April 26, 2024, 07:19:08 AM

Author Topic: Ato on NBC - Track  (Read 5508 times)

Offline Dr. Rat

• Licks Pass!!!
Ato on NBC - Track
« on: August 14, 2008, 08:10:31 PM »
Ato say he work out on the new track in China.  De man only grinnin like ah real gladdest.

Go ATO!!! :rotfl:
PNM in yuh mudda-in-law

Re: Ato on NBC - Track
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2008, 08:15:43 PM »
yessssss Rat, ah just see dat too  :rotfl:

« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2008, 09:24:05 PM »
 :devil: :devil: :devil:

« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2008, 11:06:24 PM »
 ;D Aye ah jus see dat....Ato tell dem fellas ah wearin meh Trini colours right now and ah braggin to meh yankee friend dem over here dat three trinis WILL make de finals and at least one will medal.

Offline sinned

« Reply #4 on: August 15, 2008, 12:25:56 AM »

« Reply #6 on: August 15, 2008, 02:31:46 PM »
Ato still know how to run? ;D

Offline Dr. Rat

• Licks Pass!!!
« Reply #7 on: August 15, 2008, 07:13:39 PM »
Ato still know how to run? ;D

Run he mouth! :devil:
PNM in yuh mudda-in-law

« Reply #8 on: August 18, 2008, 11:14:18 AM »
ato doin a real good job man...like he put a lot of research into each runner and watch al ot of tape.  Good job ato  :beermug:

« Reply #9 on: August 18, 2008, 11:31:43 AM »
ah like ato commentating. it good to hear a trini accent on international TV even though he have to water it down for the foreigners. based on the vocal inflections, it look like he had real broadcasting training.

this is andre
from socawarriors.net
back to you moderators

« Reply #10 on: August 18, 2008, 06:17:28 PM »
Anybody hear what he just say. D cable bruk down again where Bob Costas was sayin dat Bolt disrespect d rest of d field then d cable went. What Ato say? Somebody anybody hear he response?

« Reply #11 on: August 18, 2008, 06:48:07 PM »
Anybody hear what he just say. D cable bruk down again where Bob Costas was sayin dat Bolt disrespect d rest of d field then d cable went. What Ato say? Somebody anybody hear he response?
look an article here
http://olympics.fanhouse.com/2008/08/18/bob-costas-ato-boldon-rip-usain-bolt-for-disrespectful-100-me/
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #12 on: August 18, 2008, 08:04:57 PM »
look an article here
http://olympics.fanhouse.com/2008/08/18/bob-costas-ato-boldon-rip-usain-bolt-for-disrespectful-100-me/

anybody have any sound bites of Ato's comments.  The problem with "quotes' is that quite often, they are taken out of context.

I seem to remember other Olympics when the winner would showboat.  The 100 m seemed to be famous for this.

« Reply #13 on: August 18, 2008, 08:15:54 PM »
Unfortunately, the way Bolt finished the 100-meter dash -- by celebrating, yelling and slapping his chest before crossing the finish line -- won't soon be forgotten, either. There is talk that Bolt might have intentionally slowed down in an attempt to keep the world record within reach of him breaking it again

Wait folks... lemme get this straight.
When Green (tongue boy), Lewis, Bailey, Gailtlin etc etec etc etc yell, slap up dey chest, celebrating by taking off dey crepsole and throwing it in dey crowd, untie dey outfit, lick dey lips for dey camera, hug up each oder for long periods of time, go down on ah knee thanking who ever up dere, bawling out #1, lying down on dey people score board to make sure dey ress of dey world know dat is dem dat buss dey record...and god knows i could go on. Nobody have issues wid dat right???  Datz dey Americana way ent ?

But Bolt slow down and beat he chest, oh ah take off he crepsole....so what  ?
Man if i was Bolt ah woulda stop and walk across dey facking line den whine down dey place wid meh juzzy over meh head...  >:(

Leave dey blasted commentators let dem talk dey damn talk. All ah dem hafta earn ah living...allyuh hafta remember is ah american station. If it wasn't Ato doing he talk, allyuh woulda care one arse what dey commentator did say ???

steupse...

« Last Edit: August 18, 2008, 08:19:41 PM by TriniCana »

« Reply #14 on: August 18, 2008, 08:22:52 PM »
Unfortunately, the way Bolt finished the 100-meter dash -- by celebrating, yelling and slapping his chest before crossing the finish line -- won't soon be forgotten, either. There is talk that Bolt might have intentionally slowed down in an attempt to keep the world record within reach of him breaking it again

When Green (tongue boy), Lewis, Bailey, Gailtlin etc etec etc etc yell, slap up dey chest, celebrating by taking off dey crepsole and throwing it in dey crowd, untie dey outfit, lick dey lips for dey camera, hug up each oder for long periods of time, go down on ah knee thanking who ever up dere, bawling out #1, lying down on dey people score board to make sure dey ress of dey world know dat is dem dat buss dey record...and god knows i could go on. Nobody have issues wid dat right???  Datz dey Americana way ent ?

Man if i was Bolt ah woulda stop and walk across dey facking line and whine down dey place...  >:(

Leave dey blasted commentators let dem talk dey damn talk. All ah dem hafta earn ah living...allyuh hafta remember is ah american station. If it wasn't Ato doing he talk, allyuh woulda care one arse what dey commentator did say ???

steupse...

Of course not. But he is Ato, and this is a trini site so that's why we do care.

don't forget Mr. Jon 'Lie dong on de track' Drummond.

i agree with everything else you post and I didn't see that as no disrespect. All that chest beating and celebrating just add to how magnificent the performance was and how memorable it will be. I go tell meh kids, but by that time somebody might crack 9.0.

« Reply #15 on: August 18, 2008, 08:36:53 PM »
All I have 2 say 2 d yute when u win d 200 do it louder

Offline Aviator

« Reply #16 on: August 18, 2008, 08:58:35 PM »

LOL..........I am sure Mr. Boldon will be in here soon enough to explain himself, because we all know how well behaved HSI was. 8)

Just so you know I love that stuff as long as you don;t directly taunt your opponents.

One of my favourites..........
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZSjpMxRZtZI&feature=related
Psalm 14:1
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.

« Reply #17 on: August 18, 2008, 09:02:02 PM »
To tell you the honest truth Omar, when the commentators opening up dey mouth to start dey talk, dat is intermission for me to go to dey latrine, or dey fridge to replemish meh stocks on dey coffee table...ah talking truth. I find we taking too long to realize that the American/Canadian stations are biased towards dey peeps, and rightfully so. Why not ???  

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WlQWs8nw7rU  <-----ah didn't hafta look far.....prime example.

******edit********

<stares at Aviator and buss ah stand pipe laugh>
« Last Edit: August 18, 2008, 09:03:58 PM by TriniCana »

« Reply #18 on: August 18, 2008, 09:10:40 PM »
Nutten wrong wit biggin up yuh own we can learn a ting or 2 from dem but d pettyness I cyah take. He slow down so he can break d WC again. What utter nonesense when u in dat zone u just tinkin but winnin when he realize he cyah loose he satrt 2 celebrate. U tink he have d frame of mind u tink bout next race I go run faster LOUDDDDDDDDDDD STEUPSSSSSSSSSS

Offline jw107

« Reply #19 on: August 18, 2008, 09:10:59 PM »
What Bolt did was one of the reasons the race was so special and why I will remember it for a long time. Forget the time, it is the manner of the victory, that is what was impressive. De yute say he just wanted to win and didn't even know he break d record till after d victory lap. Unless u ever win an olympic gold yuh aint go know how d guy feel.

That have to be a misquote they put up there from Ato, I can't really believe he say so. I agree with all of all yuh so far. Let d man do what he wants, there was NO disrespect. Man scoring goal and tek off dey shirt and doing all kinda foolishness, nobody don't say anything. Woman in the triathalon have her flag waving in the final 100m coming home, nobody aint saying she celebrate too early and showing disrespect. If the man have the ability to do it, let him do it. Is because none of them ever see anybody demolish a field like Bolt why they behaving so. Bolt do what u want that's why the world respecting your performance even more.

Everybody love the man personality, saying it good for the sport.

« Reply #20 on: August 18, 2008, 09:14:29 PM »

LOL..........I am sure Mr. Boldon will be in here soon enough to explain himself, because we all know how well behaved HSI was. 8)

Just so you know I love that stuff as long as you don;t directly taunt your opponents.

One of my favourites..........
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZSjpMxRZtZI&feature=related

yeah, yuh see what i talking about, look at that shit. a man fire extinguishing he shoes on de track after race.

you could tell me that not infinitely more disrespectful to your competitors than a lil beat up chest after 80m?

truth is, i done know and accept that in the sport of sprinting, it seems like its necessary to be a prick to be successful, but i guess that is all part of it (Tyson Gay being a seemingly notable exception).  These guys need to do whatever to pump themselves up.

Save us the sanctimonious shit about bolt.

« Reply #21 on: August 18, 2008, 09:18:36 PM »
Maybe showboating AFTER the race is more acceptable than during the race?

« Reply #22 on: August 18, 2008, 09:41:44 PM »
From the article posted, this statement:

"There is talk that Bolt might have intentionally slowed down in an attempt to keep the world record within reach of him breaking it again....

Now that is the most arsinine statement I have ever heard.  To suggest that an athlete in a 100 sprint knows what his time is and he knows by how much he is beaking the world record and is consciously running a little slower so that he can break it again later is a statement coming out of the pen of a reporter who is not fit to have a job.  That is utter stupidity.

Now I do agree with Ato and Costas.  Bolt should finish the race then celebrate.  Much of the criticism of Ato and Costas above misses the point.  Boldon and Greene celebrated after the race was over, even though I would admit that it was excessive.  And don't forget that the American media heavily criticized them for it too.  There is no unfair treatment to Bolt that was not given to Greene, particularly.  The irony is that Boldon was apart of those celebrations  :) :) though they seemed orchestrated by Greene.  Bolt seems like a real gentleman, though, who is a fun-loving kid who was simply carried away by the moment, but he will learn.  Well done young man!  Now go break Michael Johnson record, smile,  and shut them all up.

My take...

« Reply #23 on: August 18, 2008, 09:47:56 PM »
Nutten wrong wit biggin up yuh own we can learn a ting or 2 from dem but d pettyness I cyah take. He slow down so he can break d WC again. What utter nonesense when u in dat zone u just tinkin but winnin when he realize he cyah loose he satrt 2 celebrate. U tink he have d frame of mind u tink bout next race I go run faster LOUDDDDDDDDDDD STEUPSSSSSSSSSS

True nothing wrong with that, but when ah ya do shit, expect to get ya buff and not be glorified. Now I don't know what was on Bolt mind when he slowed down. Could it be that he slowed down because he realized no one can catch up with him, as oppose to knowing he buss the world record ??? And so what if he slowed down to break he world record again??? That should be an incentive for the ress of them who want to race with him to buck up ent ??? Look, before I think was a heat he ran in, he buss ah little whine before the heat started, commentators and dem start to laugh, even dey little girl who hafta take up he laundry basket buss ah smile. Ah sure she had a pleasant dream dat night. But in any case, the young blood made history....

Swimmer boy Phelps BEFORE the start of Olympics said he going for 8 medals. Why he didn't slow down or in fact make ah fist so his fingers wouldn't have touch the wall first to get his 7th gold medal ???  Why didn't he say 'look lemme go for 7 medals and give somebody else ah chance to meet up wid me in 2012."

TT you made a good point...when is showboating acceptable ???
Let's ask a professional

Another point...football
When Yorke, Latas skip and do ah samba and whiner boy Sancho throw he waist DURING ah game when dey score in dey let's say 88 minute.  Game still on ent ???

What is the difference ???
« Last Edit: August 18, 2008, 09:58:29 PM by TriniCana »

« Reply #24 on: August 18, 2008, 09:56:43 PM »
what about that yankee fella dustin off his shirt as he crossed the line in his heat.

BOLT, do ya ting man
YOU are the fastest man in the world
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #25 on: August 18, 2008, 10:12:02 PM »
Bolt over did it.

Still he very young and should be excused.

wining in a football game is different from showboating during a 10 sec race.

supposed your team losing 6-0 and yuh score and buss ah wine?

Ato eh try to dis de youth, it come over so, but he eh try to do dat...all before de race he telling everyone Asafa cyar beat Bolt, de race is Bolt's etc.

chill out

« Reply #26 on: August 18, 2008, 11:23:25 PM »
I'll try to be brief.

Watching the replays after the 100 while still in the booth (off air), I said to my colleagues that is GREAT TV but it's awful sportsmanship.  No one prompted me to say anything. Ever. Those who know me know that is not me.

It is my opinion, others may disagree - and that's fine.

This whole "I am the enemy of the Jamaicans now" is a joke. So what, I walk to the Bird's Nest everyday with my Jamaican mother, then go on the air with a mission to dis Jamaica and praise the Yanks? How often before this week you think Trelawny, Jamaica has been "bigged up" on NBC by anyone? What channel are people watching??

Are some of these people watching the same broadcast??? Who else for the past 3 months has spoken more highly of Bolt? Who since the race has praised him more.  Oh, that's right, my opinion is only cool if it falls in line with what some individual thinks....NBC hired me because of my opinions. Not because everyone would agree with them.

As regards HSI - I was very vocal against James Carter in the 400h rounds (you know the incident) and the USA 4x100 (3/4 HSI) and I have no complaints with anything he does before or after (and he is GREAT at that) but not during. I don't expect everyone to get that but track athletes know - you respect the event. Always.  After, you are free to do whatever within taste limits...

No one who has written me (again a small minority, less than 20 emails, as opposed to the hundreds of very positive Jamaican emails since the games started to call me everything from a house "u know what" to a traitor, can point to anything I did on a track resembling that during a race, anywhere at anytime in my career.

Yesterday when Wallace Spearmon did a "brush my shoulder off" move in his 200m round, I asked that it not make air...it didn't. Where is Wallace from?

I am a big boy and I realize this is the big leagues now. I can take it.

No one who has listened to me go on and on about Bolt's greatness can possibly say now that I suddenly begrduge the young man his win, his success or his glory. That doesn't mean that he is somehow above reproach. I said it because I believed it TO BE SO. Disagree if you do, and then put a full stop after it - but turning it into a conspiracy theory is lunacy.

There are lots of people who are writing me to say they thought it was a bit much, let the 21 year old celebrate as he feels fit. I don't think one opinion is wrong and the other right. People see things from their own perspective.

Stop the Caribbean insecurity. It's 2008.  No one is out to "get" anyone, and certainly not me. 

Trinis vex I ent big up RT enough, Jamaicans vex because I dissing King Bolt - after spending months praising just about everything he has done - and will do.

Welcome to my life.....

Take the good:

Hello, again!

It was a very good interview, just wish it were longer.  Your commentary regarding Usain Bolt was very much on target.  Thank God for having someone as talented as yourself representing the Caribbean.  I look forward to hearing and seeing more of you on NBC.

Be safe while in Beijing.  Hope you have a pleasant trip home upon the conclusion of the Games.

With the bad:

Your comments about Usain Bolt were distasteful.  Please learn to raise above Mr. Costas comments and be a professional.....nuff respect youth.

P.S. I do think 19.32 is gone, and will say so!

« Reply #27 on: August 18, 2008, 11:23:44 PM »
look an article here

anybody have any sound bites of Ato's comments.  The problem with "quotes' is that quite often, they are taken out of context.

I seem to remember other Olympics when the winner would showboat.  The 100 m seemed to be famous for this.

Sprinters are notorious Prima Donnas.

As for others who have done it... most infamously the US 4x100 meter sprint team in Sydney with the prancing, posturing and preening after winning Gold (led by Maurice Greene among others).  They were soundly and rightly castigated for their POST-race actions.

Dis fella start celebrating 20 meters from the finish.  I doh have much of a problem with it, but can't disagree with the criticism either.  If people don't think what he did was disrespectful to the other runners all they have to do is listen to some of the comments made by fans since... basically indicating that Bolt could do all the antics and everybody else was still 5 meters back of him.  He underscored his dominance of the race by toying with both the record and his competitors.

I could only imagine what the song would be had he NOT broken the record... or what it will be should he not lower it in the future, as everyone seems to be taking for granted.

« Reply #28 on: August 18, 2008, 11:31:17 PM »

Man if i was Bolt ah woulda stop and walk across dey facking line den whine down dey place wid meh juzzy over meh head...  >:(

steupse...

Cana the American media had a field day with that one.  That image, and the image of Vince Carter humiliating Frederic Weiss on the basketball court were the two seminal images that American athletes left on the Sydney Games.  No one criticized Carter, but many around the world saw his dunk and the actions of the Sprint team as being all that's emblematic of the lack of sportsmanship in the Olympics.  By the time Athens came around the image of the "ugly American" was firmly entrenched in the minds of many.
« Last Edit: August 18, 2008, 11:41:39 PM by Bake n Shark »

« Reply #29 on: August 19, 2008, 05:02:25 AM »
Self-praise is for losers. Be a winner. Stand for something. Always have class, and be humble.
-John Madden