March 28, 2024, 05:11:30 PM

Author Topic: Baptiste replaces injured Whitley.  (Read 2806 times)

Baptiste replaces injured Whitley.
« on: August 16, 2008, 03:42:30 PM »
In Havana for world cup battle.
By: Shaun Fuentes.

Trinidad and Tobago's Senior Footballers arrived just before 3am in Havana after a lengthy travel out of Washington on Friday. The contingent headed by head coach Francisco Maturana made its arrival, checking in at the Melia Cohiba Hotel after taking connecting flights in Miami and Panama.

Swansea City defender Dennis Lawrence joined the contingent in Panama City. The other overseas pros are carded to arrive over the weekend. Midfielder Aurtis Whitley returned to Port of Spain though after failing to recover sufficiently from a nerve related ankle injury. Joe Public's Kerry Baptiste takes his place in the 18-man squad for Wednesday's game which kicks off at 8pm. The team will train on Saturday evening following a rest period during the morning.

Glen: Good win before Cuba

Striker Cornell Glen expressed relief with being able to lead T&T to a win before its opening semi-final round encounter against Cuba next Wednesday. Following his two-goal performance, Glen noted: "I think it's the first time I've scored two goals for the national team in such a win and it feels good as well as relieving to help the team. I had been out through injury in the past and I think I'm finally beginning to catch back my form and feel comfortable out on the pitch again. It's only a positive sign for the team because we have been working on getting over some hurdles and a victory only helps to build confidence and team spirit. I hope we can take everything into the Cuba game and pull off another win," Glen added
« Last Edit: August 16, 2008, 03:49:02 PM by Flex »

Offline iceberg

Re: Baptiste replaces injured Whitley.
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2008, 03:51:26 PM »
No Aurtis!!!! Jeez!  Get better quick bredren we need yuh bad in the middle.  We mid & forwards really need to step it up.  Cuba coming with guns blazing!!!  They have been scouting us since the Bermuda game and I sure dey know we defence leaky.  All the best to my WARRIORS yes.
If your heart is not in the game then your not a true footballer!!!

« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2008, 04:15:06 PM »
Fuentes...what channel the game showing on at 8pm on Wednesday?

« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2008, 04:19:16 PM »
Boi Baptise is de best replacement we could find.. :-\

« Reply #4 on: August 16, 2008, 04:34:42 PM »
So allyuh saying that we replacing Whitley with Baptiste?

My Lord!!

« Reply #5 on: August 16, 2008, 04:56:32 PM »

My Lord!!

Who you woulda pick?

« Reply #6 on: August 16, 2008, 05:23:16 PM »

My Lord!!

Who you woulda pick?

ent... I wouldnt have picked Stern in this situation either   but He would have been my number 1 choice in my original squad...   for Stern to get called up now would be a miracle... I think if 1 of the current strikers pull out he will call up someone else instead   

« Reply #7 on: August 16, 2008, 05:36:11 PM »

My Lord!!

Who you woulda pick?

ent... I wouldnt have picked Stern in this situation either   but He would have been my number 1 choice in my original squad...   for Stern to get called up now would be a miracle... I think if 1 of the current strikers pull out he will call up someone else instead   

pacho next choice striker is forbes...

no KJ, whitley, yorke, stern?  i wonder if cuba missing any stars

« Reply #8 on: August 16, 2008, 05:39:57 PM »
i think guerra would have been the natural replacement for whitley..

but the squad done short on RMs already so i guess that has something to do with baptiste.

who cares, he going there just to make up the numbers anyway.

« Reply #9 on: August 16, 2008, 06:33:18 PM »
Baptiste that the best replacement...damn...is our pool that small

« Reply #10 on: August 16, 2008, 06:39:36 PM »
Hardest.

What about Samuel and push Hyland inside?

« Reply #11 on: August 16, 2008, 06:41:56 PM »
What is de real story with Aurtis' injury?  How bad is it??  Are we going to be without him for a very long time??....when I saw him travelling with the team I had hopes but now..... :-\

« Reply #12 on: August 16, 2008, 06:50:54 PM »
If Telesford couldn't cut it, who else we have as d mid other than Birchall?

« Reply #13 on: August 16, 2008, 07:08:10 PM »
Men talking up Clyde Leon.

And, call me crazy but, Birchall natural position is right wing. I would really really like to see what he could do for us there in a few games. Although is mostly reserve games, he seems to be very effective when placed in attacking positions. Coventry even have him at striker sometimes.
« Last Edit: August 16, 2008, 07:12:37 PM by Dry So »

« Reply #14 on: August 16, 2008, 08:57:51 PM »
So by now dey should know whether d injury go take a wk a mth to heal. So is it CA miles dey lookin 4 y is he not home resting?

« Reply #15 on: August 16, 2008, 09:09:24 PM »
Men talking up Clyde Leon.

And, call me crazy but, Birchall natural position is right wing. I would really really like to see what he could do for us there in a few games. Although is mostly reserve games, he seems to be very effective when placed in attacking positions. Coventry even have him at striker sometimes.

He gets the crosses in, but I still don't understand why he get put there in the first place. Not fast enough and that heavy first touch will kill most runs he will ever make. I think you will have to compromise with him drifting out on the wing when we have the ball, and staying in the centre when we dont

« Reply #16 on: August 16, 2008, 09:23:02 PM »

Osei Telesford was added to the T&T team to face Cuba.

« Reply #17 on: August 16, 2008, 10:58:43 PM »
tell me that this whitley injury isnt serious.

« Reply #18 on: August 17, 2008, 01:18:53 AM »
Cant believe we still insist Telesford as a midfielder