2 hours ago man belly full.

« Reply #6 on: August 16, 2008, 09:26:10 PM »
HA HA hmm like we have a victim boy lol

« Reply #7 on: August 16, 2008, 09:34:53 PM »
Ato I have always wanted to say personally....thank you for making us look good on the track. Uniform and running. I remember my boy making the national team and he is 2XL and they giving him large. He have to squeeze into them uniform. Thank you Ato.

« Reply #8 on: August 16, 2008, 10:16:04 PM »
Ato I have always wanted to say personally....thank you for making us look good on the track. Uniform and running. I remember my boy making the national team and he is 2XL and they giving him large. He have to squeeze into them uniform. Thank you Ato.

breds dey did give Ato de 2xl...he turn dat back in fuh ah tight fitting outfit, talking about streamline!  ;)